DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/835, 726 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “a first field portion that has N poles and S poles alternately disposed along the optical axis direction” renders claims 1-12 as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/835, 726 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsurata (US 2011/0103782) in view of Fujinaka (US 2021/0356841).
Regarding claim 1, Tsurata discloses, a lens drive device (Figs. 1(a)-8), comprising:
a lens frame (12) configured to hold a lens driven (121) in an optical axis direction (Para. 0097, lines 11-14);
an n-phase coil (30s, t) that is provided to the lens frame, wherein n is an integer of 1 or more;
a plurality of magnets (17 and 240x, y) that are disposed opposite the n-phase coil (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below); and
a plurality of yokes (16, 18, 166, 167) in which the plurality of magnets are provided along the optical axis direction and that are disposed so as to sandwich the coil (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below), each yoke having a reinforcing portion (162, 166, 167, 197, 198) that is provided along a lengthwise direction (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below) and is configured to improve rigidity in the lengthwise direction.
Tsurata does not explicitly disclose the n-phase coil, where n is an integer of 2 or more.
Fujinaka teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a lens drive unit that it would have been desirable to make the n-phase coil, where n is an integer of 2 or more.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the n-phase coil, where n is an integer of 2 or more as taught by the lens drive unit of Fujinaka in the lens drive unit of Tsurata since Fujinaka teaches it is known to include this feature in a lens drive unit for the purpose of providing a lens drive unit with enhanced thrust density, reduced magnetic saturation and enhanced performance.
Regarding claim 2, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the reinforcing portions are provided so as to extend along the optical axis direction in which the plurality of magnets are disposed (Para. 0162 and see 162, 166, 167, 197, 198).
Regarding claim 3, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the reinforcing portions each include a bent end portion (Para. 0162 and see 162, 166, 167, 197, 198) formed such that both ends in a width direction substantially perpendicular to the lengthwise direction of the yoke are bent along the lengthwise direction of the yoke (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below).
Regarding claim 4, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the bent end portion includes a first bent portion (167 and see 198 adjacent to 197) that is bent in a direction of a plane where the plurality of yokes are opposite each other (see Figs. 5(b) and 8), and a second bent portion (see 162 adjacent to 197 and 166) in which a distal end portion of the first bent portion is bent further outward (Figs. 5(b) and 8).
Regarding claim 5, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the plurality of magnets are attached between the first bent portions provided at ends of the yokes in the width direction (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below).
Regarding claim 7, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the yokes each include a center bent portion formed so as to bend an approximate center of the yoke in a width direction along the lengthwise direction of the yoke (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below).
Regarding claim 8, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the center bent portion is provided in right and left symmetry around a center in the width direction of the yoke (see 197).
Regarding claim 9, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the reinforcing portions each include a thick portion having a different thickness in a width direction of the yoke (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below).
Regarding claim 10, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the plurality of yokes each include a first yoke portion (162) that is disposed near the lens frame on an inner peripheral surface side, and a second yoke (198) that is disposed at a position facing the first yoke portion on an opposite side from the lens frame, and the thick portion includes a first thick portion that is provided along an outer shape of the lens frame at both ends in the width direction of the first yoke portion disposed near the lens frame, and is thicker than a center portion in the width direction (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below; note, the Examiner interprets the thickness to be in the width direction in the direction labeled “y” in the annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below).
Regarding claim 11, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, the thick portion includes a second thick portion that is thicker than the two ends in the width direction at a center portion in the width direction of a second yoke portion opposite the first yoke portion disposed near the lens frame (see annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below; note, the Examiner interprets the thickness to be in the width direction in the direction labeled “y” in the annotated Figs. 5(b) and 8 below).
Regarding claim 12, Tsurata in view of Fujinaka discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Tsurata further discloses, a lens barrel (Figs. 1(a)-8), comprising: the lens drive device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and a substantially cylindrical housing portion (12, 12a, 12b) that contains the lens drive device (Para. 0106).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsurata (US 2011/0103782) in view of Fujinaka (US 2021/0356841) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lam et al. (US 2010/0142063).
Tsurata in view of Fujinaka remains as applied to claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Tsurata discloses the magnets are fixed to the yokes (see Figs. 5(b) and 8; note, the Examiner interprets that the Figs. of Tsurata shows that magnets 17 and 240x, y are bonded to yokes 16).
Tsurata in view of Fujinaka does not explicitly disclose the magnets are fixed to the yokes by an adhesive agent.
Lam teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a lens drive device that it would have been desirable to make the magnets are fixed to the yokes by an adhesive agent (Para. 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the magnets are fixed to the yokes by an adhesive agent as taught by the lens drive device of Lam in the combination of Tsurata in view of Fujinaka since Lam teaches it is known to include this feature in a lens drive device for the purpose of providing a lightweight and easy to manufacture lens driving device that is effectively and securely bonded.
Furthermore, In response to the limitations, an adhesive agent injected into a gap formed between end faces in the lengthwise direction and the bent end portions, the Examiner points out that while not objectionable, the Office reminds Applicant that "product by process" limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also, In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161 ; In re Wethheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289; and particularly In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or otherwise. Note that applicant has the burden of proof in such cases, as the above case law makes clear. Thus, no patentable weight will be given to those process steps which do not add structural limitations to the final product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takizawa et al. (US 2004/0184166) and Kimura et al. (US 2015/0277229) discloses a lens drive device that includes a lens frame, an n-phase coil, a plurality of magnets and a plurality of yokes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/21/2026