DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 with the election of Claims 1-6 and 8-10 and Figs. 11-12C, 10I, 10L, 26A-D, 39A-D, 38 and 65. Therefore, claims 7 and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, claims 1-6 and 8-10 are presently pending in this application.
Applicants’ election with traverse is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the species and subspecies would not be a serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because each of the listed species and subspecies are mutually exclusive embodiments with mutually exclusive characteristics that are not obvious variants of each other. If the applicants believe that these are in fact similar and should not be considered mutually exclusive species, the applicant is required to state that these embodiments do not have mutually exclusive characteristics and a single prior art disclosing one would disclose the other since they are obvious variants of each other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the grippable housing comprises a window along a length of the grippable housing, and the window defines a side port that is configured to receive the implant into the delivery conduit of the needle” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: specification should be amended to include the “the grippable housing comprises a window along a length of the grippable housing, and the window defines a side port that is configured to receive the implant into the delivery conduit of the needle.” limitation in claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, “a first control mechanism” and “a second control mechanism” are being interpreted under 112 (f). Applicant is encouraged to amend claims to recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function because currently the claims can be interpreted to mean the pusher member 508 and the trigger 502/504 (par. 0175 of the PGPub of the present invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (2013/0245534) in view of Shemi (2011/0275891).
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses an implant 5 delivery system (Fig. 7 and par. 0053), comprising: a grippable housing (housing shown in Fig. 7); a needle 35 extending from the grippable housing (Fig. 7), wherein the needle is hollow and defines a delivery conduit that extends from a proximal end of the needle to a distal end of the needle (par. 0053 disclose a hollow needle and Fig. 8-9 discloses the hollow needle 35 having a conduit that extends from its beveled tip at the distal end), wherein the distal end of the needle is a piercing end that is configured to pierce a nasal tissue (par. 0055 discloses the needle pierces through the skin which is fully capable of being nasal tissue); a first control mechanism that is configured to advance an implant 5 from a proximal position at which the implant is loaded into the needle to a distal position in the needle (par. 0056 and Fig. 12 discloses pusher 45 pushes or advances the implant 5 within the needle conduit); and a second control mechanism that is configured to retract the needle away from the implant at the distal position and toward the grippable housing to deliver the implant to an implant location in the nasal tissue (par. 0057 and Figs. 12-13 disclose the needle 35 is retracted away from the implant 5 in a proximal direction which is towards the housing in order to deliver the implant). Miller is silent regarding a nasal implant and wherein the grippable housing comprises a window along a length of the grippable housing, and the window defines a side port that is configured to receive the implant into the delivery conduit of the needle. However, Shemi teaches a similar implant delivery system (Fig. 11B) comprising a nasal implant (par. 0035 discloses a nasal treatment element) and wherein a grippable housing 22 comprises a window 120 along a length of the grippable housing, and the window defines a side port that is configured to receive the implant into the delivery conduit of the needle (par. 0272; Fig. 11B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant delivery system in Miller to include nasal implant and wherein the grippable housing comprises a window along a length of the grippable housing, and the window defines a side port that is configured to receive the implant into the delivery conduit of the needle, as taught and suggested by Shemi, for facilitating ease of inserting the implant within the needle conduit and to treat a nasal target site (par. 0029 and par. 0272).
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses wherein the needle is configured to at least partially retract into the grippable housing (par. 0057 discloses the needle is retracted proximally which is towards the grippable housing).
Regarding claim 3, further comprising an implant pusher member 45 that is disposed in the delivery conduit of the needle 35 (Fig. 11), wherein the implant pusher member is configured such that moving the first control mechanism in a distal direction relative to the grippable housing moves the implant pusher member against a proximal end of the implant (as shown in Fig. 11, the pusher 45 moves distally towards the implant 5 to push the implant by contacting its proximal end) and pushes the implant near the distal end of the needle (par. 0057 and Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Miller discloses wherein the implant pusher member 45 is further configured to maintain the implant at the implant location in the nasal tissue while the second control mechanism retracts the needle away from the implant (Figs. 11-12 and par. 0057).
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses wherein a proximal end of the implant pusher member is positioned within the grippable housing (Figs 7 and 9 disclose the housing and the pusher member is located within the housing).
Regarding claims 6 and 8-9, Miller discloses the claimed invention of claim 1; except for wherein the second control mechanism comprises a trigger member on the grippable housing; a user-controlled safety element that is configured to unlock the second control mechanism to retract the needle toward the grippable housing and the user- controlled safety element is a button on the grippable housing. However, Shemi teaches a similar implant delivery system 52 (Fig. 11A) comprising a second control mechanism comprises a trigger member on the grippable housing (trigger arms located on housing 22 adjacent window 120); a user-controlled safety element that is configured to unlock the second control mechanism to retract the needle toward the grippable housing and the user-controlled safety element is a button on the grippable housing (shaft lock 28 controls the length of the distal end of needle 112 and is a button on the housing 22; Fig. 11A and par. 0276). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant delivery system in Miller to include the second control mechanism comprises a trigger member on the grippable housing; a user-controlled safety element that is configured to unlock the second control mechanism to retract the needle toward the grippable housing and the user- controlled safety element is a button on the grippable housing, as taught and suggested by Shemi, for providing a controlled retraction of the needle and to limit needle penetration.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (2013/0245534) in view of Shemi (2011/0275891) further in view of Dineen et al. (2008/0066769) “Dineen”.
Miller in view of Shemi disclose the claimed invention of claim 1; except for the implant comprises: a first end; a second end; and an elongate body portion extending-between the first end and the second end, wherein the first end comprises a resiliently deformable portion including a plurality of tines, wherein the resiliently deformable portion configured to have a contracted first shape and an expanded second shape expanded, wherein the contracted first shape comprises a non-circular cross-section configured to correspond to a cross-sectional shape of the delivery conduit, and wherein, in the expanded second shape, respective ends of the tines of the resiliently deformable portion protrude outwardly from the cross-section of the elongated body portion so as to anchor the implant to nasal tissue when the implant is in place in the nasal tissue.
However, Dineen teaches a similar nasal implant 5100 (Figs. 7A-7B) comprising a first end; a second end; and an elongate body portion extending-between the first end and the second end (as shown in Figs. 7A-7B), wherein the first end comprises a resiliently deformable portion including a plurality of tines (par. 0069 discloses resiliently deformable prongs), wherein the resiliently deformable portion configured to have a contracted first shape (Fig. 7A) and an expanded second shape expanded (Fig. 7B), wherein the contracted first shape comprises a non-circular cross-section (Fig. 7A discloses a profile of the implant 5100 having a non-circular shape) configured to correspond to a cross-sectional shape of the delivery conduit (the implant 5100 is fully capable of performing this intended use), and wherein, in the expanded second shape, respective ends of the tines of the resiliently deformable portion protrude outwardly from the cross-section of the elongated body portion so as to anchor the implant to nasal tissue when the implant is in place in the nasal tissue (par. 0069 and Fig. 7B disclose the prongs protruding outwardly and fully capable of performing this intended use in the nasal tissue).
Conclusion
/YASHITA SHARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774