DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Amendment filed 01/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are currently pending in the application. Claims 15-20 were previously canceled. No new claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103. Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant concedes that “Costabeber further discloses that in other embodiments, the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5a. (Costabeber, [0102])” (Remarks, PG 7). However, Applicant asserts that “Costabeber does not teach or otherwise disclose any feeding means using a movable structure,” “Costabeber does not teach or otherwise disclose that the thrusting device is a movable structure within the first chamber and, in fact, suggests the contrary,” “the feeding means comprising a thrusting device is depicted in Fig 6…resides on the boundary of the reservoir, not within the reservoir,” “Constabeber fails to define or disclose any details regarding the plunger,” and “based on the ordinary mechanisms of a plunger, the thrusting device must necessarily remain outside of the reservoir given the positioning of the seal formed by the plunger at the first end of the reservoir. Accordingly, the thrusting device cannot be a structure movable within the first chamber (i.e., reservoir). Furthermore, every embodiment of the feeding mechanism disclosed or taught by Costabeber employs a mechanism to supply air into the reservoir to manipulate pressure to facilitate the flow of material from the reservoir to the container. Costabeber does not disclose a movable structure within the chamber as claimed by Applicant” (Remarks, Pg 7-9).
Examiner notes that Costabeber discloses that the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5 a and a thrusting device 18 suited to thrust (positive pressure) the materials 6, 6 a from the reservoirs 5, 5 a towards the container 3, wherein the modelling platform 14 is arranged in contact with the material 6, 6 a or 6 b present in the container 3, and wherein the movement of the platform 14 is parallel to the bottom 9 of the container 3 (¶0099,0102,0152-0160). Accordingly, Constabeber teaches introducing the build material into the build chamber via a feeding path through the application of positive pressure to facilitate building of the 3D object in the build chamber.
Accordingly, based upon the reasons stated above, the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 USC 103 set forth in the Office Action mailed 07/11/2025 is maintained. The rejection of claims 1-14 is provided below.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/12/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,624 and 12,128,625 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/12/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application No. 18/401,155, 18/543791, and 18/619744 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constabeber (US 2016/0151974 A1) in view of Holt (US 2021/0122104 A1).
Regarding claims 1-6, Constabeber discloses a method for introducing additive manufacturing material to build a 3D object, comprising providing cartridge 2 (cartridge) including a container 3 (build chamber) that has a supporting structure 34 (plurality of walls) including an intermediate wall 16 (wall) coupled to reservoir 5 (reservoir chamber) adapted to hold a first material 6, the supporting structure 34 sealed to ensure a controlled environment; introducing the first material 6 into container 3 via conveyance ducts 8 a (feeding path) to facilitate building of the 3D object in the container 3, including moving a thrusting device (structure) inside reservoir 5 of cartridge 2 to move a modeling platform 14 (platform) in container 3; and wherein introducing the first material 6 into container 3 includes disposing a portion of the first material 6 on a surface of a transparent bottom 9 (window) inside container 3 (Fig 4 and ¶0078-0095,0099-0106).
Examiner notes that Costabeber discloses that the thrusting device comprises a plunger arranged in each reservoir 5, 5 a and a thrusting device 18 suited to thrust (positive pressure) the materials 6, 6 a from the reservoirs 5, 5 a towards the container 3, wherein the modelling platform 14 is arranged in contact with the material 6, 6 a or 6 b present in the container 3, and wherein the movement of the platform 14 is parallel to the bottom 9 of the container 3 (¶0099,0102,0152-0160). Accordingly, Constabeber teaches introducing the build material into the build chamber via a feeding path through the application of positive pressure to facilitate building of the 3D object in the build chamber.
While Constabeber does not explicitly disclose that the feeding path is formed on a side of the wall coupled to the reservoir chamber, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Constabeber such that the conveyance ducts 8 a (feeding path) are formed on a side of the intermediate wall 16 coupled to reservoir 5, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention is an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
While Constabeber teaches a method comprising introducing the build material into the build chamber via a feeding path to facilitate building of the 3D object in the build chamber, including moving a structure inside the reservoir chamber of the cartridge (base method), Constabeber does not explicitly teach introducing the build material into the build chamber...through the application of a positive pressure…to move a platform in the build chamber; wherein moving the structure inside the reservoir chamber hydraulically actuates the platform in the build chamber; wherein moving the structure includes pushing or pulling the structure inside the second chamber; wherein pushing or pulling the structure includes pushing or pulling the structure in a single direction along an axis of the second chamber; nor wherein moving the structure includes pausing and continuing movement of the structure at programmable intervals until the 3D object is formed in the build chamber.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stereolithographic (SLA) 3D printing, Holt discloses a method wherein a print platform 105 can be moved away from the base of the build vessel 108 by either delivering upwards force to the arm 106 or by delivering downward force to a piston attached to a platform 110 in the resin reservoir chamber 101 adjacent and connected to it via transfer pipe 102, wherein the resin is pumped in to achieve the desired thickness of layer, and wherein the print platform 105 is then forced to lift by a height determined by the volume of resin that has entered the chamber, which will become the build layer thickness (introducing the build material into the build chamber...through the application of a positive pressure…to move a platform in the build chamber; wherein moving the structure inside the reservoir chamber hydraulically actuates the platform in the build chamber; wherein moving the structure includes pushing or pulling the structure inside the second chamber; wherein pushing or pulling the structure includes pushing or pulling the structure in a single direction along an axis of the second chamber; wherein moving the structure includes pausing and continuing movement of the structure at programmable intervals until the 3D object is formed in the build chamber) (Fig 1 and ¶0061) (known technique applicable to the base method).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Constabeber by applying the known technique of introducing the build material into the build vessel (build chamber) through the application of positive pressure to facilitate building of the 3D object in the build vessel (build chamber), including moving a platform (structure) inside the resin reservoir chamber (reservoir chamber) to move a print platform (platform) in the build vessel (build chamber); wherein moving the platform (structure) inside the resin reservoir chamber (reservoir chamber) hydraulically actuates the print platform (platform) in the build vessel (build chamber); wherein moving the platform (structure) includes pushing or pulling the platform (structure) inside the resin reservoir chamber (reservoir chamber); wherein pushing or pulling the platform (structure) includes pushing or pulling the platform (structure) in a single direction along an axis of the resin reservoir chamber (reservoir chamber); and wherein moving the platform (structure) includes pausing and continuing movement of the structure at programmable intervals until the 3D object is formed in the build vessel (build chamber) as disclosed in Holt to the method disclosed in Constabeber with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Regarding claims 7-8, as applied to claim 6, Constabeber in view of Holt does not disclose wherein the surface of the window is coated with a gel nor wherein the gel comprises a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer coating an interior surface of the glass.
However, Holt discloses a method wherein the screen can be protected by a very low energy surface coating or film 109 on the inner surface to reduce adhesion of the layer to the screen after printing, wherein the coating of silicone may be Polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) (¶0061).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt by using the PDMS coating disclosed in Holt on the surface of the window disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt in order to reduce adhesion of the layer after printing (Holt, ¶0061).
Regarding claims 9-10, as applied to claim 6, while Constabeber in view of Holt discloses wherein introducing the build material into the build chamber includes disposing a portion of the build material on a window inside the build chamber, Constabeber in view of Holt does not disclose a film that at least partially forms a window inside the build chamber nor wherein the film is a polymethyl pentene (PMP) film.
However, Holt discloses a method wherein the screen can be protected by a very low energy surface coating or film 109 on the inner surface to reduce adhesion of the layer to the screen after printing, wherein the layer 109 may be a coating or film of Polymethylpentene (PMP) (¶0061).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt by using the PMP film disclosed in Holt to at least partially form the surface of the window disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt in order to reduce adhesion of the layer after printing (Holt, ¶0061).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1, Constabeber in view of Holt discloses releasing a platform from the build chamber to allow access to the 3D object formed inside the build chamber (Constabeber, Fig 3-4 and ¶0079-0080,0082,0118).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Constabeber in view of Holt does not disclose prior to or simultaneous with introducing the build material into the build chamber, breaking or removing a seal of a container assembly that houses the build chamber.
However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05(II). It would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success since Constabeber in view of Holt teaches that an access opening 4 makes it possible to insert the modelling platform 14 in the container 3 and to move it so as to allow the stereolithography process to be carried out and the cartridge 2 comprises also a door 12 removably associated with the access opening 4 of the container 3 in such a way that it can assume a closed position, shown in FIG. 3, and an open position, shown in FIG. 4 (Constabeber, Fig 3-4 and ¶0079-0080,0082,0118).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Constabeber in view of Holt such that prior to or simultaneous with introducing the build material into the build chamber, breaking or removing a seal of a container assembly that houses the build chamber with a reasonable expectation of success in order to insert the modelling platform in the container and to move it so as to allow the stereolithography process to be carried out (Constabeber, Fig 3-4 and ¶0079-0080,0082,0118).
Regarding claim 13-14, as applied to claim 1, Constabeber in view of Holt discloses a method wherein the cartridge 2 comprises also a second reservoir 5 a, associated with the supporting structure 34, suited to contain a second liquid or pasty material 6 a different from said first material 6; wherein the presence of several different materials 6, 6 a in a single cartridge 2 makes it possible to produce three-dimensional objects that consist of several different material; wherein the feeding means 8 comprise a thrusting device 18 suited to thrust the materials 6, 6 a from the reservoirs 5, 5 a towards the container 3; and wherein said feeding means 8 comprise valve means 19 that can be controlled in such a way as to allow or prevent the outflow of the materials 6, 6 a from the respective reservoirs 5, 5 a towards the container 3 based on the level of the material 6 b present in the latter (introducing at least a portion of a second build material stored in a second reservoir chamber; introducing the portion of the second build material from the second chamber or the third chamber through a valve) (Constabeber, Fig 1,4,5,6 and ¶0058-0061,0096-0106).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743