DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, 9-10, 12, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 Ln.6: the clause “the second connection region of the two connection elements” should be amended to recite “the second connection region of the second connection element” for consistent claim nomenclature (i.e., the second connection region is only with respect to the second connection element”).
Claim 7 Ln.2: the Office recommends amending the clause “the housing closes the at least one opening in response” to recite “the at least one opening closes in response” for clarity purposes (i.e., as claimed, the opening is part of the housing, so it is unclear how the housing can close itself. In other words, the claim is drafted in a way where the claim requires the housing to close itself since the housing itself includes the opening).
Claim 9 Ln.2: the clause “above the connection region” should be amended to recite “above the first connection region” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 10 Lns.1-2: the Office notes that the limitation “a high-temperature-resistant plastic” could present a potential 112(b) issue since it is unclear as to what the intended scope of “high-temperature-resistant plastic” is due to the word “high” being a subjective term. Applicant’s specification also provides no guidance as to what the qualifies as a “high-temperature-resistant plastic” and what does not qualify as a “high-temperature-resistant plastic” (i.e., Applicant’s disclosure provides no quantitative/objective scale as to ascertain as to what the metes and bounds of “high-temperature-resistant plastic” is). For the purposes of examination, any reference that teaches a heat resistant plastic is believed to be encompassed within the scope of the claim.
Claim 12: the Office suggests deleting the clause “the energy storage device; the first busbar; and the second busbar” since the limitations are already included in “the device of claim 11”, and thus making the limitations redundant.
Claim 16: the Office suggests deleting the clause “the energy storage device, including the first battery module and the second battery module” since the limitations are already included in “the device of claim 15”, and thus making the limitations redundant.
The Office notes that the above objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrichi (WO 2013174590) in view of Fukuda (US 20210057172)1.
Regarding claim 1, Henrichi discloses (Fig.1):
A device for electrical and mechanical connection of a first element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "first element") and a second element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "second element"), the device comprising: a first connection element (110), wherein the first connection element (110) is configured to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "first element") (Fig.1: 110 will have to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element in order for current to flow from 110 to 120); a second connection element (120), wherein the second connection element (120) is configured to be connected electrically and mechanically to the second element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "second element") (Fig.1: 120 will have to be electrically and mechanically connected to the second element in order for current to flow from 110 to 120); and a connection module (130 and 140 in combination) configured to: provide an electrical and mechanical connection between a first connection region ([0082]: the line that connects 110 to 130 will define the "first connection region") of the first connection element (110) and a second connection region ([0082]: the "another line" that connects 120 to 130 will define the "second connection region") of the second connection element (120) (Fig.1 and [0082]: 130 will provide an electrical and mechanical connection between the "first connection region" of 110 and the "second connection region" of 120), and passively open the electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region ([0082]: the line that connects 110 to 130 will define the "first connection region") of the first connection element (110) and the second connection region ([0082]: the "another line" that connects 120 to 130 will define the "second connection region") of the second connection element (120) in response to a triggering temperature being reached ([0036]: "The destructible body can be destroyed if a predefined temperature threshold is exceeded. A fluid inside the destructible body can expand due to a temperature increase and transform the destructible body into a non-intact state"- when 140 breaks due to the temperature threshold, which will define the "triggering temperature", being reached, 130 will passively open the electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region of 110 and the second connection region of 120, since only temperature and no other external component is used to break 140, the interruption is done passively).
However, Henrichi fails to explicitly disclose:
A first connection element with a first interface, wherein the first interface is configured to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element; a second connection element with a second interface, wherein the second interface is configured to be connected electrically and mechanically to the second element.
Fukuda however teaches (Fig.1):
A first connection element (1) with a first interface (Fig.1: the aperture in 1), wherein the first interface is configured to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element ([0070]: the "first end of electric circuity" will define the "first element") (Fig.1 and [0070]: the first interface will allow 1 to be electrically and mechanically connected to the "first element"); a second connection element (2) with a second interface (Fig.1: the aperture in 2), wherein the second interface is configured to be connected electrically and mechanically to the second element ([0071]: the "second end of the electric circuitry" will define the "second element") (Fig.1 and [0071]: the second interface will allow 2 to be electrically and mechanically connected to the "second element").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Fukuda to modify the device of Henrichi such that the first connection element has a first interface that permits electrical and mechanical connection to the first element and such that the second connection element has a second interface that permits electrical and mechanical connection to the second element, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of connecting the device to the first element and the second element (i.e., forming the first and second connection elements such that they each have an aperture to define the first and second interface allows for simple and secure coupling of the device to the first and second elements since a user only needs to use a fastener to provide a secure mechanical and electrical connection among the device, first element, and the second element).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Henrichi discloses (Fig.1):
A method of operating a connection between a first element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "first element") and a second element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "second element"), the connection including a first connection element (110) configured to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "first element") (Fig.1: 110 will have to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element in order for current to flow from 110 to 120), the connection including a second connection element (120) configured to be connected electrically and mechanically to the second element (Fig.1: the electrical terminal connected to 110 will define the "second element") (Fig.1: 120 will have to be electrically and mechanically connected to the second element in order for current to flow from 110 to 120), the method comprising: providing an electrical and mechanical connection between a first connection region ([0082]: the line that connects 110 to 130 will define the "first connection region") of the first connection element (110) and a second connection region ([0082]: the "another line" that connects 120 to 130 will define the "second connection region") of the second connection element (120) (Fig.1 and [0082]: 130 will provide an electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region of 110 and the second connection region of 120); and passively opening the electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region ([0082]: the line that connects 110 to 130 will define the "first connection region") of the first connection element (110) and the second connection region ([0082]: the "another line" that connects 120 to 130 will define the "second connection region") of the second connection element (120) in response to a triggering temperature being reached ([0036]: "The destructible body can be destroyed if a predefined temperature threshold is exceeded. A fluid inside the destructible body can expand due to a temperature increase and transform the destructible body into a non-intact state"- when 140 breaks, 130 will passively open the electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region of 110 and the second connection region of 120, since only temperature and no other external component is used to break 140, the interruption is done passively).
However, Henrichi fails to explicitly disclose:
The connection including a first connection element with a first interface that is configured to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element, the connection including a second connection element with a second interface that is configured to be connected electrically and mechanically to the second element.
Fukuda however teaches (Fig.1):
The connection (See Fig.1) A first connection element (1) with a first interface (Fig.1: the aperture in 1) that is configured to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first element ([0070]: the "first end of electric circuity" will define the "first element") (Fig.1 and [0070]: the first interface will allow 1 to be electrically and mechanically connected to the "first element"), the connection (See Fig.1) including a second connection element (2) with a second interface (Fig.1: the aperture in 2) that is configured to be connected electrically and mechanically to the second element ([0071]: the "second end of the electric circuitry" will define the "second element") (Fig.1 and [0071]: the second interface will allow 2 to be electrically and mechanically connected to the "second element").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Fukuda to modify the device of Henrichi such that the first connection element and the second connection element each has an interface, and thus defining the first interface and second interface, so that the first interface mechanically and electrically connects the first connection element to the first element and such that the second interface mechanically and electrically connects the second connection element to the second element, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of connecting the device to the first element and the second element (i.e., forming the first and second connection elements such that they each have an aperture to define the first and second interface allows for simple and secure coupling of the device to the first and second elements since a user only needs to use a fastener to provide a secure mechanical and electrical connection among the device, first element, and the second element).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Henrichi further discloses:
Wherein: the connection module (130 and 140 in combination) includes a passive safety element (140) configured to trigger in response to the triggering temperature being reached ([0036]: 140 triggers in response to the triggering temperature being reached), and triggering of the passive safety element (140) opens the electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region ([0082]: the line that connects 110 to 130 will define the "first connection region") of the first connection element (110) and the second connection region ([0082]: the "another line" that connects 120 to 130 will define the "second connection region") of the second connection element (120) (Fig.1, [0036], and [0085]-[0088]: once 140 breaks, the electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region of 110 and the second connection region of 120 will open).
Regarding claim 3, Henrichi further discloses:
Wherein: the passive safety element (140) includes a container ([0049]: the "glass ampoule" will define the container) with a liquid ([0025]: "one fluid can be a liquid"); and the liquid is configured to burst when the triggering temperature is reached ([0036]) (Fig.1, [0025], [0036], [0049], [0099]-[0100]: when the glass ampoule/container bursts, the liquid inside the container will also burst).
Regarding claim 4, Fukuda further teaches:
Wherein the connection module (3 and 4 in combination) includes a spring mechanism (4) configured to provide the electrical and mechanical connection (See Fig.1: 4 is utilized to push 3 against 1 and 2 in order to provide the electrical and mechanical connection between 110 and 210) between the first connection region (110) of the first connection element (1) and the second connection region (210) of the second connection element (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Fukuda to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that the connection module includes a spring mechanism to provide the electrical and mechanical connection between the first connection region of the first connection element and the second connection region of the second connection element, as claimed, in order to further improve the electrical and mechanical connection due to a greater number of components being used to hold the connection module to the first connection element and second connection element.
Regarding claim 5, Henrichi further discloses:
Wherein the connection module (130) includes a third connection element (135) that is configured to be electrically and mechanically connected to the first connection element (110) and to the second connection element (120) (Fig.1: 135 will be mechanically and electrically coupled to 110 and 120 in order for current to flow from 110 to 120).
Regarding claim 6, Fukuda further teaches:
Wherein the spring mechanism (4) is pretensioned (Fig.1: in this position, there has to be at least some tension on 4 via 3 and 61, and thus pre-tensioning 4) in such a way that the third connection element (3) is pressed against the first connection region (110) of the first connection element (1) and the second connection region (210) of the second connection element (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Fukuda to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that when the spring mechanism is incorporated into the device of modified Henrichi, as modified in claim 4 above, the spring mechanism is pretensioned via the container so that the third connection element is pressed against the first connection region of the first connection element and the second connection region of the second connection element, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved electrical and mechanical connection as outlined in claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 8, Henrichi further discloses:
Wherein the liquid ([0025]: "one fluid can be a liquid") is an extinguishing liquid ([0100]: the liquid can trigger a chemical reaction that can extinguish arc, and thus is an extinguishing liquid).
Alternatively, Fukuda presents another embodiment that teaches:
Wherein the liquid is an extinguishing liquid ([0366] and [0372]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the additional embodiment of Fukuda to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that the liquid is an extinguishing liquid, as claimed, in order to further improve the circuit interruption capabilities since the liquid will now be able to quench electrical arc in the event that electrical arc is formed.
Regarding claim 9, Henrichi further discloses:
Wherein the container ([0049]: the "glass ampoule" will define the container) is arranged substantially at a level of or above (See Figure Below) the connection region ([0082]: the line that connects 110 to 130 will define the "first connection region") of the first connection element (110) and the second connection region ([0082]: the "another line" that connects 120 to 130 will define the "second connection region") of the second connection element (120).
See next page→
Regarding claim 19, Henrichi further discloses:
Wherein the passively opening is performed using a container ([0049]: the "glass ampoule" will define the container) holding extinguishing liquid ([0025]: "one fluid can be a liquid"- the liquid can define the "extinguishing liquid").
Alternatively, Fukuda presents another embodiment that teaches:
Extinguishing liquid ([0366] and [0372]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the additional embodiment of Fukuda to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that the liquid is an extinguishing liquid that is held in the container, as claimed, in order to further improve the circuit interruption capabilities since the liquid will now be able to quench electrical arc in the event that electrical arc is formed.
Regarding claim 20, Henrichi further discloses:
Wherein the passively opening is performed using a passive fuse (140) (Fig.1, [0036], and [0099]: 140 can be a fuse since it breaks in response to the "triggering temperature" being reached, which is exactly what a thermal fuse does, and since there is no external component being used to actively heat 140, 140 breaks passively, and thus making 140 a passive fuse).
Claims 11-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrichi (WO 2013174590) and Fukuda (US 20210057172) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (US 20140065467).
Regarding claim 11, modified Henrichi does not teach:
Wherein: the first element is a first busbar between an energy storage device and a further system; and the second element is a second busbar between the energy storage device and the further system.
Choi however teaches (Fig.6):
Wherein: the first element (200a) is a first busbar ([0080]) between an energy storage device (10a) and a further system (10b); and the second element (200b) is a second busbar ([0080]) between the energy storage device (10a) and the further system (10b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Choi to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that the first element is a first busbar between an energy storage device and a further system, and such that the second element is a second busbar between the energy storage device and the further system, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved safety capabilities as disclosed by Henrichi ([0016] and [0028]) and thus provide enhanced protection for the energy storage device and the further system.
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 12, modified Henrichi further teaches:
A system comprising: the device of claim 11 (See Rejection of Claim 11).
Furthermore, as outlined in claim 11 above, Choi teaches:
The energy storage device (10a); the first busbar (200a); and the second busbar (200b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Choi to further modify the device of Henrichi such that when Choi modifies modified Henrichi, as modified in claim 11 above, the system comprises the device of claim 11, the energy storage device, the first busbar, and the second busbar, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced circuit protection capabilities as outlined in claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 14, modified Henrichi further teaches:
A vehicle (Henrichi: [0015] and [0020]-[0022]) comprising the system of claim 12 (See Rejection of Claim 12 Above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Henrichi does not teach:
Wherein: the first element is a first battery module in an energy storage device; and the second element is a second battery module in the energy storage device.
Choi however teaches (Fig.6):
Wherein: the first element (10a) is a first battery module ([0080]) in an energy storage device (See Fig.6); and the second element (10b) is a second battery module ([0080]) in the energy storage device (See Fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Choi to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that the first element is a first battery module in an energy storage device and the second element is a second battery module in the energy storage device, as claimed, in to achieve the improved safety capabilities as disclosed by Henrichi ([0016] and [0028]) for the first battery module and second battery module in the energy storage device.
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 16, modified Henrichi further teaches:
A system comprising: the device of claim 15 (See Rejection of Claim 15 Above).
Furthermore, as outlined in claim 15, Choi teaches:
The energy storage device (See Fig.1), including the first battery module (10a) and the second battery module (10b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Choi to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that when the device is modified to include the first mattery module of the energy storage device and the second battery module of the energy storage device, as modified in claim 15, the system includes the device of claim 15, the energy storage device, the first battery module, and the second battery module, as claimed, in order to achieve the enhanced circuit protection capabilities as outlined in claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 17, modified Henrichi further teaches:
A vehicle (Henrichi: [0015] and [0020]-[0022]) comprising the system of claim 16 (See Rejection of Claim 16 Above).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrichi (WO 2013174590), Fukuda (US 20210057172), and Choi (US 20140065467) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 20230307794).
Regarding claim 13, modified Henrichi does not teach:
The further system, wherein the further system includes at least one of a battery management system, a charging interface, or an interface of a drive unit.
Zhao however teaches (Fig.2):
The further system (6), wherein the further system (6) includes at least one of a battery management system ([0038]), a charging interface, or an interface of a drive unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Zhao to further modify the device of modified Henrichi such that the further system is a battery management system, as claimed, in order to further enhance the overall circuit protection capabilities due to the battery management system being included into the system (i.e., including a battery management system provides a means for managing the energy storage since the battery management system will act as a brain for the system that will better ensure functional safety and can better alert the user of the various states of the energy storage device).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon an allowable dependent claim that is dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the combined subject matter of claims 1-3 and 7, and at least in part, because claim 7 recites the limitations: “the connection module includes a housing with at least one opening; and the housing closes the at least one opening in response to the triggering temperature being reached such that at least the first connection region of the first connection element and the second connection region of the second connection element and the liquid are enclosed with respect to the environment so that the liquid does not escape from the housing and can cover the first connection region of the first connection element and the second connection region of the second connection element to extinguish an electric arc”.
The aforementioned limitations, in combination with all remaining limitations of respective claim 7, are believed to render the combined subject matter of claims 1-3 and 7, and all claims depending therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above.
The remaining prior art references teach other safety devices that are known in the art. However, none of the remaining prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to teach and/or suggest the aforementioned allowable limitations as respectively recited in claim 7. Therefore, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to render the claimed invention unpatentable as claimed.
Furthermore, all of the Office actions provided in the Global Dossier also do not provide a rejection for the equivalent claim since the Office actions also state the subject matter is believed to be allowable. Therefore, claim 7 of the Instant Application is also believed to be allowable for the same reasons as those provided in the Office actions provided by the Global Dossier.
Finally, the Office has not identified any double patenting issues. For all of the reasons outlined above, claim 7 is believed to be in condition for allowance, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230070670: teaches a circuit protection device that couples to a busbar of an energy storage device.
US 11437210: teaches a passively actuated circuit breaker.
US 11101084: teaches a connection module with a third connection element and a spring mechanism that is pretensioned.
US 20200287372: teaches a passively actuated circuit breaker.
US 20200251292: teaches a connection module with a third connection element and a spring mechanism.
US 20120268233: teaches a housing for a circuit breaker that is made out of a heat-resistant plastic.
US 20130220095: teaches a housing for a circuit breaker that is made out of a heat-resistant plastic.
US 20090072935: teaches a housing for a circuit breaker that is made out of a highly heat-resistant plastic.
US 3264438: teaches a connection module with a third connection element and a spring mechanism that is pretensioned.
See next page→
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 Examiner's Note: regarding method claims 18-20, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of assembling the device (i.e., providing each element, forming, joining, inserting, connecting, etc.), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is obvious over Henrichi in view of Fukuda, means that the general method for providing such a structure is also obvious in view of the same reference. The method steps recited in the claims are obviously necessitated by the structure of the device of Henrichi in view of Fukuda.