DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on August 10, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 2, and 9 have been amended, claim 4 has been cancelled, and claim 21 has been added. Thus, claims 1-3 and 5-21 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pgs. 8-10 of the Remarks that 1) “Dicosmo provides no guidance as to any critical concentration range nor any indication as to which antiseptics should be combined for an irrigation solution from its extensive list for use in an irrigation solution” 2) the claimed concentrations are nonobvious in view of the unexpected results described in the instant specification, and 3) DiCosmo teaches away from the use of chlorhexidine.
In regards to Applicant’s first argument, the examiner respectfully notes that Dicosmo teaches a useful concentration range of 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL (paragraph 72 discloses 0.001% to 0.5% w/v) and discloses that “any ranges therebetween are encompassed within these noted ranges”. Dicosmo further teaches a finite amount of antimicrobials and a finite range of concentrations so that it is the examiner’s opinion that Dicosmo teaches a finite amount of solutions. The concentration range provided by Dicosmo overlaps the claimed range and it has been held that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, Applicant’s specification makes it clear that the method can encompass “any concentration” of chlorhexidine and octenidine and further lists example concentrations which are broader than those listed in Dicosmo (paragraphs 91 and 93 of the Specification). For these reasons, the examiner maintains that Dicosmo provides sufficient guidance so that PHOSITA would look to combine Rucinski with Dicosmo with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to Applicant’s second argument, Table 2 of the Specification is drawn to an irrigation solution containing both octenidine and chlorhexidine at one concentration. The results shown in this table appear to show superiority over an irrigation solution containing only chlorhexidine. As such, it appears that the results show superiority for a solution to contain both octenidine and chlorhexidine rather than only chlorhexidine; however, it is the examiner’s opinion that the results are insufficient to show unexpected results for the claimed concentrations since the data only shows one concentration. Claim 1 sets forth a range of concentrations for both octenidine and chlorhexidine. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). As noted above, the evidence presented in the Specification shows a singular concentration for both octenidine and chlorhexidine. As no additional evidence is presented which shows results above and below the claimed concentration range, it is the examiner’s opinion that this evidence is insufficient to establish that the claimed concentration range would produce unexpected results. Further, Applicant’s specification makes it clear that the envisioned invention is more broadly drawn to “any” concentration of octenidine and chlorhexidine (paragraphs 91 and 93). As such, it remains the examiner’s opinion that the originally filed specification fails to provide criticality for the claimed concentration range.
In regards to the third argument, the examiner first notes that Rucinski is primarily relied upon for the teaching of using chlorhexidine in a wound irrigation solution. Dicosmo was relied upon for the teaching of using octenidine in combination with chlorhexidine. While Dicosmo does express concern over the use of chlorhexidine due to cytotoxicity issues, Dicosmo also seems to suggest this is a broader concern with the use of antiseptics and antibiotics in general (paragraph 8). Nevertheless, Dicosmo explicitly contemplates that octenidine can be used with chlorhexidine (paragraph 71 discloses “any combination thereof”).
Claim Interpretation
Such limitations are:
“discharge means” in claim 1. This limitation is interpreted to mean a plurality of nozzles, and functional equivalents thereof, as shown in the figures (see element 70) and paragraph 32 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rucinski (US 20110097372) in view of Dicosmo (US 20170290789).
Regarding claim 1, Rucinski discloses a method for irrigating a wound (paragraph 2) comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a non-sterile or sterile wound irrigation solution in a wound irrigation device comprising a reservoir housing (paragraph 57 discloses providing a reservoir housing containing a solution), wherein the wound irrigation device comprises a discharge means that directs a pressurized stream of the wound irrigation solution when the reservoir housing is pressurized (this limitation is interpreted to mean a nozzle, as discussed above; paragraph 65 discloses nozzles which direct the solution out of the device when pressure is applied to the reservoir), and wherein the wound irrigation solution comprises (i) sterile water, purified water, or water for pharmaceutical purposes (paragraph 18 discloses the solution can contain “sterile water”); (ii) a chlorhexidine (paragraph 13 discloses that the active agent in the solution is chlorhexidine);
(b) directing the discharge means and the reservoir housing so as to discharge the wound irrigation solution toward the wound (paragraph 58 discloses directing towards the wound); and
(c) discharging a stream of the wound irrigation solution from the reservoir housing and through the discharge means directed at the wound (paragraph 58 discloses expelling/discharging the solution).
While Rucinski discloses a range of chlorhexidine concentrations (paragraph 50 discloses a concentration less than 4%), Rucinski does not explicitly teach or disclose the concentration is between about 100 ug/mL to about 550 ug/mL. Additionally, Rucinski does not teach or disclose the solution comprises octenidine (OCT) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof at a concentration that is between about 0.029 ug/mL to about 500 ug/mL.
Dicosmo is directed towards aqueous solutions for wound irrigation (paragraph 2) which can comprise both chlorhexidine and octenidine (paragraph 21 discloses a list of potential antimicrobial agents which comprises chlorhexidine and octenidine and “any combinations thereof”). Dicosmo further teaches that the concentration of the antimicrobial agent can range from 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL, so that the range taught by Dicosmo overlaps both claimed ranges (paragraph 72 and claim 3 discloses 0.001%-0.5% w/v which equates to 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the irrigation solution of Rucinski to include octenidine in addition to chlorhexidine, as taught by Dicosmo, since Dicosmo teaches that this is a known antimicrobial combination useful in irrigating wounds.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solution of Rucinski to have a concentration of chlorhexidine between about 100 ug/mL to about 550 mg/mL and concentration of octenidine between about 0.029 ug/mL to about 500 ug/mL, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed ranges (see paragraphs 103 and 105 of the published application which discloses a much broader range of concentrations for both chlorhexidine and octenidine and that “Wound irrigation solutions of methods and devices described herein can contain any concentration of chlorhexidine/octenidine”) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the wound irrigation solution consists of (i) sterile water, purified water, or water for pharmaceutical purposes; (ii) the chlorhexidine at a concentration that is between about 100 ug/mL to about 5 mg/mL; and (iii) the octenidine (OCT) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof at a concentration that is between about 1 ug/mL to about 100 ug/mL (paragraph 31 discloses that the solution “may” have other components in addition to water the chlorhexidine but that an embodiment is contemplated in which the solution only has water and chlorhexidine; Rucinski was modified with Dicosmo to only further comprise octenidine so that the solution would consist of water, chlorhexidine, and octenidine).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the chlorhexidine is in the form of chlorhexidine gluconate (paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 5, modified Rucinski teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above. Dicosmo discloses the concentration of the antimicrobial agent, which includes chlorhexidine, can range from 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL, so that the range taught by Dicosmo overlaps the claimed range (paragraph 72 and claim 3 discloses 0.001%-0.5% w/v which equates to 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL; the examiner notes that the term “about” implies a range in that the concentration is above/below 500 ug/mL, as set forth in paragraph 111 of the published application).
However, modified Rucinski does not explicitly teach or disclose the chlorhexidine is between about 500 ug/mL.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solution of Rucinski to have a concentration of chlorhexidine between about 500 ug/mL, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed ranges (see paragraphs 103 of the published application which discloses a much broader range of concentrations for chlorhexidine and that “Wound irrigation solutions of methods and devices described herein can contain any concentration of chlorhexidine”) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, modified Rucinski teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above. Dicosmo discloses the concentration of the antimicrobial agent, which includes octenidine, can range from 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL, so that the range taught by Dicosmo overlaps the claimed range (paragraph 72 and claim 3 discloses 0.001%-0.5% w/v which equates to 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL).
However, modified Rucinski does not explicitly teach or disclose the octenidine is between about 1 ug/mL to about 20 ug/mL.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solution of Rucinski to have a concentration of octenidine between about 1 ug/mL to about 20 ug/mL, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed ranges (see paragraphs 105 of the published application which discloses a much broader range of concentrations for octenidine and that “Wound irrigation solutions of methods and devices described herein can contain any concentration of octenidine”) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 8, modified Rucinski teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above. Dicosmo discloses the concentration of the antimicrobial agent, which includes octenidine, can range from 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL, so that the range taught by Dicosmo partially overlaps the second claimed range (paragraph 72 and claim 3 discloses 0.001%-0.5% w/v which equates to 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL).
However, modified Rucinski does not explicitly teach or disclose the octenidine is between about 2 ug/mL to about 10 ug/mL.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solution of Rucinski to have a concentration of octenidine between about 2 ug/mL to about 10 ug/mL, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed ranges (see paragraphs 105 of the published application which discloses a much broader range of concentrations for octenidine and that “Wound irrigation solutions of methods and devices described herein can contain any concentration of octenidine”) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 9, modified Rucinski teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach or disclose the concentration of the octenidine (OCT) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is about 1.875 ug/mL or about 3.75 ug/mL.
Dicosmo teaches that the concentration of the active agent can be derived through “routine experimentation” and would be chosen to “provide the desired therapeutic effect” (paragraph 69), indicating that concentration of octenidine is a result effective variable in that changing the concentration provides a different therapeutic effect. Further it appears that PHOSITA would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the modified method of Rucinski to have an octenidine concentration within the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify solution of modified Rucinski to comprise the claimed octenidine concentration as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “an amount of irrigation time required to reduce a bacterial burden of the wound or a fungal burden of the wound by about 100-fold compared to an analogous method using an alternative irrigation solution comprising the same concentration of chlorhexidine without an additional antiseptic agent is reduced by about 50%” recites the result or effect of the method. Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance as the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency. Ex Parte Novitski, 26 USPQ2d 1389, 1390-91 (BdPatApp & Inter 1993). Although modified Rucinski does not discuss that the time is reduced as claimed, this result is inherently met since the method steps are disclosed.
Regarding claim 11, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the irrigation solution comprises a combination of the chlorhexidine and the octenidine (OCT) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof that is synergistically microbiocidal or microbiostatic to a fungus or a bacterium (paragraphs 10 and 35).
Regarding claim 12, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the fungus or the bacterium is selected from Candida species, E. coli, Staphylococcus species, Ralstonia species, Pseudomonas species, or a combination thereof (paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 13, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the fungus or the bacterium is E. coli (paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 14, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the amount of irrigation time required is within 15 minutes (paragraph 18 discloses within 5 minutes).
Regarding claim 15, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses about 10 ml to about 1000 ml of wound irrigation solution is applied to the wound (paragraph 65 discloses 200-300 ml).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the method used to kill a microorganism selected from the group consisting of Candida species, E. coli, Staphylococcus species, Ralstonia species, Pseudomonas species, and a combination thereof (paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the method used to kill C. albicans, E. coli, methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), Staphylococcus aureus, Staphylococcus epidermidis, Ralstonia pickettii, P. aeruginosa, or a combination thereof (paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 18, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the wound is a human skin wound and the method is used to treat the human skin wound (paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 19, in the modified method of Rucinski, Rucinski discloses the wound is selected from the group consisting of cuts, scrapes, surgical wounds, punctures, and abrasions (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “a property of wound healing is improved compared to irrigation of the wound using an analogous method, wherein an alternative wound irrigation solution either (i) consists of a saline solution, or (ii) consists of the same chlorhexidine concentration without an additional antiseptic agent, wherein the property of wound healing is wound bed scoring, exudate, wound microorganism burden, or a combination thereof” recites the result or effect of the method. Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance as the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency. Ex Parte Novitski, 26 USPQ2d 1389, 1390-91 (BdPatApp & Inter 1993). Although modified Rucinski does not discuss whether a property of wound healing is improved as claimed, this result is inherently met since the method steps are disclosed.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rucinski in view of Dicosmo, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Magallon (US 20080108674).
Regarding claim 6, modified Rucinski teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose the octenidine (OCT) or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is octenidine dihydrochloride.
Magallon is directed towards a solution for treating a skin condition (paragraph 12 discloses an “aqueous antiseptic solution”) containing octenidine dihydrochloride (paragraph 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the octenidine of modified Rucinski to be octenidine dihydrochloride, as taught by Magallon, as Magallon teaches this is an acceptable antiseptic agent to treat wounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The claims in this application are allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose either singly or in combination the claimed method.
The closest prior art of record is Dicosmo.
Regarding independent claim 21, Dicosmo fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious an octenidine (OCT) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof at a concentration that is about 3.75 ug/mL, in combination with the total structure and function as claimed. As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Dicosmo teaches using octenidine in combination with chlorhexidine as a wound irrigation solution (paragraph 21). However, Dicosmo teaches that the concentration of the antibacterial is between 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL (paragraphs 22 and 72 discloses 0.001-.5% w/v which equates to 10 ug/mL to 5 mg/mL). As such, the prior art does not teach or disclose a concentration of octenidine which is about 3.75 ug/mL.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783