Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the “accommodation groove 25” is incorrectly labeled “22” in Fig. 4.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Based on the figures and the specification as a whole, it appears there are two instances in the specification where the statement “The third wireless charging module is rotationally connected to the first wireless charging module”, in particular on page 2 and on page 6. It is believed the correct statement should be “The third wireless charging module is rotationally connected to the second wireless charging module”.
Also, on page 9, change “third charging table 22” to “third charging table 31”, two instances.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: As in the objection to the specification, it appears the last part of claim 1 should change from:
“the third wireless charging module is rotationally connected to the first wireless charging module” to:
“the third wireless charging module is rotationally connected to the second wireless charging module”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE U.S. PGPub 2024/0328569 A1 (hereinafter HE) (relying on CN 202320697399 with a publication date of 11/7/2023) in view of Lin U.S. Patent 4,759,240 (hereinafter Lin).
Regarding Claim 1, HE teaches a multi-form wireless charging device (HE, Fig. 17; Paras. [0051] – [0054]), comprising a first wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 23; Para. [0052]), a second wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 43; Para. [0052]), and a third wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 33; Para. [0052]), wherein side edges of the first wireless charging module and the second wireless charging module are connected through a rotating device (HE, Fig. 10, Element 50; Para. [0053]), to enable the first wireless charging module and the second wireless charging module to present a plurality of postures by rotating (HE, Figs. 1-17; Paras. [0051] – [0054], “bent support state” and “laying support state”), and the third wireless charging module is rotationally connected to the first wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 17, Element 10b; Para. [0055], “support platform”), but does not teach the edges being beveled edges and rotating (axially as drawn in the figures of the instant application).
Lin, however, teaches wherein side edges of the first module (Lin, Fig. 1, Element 11; Col. 2, Lines 11-14) and the second module (Lin, Fig. 1, Element 21; Col. 2, Lines 11-14) are beveled edges (Lin, Fig. 1, Elements 11 and 21; Col. 2, Lines 11-14, “inclined plane”), and are connected through a rotating device (Lin, Fig. 1, Elements 11 and 21; Col. 2, Lines 11-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although HE is silent as to an optional connection of the charging modules by using rotating beveled edges, HE would inherently incorporate some type of conventional flexible connection methods commonly understood in the art. The connection method taught by Lin, for allowing a rotation of the modules to allow for different physical orientations to facilitate charging of multiple electronic devices simultaneously, teaches one of the many conventional connection methods utilized in the art for providing flexible secure connection of modules to orient in a preferred orientation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, cost and reliability factors, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lin, to provide an appropriate connection method for the charging modules of HE.
Regarding Claim 2, The combined teaching of the HE and Lin references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, HE teaches wherein the first wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 23; Paras. [0052]) and the second wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 43; Paras. [0052]) rotate through the rotating device (HE, Fig. 10, Element 50; Paras. [0053]), to enable the first wireless charging module and the second wireless charging module to be located in a same plane or at a specific angle (HE, Figs. 1-17; Paras. [0051] – [0054], “bent support state” and “laying support state”), but does not teach axially rotating.
Furthermore, Lin teaches wherein the first module (Lin, Fig. 1, Element 11; Col. 2, Lines 11-14) and the second module (Lin, Fig. 1, Element 21; Col. 2, Lines 11-14) axially rotate along the beveled edges through the rotating device, to enable the first module and the second module to be located in a same plane or at a specific angle (Lin, Figs. 1 and 5, Elements 11 and 21; Col. 2, Lines 11-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although HE is silent as to an optional connection of the charging modules by using rotating beveled edges, HE would inherently incorporate some type of conventional flexible connection methods commonly understood in the art. The connection method taught by Lin, for allowing a rotation of the modules to allow for different physical orientations to facilitate charging of multiple electronic devices simultaneously, teaches one of the many conventional connection methods utilized in the art for providing flexible secure connection of modules to orient in a preferred orientation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, cost and reliability factors, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lin, to provide an appropriate connection method for the charging modules of HE.
Regarding Claim 3, The combined teaching of the HE and Lin references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, HE teaches the rotating device (HE, Fig. 10, Element 50; Paras. [0053]) is located on the side edge of the first wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 23; Paras. [0052]) or the second wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 43; Paras. [0052]) to be in parallel or at a specific angle (HE, Figs. 1-17; Paras. [0051] – [0054], “bent support state” and “laying support state”).
Furthermore, Lin teaches wherein the rotating device comprises a rotary shaft (Lin, Figs. 1-3 and clearly seen in Fig. 5A but not labeled, Element 14; Col. 2, Lines 27-32, and Col. 3, Lines 23-24, “ball”), a rotary shaft fixing member (Lin, Figs. 1-3 and clearly seen in Fig. 5A but not labeled, Element 24; Col. 2, Lines 41-48, “spherical recess”), and limiting members (Lin, Figs. 1-2, Elements 16 and 27; Col. 2, Lines 31-49, and Col. 3, Lines 23-26 “semi-circular channel” and “runner”), the rotating device is located on the side edge of the first module or the second module, and the rotary shaft fixing member is connected to the rotary shaft, to enable the first module or the second module to rotate along the rotating device (Lin, Figs. 1-5; Col. 2, Line 4 through Col. 3, Line 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although HE is silent as to an optional connection of the charging modules by using rotating beveled edges, HE would inherently incorporate some type of conventional flexible connection methods commonly understood in the art. The connection method taught by Lin, for allowing a rotation of the modules to allow for different physical orientations to facilitate charging of multiple electronic devices simultaneously, teaches one of the many conventional connection methods utilized in the art for providing flexible secure connection of modules to orient in a preferred orientation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, cost and reliability factors, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lin, to provide an appropriate connection method for the charging modules of HE.
Regarding Claim 4, The combined teaching of the HE and Lin references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 3/2/1. Furthermore, HE teaches the first wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 23; Paras. [0052]) and the second wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 43; Paras. [0052]) to be in parallel or at a specific angle (HE, Figs. 1-17; Paras. [0051] – [0054], “bent support state” and “laying support state”).
Furthermore, Lin teaches wherein the limiting member is used to limit a rotation angle of the rotary shaft, to enable the first module and the second module to be in parallel or at a specific angle (Lin, Figs. 1 and 5, Elements 11 and 21; Col. 2, Lines 11-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although HE is silent as to an optional connection of the charging modules by using rotating beveled edges, HE would inherently incorporate some type of conventional flexible connection methods commonly understood in the art. The connection method taught by Lin, for allowing a rotation of the modules to allow for different physical orientations to facilitate charging of multiple electronic devices simultaneously, teaches one of the many conventional connection methods utilized in the art for providing flexible secure connection of modules to orient in a preferred orientation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, cost and reliability factors, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lin, to provide an appropriate connection method for the charging modules of HE.
Regarding Claim 5, The combined teaching of the HE and Lin references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 4/3/2/1. Furthermore, HE teaches the first wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 23; Paras. [0052]) and second wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 43; Paras. [0052]) is an acute angle less than 90° (HE, Fig. 17; Paras. [0079] – [0080]. Not specifically stated in the specification, but obvious from the drawings where the angle is fully adjustable.).
Furthermore, Lin teaches wherein an angular value of an inner angle of the beveled edges of the first module and second module is an acute angle less than 90° (Lin, Figs. 1-5. Where the angle is defined by the slope of the inclined plane.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although HE is silent as to an optional connection of the charging modules by using rotating beveled edges, HE would inherently incorporate some type of conventional flexible connection methods commonly understood in the art. The connection method taught by Lin, for allowing a rotation of the modules to allow for different physical orientations to facilitate charging of multiple electronic devices simultaneously, teaches one of the many conventional connection methods utilized in the art for providing flexible secure connection of modules to orient in a preferred orientation. Furthermore, the angle of the two parts would be dependent on the slope of the inclined plane of the connection. Although not limited by Lin, it is obvious the angle would be dependent on the desired angles and would be a simple matter of using an appropriate incline. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, cost and reliability factors, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Lin, to provide an appropriate connection method for the charging modules of HE.
Regarding Claim 6, The combined teaching of the HE and Lin references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, HE teaches wherein the third wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 33, and Fig. 17, Element 10b; Paras. [0052]) and the second wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 43, and Fig. 17, Element 10c; Paras. [0052]) are connected through a hinge or a shaft (HE, Fig. 10, Element 50; Para. [0053], and Fig. 17; Paras. [0056]).
Regarding Claim 7, The combined teaching of the HE and Lin references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 6/1. Furthermore, HE teaches wherein the third wireless charging module is stowed in an accommodation groove of the second wireless charging module (HE, Fig. 10, Element 33, and Fig. 17, Element 10b; Paras. [0052]. Illustrated but not described in detail.).
Regarding Claim 8, The combined teaching of the HE and Lin references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 6/1. Furthermore, HE teaches wherein a positional relationship between the third wireless charging module and the second wireless charging module may be replaced: the third wireless charging module and the second wireless charging module are located in a same plane (HE, Fig. 10, Element 33, and Fig. 17, Element 10b; Paras. [0052]. Illustrated but not described in detail.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du, Bing CN-113162158-A teaches a charging device to charge three devices simultaneously.
Yeom Dae Hyun KR-102530280-B1 teaches a charging device to charge three devices simultaneously.
AN, Zhong-yu CN-112886657-A teaches a charging device to charge multiple devices simultaneously with sloped support.
SUN, Jin-ming CN-117134458-A teaches a charging device to charge three devices simultaneously with sloped support.
HE, Shu-Wei CN-219975879 (Included to support HE U.S. PGPub 2024/0328569 effective filing date of 11/7/2023)
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859