DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is indefinite for the following reasons: claim 1, lines 8-9 recites the phrase: “sets driving”. The phrase “sets driving” is indefinite because it does not convey with reasonable certainty what action the moving body must perform. The claim does not specify whether “sets driving” refers to initiating movement, enabling a drive mode, configuring drive parameters, or performing some other operation. In the absence of any structural or functional detail defining the term, a person of ordinary skill would be unable to determine the scope of the claimed step, and the limitation is therefore indefinite under - 35 USC § 112(b). For the sake of compact prosecution, the phrase “set driving” is understood to be “initiates driving.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moore (US Pub. 20190302786 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moore discloses: a personal mobility device system (‘wheelchair system 100’); figs. 1-6B; [0020]) comprising:
a boarding body (wheelchair system 100; fig. 1 and [0020]) having a seat (110, fig. 1 and [0020]) that a user [0020] is capable of sitting on [0020]; and
a moving body (200, fig. 2) coupled to the boarding body (via coupling mechanism 112, fig. 1-2 and 6A; [0020]), the moving body (200) having a driving force (via motor 212, fig. 3) based on electric power [ Para. 0028 discloses: “the guide robot 200 (a moving body) includes one or more electric motors 212 that are coupled to the communication path 280”; thus, having a driving force based on electric power.]
Regarding claim 2, Moore further discloses that the boarding body (100) is a dedicated type boarding body [para. 0005 discloses: “the upper component 110 may be a chair configured to support a user of the modular wheelchair system 100”; thus, dedicated type boarding body] in which a docking interface (120; fig. 1) according to a system standard is mounted [para. 0020 discloses: “The upper component 110 may include a user interface 114 and a coupling mechanism 112”; thus, a docking interface according to a system standard is mounted.]
Regarding claim 3, Moore further discloses that the dedicated type boarding body (100) comprises a seat functioning as a chair (fig. 1), a wheel (122 and “modular wheelchair system”, fig. 1; [0020-0021]) and a stopper (via coupling mechanism 112, fig. 1) that are mounted on a bottom of the dedicated type boarding body (see fig. 1, where 112 is positioned on the bottom), and a docker (“mechanical coupling mechanism” [0048]) mounted on a position where the dedicated type boarding body (100) and the moving body (200) are coupled (via “mechanical coupling mechanism” [0048]) to each other so that the docker (see fig. 2) is coupled (fig. 6A) to the moving body (200) [para, 0048 teaches that the moving body 200 and the power Base 120 may be coupled using any mechanical coupling mechanism that couples the moving body 200 and the power base 120. For example, the moving body 200 may include female coupling section and the power base 120 may include a male coupling section that may be coupled with the female coupling section, or vice versa; thus, the dedicated type boarding body and the moving body are coupled to each other so that the docker is coupled to the moving body]. Accordingly, the prior art of record anticipates the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Moore further discloses that the docker (“mechanical coupling mechanism” [0048]) has a locking structure (any “male coupling section” and any “female coupling section”; [0048]) in a form of an electromagnet [ para 0048 discloses: “the guide robot 200 (moving body) and the power base 120 (boarding body) may include magnetic components that attract each other to couple”; thus, coupling section in a form of an electromagnet.]
Regarding claim 8, Moore further discloses that the moving body (200) comprises a docker (“mechanical coupling mechanism” [0048]) mounted on a position where the moving body and the boarding body are coupled (fig. 5B) to each other so that the docker is coupled to the boarding body (100 with 120, fig. 6A), a driving sensor (134, fig. 3 and [0031]) configured to enable autonomous driving (Robot has autonomous driving), a support plate (A, annotated fig. 5C of Moore below) formed in a foldable structure ( fig. 5C shows foldable structure), and a wheel mounted on a bottom of the moving body (200) [para 0028 teaches: “the one or more electric motors 212 are connected to the one or more main wheels placed at the bottom of the guide robot 200”; thus, a wheel mounted on a bottom of the moving body.]
Annotated fig. 5C of Moore.
Regarding claim 9, Moore further discloses that a control server (server 260, figs. 3-4; [0033]) and a remote controller (232, [0041]), the control server (202) and the remote controller (232) being configured to communicate with the moving body (200) and to call the moving body to the boarding body (100 with 120) [para. 0024 teaches that a network interface hardware 128 of the power base 120 may be communicatively coupled to a network interface hardware 232 of the guide robot 200; thus, the remote controller being configured to communicate with the moving body and to call the moving body to the boarding body.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore in view of Martinez et al. (US 20030127866 A1; hereinafter, “Martinez”).
Regarding claim 4, Moore discloses the docker and fastener, such as any male coupling and any female coupling, but fails to explicitly teach to be fastened to a clasp, the clasp is formed in a hook shape, and the docker comprises a ring on which the clasp having the hook shape is capable of being hung and supported; however,
Martinez in another electromechanical locking mechanism’ similar to Moore teaches that the docker is configured to be fastened to a clasp (via spring 16, fig. 3), the clasp is formed in a hook shape (“locking hook”, [0008]), and the docker comprises a ring (“U-bolt”, [0008]) on which the clasp having the hook shape is capable of being hung and supported [see figs. 5-6 and para. 0008 teaches that gear motor is attached to a slotted link, which pulls a locking hook which hooks a U-bolt, or a headed bolt.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the docker of claim 3 with a fastening structure such as a hook-shaped clasp and a corresponding ring as taught by Martinez into the invention of Moore with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously fasten the docker of the boarding body to the moving body, as such hook-and-ring coupling mechanism are well-known interchangeable fastening solutions that predictably secure two bodies together. A skilled artisan would have recognized that substituting such a known fastening interface for the docker of Moore constitutes a simple design choice yielding only predictable results.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore in view of Oh Quintero Carlos Humberto Lllanos (BR MU8903008 U2; hereinafter, “Carlos”).
Regarding claim 6, Moore does not appear to explicitly teach that the boarding body is a modified boarding body comprising a conversion kit that is coupled to the seat; however,
Carlos in another ‘wheelchair motorization kit’ similar to Moore teaches that the boarding body (5, page 5) is a modified boarding body (with or without drive module) comprising a conversion kit (“motorization kit”; ‘Abstract’) that is coupled to the seat (see ‘Abstract’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the boarding body is a modified boarding body comprising a conversion kit that is coupled to the seat as taught by Carlos into the invention of Moore with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously adopt a new design where a person of ordinary skill would understand that instead of manufacturing a dedicated boarding body, an existing seat could be adopted using a conversion kit that adds wheel, stoppers and a docker. The modification does not change the underlying operation of the system; it simply provides a different, well-known implementation path.
Regarding claim 7, Moore as modified above does not appear to explicitly teach that the conversion kit comprises a wheel and a stopper that are mounted on a bottom of the conversion kit and comprises a docker mounted on position where the conversion kit and the moving body are coupled to each other so that the docker is coupled to the moving body; however,
the conversion kit (“motorization kit”; ‘Abstract’) comprises a wheel (“wheel of the chair”, ‘Abstract’) and a stopper that are mounted on a bottom of the conversion kit (“detachably installed at the bottom of the seat 7” [‘Abstract’]) and comprises a docker mounted (“central module”) on position where the conversion kit (motorization kit) and the moving body (drive connector’, ‘Abstract’) are coupled to each other so that the docker is coupled to the moving body (see details in the ‘Abstract’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the conversion kit with a wheel and stopper, and a docker mounted at the coupling position as taught by Carlos into the invention of the modified Moore with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously include these known elements , such as the conversion kit which represents a predictable use of conventional techniques to achieve the same docking and mobility function.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore in view of Oh Seong Joon (KR 20180010626A; hereinafter, “Joon”).
Regarding claim 10, Moore discloses the moving body, the boarding body, however, Prior art of record differs from the claimed invention in that identification of boarding body is performed by image verification, instead of ID; however,
Joon in another ‘wireless charging and autonomous moving electric wheelchair’ similar to Moore teaches that the boarding body further comprises an ID (“RFID”; [0014]), the ID being configured to be identified by the moving body (“moving motor”; 0014]) when the moving body is docked with the boarding body (“wheelchair”; [para. 0014 teaches that A moving motor for moving the electric wheelchair with information received from the laser sensor and the RFID antenna when the electric wheel chair is in the self-traveling mode; A power receiving module having the moving motor and a battery for supplying power to the height adjusting motor and charging the battery wirelessly; And a control unit receiving information from the laser sensor and the RFID antenna and controlling operation of the moving motor and the height adjusting motor; thus, the boarding body further comprises an ID, the ID being configured to be identified by the moving body when the moving body is docked with the boarding body.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ID, such as RFID being configured to be identified by the moving body when docked with the boarding body as taught by Joon into the invention of Moore with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously recognize the location of the boarding body to which an ID tag is attached to correct proper pairing and ensure proper engagement. A skilled artisan would have recognized that substituting such a known RFID identification for the docker of Moore constitutes a simple design choice yielding only predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Moore as modified above further teaches that a control method of a personal mobility device system (“the communication path 280 and receive instructions from the controller 202”, [0028]), the control method comprising:
a calling process (via smart phone) in which a user calls a moving body by using a remote controller mounted on a boarding body [ para. 0039 teaches that: “the mobile device may include an antenna for communicating over one or more of the wireless computer networks described above. Moreover, the mobile device may include a mobile antenna for communicating with the network 240. Accordingly, the mobile antenna may be configured to send and receive data according to a mobile telecommunication standard of any generation (e.g., 1G, 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.). Specific examples of the mobile device include, but are not limited to, smart phones, tablet devices”];
a matching process (via proximity sensor 134) in which a control server (260) matches the moving body (200) in response to a call from the remote controller (232); and
a setting process (figs. 6A-6B OF Moore) in which the moving body (200) called and positioned adjacent to the boarding body (120) identifies an ID (“RFID” of Joon) mounted on the boarding body (100 with 120) and sets driving (fig. 6B and see claim rejection 35 U.S.C § 112(b) above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2021094100 A1 to Terence discloses: the invention relates to a connection system (0) for connecting a wheelchair (100) to a motorized scooter (200).
US20160052139 A1 to Roderick Teaches: a wheelchair-assist robot for assisting a wheelchair user with everyday tasks or activities at work, at home, and the like. In an embodiment, the mobile wheelchair-assist robot includes a wheelchair interface component configured to exchange control information with a wheelchair controller.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
March 21, 2026