DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a sepsis protection and enhanced surgical recovery method and the following:
a method of sepsis symptom management recited in claim 1 together with claims 2-10 as the elected method species;
administration of free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid in an amount between 5 grams and 30 grams as the elected species of sepsis related therapeutic substance;
, in the reply filed on April 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 and 9-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 24, 2026.
Please note that Applicant indicated the elected species are encompassed by instant claims 1-10; However, the Examiner noted that the elected species of sepsis related therapeutic substance (“administration of free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid in an amount between 5 grams and 30 grams”) is not one of the sepsis related therapeutic substance recites in claim 4 and 9; thus, claim 10 is also drawn to a species non-elected based on its dependency on claim 9. Please further note claim 9 refers to “sepsis related therapeutic” of claim 6 as “the stroke related therapeutic substance”.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 4 and 9-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, and 5-8 are under examination in accordance with the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The instant application 18/401,445 filed on December 30, 2023 claims priority to, and the benefits of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/478,142 filed on December 31, 2022.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/478,142, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application fails to provide adequate support for the instant sepsis protection and enhanced surgical recovery method, e.g., the prior-filed application fails to describe administering 5-30 g of free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid; administering said Free D-BetaHydroxy Butyric Acid with the sepsis related therapeutic substance; administering the sepsis related therapeutic substance more than 15 minutes before and after administering said Free D-BetaHydroxy Butyric Acid; readministering said Free D-BetaHydroxy Butyric Acid until sepsis symptoms are mitigated; and assessing bacterial sepsis symptoms. Therefore, each of these findings demonstrate that instant claims 1-10 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior-filed application, and will receive an effective filing date of December 30, 2023, which is the filing date of instant application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the language of the abstract is not clear and concise, and contains phrases which can be implied. For instance, the abstract expressly describes the results of animal and human safety studies; However, the abstract should be concise, providing experimental results are not needed as one could refer to the disclosure for details. In addition, the abstract describes the claimed uses are “novel, safe and not anticipated by the body of research spanning well over 75 years”, which includes phrases that can be implied. Said phrase should be deleted from the language of the abstract. Once the determination of the novelty of a claimed invention has been established and the disclosure of the invention made public and/or patented, the claimed invention is no longer novel, new or non-anticipated, since the scope of the invention no longer embraces what is considered “novel”. Thus, the incorporation of said phrase into the language of the specification is not appropriate.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification is replete with the term “novel” (see e.g., [0001]). It is suggested that the term “novel” be deleted from the language of the specification. Once the determination of the novelty of a claimed invention has been established and the disclosure of the invention made public and/or patented, the claimed invention is no longer novel or new, since the scope of the invention no longer embraces what is considered “novel”. Thus, the incorporation of the term “novel” into the language of the specification is not appropriate. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figure 5: the text appears in Table appears to be blurry and unreadable; and
Figure 9-10: the text shown in the Abbot blood ketone meter appears to be blurry and unreadable.
Claim Interpretation
The claimed term “free D-BetaHydroxyButyric acid” is reasonably construed in view of Figure 2 and Table 1 of instant specification to refer to compound having the structure of:
.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “sepsis symptoms” recites in the phrase of “readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric acid until sepsis symptoms are mitigated” does not have the definite article –the--, and should read –the sepsis symptoms— for the sake of clarity. Please note the definite article "the" should be used before specific nouns to point to a subject that is already introduced.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-8,
each of these claims repeatably capitalized the verb(s) (e.g., “Administering”, “Assessing”, and “Administering”) and adjective(s) (e.g., “Free”) whenever they appear in the middle of the sentence, and they should be lower case.
The term “D-BetaHydroxyButyric acid” improperly contains capitalized letters, and should read --D-betahydroxybutyric acid---.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5-8, each of these claims is missing a comma (,) between the claim number and the preposition that follows. For example, the recitation of “[t]he method of claim 6 additionally” should read –[t]he method of claim 6, additionally--.
Regarding claim 3, the term “comprise” is not being consistent with the term “comprising” throughout the claims, and should read –comprising—for the sake of consistency.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “wherein the Readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” is repeated twice in the same sentence and that appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation of “further” in the phrase of “wherein the assessing ketone levels and sepsis symptoms further comprise assessing bacterial sepsis symptoms” is ambiguous, because the term “further” is often used to mean something additional. The “bacterial sepsis symptoms“, when given its broadest reasonable interpretation, it refers to symptoms associated with bacterial sepsis and these symptoms can overlap with sepsis symptoms, including sepsis originated from bacteria or other causes such as surgery. In other words, when bacterial sepsis symptoms and sepsis symptoms overlaps with one another, it is not clear what are the additional “bacterial sepsis symptoms” on top of the “sepsis symptoms”. Given that the boundaries between “bacterial sepsis symptoms” and “sepsis symptoms” are not clear, one skilled in the art could not reasonably determine the metes and bounds for the scope of “further comprise assessing bacterial sepsis symptoms”. In order to advance prosecution, the Examiner is examining the claims to the extent that the “bacterial sepsis symptoms” can be the same symptoms as “sepsis symptoms”.
Regarding claim 8,
the term “substantially” in the phrase of “until sepsis symptoms are substantially mitigated” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. “substantially mitigated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree. In this case, the specification does not provide guidance to determine the clinical endpoint, symptoms reduction, biomarker or physician assessment criteria to determine what is considered to be “substantially mitigated”, it is not clear what is the metes and bounds for “substantially mitigated” without a clear boundaries or definitions.
In order to advance prosecution, the Examiner is examining the claim to the extent that the treatment of sepsis is considered to “substantially” mitigate symptoms associated with sepsis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goossens et al. (US 2019/0314307 A1), in view of Acar et al. (Eurasian Journal of Medical Investigation, 2021. Vol. 5 (1): 34-44. Published online on January 22, 2021) and Beylot et al. (Critical Care Medicine, 1994. Vol. 22, no. 7: abstract).
Goossens et al. further teaches within the skeletal muscle, 3-hydroxybutyrate has shown to be effectively used as energy source, improve physical endurance in highly trained athletes and inhibit muscle atrophy (see e.g., [0145]). Goossens et al. teaches methods and compositions for the treatment for amelioration or prevention of sepsis, severe sepsis, severe sepsis with septic shock, critical illness myopathy and critical illness polyneuropathy and particularly to the use of a combination of parenteral or enteral feeding with a carboxylic acid; more preferably the muscle weakness associated with, inter alia, sepsis (see e.g., [0001]; [0004]); exemplary carboxylic acids are, inter alia, 3-hydroxybutyric acid, D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, or DL-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid or a pharmaceutically acceptable or under food law acceptable salt (see e.g., [0086]; [0089]); and the term “sepsis” means the presence of a bacteria or their toxins in the blood or tissues (see e.g., [0056]). Goossens et al. further teaches the methods are also used for the treatment of symptoms associated with a critical illness which includes, but is not limited to sepsis (see e.g., [0005];[0063]). Goossens et al. further teaches 3-hydroxybutyric acid, also known as [Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, is a chiral compound having two enantiomers, D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid and L-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid (see e.g., [0089]). Goossens et al. further teaches critically ill patient includes patient who has been subject to major surgery within the last week (see e.g., [0059]). Goossens et al. further teaches the composition for use of said treatment comprises an 3-hydroxybutyrate, wherein the 3-hydroxybutyrate is present in said composition in an amount equivalent to 1-70 grams (see e.g., [0025]). Goossens et al. further teaches the administration is enteral or parenteral, once to several times for one day to several days and in 84% of the patients less than 14 days (see e.g., [0100]). Goossens et al. further teaches the serum concentrations of ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate were determine with commercially available assay kits (see e.g., [0117]-[0118]). Goossens et al. further teaches in contrast to lean mice, obese mice strikingly do not suffer from muscle wasting and weakness when critically ill and they present with higher serum levels of the ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate during illness; thus, to assess whether the administration of 3-hydroxybutyrate to lean critically ill mice could prevent muscle wasting and weakness, the effect of subcutaneous administration of D,L-3-hydroxybutyrate sodium salt on muscle wasting and weakness was evaluated in a validated mouse model of prolonged critical illness evoked by sepsis (cecal ligation and puncture followed by resuscitation and intensive medical care), wherein the mice are parenterally fed (see e.g., Example 7; [0146]). Goossens et al. further teaches muscle function was quantified in isolated extensor digitorum longus (EDL) muscle; critical illness in parenterally fed mice reduced the absolute maximal force generated by EDL to 57% of healthy controls; However, when the critically ill mice received subcutaneous twice daily a bolus of 75 mg of D,L-3-hydroxybutyrate sodium salt, maximal muscle force improve dramatically to 83% of healthy controls; and concludes that daily supplementation of D,L-3-hydroxybutyrate to parenterally fed mice largely prevented muscle weakness during prolonged sepsis-induced critical illness (see e.g., [0150]).
Although Goossens et al. teaches D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid in a finite list of carboxylic acids and teaches the serum concentrations of ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate were determine with commercially available assay kits, it does not expressly teach the administration of a therapeutic amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid for treating sepsis, and does not expressly teach the motivation to assess ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate.
Acar et al. teaches to evaluate the association between beta-hydroxybutyrate levels and survival in sepsis patients, patients diagnosed with sepsis or septic shock were included and followed for 28 days after their initial blood study; and plasma beta-hydroxybutyrate level analyses were performed on the blood sample taken on the first day of hospitalization (see e.g., abstract; p. 40, right column, 1st paragraph). Acar et al. further teaches the study demonstrates the levels of beta-hydroxybutyrate in non-survivor sepsis patients were significantly lower than in the survivors (see e.g., p. 42, right column, “Discussion”, line 1-4); and high levels of beta-hydroxybutyrate in survivors suggest that this chemical is related to protection in sepsis patients (see e.g., p. 43, left column, last paragraph). Acar et al. further teaches beta-hydroxybutyrate should be used in sepsis both in predicting survival and in the treatment of patients with sepsis (see e.g., p. 43, right column, last paragraph).
Beylot et al. teaches septic patients admitted to intensive care unit were administered 4-hr infusions of either D-β-hydroxybutyrate or a control solution, 12 hrs after parenteral nutrition was replaced with an isotonic saline infusion. Beylot et al. further teaches the appearance and oxidation rates of leucine and endogenous glucose production, plasma fatty acids, and glycerol values were measured before and at the end of infusion of D-β-hydroxybutyrate or control solution; and concludes that the exogenous ketone-bodies infusion decreased lipolysis and glucose production in septic patients (see e.g., abstract).
In summary, Goossens et al. clearly teaches a method of treating sepsis or symptoms associated with sepsis, more preferably the muscle weakness associated with sepsis, comprising: a) assessing the serum levels of ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate (also known as [Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid) and the muscle function, including muscle wasting and weakness; b) administering 75 mg of D,L-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyrate sodium salt as the carboxylic acid twice daily; and c) assessing the muscle function to evaluate the therapeutic effect of said carboxylic acid. Please note muscle wasting and weakness are sepsis symptoms. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrive at the claimed invention by assessing the levels of ketone body [Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyrate and muscle function, including muscle wasting and weakness, of a subject with sepsis, and then selectively choose to administer D-β-hydroxybutyrate as the carboxylic acid for treating or ameliorating sepsis in said patient who underwent surgery within the last week. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arrive at a method of treating sepsis that uses another carboxylic acid expect to possess the same activity, because Goossens et al. teaches a list of carboxylic acid, including 3-hydroxybutyrate, D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid and DL-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, that is contemplated for use treating septic patients, including those who underwent major surgery within the last week. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because Acar et al. teaches β-hydroxybutyrate offers protective effects during sepsis, and assessing day-one serum β-hydroxybutyrate level can help predict patient survival in sepsis and treatment, while Beylot et al. demonstrates the administration of D-β-hydroxybutyrate successfully decreased lipolysis and glucose production in septic patients admitted to intensive care unit when comparing the values obtained before and at the end of administration. Accordingly, substituting one carboxylic acid (D,L-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyrate sodium salt) with another carboxylic acid (D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid) taught by Goossens et al. at the same therapeutic effective amount would have presented the predictable substitution for treating sepsis. Please note the fact that the D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid has the same chemical structure as the “free D-BetaHydroxyButyric acid” set forth in the specification (see Table 1 and Figure 2a of the specification), the “D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid” renders obvious the “free D-BetaHydroxyButyric acid”.
Regarding the limitation of “Administering a therapeutic amount of free D-BetaHydroxy Butyric Acid is provided between 5 grams and 30 grams of free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” in claim 2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to optimize the therapeutic effective amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid in the method set forth above, because Goossens et al. teaches the 3-hydroxybutyrate, known to contain D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid and L-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, in the composition can be present in an amount of 1-70 grams. In other words, Goossens et al. demonstrates that the amount of carboxylic acid, including 3-hydroxybutyrate and D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, is a result-effective-variable for treating sepsis; and therefore, optimizing the therapeutic amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid would have been routine. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention through routine optimization, including the claimed therapeutic amount, because Goossens et al. teaches 1-70 grams of the 3-hydroxybutyrate, including D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, can be employed in the composition, thus, varying the therapeutic amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid in the same range of 1-70 grams would have reasonably expected to be successful; and that renders obvious the limitation of “between 5 grams and 30 grams”.
Regarding the limitation of “wherein the Assessing ketone levels and sepsis symptoms further comprise assessing bacterial sepsis symptoms” in claim 3, the claimed limitation would have been prima facie to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, because Goossens et al. teaches the muscle function and the serum levels of ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate were measure in mice with prolonged critical illness evoked by sepsis, and the term “sepsis” means the presence of a bacteria or their toxins in the blood or tissues. Accordingly, by assessing muscle function and the serum levels of ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate in a septic subject with the presence of a bacteria in the blood or tissues, said muscle function and the serum levels of ketone in the method set forth above would necessarily be symptoms of bacterial sepsis and that renders obvious the limitation instantly claimed.
Regarding to “additionally comprising dosing a therapeutic amount of sepsis related therapeutic substance as a co-adjuvant delivered more than 15 minutes after Administering a therapeutic amount of Free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” in claim 5, “additionally comprising dosing a therapeutic amount of sepsis related therapeutic substance as a co-adjuvant delivered more than 15 minutes before Administering a therapeutic amount of Free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” in claim 6, to the extent that the sepsis related therapeutic substance is the elected species of sepsis related therapeutic substance (“Free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid”), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrive at the claimed invention by administering the D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid set forth in the method above once a day, because Goossens et al. teaches the administration of the carboxylic acid, including D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, can be once to several times for one day to several days. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that daily administration of a therapeutic amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid would have successfully treat sepsis. Please note the fact that a therapeutic amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid is administered daily, the following administration (i.e., the dose(s) administered after the very first administration) is considered to be delivered at 24 hours or more after the previous one, and that renders obvious the limitation of “delivered more than 15 minutes after” in claim 5. In contrast, the very first administration is considered to be delivered at 24 hours or more before the dose(s) administered after the very first one (e.g., the 2nd or 3rd administration), and that renders obvious the limitation of “delivered more than 15 minutes before” in claim 6.
Regarding the limitation of “additionally comprising Readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” in claim 7, the limitation of “wherein the Readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid is performed daily until sepsis symptoms are substantially mitigated” in claim 8, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrive at the claimed invention by modifying the method set forth above to further administering free D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid. One would have been motivated to administer multiple doses of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, because Goossens et al. teaches the administration of the carboxylic acid, including D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid can be once to several times for one day to several days. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by administering another dose(s) of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid would have successfully treat sepsis; and by treating sepsis, the symptoms associated with sepsis would naturally be mitigated by targeting the root cause.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, and 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/645,156 (reference application) in view of Goossens et al. (US 2019/0314307 A1).
In the present case, the claims of the reference application is drawn to a method of treating a human patient with sepsis comprising raising the patient’s blood concentration of D-beta-hydroxybutyrate to a therapeutically effective ketotic range of at least 0.3 mmol/L by enteral administration of a salt free, alcohol-free, ester-free bioidentical D-betahydroxybutyric acid composition (see e.g., claim 1); wherein the bioidentical D-betahydroxybutyric acid composition consist essentially of free D-beta-hydroxybutyric acid and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (see e.g., claim 3); wherein the therapeutically effective amount of bioidentical D-betahydroxybutyric acid composition is about 10 g of bioidentical D-beta-hydroxybutyric acid for a period of 5-10 consecutive days (see e.g., claim 10).
The claims of reference application does not teach assessing and evaluating sepsis symptoms. The claims of reference application also does not teach assessing bacterial sepsis symptoms. The claims of reference application does not teach dosing a therapeutic amount of sepsis related therapeutic substance as a co-adjuvant delivered more than 15 minutes after or before administering a therapeutic effective amount of Free D-betahydroxybutyric acid.
Goossens et al. teaches methods and compositions for the treatment of sepsis, severe sepsis, severe sepsis with septic shock, critical illness myopathy and critical illness polyneuropathy and particularly to the use of a combination of parenteral or enteral feeding with a carboxylic acid; more preferably the muscle weakness associated with, inter alia, sepsis (see e.g., [0001]; [0004]); and exemplary carboxylic acids are, inter alia, 3-hydroxybutyric acid, D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, or DL-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid or a pharmaceutically acceptable or under food law acceptable salt (see e.g., [0086]; [0089]). Goossens et al. further teaches the term “sepsis” means the presence of a bacteria or their toxins in the blood or tissues (see e.g., [0056]). Goossens et al. further teaches in another aspect, the methods are also used for the treatment of symptoms associated with a critical illness which includes, but is not limited to sepsis (see e.g., [0005];[0063]). Goossens et al. further teaches critically ill patient includes patient who has been subject to major surgery within the last week (see e.g., [0059]). Goossens et al. further teaches in more particular embodiments this administration is enteral or parenteral, once to several times for one day to several days and in 84% of the patients less than 14 days (see e.g., [0100]). Goossens et al. in contrast to lean mice, obese mice strikingly do not suffer from muscle wasting and weakness when critically ill and they present with higher serum levels of the ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate during illness; thus, to assess whether the administration of 3-hydroxybutyrate to lean critically ill mice could prevent muscle wasting and weakness, the effect of subcutaneous administration of D,L-3-hydroxybutyrate sodium salt on muscle wasting and weakness was evaluated in a validated mouse model of prolonged critical illness evoked by sepsis (cecal ligation and puncture followed by resuscitation and intensive medical care), wherein the mice are parenterally fed (see e.g., Example 7; [0146]). Goossens et al. further teaches muscle function was quantified in isolated extensor digitorum longus (EDL) muscle; critical illness in parenterally fed mice reduced the absolute maximal force generated by EDL to 57% of healthy controls; However, when the critically ill mice received subcutaneous twice daily a bolus of 75 mg of D,L-3-hydroxybutyrate sodium salt, maximal muscle force improve dramatically to 83% of healthy controls; and concludes that daily supplementation of D,L-3-hydroxybutyrate to parenterally fed mice largely prevented muscle weakness during prolonged sepsis-induced critical illness (see e.g., [0150]). Goossens et al. further teaches the serum concentrations of ketone body 3-hydroxybutyrate were determine with commercially available assay kits (see e.g., [0117]-[0118]).
The fact that the reference application teaches raising the patient’s blood concentration of D-beta-hydroxybutyrate to the claimed therapeutically effective ketotic range, one would have reasonably recognized that the ketone levels of the patient are being assessed. The difference between the method of reference application and claimed invention is that the reference application does not contain assessing and evaluating sepsis symptoms in the method. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of reference application to further include assessing and evaluating sepsis symptoms, because Goossens et al. teaches carboxylic acid, including D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, can be used for treating symptoms associated with sepsis, and the sepsis refers to presence of a bacteria or their toxins in the blood or tissues. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that assessing and evaluating the symptoms associated with sepsis in the subject before and after the administration of free D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid in the composition can successfully evaluate the effect of said compound. The fact that the sepsis symptoms are being assessed or evaluated, said symptoms are necessarily symptoms of bacterial sepsis.
Regarding to “additionally comprising dosing a therapeutic amount of sepsis related therapeutic substance as a co-adjuvant delivered more than 15 minutes after Administering a therapeutic amount of Free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” in claim 5, “additionally comprising dosing a therapeutic amount of sepsis related therapeutic substance as a co-adjuvant delivered more than 15 minutes before Administering a therapeutic amount of Free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” in claim 6, to the extent that the sepsis related therapeutic substance is the elected species of sepsis related therapeutic substance, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrive at the claimed invention by administering the D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid set forth in the method above once a day, because Goossens et al. teaches the administration of the carboxylic acid, including D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid can be once to several times for one day to several days. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that daily admisnritation of a therapeutic amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid would have successfully treat sepsis. Please note the fact that a therapeutic amount of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid is administered daily, the following administration (i.e., the administration(s) after the very first administration) is considered to be delivered at 24 hours or more after the previous one, and that renders obvious the limitation of “delivered more than 15 minutes after” in claim 5. In contrast, the very first administration is considered to be delivered at 24 hours or more before the dose(s) administered after the very first one (e.g., the 2nd or 3rd administration), and that renders obvious the limitation of “delivered more than 15 minutes before” in claim 6.
Regarding the limitation of “additionally comprising Readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid” in claim 7, the limitation of “wherein the Readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid is performed daily until sepsis symptoms are substantially mitigated” in claim 8, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrive at the claimed invention by modifying the method set forth above to further administering free D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid. One would have been motivated to administer multiple doses of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid, because Goossens et al. teaches the administration of the carboxylic acid, including D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid can be once to several times for one day to several days. One would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that by administering another dose of D-[Symbol font/0x62]-hydroxybutyric acid would have successfully treat sepsis; and by treating sepsis, the sepsis symptoms would necessarily be mitigated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHIHYI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1628 /JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628