DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 10651593 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Wu et al. discloses a retention apparatus for an electrical connector 101, the retention apparatus comprising:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 104 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 101; and
an adjustment member 107 surrounding the retention members 104 and operable to selectively move the retention members 104 toward the electrical connector 101 when retention of the electrical connector 101 is desired.
In regard to claim 2, Wu et al. discloses a body member 105 that retains the retention members 104 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 104 by the adjustment member 107.
In regard to claim 3, Wu et al. discloses the adjustment member 107 is rotatable (the teeth 174 on the coupling nut 107 are received in the declining slots 141 of the claw 104, causing the coupling nut 107 to rotate as it moves forward). and operable to move the retention members 104 toward the electrical connector 101 when the adjustment member 107 is rotated in a first direction (counter clockwise).
In regard to claim 4, Wu et al. discloses the adjustment member 107 is further operable to move the retention members 104 away from the electrical connector 101 when the adjustment member 107 is rotated in a second direction (clockwise) that is opposite to the first direction.
In regard to claim 5, Wu et al. discloses the adjustment member 107 is further operable to selectively move the retention members 104 away from the electrical connector 101 when retention of the electrical connector 101 is not desired.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (US 10340631 B1).
In regard to claim 1, Hung et al. discloses a retention apparatus for an electrical connector 2, the retention apparatus comprising:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 26 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 2; and
an adjustment member 27 surrounding the retention members 26 and operable to selectively move the retention members 26 toward the electrical connector 2 when retention of the electrical connector 2 is desired.
In regard to claim 2, Hung et al. discloses a body member 23 that retains the retention members 26 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 26 by the adjustment member 27.
In regard to claim 3, Hung et al. discloses the adjustment member 27 is rotatable and operable to move the retention members 26 toward the electrical connector 2 when the adjustment member 27 is rotated in a first direction (clockwise).
In regard to claim 4, Hung et al. discloses the adjustment member 27 is further operable to move the retention members 26 away from the electrical connector 2 when the adjustment member 27 is rotated in a second direction (counterclockwise) that is opposite to the first direction.
In regard to claim 5, Hung et al. discloses the adjustment member 27 is further operable to selectively move the retention members 26 away from the electrical connector 2 when retention of the electrical connector 2 is not desired.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 9559458 B2).
In regard to claim 1,Zhang et al. discloses a retention apparatus for an electrical connector 1 (fig. 1), the retention apparatus comprising:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 45 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 1; and
an adjustment member 7 surrounding the retention members 45 and operable to selectively move the retention members 45 toward the electrical connector 1 when retention of the electrical connector 1 is desired.
In regard to claim 2, Zhang et al. discloses a body member 5 that retains the retention members 45 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 45 by the adjustment member 7.
In regard to claim 3, Zhang et al. discloses the adjustment member 7 is rotatable and operable to move the retention members 45 toward the electrical connector 1 when the adjustment member 7 is rotated in a first direction.
In regard to claim 4, Zhang et al. discloses the adjustment member 7 is further operable to move the retention members 45 away from the electrical connector 1 when the adjustment member 7 is rotated in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction.
In regard to claim 5, Zhang et al. discloses the adjustment member 7 is further operable to selectively move the retention members 45 away from the electrical connector 1 when retention of the electrical connector 1 is not desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al..
In regard to claim 8, Wu et al. discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
an electrical connector 101; and
a retention apparatus for the electrical connector 101, the retention apparatus including:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 104 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 101; and
an adjustment member 107 surrounding the retention members 104 and operable to selectively move the retention members 104 toward the electrical connector 101 when retention of the electrical connector 101 is desired.
However, Wu et al. does not disclose a housing of the electronic apparatus.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing a housing for an electronic apparatus which include a male connector and a female connector are well known and expected in the art.
In regard to claim 9, Wu et al. discloses the adjustment member 107 is further operable to selectively move the retention members 104 away from the electrical connector 101 when retention of the electrical connector 101 is not desired.
In regard to claim 10, Wu et al. discloses a body member 105 that retains the retention members 104 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 104 by the adjustment member 107.
In regard to claim 11, Wu et al. discloses the adjustment member 107 is rotatable (the teeth 174 on the coupling nut 107 are received in the declining slots 141 of the claw 104, causing the coupling nut 107 to rotate as it moves forward) and operable to move the retention members 104 toward the electrical connector 101 when the adjustment member 107 is rotated in a first direction (counter clockwise).
In regard to claim 12, Wu et al. discloses the adjustment member 107 is further operable to move the retention members 104 away from the electrical connector 101 when the adjustment member 107 is rotated in a second direction (clockwise) that is opposite to the first direction.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 10340631 B1).
In regard to claim 8, Hung et al. discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
an electrical connector 2; and
a retention apparatus for the electrical connector 2, the retention apparatus including:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 26 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 2; and
an adjustment member 27 surrounding the retention members 26 and operable to selectively move the retention members 27 toward the electrical connector 2 when retention of the electrical connector 2 is desired.
However, Hung et al. does not disclose a housing of the electronic apparatus.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing a housing for an electronic apparatus which include a male connector and a female connector are well known and expected in the art.
In regard to claim 9, Hung et al. discloses the adjustment member 27 is further operable to selectively move the retention members 26 away from the electrical connector 2 when retention of the electrical connector 2 is not desired.
In regard to claim 10, Hung et al. discloses a body member 23 that retains the retention members 26 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 26 by the adjustment member 27.
In regard to claim 11, Hung et al. discloses the adjustment member 27 is rotatable and operable to move the retention members 26 toward the electrical connector 2 when the adjustment member 27 is rotated in a first direction (clockwise).
In regard to claim 12, Hung et al. discloses the adjustment member 27 is further operable to move the retention members 26 away from the electrical connector 2 when the adjustment member 27 is rotated in a second direction (counterclockwise) that is opposite to the first direction.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al.
In regard to claim 8, Zhang et al. discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
an electrical connector 1; and
a retention apparatus for the electrical connector 1, the retention apparatus including:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 45 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 1; and
an adjustment member 7 surrounding the retention members 45 and operable to selectively move the retention members 45 toward the electrical connector 1 when retention of the electrical connector 1 is desired.
However, Zhang et al. does not disclose a housing of the electronic apparatus.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing a housing for an electronic apparatus which include a male connector and a female connector are well known and expected in the art.
In regard to claim 9, Zhang et al. discloses the adjustment member 7 is further operable to selectively move the retention members 45 away from the electrical connector 1 when retention of the electrical connector 1 is not desired.
In regard to claim 10, Zhang et al. discloses a body member 5 that retains the retention members 45 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 45 by the adjustment member 7.
In regard to claim 11, Zhang et al. discloses the adjustment member 7 is rotatable and operable to move the retention members 45 toward the electrical connector 1 when the adjustment member 7 is rotated in a first direction.
In regard to claim 12, Zhang et al. discloses the adjustment member 7 is further operable to move the retention members 45 away from the electrical connector 1 when the adjustment member 7 is rotated in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. (US 10330301 B1) in view of Wu et al. (US 10651593 B2).
In regard to claims 16-18, Howard et al. discloses a streetlight-mountable electronic apparatus 100 comprising:
a housing 140;
an electrical connector 112 interconnectable with a mating electrical connector 110 located atop a luminaire of a streetlight 104, and a retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) for the electrical connector 112
However, Howard et al. does not disclose a retention apparatus for the electrical connector, the retention apparatus including: a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector so as to be outside a diameter of a collar of the mating electrical connector; and a rotatable adjustment member surrounding the retention members and operable to move the retention members toward the electrical connector to permit engagement with the collar of the mating electrical connector when the adjustment member is rotated in a first direction.
Wu et al. discloses a retention apparatus for an electrical connector 101, the retention apparatus comprising:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 104 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 101 so as to be outside a diameter of a collar 14 of the mating electrical connector 11; and
a rotatable adjustment member 107 (the teeth 174 on the coupling nut 107 are received in the declining slots 141 of the claw 104, causing the coupling nut 107 to rotate as it moves forward) surrounding the retention members 104 and operable to move the retention members 104 toward the electrical connector 101 to permit engagement with the collar 14 of the mating electrical connector 11 when the adjustment member 107 is rotated in a first direction (counter clockwise); wherein a body member 105 that retains the retention members 104 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 104 by the adjustment member 107; and wherein the adjustment member 107 is further operable to move the retention members 104 away from the electrical connector 101 when the adjustment member 107 is rotated in a second direction (clockwise) that is opposite to the first direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Howard et al. by constructing the retention apparatus as disclosed by Wu et al. in order to better secure the connection.
In regard to claim 19, Howard et al. discloses the electrical connector 112 is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector 110 is a corresponding mating socket.
In regard to claim 20, Howard et al. discloses the retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) is integrated with the housing 140.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. (US 10330301 B1) in view of Hung et al..
In regard to claims 16-18, Howard et al. discloses a streetlight-mountable electronic apparatus 100 comprising:
a housing 140;
an electrical connector 112 interconnectable with a mating electrical connector 110 located atop a luminaire of a streetlight 104, and a retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) for the electrical connector 112
However, Howard et al. does not disclose a retention apparatus for the electrical connector, the retention apparatus including: a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector so as to be outside a diameter of a collar of the mating electrical connector; and a rotatable adjustment member surrounding the retention members and operable to move the retention members toward the electrical connector to permit engagement with the collar of the mating electrical connector when the adjustment member is rotated in a first direction.
Hung et al. discloses a retention apparatus for an electrical connector 2, the retention apparatus comprising:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 26 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 2 so as to be outside a diameter of a collar 13 of the mating electrical connector 1; and
a rotatable adjustment member 27 surrounding the retention members 26 and operable to move the retention members 26 toward the electrical connector 2 to permit engagement with the collar 13 of the mating electrical connector 1 when the adjustment member 27 is rotated in a first direction (clockwise); wherein a body member 23 that retains the retention members 26 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 26 by the adjustment member 27; and wherein the adjustment member 27 is further operable to move the retention members 26 away from the electrical connector 2 when the adjustment member 27 is rotated in a second direction (counterclockwise) that is opposite to the first direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Howard et al. by constructing the retention apparatus as disclosed by Hung et al. in order to better secure the connection.
In regard to claim 19, Howard et al. discloses the electrical connector 112 is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector 110 is a corresponding mating socket.
In regard to claim 20, Howard et al. discloses the retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) is integrated with the housing 140.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. (US 10330301 B1) in view of Zhang et al..
In regard to claims 16-18, Howard et al. discloses a streetlight-mountable electronic apparatus 100 comprising:
a housing 140;
an electrical connector 112 interconnectable with a mating electrical connector 110 located atop a luminaire of a streetlight 104, and a retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) for the electrical connector 112
However, Howard et al. does not disclose a retention apparatus for the electrical connector, the retention apparatus including: a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector so as to be outside a diameter of a collar of the mating electrical connector; and a rotatable adjustment member surrounding the retention members and operable to move the retention members toward the electrical connector to permit engagement with the collar of the mating electrical connector when the adjustment member is rotated in a first direction.
Zhang et al. discloses a retention apparatus for an electrical connector 1, the retention apparatus comprising:
a plurality of spatially adjustable retention members 45 arranged about a perimeter of the electrical connector 1 so as to be outside a diameter of a collar 14 of the mating electrical connector 11; and
a rotatable adjustment member 7 surrounding the retention members 45 and operable to move the retention members 45 toward the electrical connector 1 to permit engagement with the collar 14 of the mating electrical connector 11 when the adjustment member 7 is rotated in a first direction; wherein a body member 5 that retains the retention members 45 in a predetermined arrangement relative to one another during movement of the retention members 45 by the adjustment member 7; and wherein the adjustment member 7 is further operable to move the retention members 45 away from the electrical connector 1 when the adjustment member 7 is rotated in a second direction (counterclockwise) that is opposite to the first direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Howard et al. by constructing the retention apparatus as disclosed by Zhang et al. in order to better secure the connection.
In regard to claim 19, Howard et al. discloses the electrical connector 112 is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector 110 is a corresponding mating socket.
In regard to claim 20, Howard et al. discloses the retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) is integrated with the housing 140.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. in view of Howard et al..
Wu et al. discloses the retention members are sized and shaped to engage with a collar 14 of the mating electrical connector 11 after the electrical connector 101 has been mated with the mating electrical connector 11.
However, Wu does not disclose the electrical connector is configured to mate with a mating electrical connector located atop a streetlight luminaire; wherein the electrical connector is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector is a corresponding mating socket; and wherein the retention apparatus is integrated with the housing.
Howard et al. discloses the electrical connector 112 is configured to mate with a mating electrical connector 110 located atop a streetlight luminaire 104; wherein the electrical connector 112 is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector 110 is a corresponding mating socket; and wherein the retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) is integrated with the housing 140.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Wu et al. by constructing the housing as disclosed by Howard et al. in order to protect the retention apparatus against outdoor environment and to serve its intended use.
Further, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing an electrical connection which include a multi-pronged connector and a corresponding mating socket are well known and expected in the art.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. in view of Howard et al..
Hung et al. discloses the retention members 26 are sized and shaped to engage with a collar 13 of the mating electrical connector 1 after the electrical connector 2 has been mated with the mating electrical connector 1.
However, Hung does not disclose the electrical connector is configured to mate with a mating electrical connector located atop a streetlight luminaire; wherein the electrical connector is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector is a corresponding mating socket; and wherein the retention apparatus is integrated with the housing.
Howard et al. discloses the electrical connector 112 is configured to mate with a mating electrical connector 110 located atop a streetlight luminaire 104; wherein the electrical connector 112 is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector 110 is a corresponding mating socket; and wherein the retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) is integrated with the housing 140.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hung et al. by constructing the housing as disclosed by Howard et al. in order to protect the retention apparatus against outdoor environment and to serve its intended use.
Further, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing an electrical connection which include a multi-pronged connector and a corresponding mating socket are well known and expected in the art.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Howard et al..
Zhang et al. discloses the retention members 45 are sized and shaped to engage with a collar 14 of the mating electrical connector 11 after the electrical connector 1 has been mated with the mating electrical connector 11.
However, Zhang does not disclose the electrical connector 1 is configured to mate with a mating electrical connector 11 located atop a streetlight luminaire; wherein the electrical connector is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector is a corresponding mating socket; and wherein the retention apparatus is integrated with the housing.
Howard et al. discloses the electrical connector 112 is configured to mate with a mating electrical connector 110 located atop a streetlight luminaire 104; wherein the electrical connector 112 is a multi-pronged connector, and the mating electrical connector 110 is a corresponding mating socket; and wherein the retention apparatus (inner diameter of 152 in fig. 2 can be fitted with outer diameter of 200) is integrated with the housing 140.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Zhang et al. by constructing the housing as disclosed by Howard et al. in order to protect the retention apparatus against outdoor environment and to serve its intended use.
Further, Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing an electrical connection which include a multi-pronged connector and a corresponding mating socket are well known and expected in the art.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
1/31/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834