DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 13, 15-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brendel et al. (US 20210282733).
Regarding claim 14, Brendel teaches a system for spectral imaging, comprising: at least one storage device storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the storage device (fig.1)), wherein when executing the set of instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including:
obtaining scan data of a target subject (p0124: receive the multi-spectral medical imaging data and p0007: multi-spectral image data of a region of interest of a patient);
determining, based on the scan data, spectral intermediate data (o0124:process it using the apparatus); and generating, based on the spectral intermediate data, a target spectral image (p00125:generate output image data having a reduced level of edge noise ).
Regarding claim 1, The structural elements of apparatus claim 14 perform all of the steps of method claim 1. Thus, claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 2, Brendel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the spectral intermediate data includes at least one of noise spectral intermediate data or denoised spectral intermediate data (p0008:The first and second basis image data contains noise).
Claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 14 and in accordance with Brendel’s further teaching on: A computer-readable memory that contains instructions, which when executed by a processor perform steps in a method (p0034).
Regarding claim 15, Brendel teaches the system of claim 1, wherein to generate, based on the spectral intermediate data, the target spectral image, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including:
obtaining a first processing parameter; and generating, based on the spectral intermediate data and the first processing parameter, the target spectral image (p0125: generate output image data having a reduced level of edge noise).
Regarding claim 5, The structural elements of apparatus claim 15 perform all of the steps of method claim 5. Thus, claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Brendel teaches the system claim 15, wherein the first processing parameter is related to a target noise level, and to generate, based on the spectral intermediate data and the first processing parameter, the target spectral image, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including: generating the target spectral image by performing a weighting operation on the spectral intermediate data based on the target noise level (p0026: receive the multi-spectral medical imaging data, and to process it using the apparatus for simultaneous edge noise reduction and p0012:the first basis image data weighted by the first weight).
Regarding claim 6, The structural elements of apparatus claim 16 perform all of the steps of method claim 6. Thus, claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 13, Brendel teaches The method of claim 1, further including: generating, based on at least one intermediate image and the spectral intermediate data, a spectral data packet; transmitting the spectral data packet to a second processing device by the first processing device (p0049: acquisition module 12), the first processing device being configured to process the scan data (fig. 1: 12); and generating, based on the spectral data packet, the target spectral image by the second processing device, the second processing device being configured to access a service terminal (16 in fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Natanzon et al. (US 20230360201).
Regarding claim 17, Brendel teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the first processing parameter is related to a type of the target spectral image, and to generate, based on the spectral intermediate data and the first processing parameter, the target spectral image, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including: determining first spectral processing data by using the first processing parameter to process the spectral intermediate data; and generating the target spectral image by performing a weighting operation on the first spectral processing data (p0026:receive the multi-spectral medical imaging data, and to process it using the apparatus for simultaneous edge noise reduction and p0012:the first basis image data weighted by the first weight).
Brendel does not teaches wherein the first processing parameter is related to a type of the target spectral image
Natanzon teaches wherein the first processing parameter is related to a type of the target spectral image (p0069: spectral imagery may be processed into other imagery still, such as a virtual monochromatic image, a contrast agent quantitative map, a virtual non-contrast image, an electron density image, and/or other spectral imagery).
Brendel and Natanzon are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Brendel with the teaching of Natanzon for purpose for improvements in spectral imaging (p0012).
Regarding claim 3, Brendel in view of Natanzon teaches the method of claim 2, wherein a type of the target spectral image includes at least one of: a dual-base material pair image, a virtual monoenergetic image, a virtual non-contrast image, an electron density image, or an effective atomic number image teaches wherein the first processing parameter is related to a type of the target spectral image (Natanzon: p0069: spectral imagery may be processed into other imagery still, such as a virtual monochromatic image, a contrast agent quantitative map, a virtual non-contrast image, an electron density image, and/or other spectral imagery).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 17 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 7, The structural elements of apparatus claim 17 perform all of the steps of method claim 7. Thus, claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 17.
Claims 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Tsukuda et al. (US 20220383466).
Regarding claim 18, Brendel does not teach the system of claim 14, wherein to generate, based on the spectral intermediate data, the target spectral image, the at least one processor is configured to cause the system to perform operations including: for each of one or more pixels corresponding to the target subject, determining, based on the spectral intermediate data, an effective atomic number value of the pixel; and generating, based on one or more effective atomic number values of the one or more pixels, the target spectral image.
Tsukuda teaches operations including: for each of one or more pixels corresponding to the target subject, determining, based on the spectral intermediate data, an effective atomic number value of the pixel; and generating, based on one or more effective atomic number values of the one or more pixels, the target spectral image (p0062: target object such as a guide wire can be extracted by performing frequency decomposition on the soft tissue removal image or the effective atomic number image).
Brendel and Tsukuda are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Brendel with the teaching of Tsukuda for purpose for provides a technique that enables materials to be separated from a decomposition image obtained by means of spectral imaging or the like, without using a mask image (p0006).
Regarding claim 8, The structural elements of apparatus claim 18 perform all of the steps of method claim 8. Thus, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 18.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Matsuura et al. (US 20230404514).
Regarding claim 4, Brendel does not teach the method of claim 3, wherein a volume of the noise spectral intermediate data or a volume of the denoised spectral intermediate data is related to the type of the target spectral image.
Matsuura teaches wherein a volume of the noise spectral intermediate data or a volume of the denoised spectral intermediate data is related to the type of the target spectral image (p0071).
Brendel and Matsuura are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Brendel with the teaching of Matsuura for purpose to solve the problem of the FBP-based reconstruction method (p0004)
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 9-12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Brendel et al. (US 20210282733) teaches similar system, However, the closest prior art of record, namely Brendel et al. (US 20210282733), does not disclose, teach or suggest, the claim limitation, as recited in dependent claims 9 and 19.
Claims 10-12 are found to be allowable because claim 6 is depending on claim 9.
Conclusion
HELEN ZONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2681
/HELEN ZONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681