DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “141c” (fig. 3).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because a) it exceeds 150 words and b) it contains implied phrases (e.g. “Disclosed herein”).
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko (DE 102021206431 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Ko discloses (figs. 1-6) An electro-mechanical drum brake (1) with a pair of brake shoes (abstract at least) and configured to be movable forward or backward with respect to an inner circumferential side of a drum (abstract at least), the electro-mechanical drum brake comprising:
an actuator unit (100) configured to move the brake shoes forward and backward in opposite directions to each other (as shown); and
at least one elastic member (40) disposed between the pair of brake shoes;
wherein the actuator unit includes:
a worm shaft (133) operably coupled to a bearing (136) disposed between an outer circumferential side of the worm shaft (as shown) and a housing of the actuator (e.g. 110,113, housing of 30 at least, alternatively the bearing is radially between these components at least), wherein the worm shaft has a worm (134) disposed at a front end portion (fig. 4, right side) of the worm shaft and is configured to be rotatable by a rotational force output from a motor (as described, see motor operation);
a piston (e.g. 210) configured to be rotatable by a worm wheel (135) rotatably engaged with the worm (as shown) to transmit a rotational force from the worm to move the brake shoes forward or backward (as shown); and
a worm shaft support (116) fixed to the housing to support a rear surface of the bearing (fig. 4 at least, as shown).
Regarding claim 17, Ko discloses (figs. 1-6) the worm shaft is coupled with an other bearing (137) disposed between an outer circumferential surface of the front end portion of the worm shaft (as shown) and the housing (at 30, as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (DE 102021206431 A1) in view of Yamasaki et al. (U.S. 2012/0181137 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Ko does not appear to disclose the details of the bearing structure. In the same field of endeavor of electromechanical brake actuators, Yamasaki teaches (fig. 1) a shaft (4) rotationally driven by a motor (2), where the shaft is supported on a housing piece (8) via a bearing (9), wherein the bearing includes a ball bearing (as shown) including an outer ring secured between the housing (at 8) and the worm shaft support (at the snap ring to the right of the outer race), and an inner ring fixed to an outer circumferential surface of the worm shaft to rotate with the worm shaft (as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have embodied the bearing of Ko as a ball bearing as suggested by Yamasaki to utilize a known bearing structure in a known environment to yield predictable results. Since Ko already discloses a bearing (136), providing the structure of the bearing of Yamasaki at this location involves only routine skill in the art. Upon making the modification, both inventions operate the same after combining as they did separately from one another, and the modification does not render Ko unsuitable for its intended purposes. Further, ball bearings are known structure to support shafts relatively rotatable to their respective housings or mountings, so doing so within the environment of Ko would result in a suitable bearing support for the worm shaft.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (DE 102021206431 A1) in view of Stubbersfield (U.S. 4701061).
Regarding claim 18, Ko does not appear to disclose the structure of the other bearing. Stubbersfield teaches a bearing assembly (10) for a brake shaft, the bearing includes a cylindrical roller bearing (as shown) including a body (outer race 16) press-fittingly fixed into the housing (13), and a plurality of rollers (21) rotatably supporting the outer circumferential surface (as shown) of the front end portion of the shaft (11). In order to arrive at the claimed invention, the “other bearing” of Ko would be embodied as a needle bearing, as suggested by Stubbersfield.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have embodied the bearing of Ko as a ball bearing as suggested by Stubbersfield to utilize a known bearing structure in a known environment to yield predictable results. Since Ko already discloses a bearing (137), providing the structure of the bearing of Stubbersfield at this location involves only routine skill in the art. Upon making the modification, both inventions operate the same after combining as they did separately from one another, and the modification does not render Ko unsuitable for its intended purposes. Further, needle bearings are known structure to support shafts relatively rotatable to their respective housings or mountings, so doing so within the environment of Ko would result in a suitable bearing support for the worm shaft that is equally beneficial, while also having low rolling resistance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed. Claims 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome any 112(b) rejections, as appropriate.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Conclusion
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616