DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 12/29/2023. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and have
been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 12 – 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kandao (NPL: “The New KanDao Meeting Ultra Is An Ideal Solution For Hybrid Meetings - posted 06/30/2023 <https://www.kandaovr.com/newsroom/article/1133> (Year: 2023)”, hereinafter “Kandao Meeting Ultra” and NPL: “Kandao Meeting Ultra review: hands-on test of the 4K 360-degree conference cam - posted 06/14/2023 <https://www.kandaovr.com/newsroom/article/1135> (Year: 2023)”, hereinafter “Kandao Meeting Ultra Review”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kandao teaches
An apparatus for facilitating managing a body language of a user during a video communication session (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 - 3, 360 AI Conference Host with Dual Touchscreens in which video conference is facilitated and managed to capture videos of participants including body language, speech, and more), the apparatus comprising:
an image capturing device comprising an image capturing device housing and an image capturing unit (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 2, image capturing device in which a camera is encapsulated in a housing), wherein the image capturing unit is configured for generating a first content stream comprising the body language of the user by capturing a plurality of images of the user (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 3 and 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display);
a plurality of display devices configured to be attached to the image capturing device in at least one arrangement using a plurality of attaching mechanisms (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which two display devices are attached to the image capturing device in an arrangement using attachment mechanisms that can be tilted), wherein the plurality of display devices are radially arranged around the image capturing device (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which two display devices are attached to the image capturing device in an arrangement around a center image capturing device, using attachment mechanisms), wherein each of the plurality of display devices comprises a display device housing and a display unit (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 3, in which there are two displays attached to the image capturing device, and the displays consist of a display device and housing), wherein the plurality of attaching mechanisms attaches the display device housing of the plurality of display devices to a plurality of sides of the image capturing device housing (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which the displays are attached on the back of the display housing to the sides of the image capturing device using tiltable mechanisms), wherein the display unit of the plurality of display devices is configured for displaying a plurality of second content streams to the user (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 3 and 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display), wherein the user engages in the video communication session based on the displaying of the plurality of second content streams and the capturing of the first content stream, wherein the displaying of the plurality of second content streams allows the managing of the body language of the user during the capturing of the first content stream (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. Additionally, the apparatus captures individual video streams of each participant in a meeting for a close-up video to be displayed, therefore focusing on the body language and face of each participant rather than only a single video stream of a conference room and Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus); and
at least one communication interface communicatively coupled with the image capturing unit, wherein the at least one communication interface is configured for transmitting the first content stream to at least one device over at least one of a wired communication channel and a wireless communication channel (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus, and Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 and 6, apparatus is capable of wireless communication, as it is capable of conducting video conferences through apps such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and more. Apparatus also has Wi-Fi connection capabilities and has ports for inputs and outputs such as connecting to a computer for transmitting audio/video, Ethernet port for wired network transmission, and input for screen sharing from computer as well).
Regarding Claim 8, Kandao teaches
The apparatus of claim 1 further comprising at least one mounting element attached to at least one of the image capturing device housing and the display device housing of at least one of the plurality of display devices (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which the two displays are attached on the back of the display housing to the sides of the image capturing device using tiltable mechanisms).
Regarding Claim 12, Kandao teaches
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one mounting element is configured for mounting the apparatus to at least one support (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which the displays are attached on the back of the display housing to the sides of the image capturing device using tiltable mechanisms and the apparatus additionally has capability of attaching to tripods/stands).
Regarding Claim 13, Kandao teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display unit of each of the plurality of display devices is further configured for collectively displaying the plurality of second content streams (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. Additionally, the apparatus captures individual video streams of each participant in a meeting for a close-up video to be displayed, therefore focusing on the body language and face of each participant rather than only a single video stream of a conference room. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking, and Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus).
Regarding Claim 14, Kandao teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display unit of each of the plurality of display devices is further configured for individually displaying each of the plurality of second content streams (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. Additionally, the apparatus captures individual video streams of each participant in a meeting for a close-up video to be displayed, therefore focusing on the body language and face of each participant rather than only a single video stream of a conference room. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking, and Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus).
Regarding Claim 15, Kandao teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of display devices comprises at least one first display device and at least one second display device (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 1, in which video conferencing apparatus has a first and second display), wherein the image capturing unit is communicatively coupled with the display unit of the at least one first display device (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 4, and Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which camera captures video and outputs the video on each of the displays depending on the discussion mode), wherein the display unit of the at least one first display device is configured for displaying the first content stream, wherein the display unit of the at least one second display device is configured for displaying at least one of the plurality of second content streams (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. Additionally, the apparatus captures individual video streams of each participant in a meeting for a close-up video to be displayed, therefore focusing on the body language and face of each participant rather than only a single video stream of a conference room. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking, and Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on both displays of apparatus).
Regarding Claim 16, Kandao teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second content streams comprises at least one primary second content stream and at least one secondary second content stream, wherein the plurality of display devices comprises at least one first display device and at least one second display device, wherein the display unit of each of the at least one first display device is configured for displaying the at least one primary second content stream, wherein the display unit of the at least one second display device is configured for displaying the at least one secondary second content stream (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. Additionally, the apparatus captures individual video streams of each participant in a meeting for a close-up video to be displayed, therefore focusing on the body language and face of each participant rather than only a single video stream of a conference room. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking, and Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus and in right side panel, the user sitting in front of that camera and display can see a display video of themselves).
Regarding Claim 17, Kandao teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is associated with a unique identifier (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Pages 4 and 5, in which user of apparatus must log into/create account which identifies the user in a meeting, and Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 and 6, apparatus is capable of wireless communication, as it is capable of conducting video conferences through apps such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and more), wherein the at least one communication interface is configured for receiving the plurality of second content streams from the at least one device through at least one network over at least one of the wired communication channel and the wireless communication channel using the unique identifier (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 4, 5 and 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus, and user of apparatus must log into/create account which identifies the user in a meeting, Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 and 6, apparatus is capable of wireless communication, as it is capable of conducting video conferences through apps such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and more. Apparatus also has Wi-Fi connection capabilities and has ports for inputs and outputs such as connecting to a computer for transmitting audio/video, Ethernet port for wired network transmission, and input for screen sharing from computer as well), wherein the transmitting of the first content stream comprises transmitting the first content stream to the at least one device through the at least one network over at least one of the wired communication channel and the wireless communication channel using the unique identifier (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 4, 5 and 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus, and user of apparatus must log into/create account which identifies the user in a meeting and in right side panel, the user sitting in front of that camera and display can see a display video of themselves, Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4 and 6, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. Additionally, the apparatus captures individual video streams of each participant in a meeting for a close-up video to be displayed, therefore focusing on the body language and face of each participant rather than only a single video stream of a conference room. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking, and apparatus is capable of wireless communication, as it is capable of conducting video conferences through apps such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and more. Apparatus also has Wi-Fi connection capabilities and has ports for inputs and outputs such as connecting to a computer for transmitting audio/video, Ethernet port for wired network transmission, and input for screen sharing from computer as well).
Regarding Claim 19, it is rejected similarly as a combination of Claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandao (NPL: “The New KanDao Meeting Ultra Is An Ideal Solution For Hybrid Meetings - posted 06/30/2023 <https://www.kandaovr.com/newsroom/article/1133> (Year: 2023)”, hereinafter “Kandao Meeting Ultra” and NPL: “Kandao Meeting Ultra review: hands-on test of the 4K 360-degree conference cam - posted 06/14/2023 <https://www.kandaovr.com/newsroom/article/1135> (Year: 2023)”, hereinafter “Kandao Meeting Ultra Review”) in view of Nimri et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0118112, hereinafter “Nimri”).
Regarding Claim 2, Kandao teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressively teach
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one arrangement further comprises at least one of a vertical arrangement and a horizontal arrangement, wherein the plurality of display devices are linearly aligned along a horizontal axis of the image capturing device in the horizontal arrangement, wherein the plurality of display devices are linearly aligned along a vertical axis of the image capturing device in the vertical arrangement, wherein the vertical axis is perpendicular to the horizontal axis.
However, Nimri teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one arrangement further comprises at least one of a vertical arrangement and a horizontal arrangement, wherein the plurality of display devices are linearly aligned along a horizontal axis of the image capturing device in the horizontal arrangement, wherein the plurality of display devices are linearly aligned along a vertical axis of the image capturing device in the vertical arrangement, wherein the vertical axis is perpendicular to the horizontal axis (see Nimri Figure 3, in which displays are configure around an image capturing device in an apparatus, and displays are arranged in a vertical arrangement and a horizontal arrangement around the center of the apparatus (being the camera device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an auxiliary apparatus comprising a plurality of displays and a camera, in which videos of video conference participants are captured and presented on the display(s) of the apparatus (as taught in Kandao), with arranging multiple displays in an auxiliary device around a camera in horizontal and vertical configurations (as taught in Nimri), the motivation being to address the issue of video conferences feeling unnatural to participants by offering different configurations of display(s) around a camera to mimic eye contact in a virtual meeting, thus encouraging a more natural and personal experience (see Nimri Abstract and Paragraph [0003]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kandao in view of Nimri teaches
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the plurality of display devices is further configured to be movably attached to the image capturing device using the plurality of attaching mechanisms, wherein the plurality of attaching mechanisms allows transitioning of the plurality of display devices between a plurality of positions in relation to the image capturing device, wherein the transitioning of the plurality of display devices transitions the plurality of display devices between the horizontal arrangement and the vertical arrangement (see Nimri Figures 3 and 4, in which displays can be arranged in a box like shape, or be lowered and tilted, Paragraph [0032], FIG. 3 illustrates a videoconferencing device 300 having four display screens 301-307. As shown in FIG. 3, the housing 309 can include a substantially octagonal base, four rectangular side surfaces, and four triangular side surfaces. Display screens 301-307 can be located on the four rectangular side surfaces of the housing 309, Paragraph [0033], FIG. 4 depicts an alternative arrangement of a videoconferencing device 400 with four display screens. FIG. 4 shows a substantially hexahedral housing 401 with a rectangular base, rectangular top surface, and four rectangular side surfaces. Display screens 403-409 can be provided on the four rectangular side surfaces of the housing 401).
Regarding Claim 5, Kandao in view of Nimri teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of display devices comprises a pair of horizontal display devices and a pair of vertical display devices, wherein the at least one arrangement further comprises a vertical arrangement for the pair of vertical display devices and a horizontal arrangement for the pair of horizontal display devices, wherein the pair of horizontal display devices are linearly aligned along a horizontal axis of the image capturing device in the horizontal arrangement, wherein the pair of vertical display devices are linearly aligned along a vertical axis of the image capturing device in the vertical arrangement, wherein the vertical axis is perpendicular to the horizontal axis (see Nimri Figure 3, in which displays are configured around an image capturing device in an apparatus, and displays are arranged in a vertical arrangement and a horizontal arrangement around the center of the apparatus (being the camera device)).
Claims 9 – 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandao (NPL: “The New KanDao Meeting Ultra Is An Ideal Solution For Hybrid Meetings - posted 06/30/2023 <https://www.kandaovr.com/newsroom/article/1133> (Year: 2023)”, hereinafter “Kandao Meeting Ultra” and NPL: “Kandao Meeting Ultra review: hands-on test of the 4K 360-degree conference cam - posted 06/14/2023 <https://www.kandaovr.com/newsroom/article/1135> (Year: 2023)”, hereinafter “Kandao Meeting Ultra Review”) in view of Faulkner (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0405865) and Guinn (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0191857).
Regarding Claim 9, Kandao teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 and
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the at least one data (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 3, in which user can decide how much each video dominates the screen or can allow AI to setup the interface based on the speaker, Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4 and 6, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking)
wherein the displaying of the plurality of second content streams is based on the determining of the plurality of second content streams (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 3, in which user can decide how much each video dominates the screen or can allow AI to setup the interface based on the speaker, Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4 and 6, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking).
Kandao does not expressively teach
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one mounting element is configured for attaching the apparatus to a body of a computing device, wherein the computing device comprises a display unit, wherein the apparatus further comprises a processing device, wherein the processing device is configured to be communicatively coupled with the computing device, wherein the processing device is configured for:
obtaining at least one data from the computing device;
determining a performance of at least one operation by the computing device based on the at least one data, wherein the performance comprises a positive performance and a negative performance; and
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the performance, wherein the display unit of each of the plurality of display devices is communicatively coupled with the processing device,
However, Faulkner teaches
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one mounting element is configured for attaching the apparatus to a body of a computing device (see Faulkner Figure 1, in which image capturing apparatus is mounted to a computing device in different configurations), wherein the computing device comprises a display unit (see Faulkner Figure 1, in which computing devices have displays), wherein the apparatus further comprises a processing device, wherein the processing device is configured to be communicatively coupled with the computing device (see Faulkner Paragraph [0100], A computing device 101 can be configured for guiding an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera 103 generating video data for transmission to remote devices participating in a communication session 724, the computing device 101 comprising: one or more processing units 802; and a computer-readable storage medium 804 having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the one or more processing units 802 to perform a method, and Figure 10, processor 802), wherein the processing device is configured for:
obtaining at least one data from the computing device (see Faulkner Paragraph [0100], A computing device 101 can be configured for guiding an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera 103 generating video data for transmission to remote devices participating in a communication session 724, the computing device 101 comprising: one or more processing units 802; and a computer-readable storage medium 804 having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the one or more processing units 802 to perform a method, and Paragraph [0127], The processor 802 includes a central processing unit (“CPU”) configured to process data, execute computer-executable instructions of one or more application programs, and communicate with other components of the computing device architecture 800 in order to perform various functionality described herein);
wherein the display unit of the display device is communicatively coupled with the processing device (see Faulkner Figure 10, display 840 is communicatively coupled to processor 802),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an auxiliary apparatus comprising a plurality of displays and a camera, in which videos of video conference participants are captured and presented on the display(s) of the apparatus (as taught in Kandao), with an auxiliary camera device that is mountable and communicatively connected to a computing device to obtain data (as taught in Faulkner), the motivation being to address the issue of video conferences feeling unnatural to participants by offering a camera auxiliary device to be mountable to a computing device to guide an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera, to improve a presenter's ability to direct eye contact toward a camera to allow for effective communication of gestures with an audience receiving a stream from the camera, while allowing user’s the ability to use their computing device (see Faulkner Abstract and Figure 1).
Kandao in view of Faulkner does not expressively teach
determining a performance of at least one operation by the computing device based on the at least one data, wherein the performance comprises a positive performance and a negative performance; and
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the performance,
However, Guinn teaches
determining a performance of at least one operation by the computing device based on the at least one data, wherein the performance comprises a positive performance and a negative performance (see Guinn Abstract, Systems and methods for allowing a user to interact with a station so to have input into the selection of media to be broadcast. The user is able to vote on selections within a media library. The station tabulates the votes and broadcasts the highest ranked selection based on vote totals. The user is able to view the voting in real time and add additional votes, either positive or negative, to influence the ranking or can interact in other number of ways. The media can include audio or video broadcast over the internet via an internet radio station or through other types of networks); and
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the performance (see Guinn Abstract, Systems and methods for allowing a user to interact with a station so to have input into the selection of media to be broadcast. The user is able to vote on selections within a media library. The station tabulates the votes and broadcasts the highest ranked selection based on vote totals. The user is able to view the voting in real time and add additional votes, either positive or negative, to influence the ranking or can interact in other number of ways. The media can include audio or video broadcast over the internet via an internet radio station or through other types of networks),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an auxiliary apparatus comprising a plurality of displays and a camera, in which videos of video conference participants are captured and presented on the display(s) of the apparatus (as taught in Kandao), with an auxiliary camera device that is mountable and communicatively connected to a computing device to obtain data (as taught in Faulkner), the motivation being to address the issue of video conferences feeling unnatural to participants by offering a camera auxiliary device to be mountable to a computing device to guide an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera, to improve a presenter's ability to direct eye contact toward a camera to allow for effective communication of gestures with an audience receiving a stream from the camera, while allowing user’s the ability to use their computing device (see Faulkner Abstract and Figure 1).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a mountable auxiliary apparatus comprising a plurality of displays and a camera, in which videos of video conference participants are captured and presented on the display(s) of the apparatus (as taught in Kandao in view of Faulkner), with determining a stream of media based on negative and positive performance (as taught in Guinn), the motivation being to allow a user to interact with the broadcast to offer a personal selection of media to be presented, thus encouraging interaction and customizations (see Guinn Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, Kandao in view of Faulkner and Guinn teaches
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the determining of the plurality of second content streams comprises:
obtaining at least one third content stream associated with the video communication session from the computing device based on the positive performance (see Guinn Abstract, Systems and methods for allowing a user to interact with a station so to have input into the selection of media to be broadcast. The user is able to vote on selections within a media library. The station tabulates the votes and broadcasts the highest ranked selection based on vote totals. The user is able to view the voting in real time and add additional votes, either positive or negative, to influence the ranking or can interact in other number of ways. The media can include audio or video broadcast over the internet via an internet radio station or through other types of networks), wherein the display unit of the computing device displays the at least one third content stream (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 20, in which a first, second, and third content stream may be displayed (depending on discussion mode, may be more));
processing the at least one third content stream (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 4, in which a first, second, and third content stream may be displayed (depending on discussion mode, may be more) in which imagery is captured by camera and processed according to settings and discussion mode); and
generating the plurality of second content streams based on the processing (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 3, in which a first, second, and third content stream may be displayed (depending on discussion mode, may be more) in which imagery is captured by camera and processed according to settings and discussion mode), wherein the display unit of the computing device ceases to display the at least one third content stream based on the generating of the plurality of second content streams (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 3, in which a first, second, and third content stream may be displayed (depending on discussion mode, may be more) in which imagery is captured by camera and processed according to settings and discussion mode, and when discussion mode is changed, content stream is changed).
Regarding Claim 11, Kandao in view of Faulkner and Guinn teaches
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the determining of the plurality of second content streams comprises identifying the plurality of second content streams based on the negative performance (see Guinn Abstract, Systems and methods for allowing a user to interact with a station so to have input into the selection of media to be broadcast. The user is able to vote on selections within a media library. The station tabulates the votes and broadcasts the highest ranked selection based on vote totals. The user is able to view the voting in real time and add additional votes, either positive or negative, to influence the ranking or can interact in other number of ways. The media can include audio or video broadcast over the internet via an internet radio station or through other types of networks).
Regarding Claim 20, Kandao teaches
An apparatus for facilitating managing a body language of a user during a video communication session (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 - 3, 360 AI Conference Host with Dual Touchscreens in which video conference is facilitated and managed to capture videos of participants including body language, speech, and more), the apparatus comprising:
an image capturing device comprising an image capturing device housing and an image capturing unit (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 2, image capturing device in which a camera is encapsulated in a housing), wherein the image capturing unit is configured for generating a first content stream comprising the body language of the user by capturing a plurality of images of the user (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 3 and 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display);
a plurality of display devices configured to be attached to the image capturing device in at least one arrangement using a plurality of attaching mechanisms (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which two display devices are attached to the image capturing device in an arrangement using attachment mechanisms that can be tilted), wherein the plurality of display devices are radially arranged around the image capturing device (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which two display devices are attached to the image capturing device in an arrangement around a center image capturing device, using attachment mechanisms), wherein each of the plurality of display devices comprises a display device housing and a display unit (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Page 3, in which there are two displays attached to the image capturing device, and the displays consist of a display device and housing), wherein the plurality of attaching mechanisms attaches the display device housing of the plurality of display devices to a plurality of sides of the image capturing device housing (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which the displays are attached on the back of the display housing to the sides of the image capturing device using tiltable mechanisms), wherein the display unit of the plurality of display devices is configured for displaying a plurality of second content streams to the user (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 3 and 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display), wherein the user engages in the video communication session based on the displaying of the plurality of second content streams and the capturing of the first content stream, wherein the displaying of the plurality of second content streams allows the managing of the body language of the user during the capturing of the first content stream (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. Additionally, the apparatus captures individual video streams of each participant in a meeting for a close-up video to be displayed, therefore focusing on the body language and face of each participant rather than only a single video stream of a conference room and Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus);
at least one communication interface communicatively coupled with the image capturing unit, wherein the at least one communication interface is configured for transmitting the first content stream to at least one device over at least one of a wired communication channel and a wireless communication channel (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 7, in which multiple content streams are captured and displayed on displays of apparatus, and Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 and 6, apparatus is capable of wireless communication, as it is capable of conducting video conferences through apps such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and more. Apparatus also has Wi-Fi connection capabilities and has ports for inputs and outputs such as connecting to a computer for transmitting audio/video, Ethernet port for wired network transmission, and input for screen sharing from computer as well);
at least one mounting element attached to at least one of the image capturing device housing and the display device housing of at least one of the plurality of display devices (see Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 1 and 3, in which the two displays are attached on the back of the display housing to the sides of the image capturing device using tiltable mechanisms),
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the at least one data (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 3, in which user can decide how much each video dominates the screen or can allow AI to setup the interface based on the speaker, Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4 and 6, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking),
wherein the displaying of the plurality of second content streams is based on the determining of the plurality of second content streams (see Kandao Meeting Ultra Review, Page 3, in which user can decide how much each video dominates the screen or can allow AI to setup the interface based on the speaker, Kandao Meeting Ultra, Pages 2 - 4 and 6, camera captures videos of meeting participants of a conference room for generating an overall stream and individual streams of participants based on factors such as what participants are speaking, for example, camera is capable of smart tracking in which AI motion detection algorithm is used to follow the speaker and auto-frame the individual on the display. There are three discussion modes built into the Kandao Meeting Ultra that offer multi-attendee framing, main speaker focusing, as well as being able to display all attendees. The system can automatically adjust the view according to the number of faces it detects. An optional panorama view can be shown at the top of the screen. You can also highlight a specific speaker by manually dragging to the main split-screen and zooming in after view-locking).
Kandao does not expressively teach
wherein the at least one mounting element is configured for attaching the apparatus to a body of a computing device, wherein the computing device comprises a display unit; and
a processing device configured to be communicatively coupled with the computing device, wherein the processing device is configured for:
obtaining at least one data from the computing device;
determining a performance of at least one operation by the computing device based on the at least one data, wherein the performance comprises a positive performance and a negative performance; and
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the performance, wherein the display unit of each of the plurality of display devices is communicatively coupled with the processing device.
However, Faulkner teaches
wherein the at least one mounting element is configured for attaching the apparatus to a body of a computing device (see Faulkner Figure 1, in which image capturing apparatus is mounted to a computing device in different configurations), wherein the computing device comprises a display unit (see Faulkner Figure 1, in which computing devices have displays); and
a processing device configured to be communicatively coupled with the computing device (see Faulkner Paragraph [0100], A computing device 101 can be configured for guiding an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera 103 generating video data for transmission to remote devices participating in a communication session 724, the computing device 101 comprising: one or more processing units 802; and a computer-readable storage medium 804 having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the one or more processing units 802 to perform a method, and Figure 10, processor 802), wherein the processing device is configured for:
obtaining at least one data from the computing device (see Faulkner Paragraph [0100], A computing device 101 can be configured for guiding an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera 103 generating video data for transmission to remote devices participating in a communication session 724, the computing device 101 comprising: one or more processing units 802; and a computer-readable storage medium 804 having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the one or more processing units 802 to perform a method, and Paragraph [0127], The processor 802 includes a central processing unit (“CPU”) configured to process data, execute computer-executable instructions of one or more application programs, and communicate with other components of the computing device architecture 800 in order to perform various functionality described herein);
wherein the display unit of the display device is communicatively coupled with the processing device (see Faulkner Figure 10, display 840 is communicatively coupled to processor 802)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an auxiliary apparatus comprising a plurality of displays and a camera, in which videos of video conference participants are captured and presented on the display(s) of the apparatus (as taught in Kandao), with an auxiliary camera device that is mountable and communicatively connected to a computing device to obtain data (as taught in Faulkner), the motivation being to address the issue of video conferences feeling unnatural to participants by offering a camera auxiliary device to be mountable to a computing device to guide an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera, to improve a presenter's ability to direct eye contact toward a camera to allow for effective communication of gestures with an audience receiving a stream from the camera, while allowing user’s the ability to use their computing device (see Faulkner Abstract and Figure 1).
Kandao in view of Faulkner does not expressively teach
determining a performance of at least one operation by the computing device based on the at least one data, wherein the performance comprises a positive performance and a negative performance; and
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the performance,
However, Guinn teaches
determining a performance of at least one operation by the computing device based on the at least one data, wherein the performance comprises a positive performance and a negative performance (see Guinn Abstract, Systems and methods for allowing a user to interact with a station so to have input into the selection of media to be broadcast. The user is able to vote on selections within a media library. The station tabulates the votes and broadcasts the highest ranked selection based on vote totals. The user is able to view the voting in real time and add additional votes, either positive or negative, to influence the ranking or can interact in other number of ways. The media can include audio or video broadcast over the internet via an internet radio station or through other types of networks); and
determining the plurality of second content streams based on the performance (see Guinn Abstract, Systems and methods for allowing a user to interact with a station so to have input into the selection of media to be broadcast. The user is able to vote on selections within a media library. The station tabulates the votes and broadcasts the highest ranked selection based on vote totals. The user is able to view the voting in real time and add additional votes, either positive or negative, to influence the ranking or can interact in other number of ways. The media can include audio or video broadcast over the internet via an internet radio station or through other types of networks),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an auxiliary apparatus comprising a plurality of displays and a camera, in which videos of video conference participants are captured and presented on the display(s) of the apparatus (as taught in Kandao), with an auxiliary camera device that is mountable and communicatively connected to a computing device to obtain data (as taught in Faulkner), the motivation being to address the issue of video conferences feeling unnatural to participants by offering a camera auxiliary device to be mountable to a computing device to guide an eye gaze direction of a user toward a camera, to improve a presenter's ability to direct eye contact toward a camera to allow for effective communication of gestures with an audience receiving a stream from the camera, while allowing user’s the ability to use their computing device (see Faulkner Abstract and Figure 1).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a mountable auxiliary apparatus comprising a plurality of displays and a camera, in which videos of video conference participants are captured and presented on the display(s) of the apparatus (as taught in Kandao in view of Faulkner), with determining a stream of media based on negative and positive performance (as taught in Guinn), the motivation being to allow a user to interact with the broadcast to offer a personal selection of media to be presented, thus encouraging interaction and customizations (see Guinn Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 7 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/CARISSA A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691