DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 07/20/2026. Claims 1-20 are previously cancelled. Claims 21, 29 and 37 are currently amended. Claims 21-40 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/20/2026 with respect to claims 21, 29 and 37 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment. Wherein the amended claim limitations have changed the scope. Therefore, the examiner did new ground of rejection using Bharadwaj (US 2017/0064718 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 21-23, 25, 28-31, 33 and 36-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0359159 A1) in view of Yang (US 2021/0288768 A1), further in view of Bharadwaj (US 2017/0064718 A1).
Regarding claims 21, 29 and 37, Kim teaches a device (AP 850—Fig. 27; [0140]), the device (AP) comprising processing circuitry (860) coupled to storage (870) (see Fig. 27; [0141]—they are coupled), the processing circuitry (860) configured to:
determine a resource unit (RU) size for an uplink (UL) multi-user multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO) transmission of a physical layer convergence protocol data unit (PPDU) (trigger frame) to be greater than or equal 242 tones within an at least 20 MHz channel ([0083], AP transmits a trigger frame to a plurality of STAs. The trigger frame includes UL MU allocation information (e.g., resource size and an MU type (MIMO)). Wherein [0106], Fig. 18, The trigger frame includes resource allocation information for UL MU frame transmissions of STA 1 to STA 8. STA 1 to STA 8 may transmit UL frames in MU in resource areas {each having 242 tones (a 20 MHz resource unit/RU)---see [0115]} allocated by the trigger frame.) (Hence AP determines RU size is equal to 242 tones within 20 MHz for an UL MU-MIMO transmission of a frame from a STA.);
allocate frequency resources for the UL MU-MIMO transmission based on the determined RU size of more than or equal to 242 tones ( [0106], Fig. 18, The trigger frame includes resource allocation information for UL MU frame transmissions of STA 1 to STA 8. STA 1 to STA 8 may transmit UL frames in MU in resource areas allocated {UL MU-MIMO resources {obvious frequency resources} are allocated to UL resource areas each having 242 tones (a 20-MHz resource unit/RU)—[0115]} by the trigger frame.)(Hence AP allocates frequency resources for the UL MU-MIMO transmission based on the determined RU size is equal to 242 tones.);
identify a UL MU-MIMO transmission of the PPDU (trigger frame) received from at least one of multiple user stations (STAs) within the at least 20 MHz channel utilizing an RU greater than or equal to 242 tones ( [0106], Fig. 18, STA 1 to STA 8 may transmit UL frames in MU {UL MU-MIMO frame—[0098]} in resource areas {each having 242 tones (a 20 MHz resource unit/RU)---see [0115]} allocated by the trigger frame from AP.) (Hence AP identifies an UL MU-MIMO transmission of the frame received from STAs within 20 MHz utilizing an RU of 242 tones.).
Kim teaches trigger frame.
Kim does not teach trigger frame is as a PPDU; and determine a physical layer convergence protocol data unit (PPDU) bandwidth; select a minimum RU size for MU-MIMO transmission based on the PPDU bandwidth, wherein the minimum RU size is increased as the PPDU bandwidth increases and corresponds to: 242 tones for PPDU bandwidths of 20 MHz or 40 MHz, 484 tones for PPDU bandwidths of 80 MHz or 160 MHz, and 996 tones for a PPDU bandwidth of 320 MHz;
However, in an analogous art, Yang teaches trigger frame is a PPDU ( [0006],PPDU is a downlink (DL); wherein the PPDU can be a trigger-based (TB) PPDU, and RU is indicated by a trigger frame received by wireless communication device. So trigger frame is as a PPDU.); and
a device (AP-Fig. 8), configured to:
determine a physical layer convergence protocol data unit (PPDU) bandwidth ([0109], AP 802 determines, selects, UL transmission parameters, and indicates the UL transmission parameters {bandwidth/frequency band-also [0006]} to STA 804 using any suitable frame {PPDU—[0006]}.) (Hence the AP transmits a PPDU bandwidth.);
select a minimum RU size (242 tone) for MU-MIMO transmission based on the PPDU bandwidth (40 MHz--considered) ([0006]; [0131], tones mapped from selected, obtained, or allocated RUs {for UL MU-MIMO transmission—[0077]} for a 20 MHz, a 40 MHz, a 160 MHz, or a 320 MHz {of PPDU BW—[0069]}, such as RU52, RU106 {for 20 MHz—see [0128]}, RU242, RU484, or RU996.) (Hence, the AP selects a minimum RU size that is RU242 tone for MU-MIMO transmission based on the PPDU BW of 40 MHz.), wherein the minimum RU size (242 tone) is increased as the PPDU bandwidth increases and corresponds to: 242 tones for PPDU bandwidths of 20 MHz or 40 MHz, 484 tones for PPDU bandwidths of 80 MHz or 160 MHz, and 996 tones for a PPDU bandwidth of 320 MHz ( [0131], tones mapped from selected, obtained, or allocated RUs for a 20 MHz, a 40 MHz, a 160 MHz, or a 320 MHz {of PPDU BW—[0069]}, such as RU52, RU106 {for 20 MHz—see [0128]}, RU242, RU484, or RU996. ) (Hence it is obvious, the minimum RU size 242 tone is increased as the PPDU BW increases and corresponds to: 242 tones for PPDU BW of 40 MHz, 484 tones for PPDU BW of 160 MHz, and 996 tones for a PPDU BW of 320 MHz.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Yang and apply them on the teaching of Kim for increasing the total and allowed transmit power of a wireless communication device may improve the range and signal quality of wireless transmissions from the wireless communication device (such as by increasing one or more of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR), and so on)( Yang; [0061]).
Kim- Yang teaches a feature of single RU within the PPDU bandwidth.
Kim- Yang does not teach allocate frequency resources for the UL MU-MIMO transmission based on the determined RU size of more than or equal to 242 tones, wherein there are multiple RUs within the PPDU bandwidth;
However, in an analogous art, Bharadwaj teaches allocate frequency resources for the UL{[0089]} MU-MIMO transmission based on the determined RU size of more than or equal to 242 tones ( [0024] & [0054], RUs for OFDMA & MU-MIMO transmission; [0150], for a channel bandwidth of 80 MHz {of PPDU—[0061]}, minimum RU {for allocation of frequency resources—[0128]} size for non MU-MIMO or OFDMA allocations is 52 tones, while MU-MIMO allocations are 242 tones.) (Hence device/BS allocates frequency resources/RU2 for UL MU-MIMO transmission when/based on minimum RU/RU2 size of 242 tones.), wherein there are multiple RUs within the PPDU bandwidth ([0150], for a channel bandwidth of 80 MHz {of PPDU—[0061]}, minimum RU size for non MU-MIMO or OFDMA allocations is 52 tones, while MU-MIMO allocations are 242 tones; wherein [0024] & [0054], RUs in PPDU for OFDMA & MU-MIMO transmission.) (Hence, there are 2 RUs within the PPDU bandwidth/80 MHz. The RU1 for OFDM and the RU2 for MU-MIMO transmission.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Bharadwaj and apply them on the teaching of Kim- Yang to provide an allocation of resources for a wireless communication. Different resource allocation schemes is used to efficiently use resources and to reduce signaling complexity (Bharadwaj; [0004]).
Specially for Claim 29, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (870-Fig. 27; [0141]) storing computer-executable instructions which when executed by one or more processors (860—Fig. 27; [0141]) ([0142]) result in performing operations comprising:
Regarding claims 22, 30 and 38, Kim further teaches wherein the RU size is greater than or equal to 242 tones for different PPDU (frame) bandwidths (40 MHz & 80 MHz) (242 tones RU in Fig. 18 and 21 for 40 MHz and 80 MHz bandwidth frames, respectively; [0092]; [0041]).
Regarding claims 23, 31 and 39, Kim further teaches wherein a minimum RU size for the UL MU-MIMO transmission is fixed regardless of a PPDU (frame) bandwidth (242 tones RU in Fig. 18 and 21 for 40 MHz and 80 MHz bandwidth frames, respectively; [0092]; [0041]).
Regarding claims 25 and 33, Kim further teaches wherein the RU size is greater than or equal to 242 tones for 20 MHz or 40 MHz bandwidths ([0092], 242 tones RU in Fig. 18 for 40 MHz bandwidth frame.).
Regarding claims 28 and 36, Kim further teaches wherein a limit of a number of Rus is equal to two Rus (see Fig. 18; [0105]) used for the MU-MIMO transmission of the PPDU (frame) ([0106], Fig. 18, STA 1 to STA 8 may transmit UL frames in MU {UL MU-MIMO frame—[0098]} in resource areas {each having 242 tones (a 20 MHz resource unit/RU)---see [0115]} allocated by the trigger frame from AP.).
5. Claims 24, 26, 27, 32, 34, 35 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0359159 A1) in view of Yang (US 2021/0288768 A1), in view of Bharadwaj (US 2017/0064718 A1), further in view of Chen (US 2018/0027514 A1).
Regarding claims 24, 32 and 40, Kim- Yang- Bharadwaj does not teach wherein the PPDU is sent using a bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz.
However, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the PPDU is sent using a bandwidth of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or 320 MHz ([0020] & [0021], Bandwidth of PPDU is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 320 MHz.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Chen and apply them on the teaching of Kim- Yang- Bharadwaj to reduce collisions and/or interference (Chen; [0068]).
Regarding claims 26 and 34, Kim- Yang- Bharadwaj does not teach wherein the RU size is greater than or equal to 484 tones for 80 MHz or 160 MHz bandwidths.
However, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the RU size is greater than or equal to 484 tones for 80 MHz or 160 MHz bandwidths ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Chen and apply them on the teaching of Kim- Yang- Bharadwaj to reduce collisions and/or interference (Chen; [0068]).
Regarding claims 27 and 35, Kim- Yang- Bharadwaj does not teach wherein the RU size is greater than or equal to 996 tones for 320 MHz bandwidth.
However, in an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the RU size is greater than or equal to 996 tones for 320 MHz bandwidth ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Chen and apply them on the teaching of Kim- Yang- Bharadwaj to reduce collisions and/or interference (Chen; [0068]).
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415