DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 02/10/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 is amended; claims 2-5 and 11-13 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the drawing objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 regarding the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant alleges that there is no motivation to combine the references, as both Goossens and Wang independently ensure sealing performance.
However, the motivation is to further improve sealing. The modification to include Goossens would enhance the holding force between the two elements (Col. 2, line 66 - Col. 3, line 10) and enable positive fastening of the two elements (Col. 2, lines 1-11). The modification to include Wang / CN 108087605 would provide a better hard seal (see translation paragraph 0045).
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/05/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (U.S. 2020/0141515) in view of Goossens et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,626,326), in further view of CN 108087605.
Annotated Figure 1 from Iwasaki.
Annotated Figure 3 from Iwasaki.
Annotated Figure 2 from Goossens.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Iwasaki discloses an electromagnetic valve, comprising a valve bonnet (8) and a valve seat (1), wherein the valve seat (1) is provided with a mounting groove (see annotated figure above), a part of the valve bonnet (8) is arranged in the mounting groove (see annotated figure above); wherein the valve bonnet (8) comprises a large-diameter section (see annotated figure above) and a small-diameter section (see annotated figure above), the small-diameter section (see annotated figure above) extends into the mounting groove (see annotated figure above) and is affixed to a groove wall of the mounting groove (see annotated figure above), and the large-diameter section (see annotated figure above) abuts against the valve seat 1; a first sealing surface (see annotated figure above) is formed by the large-diameter section abutting against the valve seat (1), and a second sealing surface (see annotated figure above) is formed by the small-diameter section (see annotated figure above) being affixed to the groove wall of the mounting groove (see annotated figure above); the valve bonnet (8) and the valve seat (1) are connected in a hard sealing connection manner at the first sealing surface (see annotated figure above), and the valve bonnet (8) and the valve seat (1) are connected in a soft sealing connection manner at the second sealing surface (see annotated figure above); the large-diameter section (see annotated figure above) is provided with a first abutting surface, a second abutting surface is provided at an abutting position of the valve seat (1) and the large-diameter section (see annotated figure above); the first sealing surface (see annotated figure above) is defined by the first abutting surface and the second abutting surface being in contact with and combined with each other, and the first abutting surface and the second abutting surface are in contact with and combined with each other to form the hard sealing connection manner (see Figure 1).
Further regarding this limitation, as seen in applicant’s specification, a hard sealing surface is between two hard materials, while a soft sealing surface has a sealing ring between (see paragraphs 0030 and 0053). Therefore, Iwasaki meets this limitation.
Iwasaki fails to disclose wherein a step portion protruding towards the second abutting surface is arranged on the first abutting surface, a concave portion matched with the step portion is arranged on the second abutting surface, and the concave portion is sunken towards a direction away from the first abutting surface, and when the first abutting surface is affixed to the second abutting surface, the step portion and the concave portion are matched in an L shape and in contact with each other and two side surfaces of the step portion for matched with the concave portion are perpendicular to the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface, respectively; wherein an annular protrusion protruding towards the second abutting surface is arranged on the first abutting surface, and when the first abutting surface is affixed to the second abutting surface, the annular protrusion is capable of being pressed and embedded in the second abutting surface; wherein a cross-sectional shape of the annular protrusion is a triangular or a circular arc; wherein a hardness of a material of the valve bonnet is greater than a hardness of a material of the valve seat.
Goossens teaches an electromagnetic valve wherein a step portion (5) protruding towards a second abutting surface (see annotated figure above) is arranged on a first abutting surface (see annotated figure above), a concave portion (6) matched with the step portion (5) is arranged on the second abutting surface (see annotated figure above), and the concave portion (6) is sunken towards a direction away from the first abutting surface (see annotated figure above), and when the first abutting surface (see annotated figure above) is affixed to the second abutting surface (see annotated figure above), the step portion (5) and the concave portion (6) are matched in an L shape (see Figure 2) and in contact with each other (Col. 2, line 66 - Col. 3, line 10) and two side surfaces of the step portion (5) for matched with the concave portion (6) are perpendicular; wherein a hardness of a material of a valve bonnet (1) is greater than a hardness of a material of a valve housing 2 (Col. 2, lines 1-11)
The combination with Iwasaki would teach the two side surfaces being perpendicular to the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to have modified Iwasaki to provide wherein a step portion protruding towards the second abutting surface is arranged on the first abutting surface, a concave portion matched with the step portion is arranged on the second abutting surface, and the concave portion is sunken towards a direction away from the first abutting surface, and when the first abutting surface is affixed to the second abutting surface, the step portion and the concave portion are matched in an L shape and in contact with each other and two side surfaces of the step portion for matched with the concave portion are perpendicular to the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface, respectively; wherein a hardness of a material of the valve bonnet is greater than a hardness of a material of the valve seat. Doing so would enhance the holding force between the two elements (Col. 2, line 66 - Col. 3, line 10) and enable positive fastening of the two elements (Col. 2, lines 1-11), as recognized by Goossens.
The combination fails to teach wherein an annular protrusion protruding towards the second abutting surface is arranged on the first abutting surface, and when the first abutting surface is affixed to the second abutting surface, the annular protrusion is capable of being pressed and embedded in the second abutting surface; wherein a cross-sectional shape of the annular protrusion is a triangular or a circular arc.
CN 108087605 teaches a solenoid valve wherein an annular protrusion (5) protruding towards a second abutting surface is arranged on a first abutting surface, and when the first abutting surface is affixed to the second abutting surface, the annular protrusion (5) is capable of being pressed and embedded in the second abutting surface (see Figure 2; see translation paragraph 0045); wherein a cross-sectional shape of the annular protrusion (5) is a triangular or a circular arc (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Iwasaki to provide wherein an annular protrusion protruding towards the second abutting surface is arranged on the first abutting surface, and when the first abutting surface is affixed to the second abutting surface, the annular protrusion is capable of being pressed and embedded in the second abutting surface; wherein a cross-sectional shape of the annular protrusion is a triangular or a circular arc. Doing so would form a better hard seal (see translation paragraph 0045), as recognized by CN 108087605.
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein an outer wall of the small-diameter section (see annotated figure above) is provided with a third abutting surface, and an inner wall of the valve seat (1) is provided with a fourth abutting surface, and a second sealing surface (see annotated figure above) is formed by the third abutting surface and the fourth abutting surface being in contact with each other (see Figure 1); the third abutting surface is provided with a sealing groove (see annotated figure above), a sealing ring (see annotated figure above) is disposed in the sealing groove (see annotated figure above), and the sealing ring (see annotated figure above) is located in the sealing groove (see annotated figure above) and extruded on the fourth abutting surface.
Regarding claim 8, Iwasaki as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed a pilot valve component, wherein the pilot valve component is fixed in the valve bonnet (8), the pilot valve component comprises a valve sleeve (see annotated figure above), the valve sleeve (see annotated figure above) is provided with a valve cavity (see annotated figure above), the valve seat (1) is provided with a valve port (13) which is in communication with the valve cavity (see annotated figure above); a piston unit (see annotated figure above) is arranged in the valve sleeve (see annotated figure above), and the piston unit (see annotated figure above) is capable of moving along an axial direction of the valve sleeve (see annotated figure above) in the valve cavity (see annotated figure above) to open/close the valve port 13.
Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki in view of Goossens, in further view of CN 108087605, in further view of Fukudome et al. (U.S. 2020/0370673).
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki discloses the invention as essentially claimed and further discloses wherein the piston unit (see annotated figure above) comprises a movable core (see annotated figure above), a fixed core (see annotated figure above), and an elastic member (5), and both ends of the elastic member (5) are in contact with the movable core (see annotated figure above) and the fixed core (see annotated figure above), the movable core (see annotated figure above) is capable of moving in a direction towards or away from the fixed iron core (see annotated figure above) under an action of elastic force and an action of electromagnetic force of the elastic member (5) to open/close the valve port 13.
Iwasaki fails to disclose the movable core and the fixed core being iron.
Fukudome teaches an electromagnetic valve comprising a movable iron core and a fixed iron core (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Iwasaki to provide the movable core and the fixed core being iron, as taught by Fukudome. Iron is known to be a common material for electromagnetic valves that provides enhanced magnetic field strength and faster response times.
Claim(s) 10 and 14-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki in view of Goossens, in further view of CN 108087605, in further view of Tonegawa (U.S. 2013/0313461).
Regarding claim 10, Iwasaki discloses the valve electromagnetic of claim 1.
Iwasaki fails to disclose an air conditioning system.
Tonegawa teaches an air conditioner using an electromagnetic valve (see paragraph 0005)/
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Iwasaki to provide an air conditioning system, as taught by Tonegawa. Doing so would utilize the electromagnetic valve in a known alternative manner.
Regarding claim 14, Iwasaki as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein a hardness of a material of the valve bonnet is greater than a hardness of a material of the valve seat.
Goossens teaches an electromagnetic valve wherein a hardness of a material of a valve bonnet (1) is greater than a hardness of a material of a valve housing 2 (Col. 2, lines 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Iwasaki to provide wherein a hardness of a material of the valve bonnet is greater than a hardness of a material of the valve seat. Doing so would enable positive fastening of the two elements (Col. 2, lines 1-11), as recognized by Goossens.
Regarding claim 15, Iwasaki as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein a cross-sectional shape of the annular protrusion is a triangular or a circular arc.
CN 108087605 teaches a solenoid valve wherein a cross-sectional shape of the annular protrusion (5) is a triangular or a circular arc (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Iwasaki to provide wherein a cross-sectional shape of the annular protrusion is a triangular or a circular arc. Doing so would form a better hard seal (see translation paragraph 0045), as recognized by CN 108087605.
Regarding claim 16, Iwasaki as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein an outer wall of the small-diameter section (see annotated figure above) is provided with a third abutting surface, and an inner wall of the valve seat (1) is provided with a fourth abutting surface, and a second sealing surface (see annotated figure above) is formed by the third abutting surface and the fourth abutting surface being in contact with each other (see Figure 1); the third abutting surface is provided with a sealing groove (see annotated figure above), a sealing ring (see annotated figure above) is disposed in the sealing groove (see annotated figure above), and the sealing ring (see annotated figure above) is located in the sealing groove (see annotated figure above) and extruded on the fourth abutting surface.
Regarding claim 17, Iwasaki as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches a pilot valve component, wherein the pilot valve component is fixed in the valve bonnet (8), the pilot valve component comprises a valve sleeve (see annotated figure above), the valve sleeve (see annotated figure above) is provided with a valve cavity (see annotated figure above), the valve seat (1) is provided with a valve port (13) which is in communication with the valve cavity (see annotated figure above); a piston unit (see annotated figure above) is arranged in the valve sleeve (see annotated figure above), and the piston unit (see annotated figure above) is capable of moving along an axial direction of the valve sleeve (see annotated figure above) in the valve cavity (see annotated figure above) to open/close the valve port 13.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Iwasaki in view of Goossens, in further view of CN 108087605, in further view of Tonegawa, in further view of Fukudome.
Regarding claim 18, Iwasaki discloses the invention as essentially claimed and further discloses wherein the piston unit (see annotated figure above) comprises a movable core (see annotated figure above), a fixed core (see annotated figure above), and an elastic member (5), and both ends of the elastic member (5) are in contact with the movable core (see annotated figure above) and the fixed core (see annotated figure above), the movable core (see annotated figure above) is capable of moving in a direction towards or away from the fixed iron core (see annotated figure above) under an action of elastic force and an action of electromagnetic force of the elastic member (5) to open/close the valve port 13.
Iwasaki fails to disclose the movable core and the fixed core being iron.
Fukudome teaches an electromagnetic valve comprising a movable iron core and a fixed iron core (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Iwasaki to provide the movable core and the fixed core being iron, as taught by Fukudome. Iron is known to be a common material for electromagnetic valves that provides enhanced magnetic field strength and faster response times.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753