DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Van Baelen does not teach an enclosure configured to be pivotally coupled with a mounting portion because Van Baelen states the tray is lifted and moved forward: Van Baelen states Fig. 20 “provides for a pivoting function”, Fig. 21 illustrates the module of Fig. 20 in a pivoted access position and Fig. 22 illustrates the linkage system of the pivot tray (P0028-0030). If only the explicit words are being considered and not what one of the ordinary skill the art would recognize as a pivot, Van Baelen explicitly calls the embodiment of Figs. 20-22 as a pivoting tray. The pivot is around the bottom hinge of the linkage as shown in Figs. 20-22 which results in the tray being lifted and given a forward motion (result of the pivots in the linkages).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 24-26, 28-35 and 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schurmans et al (US 11,061,196 B2) in view of Van Baelen et al (US 2023/0093250 A1).
Schurmans teaches:
1. A fiber distribution enclosure (200, Figs. 8-14) comprising:
a base portion (210) having a back wall portion (218) and a side wall portion (201-204) structurally configured to define an interior (211);
a cover portion (206) configured to be pivotally coupled with the base portion (210) so as to pivot about a first axis (top in Fig. 11, see top hinge);
a mounting portion (232) configured to be fixedly coupled with the back wall (218) of the base portion (210) in the interior (211) of the base portion (210) (see Fig. 13);
an enclosure portion (250) configured to be coupled with the mounting portion (232) in the interior (211) of the base portion (210);
wherein the enclosure portion (250) includes a first enclosure portion (236 with the rest of the periphery of the body of 250) configured to be coupled with a second enclosure portion (251);
wherein the first enclosure portion (236 with the rest of the periphery of the body of 250) includes a wall portion (body of the periphery) that is structurally configured to define an interior (everything below the cover) of the enclosure portion (250), and the second enclosure portion (251) is structurally configured to block access to the interior of the enclosure portion (C4 L28-36);
wherein the enclosure portion (250) is structurally configured to enclose a fiber distribution portion (231, 240) in the interior of the enclosure portion (250);
wherein the enclosure portion (250) includes a locking portion (236, 254, 255) that is structurally configured to lock the second enclosure portion (251) with the first enclosure portion (236 with the rest of the periphery of the body of 250) so as to prevent an unauthorized person from accessing the fiber distribution portion (231, 240) (C7 L51 – C8 L4; C4 L28-36);
wherein the wall portion (periphery of 250) of the first enclosure portion (236 with the rest of the periphery of the body of 250) includes an adapter portion (233) that is structurally configured to couple a fiber optic cable from outside (at 235) of the enclosure portion (250) with a fiber optic cable of the fiber distribution portion (231, 240) so as to permit a person to couple a fiber optic cable to the fiber distribution portion (231, 240) without accessing the fiber distribution portion (C4 L58 – C5 L7);
wherein the base portion (210) includes a port portion (205) that is structurally configured to permit a fiber optic cable to pass there through for coupling with the adapter portion (233) (C4 L22-45);
wherein the cover portion (206) is structurally configured to be moved between a closed position (Fig. 8), which prevents access to the enclosure portion, and an open position (Fig. 10), which permits access to the enclosure portion (250).
25/34. A device (Figs. 8-14) for providing enhanced access to an optical fiber adapter (part of 230) in an optical fiber enclosure (200) comprising:
an enhanced optical fiber distribution enclosure assembly (200 with 251, 240) comprising:
a base portion (210);
a cover portion (206) structurally configured to be coupled with the base portion (210); and
an enclosure portion (250) structurally configured to be coupled with the base portion (210) at an interior of the base portion (210);
wherein the enclosure portion (250) includes a first enclosure portion (236 with the rest of the periphery of the body of 250) structurally configured to be coupled with a second enclosure portion (251) so as to prevent an unauthorized person from accessing a fiber distribution portion (231, 240) in the interior of the enclosure portion (C4 L28-36);
wherein the enclosure portion (250) includes an adapter portion (233) that is structurally configured to couple a fiber optic cable from outside of the enclosure portion (at 235) with a fiber optic cable of the fiber distribution portion (240, 245) so as to permit a person to couple a fiber optic cable to the fiber distribution portion (231, 240) without accessing the fiber distribution portion (C4 L58 – C5 L7).
31/40. The enclosure of claim 25/34, wherein the base portion (210) includes a port portion (221, 222, 223) that is structurally configured to permit a fiber optic cable to pass there through for coupling with the adapter portion (233) (C3 L36-48).
42. The enclosure of claim 34, wherein the enclosure portion (250) is structurally configured to prevent an unauthorized person from accessing a fiber distribution portion in an interior of the enclosure portion (C4 L28-36).
Schurmans does not teach expressly:
the enclosure configured to be pivotally coupled with the mounting portion; or
the first enclosure portion configured to be pivotally coupled with the second enclosure portion about a second axis perpendicular to the first axis; or
wherein the first enclosure portion is structurally configured to be moved relative to the base portion between a lowered position and a raised position; or
wherein the first enclosure portion includes an engagement portion structurally configured to engage a receiving portion of the mounting portion such that the engagement portion and the receiving portion are structurally configured to maintain the first enclosure portion in the raised position so as to provide enhanced access to the adapter portion of the enclosure portion when the cover portion is in the open position.
Schurmans does show the first enclosure portion (251) being oriented about a second axis (see arrows in Fig. 11) that directs movement of the first enclosure portion (251) to be moved perpendicular to the first axis (about the top hinge at 202 in Fig. 11).
Concerning the pivot limitations: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try a pivot coupling between the cover and base (first and second enclosure portions), since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Hinged couplings between covers and bases are well known in the fiber distribution enclosure art, Schurmans teaches one for the main cover and base for example. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the cover for the enclosure portion to succeed as a hinged portion since the overall cover will now get in the way of such a cover because the main cover can be completely removed.
Van Baelen teaches:
an enclosure (1000, Figs. 20-22) configured to be pivotally coupled with a mounting portion (910) (P0028-0030); and
wherein a first enclosure portion (base of 1000) is structurally configured to be moved relative to a base portion (base of 900) between a lowered position (Fig. 20) and a raised position (Fig. 21); and
wherein the first enclosure portion (base of 1000) includes an engagement portion structurally (910) configured to engage a receiving portion of the mounting portion (part of 910) such that the engagement portion and the receiving portion (part of 910) are structurally configured to maintain the first enclosure portion (1000) in the raised position (Fig. 21) so as to provide enhanced access to the adapter portion of the enclosure portion when a cover portion is in the open position (P0103) (P0028-0030).
Van Baelen further teaches:
2/26/35. The enclosure of claim 1/25/34, wherein the engagement structure (910) comprises a biasing portion extending from the first enclosure portion (the linkage portion the connects the linkage to the base, see Fig. 21), and the receiving portion (linkage itself) is structurally configured to receive the biasing portion (see Fig. 21).
4/28/37. The enclosure of claim 1/25/34, wherein the mounting portion (910) comprises two arms (four total) and each arm includes a notch (see Fig. 21, the hole in each arm), and the enclosure portion (1000) comprises two pins (the pins holding the enclosure to the arms) extending in an opposite direction from two opposite side walls of the enclosure (1000) (see Fig. 21); and
wherein the arms (part of 910, four total) are spaced apart from one another by a distance that is large enough to permit the enclosure portion (1000) to be received therebetween (see Fig. 21) and small enough such that the notches are structurally configured to receive the pins so as to permit the enclosure portion to pivot relative to the mounting portion (see Fig. 21, P0103).
24/33/43. The enclosure of claim 1/25/34, wherein the enclosure portion is structurally arranged to be coupled with the mounting portion (910) such that the enclosure portion (the linkage portion the connects the linkage to the base, see Fig. 21) is permitted to pivot about an axis relative to the base portion (P0028-0030).
Schurmans and Van Baelen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, fiber distribution enclosures.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the enclosure taught by Schurmans to use the enclosure that raises and lowers as taught by Van Baelen.
The motivation for doing so would have been to increase access to the enclosure and the support the enclosure when moved (Van Baelen, P0103).
Regarding claims 5/30/39:
Van Baelen teaches a different embodiment (Fig. 14) wherein notches (608) are configured to require that a pin (708) of a pivotable enclosure (700) be moved in two directions in order to remove the pin from the notch so as to prevent inadvertent removal of the pin from the notch (P0091).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the notch of the main embodiment of Van Baelen (1000) to include a notch and pin system as taught in the embodiment of Fig. 13.
The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the pin and notch do not disconnect too easily or on accident.
Regarding claims 6/31/41:
Schurmans teaches optical fiber adapters (235), parking portion (245) and ports (205) for input and outputting multifiber cables (see 249, Fig. 14). Schurmans further teaches splitters being typical devices in such enclosures (C1 L15-28).
Van Baelen teaches an adapter portion (102) with single fiber adapters (108) and multifiber adapters (102) (P0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Schurmans to include a single and multifiber adapters as taught by Van Baelen. The motivation being to make the device compatible to more types of cables and connectors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Schurmans to include a splitter in the fiber distribution portion, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. As discussed, Schurmans teaches splitters are known devices for such enclosure so a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect using a splitter in the fiber distribution portion to succeed.
Finally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Schurmans to include a drop cable, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Schurmans already teaches cables that are input and outputted from the device, a drop cable portion is just a name given to a cable exiting the device that a user labels “drop”. One of ordinary skill the art would expect a cable exiting the device of Schurmans to succeed as a drop cable portion since no special cable or fiber is needed to be a drop cable.
Regarding claims 29/38: Schurmans further teaches wherein the mounting portion (232) is structurally arranged to extend away from a back wall (back end of 210) of the base portion (210) (see Fig. 9).
Claims 3, 27 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schurmans and Van Baelen as applied to claims 1, 2, 25, 26, 34 and 35 above, and further in view of Conner et al (US 8,879,882 B2).
Schurmans and Van Baelen teach the enclosure previously discussed.
Schurmans and Van Baelen do not teach expressly wherein the biasing portion comprises a spring-biased plunger mounted in a side wall of the first enclosure portion, and the receiving portion comprises a hole or notch in the mounting/base portion.
Conner teaches a biasing portion (36, 102, 110) comprises a spring-biased plunger (110) mounted in a side wall of an enclosure portion (102), and a receiving portion comprises a hole or notch in the mounting portion (36) (C10 L54-59; C11 L14-34).
Schurmans, Van Baelen and Conner are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, fiber distribution enclosures.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the biasing portion of Schurmans and Van Baelen to include a spring-based plunger and hole/notch structure as taught by Conner.
The motivation for doing so would have been to allow for easy complete separation of the enclosure by using biasing structure with a spring-based plunger that can be disconnected by the corresponding receiving structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874