DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s response submitted 16 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11.360,259 to Li et al.
In regards to claims 1 and 20, Li recites a display system/method (Figure 3A), comprising: a display element (132) comprising an array of pixels; at least one light source (116); and a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) illumination element (110) overlapping the display element, the PIC illumination element comprising: at least one in-coupler (124) for in-coupling light from the at least one light source; and an array of out-coupling emitters (128) configured to emit light from the PIC illumination element toward the display element. Although Li does not expressly recite the array of out-coupling emitters is not aligned pixel-by-pixel with the array of pixels, Li clearly shows in Figure 3A an array of pixels (132 a, b, c) to be over the array out out-coupling emitters (128a, b), where the alignment between the two components is not aligned (Figure 3A, Column 4). Therefore, although it is not expressly stated, Li does clearly show the array of out-coupling emitters is not aligned pixel-by-pixel with the array of pixels and therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the device of Li to have provided the array of out-coupling emitters is not aligned pixel-by-pixel with the array of pixels to provide the display image as desired. Furthermore, although Li does not expressly recite wherein light emitted from at least one out-coupling emitter of the array of the out-coupling emitters travels along emitted light paths having cone angles that at least partially overlap in a pixel region of the display element corresponding to a plurality of pixel of the array of pixels, the device of Li teaches a display system having an array of pixels, a light source and an illumination element, where the elements together provide a display image. The light emitted by the out-coupling emitters clearly diverges into various sets for each of the three pixels, each pixel forming an image. Li further teaches the light to diverge and scatter, the scattering light must necessarily include at least a partial overlap while the majority of the light would be provided to each individual pixel. Although a cone angles are not expressly disclosed, conical shaped light beams are common in the optical art for the purpose of directing an array of scattered light to the desired location. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the device of Li to have provided light emitted from at least one out-coupling emitter of the array of the out-coupling emitters travels along emitted light paths having cone angles that at least partially overlap in a pixel region of the display element corresponding to a plurality of pixel of the array of pixels for an improved and enhanced image.
In regards to claims 2 and 3, Li recites the display element comprises a transmissive-type display element. Although Li does not expressly recite the display element comprises a reflective-type display element, reflective-type display elements are an obvious variant and a known alternative to a transmissive-type display. This is further evidenced in Applicant’s Specification and Figures 5 & 6, showing transmissive and reflective devices as alternative embodiments. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided a reflective-type display element in order to provide the desired image direction.
In regards to claims 4 and 5, although Li does not expressly recite a dispatch circuit configured to direct light from the in-coupler to the array of out-coupling emitters, the dispatch circuit comprises at least one of a y-splitter tree, a star coupler, an evanescent coupler, or a waveguide crossing, the inclusion of an additional coupler to ensure light is coupled efficiently to the illumination element would be advantageous to prevent loss of light. It would have been a matter of common skill and obvious design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have included a dispatch circuit configured to direct light from the in-coupler to the array of out-coupling emitters and to have included the dispatch circuit comprises at least one of a y-splitter tree, a star coupler, an evanescent coupler, or a waveguide crossing since y-splitter tree, a star coupler, an evanescent coupler, or a waveguide crossing are known optical couplers in the art and effective light coupling components.
In regards to claim 6, Li recites the out-coupling emitters comprise at least one of a short grating, a chirped grating, or a resonant grating. (Column 16)
In regards to claims 7 and 8, Li recites light from multiple color light sources is guided through the PIC illumination element in a single PIC layer. Although Li does not expressly recite a wavelength multiplexer and demultiplexer or each of the separated PIC layers guides one of the multiple colors of light, wavelength multiplexers and demultiplexers and separated PIC layers are known the art for their light manipulation functions. These components are readily available and it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to include a wavelength multiplexer or demultiplexer or each of the separated PIC layers guides one of the multiple colors of light when multiple color light sources are provided in order to aid in the manipulation of light.
In regards to claim 9, Li recites the at least one light source comprises at least one of a laser diode or a super luminescence light-emitting diode.
In regards to claim 10, Li recites the at least one light source is in-coupled to the at least one in-coupler by at least one of edge coupling or flip-chip laser bonding.
In regards to claims 11 and 12, Li recites different colors of light are pre-combined before in-coupling with the PIC illumination element and different colors of light are combined through one or more separate PIC components within the PIC illumination element.
In regards to claim 13, Li recites the PIC illumination element comprises at least one waveguide, a core that is transparent to one or more wavelengths of light and has a first refractive index; and a cladding surrounding the core, the cladding having a second refractive index that is different than the first refractive index. (Column 5)
In regards to claims 14 and 15, Li recites at least some of the out-coupling emitters comprise at least one grating structure defined by a surface region of the core and at least some of the out-coupling emitters comprise at least one grating structure formed by a grating layer overlapping a portion of the core.
In regards to claim 16, Li recites the cladding at least partially surrounds the grating layer.
In regards to claim 17, Li recites the at least one waveguide comprises a single mode waveguide or a multiple mode waveguide.
In regards to claim 18, although Li does not expressly recite the at least one waveguide utilizes at least one of a transverse electric mode or a transverse magnetic mode for light polarization, the use of TE or TM modes for light polarization is advantageous in order to optimize the performance of the optical waveguide and maximize transmission characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the at least one waveguide utilizes at least one of a transverse electric mode or a transverse magnetic mode for light polarization.
In regards to claim 19, Li recites a display lighting unit (Figure 3A), comprising: at least one light source (116); and a PIC illumination element (132) overlapping the display element, the PIC illumination element comprising: at least one in-coupler (124) for in-coupling light from the at least one light source; and an array of out-coupling emitters (128) configured to emit light from the PIC illumination element such that light cones emitted from two or more of the out-coupling emitters. Although Li does not expressly recite the light cones to at least partially overlap, Li does teach scattering out portions of light through the out-coupling emitters. Since the exit light is scattered, there must be some light loss in the system that would therefore overlap the adjacent light cones. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the light cones to at least partially overlap.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Li does not teach claim 1 as amended. However, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed in the currently presented rejection, Li as modified does teach light emitted from at least one out-coupling emitter of the array of the out-coupling emitters travels along emitted light paths having cone angles that at least partially overlap in a pixel region of the display element corresponding to a plurality of pixel of the array of pixels. Li teaches a display system having an array of pixels, a light source and an illumination element, where the elements together provide a display image. The light emitted by the out-coupling emitters clearly diverges into various sets for each of the three pixels, each pixel forming an image. Li further teaches the light to diverge and scatter, the scattering light must necessarily include at least a partial overlap while the majority of the light would be provided to each individual pixel. Although a cone angles are not expressly disclosed, conical shaped light beams are common in the optical art for the purpose of directing an array of scattered light to the desired location in order to provide an improved image. Applicant simply states that Li teaches an out-coupling emitters to scatter the light in various sets. However, the Examiner has discussed each of these various sets to be an emitted light path.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINA WONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874