Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim contains a “.” in the middle of the claim at line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-9, 12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second sub-channels" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites the first channel comprises “a second sub-channel”. See also claim 4.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the third channels" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “a third channel”. The structure of the claim is unclear as the position of addition third channels is unclear.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the support" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 does not depend from claim 5.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the fire-resistant net" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 does not depend from claim 5.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the through hole" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 does not depend from claim 5.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a plurality of third channels" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 previously recites “a third channel”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first fire-resistant component" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 recites the limitation "the second fire-resistant component" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 does not depend from claim 17.
To the extent the claims are understood in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections above, note the following prior art rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al., CN 217158537 U.
Zheng teaches a box body 100 and a battery pack. The box body (case) comprises an upper shell 101 (upper cover) and a lower shell 102 (bottom plate 206/frame (side plates). The upper shell covers the top of the lower shell, a containing cavity 501 is defined by the upper shell and the lower shell together, and the lower shell comprises a first end plate 201 and two side plates 203; the first end plate is internally provided with a first flowing channel, the side plate is internally provided with a side flowing channel, the first flowing channel is communicated with the side flowing channel, the top surface of the side plate is provided with at least one first air inlet, the first end plate is provided with an exhaust port, the accommodating cavity and the side flowing channel are both communicated with the first air inlet, and the first flowing channel is communicated with the exhaust port. Gas in the box body can be exhausted out of the box body, so that thermal runaway of the battery pack can be prevented; in addition, the first air inlet is formed in the top surface of the side plate, and the distance between the battery and the side plate can be set to be small, so that the energy density of the battery pack can be improved (abstract).
See also the Figures of Zheng wherein Figure 2 illustrates the lower shell:
.
Figure 8 illustrates the mating relationship between the connecting row and the side plate. The side plate 203 includes side flow channel 502 and three additional channels wherein the middle channel is a wiring channel 801 wherein a connecting row 701 is contained.
A plurality of batteries are arranged in the accommodating cavity. Figure 2 shows a plurality of pressure relief holes provided on a side of the bottom protection plate facing the accommodation cavity 501 (holes at bottom of 204). Figure 6 depicts the flow of pressure relief air from the accommodating cavity 501 through the side flow channel 502 of the side plate 203 and the second flow channel 603 of the base 401 and exiting through the exhaust port 601/explosion proof valve 602.
See at least Figure 6 regarding claim 3. Regarding claim 10-12, Zheng teaches, in the case where multiple columns of batteries need to be placed in the battery pack, in order to position each column of batteries for assembly of the battery pack, the lower case 102 may further include at least one longitudinal partition 205 . Referring to FIG. 2 , the longitudinal partition plate 205 is disposed in the accommodating cavity 501 , and both ends of the longitudinal partition plate 205 are respectively connected to the transverse partition plate 204 and the first end plate 201 . A plurality of batteries are arranged along the length direction of the side plate 203 to form a row of batteries, and a row of batteries is arranged between two adjacent longitudinal separators 205 , or a row of batteries is arranged between an adjacent longitudinal separator 205 and a side plate 203. Regarding claims 13-16, Zheng teaches the upper case 101 and the lower case 102 may be connected by means of screw connection, welding (sealing strip) or the like. The top surfaces of the first end plate 201 , the second end plate 202 and the side plate 203 can all abut against the upper case 101 to support the upper case 101 (flanges). In order to ensure that the first air inlet 301 is not blocked by the upper casing 101, the upper casing 101 and the top surface of the side plate 203 can be abutted against the outer part, and the first air inlet 301 can be arranged on the top of the side plate 203. Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Note Figure 4 of the present invention depicts a first subchannel 211 and a second subchannel 212.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4-9 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the claims are directed toward a battery pack comprising the structure recited by claim 1. Claims 4 and 17 require the battery pack to further comprise a fire-resistant component, and the fire-resistant component is disposed in the first channel and located between the pressure relief valve and a junction formed by the second sub-channel and the first sub-channel. The prior art does not teach or suggest the battery pack of claim 4. Zheng teaches a box body 100 and a battery pack. The box body (case) comprises an upper shell 101 (upper cover) and a lower shell 102 (bottom plate 206/frame (side plates). The upper shell covers the top of the lower shell, a containing cavity 501 is defined by the upper shell and the lower shell together, and the lower shell comprises a first end plate 201 and two side plates 203; the first end plate is internally provided with a first flowing channel, the side plate is internally provided with a side flowing channel, the first flowing channel is communicated with the side flowing channel, the top surface of the side plate is provided with at least one first air inlet, the first end plate is provided with an exhaust port, the accommodating cavity and the side flowing channel are both communicated with the first air inlet, and the first flowing channel is communicated with the exhaust port. However, Zheng does not teach or suggestion providing a fire-resistant component within the first channel and located between the pressure relief valve and a junction formed by first and second sub channels of the first channel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ren et al. (US2022/0077539) teaches a battery tray and power battery pack. Ren teaches a base plate comprising a plurality of holes (Figure 2B). Ren does not disclose a channel configured as an electric part accommodation channel. Note claim 1 of the present invention requires the first channel and the second channel be independent of each other.
/TRACY M DOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725