DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim fails to comply with the written description requirement as the claim requires comparison to an unknown “analogous method”. The analogous method is not defined and thus the claim is indefinite as one having ordinary skill could not reasonably determine what a specific analogous method would be in view of the claims. As best understood by the examiner one of the alternative methods (see para. 022 of the instant application) is merely saline, and thus it is interpreted that a specifically antibacterial solution would reasonably produce effects faster than a saline solution. However, this is not the only solution compared by the specification as the same citation also lists a solution containing only benzalkonium and no other ingredient. Thus, it is unclear how the comparison between different solutions and the claims are being made and how the applicant arrived at the specific pacing and/or reduction percentage.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is indefinite as the claim requires comparison to an unknown “analogous method”. The analogous method is not defined and thus the claim is indefinite as one having ordinary skill could not reasonably determine what a specific analogous method would be in view of the claims. As best understood by the examiner the alternative method (see para. 022 of the instant application) is merely saline, and thus it is interpreted that a specifically antibacterial solution would reasonably produce effects faster than a saline solution. However, this is not the only solution compared by the specification as the same citation also lists a solution containing only benzalkonium and no other ingredient. The claim is unclear as to what alternative solution is being compared to the claimed solution. The examiner notes that, for purpose of examination, a solution with the same ingredients with the same concentrations as claimed compared to the same analogous method as claimed would read to the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rucinski US 7662125, provided in the IDS, in view of Wang et al. CN 108929247, hereafter Wang and as evidenced by Azeem, T. (2025, August 12). Chlorhexidine Gluconate 0.12%: A Clinical Guide. SurgiMac Dental Supply. https://surgimac.com/blogs/product-news/chlorhexidine-gluconate-012-vs-12mgml, hereafter SurgiMac.
.
Regarding claim 1 Rucinski discloses a method for irrigating a wound (abstract) comprising the steps of: (a) providing a non-sterile or sterile wound irrigation solution in a wound irrigation device comprising a .0004reservoir housing (see claim 1 of Rucinski, column 6 lines 36-41), wherein the wound irrigation device comprises a discharge means that directs a pressurized stream of the wound irrigation solution when the reservoir housing is pressurized (see claim 1, column 9, lines 20-48), and wherein the wound irrigation solution comprises (i) sterile water, purified water, or water for pharmaceutical purposes (claim 1, column 5 lines 10-15); (ii) a chlorhexidine at a concentration that is between about 100 μg
/mL to about 5 mg/mL (claim 1, column 5 lines 10-15); and (iii) a benzalkonium salt (where antiseptic agents are commonly used in said solutions, where benzalkonium salt is a known ingredient per column 6 lines 47-67, specifically 65-67). The examiner notes that while a specific mg/mL ratio is not provided for the chlorohexidine, column 7 lines 63-67 and column 4 lines 1-9 detail that preferably the chlorohexidine solution is between .02 and 4%. The examiner notes that SurgiMac was used as an evidentiary reference to show the conversion factor for chlorohexidine. In this NPL the breakdown exhibits that .12% (the standard dosage) equates to .12g per 100mL of solution (see page 2). In simple balancing conversions .12g/100mL converts to .0012g/1mL and further to 1.2g/mL. Thus, a concentration of .02% would equate to .02g/100mL -> .0002gg/mL -> .2mg/mL (200µg/mL). Doing the same to 4% would equate to 40mg/mL. Thus, the range for mg/mL disclosed by Rucinski is 200µg/mL-40mg/mL and is thus overlapping with the claimed range.
The examiner notes however, that no concentration of the benzalkonium salt is disclosed. In the citation of Rucinski, benzalkonium Salt is a cationic surface-active agent.
Wang teaches antimicrobial compositions and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Wang teaches that benzalkonium chloride was used as a cationic surfactants in the composition, where the concentrations ranged from 32μg/mL (para. 0081) to 64μg/mL (para. 0082) depending on what the solution was treating. Per the same citations, benzalkonium chloride was used with chlorhexidine. Therefore, as Benzalkonium chloride may have suitable concentrations of 32 and 64μg/mL in antimicrobial concentrations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the antimicrobial composition of Rucinski, comprising benzalkonium chloride, with a concentration 32μg/mL or 64 μg/mL, as said concentrations are known to be suitable in the art. As said value is within the claimed range, the prior art reads to the claimed invention.
Rucinski further discloses directing the discharge means and the reservoir housing so as to discharge the wound irrigation solution toward the wound (claim 1, see also column 4 , lines 11-17); and (c) discharging a stream of the wound irrigation solution from the reservoir housing and through the discharge means directed at the wound (claim 1, see also column4 , lines 11-17).
Regarding Claim 2, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the wound irrigation solution consists of (i) sterile water, purified water, or water for pharmaceutical purposes (column 5 lines 10 of Rucinski); (ii) the chlorhexidine at a concentration that is between about 100 μg/mL to about 5 mg/mL (see rejection of claim 1, where 200μg/mL-40mg/mL was used); and (iii) the benzalkonium salt at a concentration that is between about 10 μg/mL to about 500 μg/mL (see rejection of claim 1 where 32μg/mL was found to be suitable).
Regarding Claim 3, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the chlorhexidine is in the form of chlorhexidine gluconate (see claim 8, column 8 lines 7-9).
Regarding Claim 4, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the concentration of the chlorhexidine is between about 200 μg/mL to about 1 mg/mL or about 100 μg/mL to about 500 μg/mL (see rejection of claim 1 where the prior art disclosed range of 200μg/mL-40mg/mL overlaps with the claimed range and thus reads to the claimed invention).
Regarding Claim 5, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the concentration of the chlorhexidine is about 500 μg/mL. The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejection of claim 1, the prior art range for concentration of chlorhexidine was found to be 200μg/mL-40mg/mL, thus about 500μg/mL.
Regarding Claim 6, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the benzalkonium salt is benzalkonium chloride (Rucinski column 6 lines 66-67).
Regarding Claim 7, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the concentration of the benzalkonium salt is between about 30 μg/mL to about 200 μg/mL. Per the rejection of claim 1, the concentration of benzalkonium salt (32μg/mL) is within the claimed range and thus reads to the claimed device.
Regarding Claim 8, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the concentration of the benzalkonium salt is between about 30 μg/mL to about 90 μg/mL or about 60 μg/mL to about 180 μg/mL. Per the rejection of claim 1, the concentration of benzalkonium salt (32 or 64 μg/mL) is within the claimed range and thus reads to the claimed device.
Regarding Claim 9, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the concentration of the benzalkonium salt is about 60 μg/mL or about 120 μg/mL. Per the rejection of claim 1, the concentration of benzalkonium salt (64μg/mL) is within the claimed range and thus reads to the claimed device.
Regarding Claim 10, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein an amount of irrigation time required to reduce a bacterial burden of the wound or a fungal burden of the wound by about 100-fold compared to an analogous method using an alternative irrigation solution comprising the same concentration of chlorhexidine without an additional antiseptic agent is reduced by about 50%. The examiner notes that per the rejection of claim 1, the method of Rucinski, uses the same materials, found to be obvious to use in the same amounts as claimed, for the same application, and achieves the same results. Therefore, although no specific disclosure is had that the device of Rucinski is 50% faster than other solutions, due to the solutions of the prior art and the instant application being the same in view of the rejection of claim 1, the same results would be found in the prior art device.
Regarding Claim 11, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the irrigation solution comprises a combination of the chlorhexidine and the benzalkonium salt that is synergistically microbiocidal or microbiostatic to a fungus or a bacterium (column 7, lines 8-20).
Regarding Claim 12, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 11, wherein the fungus or the bacterium is selected from Candida species, E. coli, Staphylococcus species, Ralstonia species, Pseudomonas species, or a combination thereof (column 7 line 47, see also column 7, lines 28-36).
Regarding Claim 13, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 11, wherein the fungus or the bacterium is selected from E. coli, P. aeruginosa, or a combination thereof (column 7 line 37-40, where the treatment is active against Enterococcus).
Regarding Claim 14, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 10, wherein the amount of irrigation time required is within 15 minutes (column 8, lines 16-24, see also claim 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein about 10 ml to about 1000 ml of wound irrigation solution is applied to the wound (see claim 3, see also column 10 lines 25-28, where the volume of the container is 100-1000mL).
Regarding Claim 16, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the pH of the wound irrigation solution is between pH 5.5 and pH 7.0 (see column 5 lines 54-56, see also claim 9).
Regarding Claim 17, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, used to kill a microorganism selected from the group consisting of Candida species, E. coli, Staphylococcus species, Ralstonia species, Pseudomonas species, and a combination thereof (column 7, lines 28-36).
Regarding Claim 18, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, used to kill C. albicans, E. coli, methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), Staphylococcus aureus, Staphylococcus epidermidis, Ralstonia pickettii, P. aeruginosa, or a combination thereof (column 7 lines 34-35).
Regarding Claim 19, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the wound is a human skin wound and the method is used to treat the human skin wound (column 5, lines 12-15, see also claim 6).
Regarding Claim 20, Rucinski and Wang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the wound is selected from the group consisting of cuts, scrapes, surgical wounds, punctures, and abrasions (Column 13, lines 1-3, see also claim 17).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 7662125, hereafter 125’, in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 1, see claim 1 of 125’. The examiner notes that two differences exist in the claims. 1) the concentration and use of benzalkonium salt, and 2) the concentration of chlorhexidine. Regarding 1, Wang teaches antimicrobial compositions and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Wang teaches that benzalkonium chloride was used as a cationic surfactants in the composition, where the concentrations ranged from 32μg/mL (para. 0081) to 64μg/mL (para. 0082) depending on what the solution was treating. Per the same citations, benzalkonium chloride was used with chlorhexidine. Therefore, as Benzalkonium chloride may have suitable concentrations of 32 and 64μg/mL in antimicrobial concentrations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the antimicrobial composition of Rucinski, comprising benzalkonium chloride, with a concentration 32μg/mL or 64 μg/mL, as said concentrations are known to be suitable in the art. As said value is within the claimed range, the prior art reads to the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 8 of 125’.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 5, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection of claim 5 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 15, see rejection of claim 3 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claim 9 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection of claim 17 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection of claim 17 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 125’.
Claim 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 2025/0213777, hereafter 777’ in view of Wang.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, see claim 1 of 777’. The examiner notes the difference between the claims is the concentration and use of benzalkonium salt. Regarding this difference, Wang teaches antimicrobial compositions and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Wang teaches that benzalkonium chloride was used as a cationic surfactants in the composition, where the concentrations ranged from 32μg/mL (para. 0081) to 64μg/mL (para. 0082) depending on what the solution was treating. Per the same citations, benzalkonium chloride was used with chlorhexidine. Therefore, as Benzalkonium chloride may have suitable concentrations of 32 and 64μg/mL in antimicrobial concentrations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the antimicrobial composition of Rucinski, comprising benzalkonium chloride, with a concentration 32μg/mL or 64 μg/mL, as said concentrations are known to be suitable in the art. As said value is within the claimed range, the prior art reads to the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 2 of 777’.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 3 of 777’.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 4 of 777’.
Regarding claim 5, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 5 of 777’.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 777’.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 777’.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 777’.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 777’.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 10 of 777’.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 11 of 777’.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 12 of 777’.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 13 of 777’.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection of claim 5 under double patenting above, and claim 14 of 777’.
Regarding claim 15, see rejection of claim 3 under double patenting above, and claim 15 of 777’.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claim 9 under double patenting above, and claim 16 of 777’.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 17 of 777’.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 18 of 777’.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection of claim 17 under double patenting above, and claim 19 of 777’.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection of claim 17 under double patenting above, and claim 120 of 777’.
Claim 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 2025/0213542, hereafter 542’ in view of Wang.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, see claim 1 of 542’. The examiner notes the difference between the claims is the concentration and use of benzalkonium salt. Regarding this difference, Wang teaches antimicrobial compositions and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Wang teaches that benzalkonium chloride was used as a cationic surfactants in the composition, where the concentrations ranged from 32μg/mL (para. 0081) to 64μg/mL (para. 0082) depending on what the solution was treating. Per the same citations, benzalkonium chloride was used with chlorhexidine. Therefore, as Benzalkonium chloride may have suitable concentrations of 32 and 64μg/mL in antimicrobial concentrations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the antimicrobial composition of Rucinski, comprising benzalkonium chloride, with a concentration 32μg/mL or 64 μg/mL, as said concentrations are known to be suitable in the art. As said value is within the claimed range, the prior art reads to the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 2 of 542’.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 3 of 542’.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 4 of 542’.
Regarding claim 5, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 5 of 542’.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 542’.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 542’.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 542’.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 542’.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection of claim 1 under double patenting above, and claim 10 of 542’.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 11 of 542’.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 12 of 542’.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 13 of 542’.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection of claim 5 under double patenting above, and claim 14 of 542’.
Regarding claim 15, see rejection of claim 3 under double patenting above, and claim 15 of 542’.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claim 9 under double patenting above, and claim 1 of 542’. The examiner notes that as the same materials are being used and pH is a property of the solution, the pH of 777’ would be the same as the instant claimed range.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 16 of 542’.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection of claim 16 under double patenting above, and claim 17 of 542’.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection of claim 17 under double patenting above, and claim 18 of 542’.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection of claim 17 under double patenting above, and claim 19 of 542’.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW WRUBLESKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781