DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a second magnet connected to the rotor” recited in claim 2, “the second magnet is disposed 180 degrees of rotation of the rotor from the magnet” recited in claim 3, “a second coil wherein the second coil is connected to the frame in a location opposite the coil relative to the rotor” recited in claim 4, “one or more pairs of coils wherein each coil in a pair of coils is connected to the frame in a location opposite the other coil in the pair of coils relative to the rotor” recited in claim 5, and “the pairs of coils are disposed around the rotor uniformly” recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maehara er al. (US 6,043,632 A).
Regarding claim 1, Maehara teaches a electromechanical kinetic motor comprising:
a frame (housing, col 7 ln 40-42);
a stator (200) connected to the frame, the stator (200) including a coil (6, fig 1);
a rotor (201) rotatably connected to the frame, the rotor (201) including a magnet (8, fig 2); and
a power source (2, fig 3) electrically connected to the coil (6);
an electric load (5) connected to the coil (6), the electric load (5) configured to extract power from the coil (6); wherein:
the coil (6) generates an electromagnetic field in response to electricity provided by the power source (2);
the rotor (201) is configured to rotate the magnet (8) through the magnetic field generated by the coil (6); and
an electric current is induced in the coil (6) by the rotation of the magnet (8) through the electromagnetic field generated by the coil (6).
Regarding claim 7, Maehara teaches an alternator (1) connected to the rotor (201) wherein the alternator generates electric current in response to rotation of the rotor (fig 3).
Regarding claim 8, Maehara teaches a method of manufacturing an electromechanical kinetic motor, the method comprising:
providing a frame (housing);
connecting a stator (200) with a coil (6) to the frame (fig 1);
rotatably connecting a rotor (201) with a magnet (8) to the frame (fig 2);
providing a control circuit (2) configured to control the electricity provided to the coil (6) from a power source; and
electrically connecting a power circuit (2) to the coil (6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maehara in view of Choi et al. (US 2012/0299409 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Maehara teaches the claim invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of a second magnet connected to the rotor.
Choi teaches an electric motor having a second magnet (175) connected to the rotor (171, fig 4) to enhance power density (para [0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maehara’s motor with a second magnet connected to the rotor as taught by Choi. Doing so would enhance power density (para [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Maehara in view of Choi teaches the claim invention as set forth in claim 2, except for the added limitation of the second magnet is disposed 180 degrees of rotation of the rotor from the magnet.
Choi further teaches an electric motor having the second magnet (175) is disposed 180 degrees of rotation of the rotor from the magnet (185, fig 5) to enhance power density (para [0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maehara in view of Choi’s motor with the second magnet is disposed 180 degrees of rotation of the rotor from the magnet as further taught by Choi. Doing so would enhance power density (para [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Maehara teaches the claim invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of a second coil wherein the second coil is connected to the frame in a location opposite the coil relative to the rotor.
Choi teaches an electric motor having a second coil (162) wherein the second coil (162) is connected to the frame (151) in a location opposite the coil (163) relative to the rotor (170, fig 5) to enhance power density (para [0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maehara’s motor with a second coil wherein the second coil is connected to the frame in a location opposite the coil relative to the rotor as taught by Choi. Doing so would enhance power density (para [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Maehara teaches the claim invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of one or more pairs of coils wherein each coil in a pair of coils is connected to the frame in a location opposite the other coil in the pair of coils relative to the rotor.
Choi teaches an electric motor having one or more pairs of coils (162) wherein each coil in a pair of coils is connected to the frame (151) in a location opposite the other coil (162) in the pair of coils relative to the rotor (fig 5) to enhance power density (para [0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maehara’s motor with one or more pairs of coils wherein each coil in a pair of coils is connected to the frame in a location opposite the other coil in the pair of coils relative to the rotor as taught by Choi. Doing so would enhance power density (para [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Maehara in view of Choi teaches the claim invention as set forth in claim 5, except for the added limitation of the pairs of coils are disposed around the rotor uniformly.
Choi further teaches an electric motor having the pairs of coils (163) are disposed around the rotor uniformly (fig 5) to enhance power density (para [0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maehara in view of Choi’s motor with the pairs of coils are disposed around the rotor uniformly as further taught by Choi. Doing so would enhance power density (para [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mitsuda et al. (US 12,531,450 B2) teaches rotating electric machine according to the present disclosure is a rotating electric machine including a stator and a rotor, in which the rotor includes a plurality of permanent magnets arranged in a circumferential direction of a rotation axis and a plurality of protrusions arranged in the circumferential direction, the stator includes a plurality of teeth, an armature winding wound around the plurality of teeth, and a field winding wound around the plurality of teeth, a field pole is formed in the plurality of protrusions by energization to the field winding and the plurality of permanent magnets, the plurality of permanent magnets and the plurality of teeth are alternately arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction to form the field pole, all the permanent magnets have the same polarity.
Reddy et al. (US 9,966,897 B2) teaches a permanent magnet machine includes a stator assembly and a rotor assembly, with a plurality of ferrite permanent magnets disposed within the stator assembly or the rotor assembly to generate a magnetic field that interacts with a stator magnetic field to produce a torque. A controller of the electrical machine is programmed to cause a primary field current to be applied to the stator windings to generate the stator magnetic field, so as to cause the rotor assembly to rotate relative to the stator assembly. The controller is further programmed to cause a secondary current to be applied to the stator windings to selectively generate a secondary magnetic field, the secondary magnetic field inducing eddy currents in at least one of the stator assembly and the rotor assembly to heat the ferrite permanent magnets.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834