Priority
This application claims priority to US 63/435,805 (filed 12/29/22).
Amendment(s)
The Preliminary Amendment filed 06/15/26 is entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of nmc-622 species in the Reply filed 06/15/26 is acknowledged. Upon careful consideration, the species requirement is hereby withdrawn.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 12/29/23 are approved by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, independent claim 1 requires that the Li-NMC material is NMC-622 (stoichiometry). Dependent claim 2 recites that “any variant” may be processed (i.e. utilized). Such is outside the scope of the independent claim. Likewise, dependent claim 5 does not further limit independent claim 1.
Claims 6, 8, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In dependent claim 6, it is unclear as to what is required by the terminology “in a post processing phase”. Clarification is required.
In dependent claim 8, the terminology “the chemical mixture” does not have antecedent basis in the independent claim.
In independent claim 10, line 9, it is unclear as to what is required by the terminology “a Lithium hydroxide (LiOH) of Li carbonate”. It appears such should require “or Li carbonate”. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 103
Claim Construction
Note that the examiner construes the claim terminology “high temperature sintering” to include any temperature(s) which form a solid mass without melting to the point of liquefication (instant PGPUB para 0026). Additionally, the instant claim terminology “Li-NMC” and “CAM” are both given their normal meaning in the art (i.e. Li/nickel/manganese/cobalt Oxide and cathode active material, respectively). Likewise, the examiner construes the claim term “X element” to include any element(s) doped into the cathode active material.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (Adv Sci 2021).
Lee et al (Adv Sci 2021) discloses Li excess layered cathode materials with V surface doping (Abstract). The reference discloses a process wherein Li/Ni/Mn acetates, Li hydroxide and urea are reacted to form a carbonate precursor material. The reference additionally teaches an embodiment wherein the carbonate precursor is subsequently reacted with vanadium ethoxide (0.5-5at%) and calcined (500°C for 6h, then 900°C for 12h) with LiOH to form a V coating material (Section 4). The references specifically states that vanadium is “doped into the surface layers” (page 3 of 11), which the examiner submits meets the instant requirement of “sintering to embed X-elements in the CAM matrix”. Additionally, the examiner submits that the reference meets both the instant “post processing” and “pre-processing” limitations of dependent claims 6-7 as the reference discloses both previous and subsequent steps relating to the claimed “X processing”.
With respect to instant claims 1-9, the reference differs from the instant claims in failing to specify the instant claimed NMC-622 stoichiometry (i.e. (Ni0.6Mn0.2Co0.2)). However, the examiner respectfully submits that the skilled artisan would have to utilize only routine testing in order to arrive at suitable known stoichiometries in order to tailor and optimize electrochemical performance of the resultant cathode material. With respect to instant claims 10-20, although the reference does not specify the claimed temperature ranges 20°-50°C for the mixing steps, it appears that Lee performs such at room temperature (e.g. 20°C), and the examiner submits that the skilled artisan would have to utilize only routine testing in order to arrive at suitable temperature ranges in order to control the precursor reactions. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It is noted that dependent claims 19-20 are drawn to “intended use” of the material. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112194195 A.
CN ‘195 discloses a method of making a doped and coated NCA (nickel cobalt aluminum) positive active material (Abstract). The disclosed method entails mixing Co, Al, and Ni soluble salts to form a precursor, adding said precursor, Li source (e.g. LiOH or L2iCO3), dopant (e.g. Mg, Ti, Sr, Zr, Si, 1-3:1000) and coating agent in ethyl alcohol, and sintering (O2, 800-1000°C) to form the final doped product (page 2-3 of translation).
With respect to instant claims 1-9, the reference fails to specify the claimed NMC-622 stoichiometry. However, the examiner respectfully submits that such would have been an obvious substitution for the skilled artisan. The reference specifically teaches that the disclosed process provides several advantages including uniformity, simplicity and cost, and improvement in capacity and stability (page 4 of translation), each of which the skilled artisan would recognize as beneficial to known cathode active materials such as NMC-622.
With respect to instant claims 10-20, although the reference does not specify the claimed temperature ranges 20°-50°C for the mixing steps, it appears that the reference performs such at room temperature (e.g. 20°C), and the examiner submits that the skilled artisan would have to utilize only routine testing in order to arrive at suitable temperature ranges in order to control the precursor reactions. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It is noted that dependent claims 19-20 are drawn to “intended use” of the material. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020).
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on form 892 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/MARK KOPEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
MK
August 26, 2026