DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to new application titled “UNIVERSAL, ENDURING, UNIQUE IDENTITY SYSTEM AND METHOD” filed 12/31/2023. Claims 1, 3-13 and 16-18 are pending with claims 2, 14, 15 and 19-30 having been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzales (US 2019/0205563).
With respect to claim 1 Gonzales teaches a method for managing information, comprising:
providing portions of personal information to a repository, the personal information comprising identifier information, and identity information (see Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform and paragraph 0157);
the method having a plurality of event configurations and selecting at least one event configuration having at least an access configuration, the access configuration comprising selecting whether zero or more users have access to the event configuration for each portion of personal information (see Gonzales paragraph 0040 i.e. The user can define an authorized access list defining access to the personal information data blockchain. In some examples, the user generates a data block in an authorized access data blockchain for storing the authorized access data that includes an identifier for one or more platforms that have authorized access. The authorized access data can include permissions that determine which select portions of the personal information that each platform can access. To add or modify authorized access data, the user generates another data block in the authorized access data blockchain that includes the added or modified authorized access data and paragraph 0070);
selecting at least one access configuration for each portion of personal information (see Gonzales paragraph 0036-0037 i.e. In one illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used to define platforms that are authorized to access the personal information data in authorized access data that is secured on an authorized access data blockchain. In another illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used to define permissions defining selected portions of the personal information data that an authorized platform can access. In still another illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used that secure both the personal information data and the authorized access data on the personal information data blockchain and paragraph 0040); and
entering one or more portions of personal information into a persistent database (See Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform).
With respect to claim 4 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the repository comprises a database, and the portions of personal information are provided to the repository through the Internet (see Gonzales paragraph 0058 i.e. The personal information data blockchain ledger 200 example of FIG. 2A is simplified to show block headers, metadata and signatures of blocks 210A-E in order to demonstrate secure, shareable and traceable storage of personal information data using a blockchain. In outline, a blockchain ledger may be a globally shared transactional database).
With respect to claim 5 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 4, wherein: the access configuration comprises selecting whether zero, one, or more individuals have access to each of selected portions of personal information through the Internet (See Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform).
With respect to claim 6 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 5, wherein: the access configurations further comprise selecting whether one or more categories of individuals have access to each of selected portions of personal information through the Internet (see Gonzales paragraph 0036-0037 i.e. In one illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used to define platforms that are authorized to access the personal information data in authorized access data that is secured on an authorized access data blockchain. In another illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used to define permissions defining selected portions of the personal information data that an authorized platform can access. In still another illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used that secure both the personal information data and the authorized access data on the personal information data blockchain and paragraph 0040m 0044 and 0046).
With respect to claim 7 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the entering comprises entering a portion of personal information into the persistent database using a key (see Gonzales paragraph 0067 i.e. FIG. 2D is a data architecture diagram showing an illustrative example of an authorized access data blockchain 270 wherein each data block 280 on the blockchain 270 includes a complete list of authorized platform identifiers in encrypted form. In this example, each platform identifier in the list of authorized access platforms is encrypted using one key of an asymmetric key pair, e.g. the platforms identified in genesis block 280A are: encryptA(platform1); encryptA(platform2); and encryptA(platform3). The owner could provide each platform authorized to access the personal information data the other key of the asymmetric key pair, which the platform would use to encrypt its platform identifier, e.g. encryptB(platform1), and include its encrypted platform identifier in its request for access. This example demonstrates an approach with an additional layer of security for the authorized access list. Other variations can be utilized that are and paragraph 0105).
With respect to claim 8 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 7, wherein: the persistent database is distributed across a plurality of machines, and a visual code identifies the portions of personal information entered into the persistent database (See Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform).
With respect to claim 9 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 8, wherein: one or more of the plurality of machines authenticates the entering of the one or more portions of personal information into the persistent database (see Gonzales figure 3B-D and paragraph 0072-0073 i.e. The second example involves the use of permissions data defined for a platform in determining whether to release personal information data to a platform and what parts of the personal information data can be released to the requesting platform. This example assumes that personal information data block 342C has been added to the personal information data blockchain 340. At 306, client/server device 120A invokes an ACCESS script in personal information data block 342C to obtain access to the personal information data and provides its platform identifier, platform2. The ACCESS script from personal info data block 342C searches the authorized access data blockchain 350 for an entry corresponding to platform2, which is found at 314 along with the permissions defined for platform2, e.g. permissions2. The ACCESS script performs filtering the personal information data based on the permissions2, which determine which parts of the personal information data to release to platform2. In this example, the permissions2 indicate that platform2 is only authorized to access data1, data3A (the value of data3 as modified to data3A in block 342C), data5 and data6. Because platform2 is found in the authorized access data, the ACCESS script, at 308, releases only the personal information data in the personal information data blockchain, as it exists at that point, that platform2 is authorized to access to client/server 120B, which includes personal information data1, data3A, data5 and data6. It will be appreciated that a variety of approaches to identifying permissions can be utilized with the present technology. The ACCESS script is secured by the personal information data blockchain 340 and executed by the operating system of the decentralized, distributed blockchain platform. FIG. 3B is a data architecture diagram showing an illustrative example of a personal information data block 342 that includes code or scripts for storing, sharing and accessing personal information data on the personal information data blockchain).
With respect to claim 13 Gonzales teaches a system for managing information, comprising:
a repository containing portions of personal information provided by a user, and the user being the only user to have access to all of the portions of personal information, the portions of personal information comprising identifier information, and identity information (see Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform and paragraph 0157);
the user having access to each of the portions of personal information; and at least one access configuration selected by the user for each of the portions of personal information (see Gonzales paragraph 0036-0037 i.e. In one illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used to define platforms that are authorized to access the personal information data in authorized access data that is secured on an authorized access data blockchain. In another illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used to define permissions defining selected portions of the personal information data that an authorized platform can access. In still another illustrative implementation, one or more available methods or mechanisms can be used that secure both the personal information data and the authorized access data on the personal information data blockchain and paragraph 0040 and 0070),
the repository being operably connected to a persistent database for entering one or more portions of personal information into the persistent database (see Gonzales paragraph 0058 i.e. The personal information data blockchain ledger 200 example of FIG. 2A is simplified to show block headers, metadata and signatures of blocks 210A-E in order to demonstrate secure, shareable and traceable storage of personal information data using a blockchain. In outline, a blockchain ledger may be a globally shared transactional database).
With respect to claim 17 Gonzales teaches the system of claim 13, wherein:
the repository is a cloud service operably connected to the Internet (see Gonzales paragraph 0110 i.e. other processes and operations pertaining to personal information data blockchain and authorized access data blockchain ledgers described herein may be implemented in one or more servers, such as computer environment 800 in FIG. 8, or the cloud);
the persistent database is a blockchain (see Gonzales paragraph 0058 i.e. The personal information data blockchain ledger 200 example of FIG. 2A is simplified to show block headers, metadata and signatures of blocks 210A-E in order to demonstrate secure, shareable and traceable storage of personal information data using a blockchain. In outline, a blockchain ledger may be a globally shared transactional database and paragraphs 0089-0093);
at least one access configuration permits a first selected machine to access at least one portion of personal information through the repository; and at least one access configuration permits a second selected machine to access at least one different portion of personal information through the blockchain (see Gonzales paragraph 0079 i.e. As noted above, some examples may implement permissions that give access only to selected portions of the personal information data as determined by the permissions defined by the owner for a given platform. FIG. 4B is a control flow diagram showing one illustrative example of operation 420 of FIG. 4A where permissions are utilized. At 422, the permissions corresponding to a platformID are obtained from the authorized access data blockchain. At 424, the personal information data for the platform is determined based on the permissions for the platformID. At 425, only the authorized personal information data is returned to the requesting platform corresponding to the platformID).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzales (US 2019/0205563) in view of Crego et al (US 2019/0280862).
With respect to claim 3 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein: the identifier information comprises at least one copy of a document issued by a government or by an educational institution, and said government or institution has authenticated the document; and the identity information comprises at least one image, audio recording, video recording, portion of text, or portion of data connected to a personal experience.
Crego teaches wherein: the identifier information comprises at least one copy of a document issued by a government or by an educational institution, and said government or institution has authenticated the document; and the identity information comprises at least one image, audio recording, video recording, portion of text, or portion of data connected to a personal experience (see Crego paragraph 0024 i.e. Turning now to exemplary FIG. 2A, an exemplary schematic diagram of the system of storing personal information 203 from identification documents 205 may be shown and described. The identification documents may optionally include, for example, a birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, 1-766 Employment Authorization Document, and other identification documents as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzales in view of Crego to have the personal information included identification documents such as a birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, 1-766 Employment Authorization Document, and other identification documents as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Therefore one would have been motivated to have the personal information include birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, or 1-766 Employment Authorization Document.
With respect to claim 10 Gonzales teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: a user provides portions of the personal information into the repository (see Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform and paragraph 0157);
at least one portion of the personal information comprises identity information further comprising at least one image, audio recording, video recording, portion of text, or portion of data connected to a personal experience (see Gonzales paragraph 0061 i.e. The blocks 210 of personal information data blockchain 200 in the example of FIG. 2A show personal information data being added or modified and the changes are secured with a new change data block on the blockchain. In this example, owner device 110 of FIG. 1 identifies three items of personal data, e.g. data1, data2 and data3 when it creates genesis data block 210A. The owner device 110 signs the genesis data block 210A and the blockchain system within which blockchain 200 is created verifies the genesis data block based on a proof function);
the user selects the at least one access configuration that comprises permitting one or more selected machines to view at least one selected portion of identity information, and at least one portion of selected identifier information (See Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform);
the persistent database is a distributed ledger (see Gonzales paragraph 0058 i.e. The personal information data blockchain ledger 200 example of FIG. 2A is simplified to show block headers, metadata and signatures of blocks 210A-E in order to demonstrate secure, shareable and traceable storage of personal information data using a blockchain. In outline, a blockchain ledger may be a globally shared transactional database);
the user may access the distributed ledger with a visual code (see Gonzales paragraph 0077 i.e. FIG. 4A is a control flow diagram showing an illustrative example of a process 400 for accessing personal information data in accordance with the present technology, such as the ACCESS scripts illustrated above. At 402, an access request is received from a platform that includes a platformID);
the user enters at least one portion of personal information into the distributed ledger using a key known to the one or more selected machines (see Gonzales paragraph 0067 i.e. FIG. 2D is a data architecture diagram showing an illustrative example of an authorized access data blockchain 270 wherein each data block 280 on the blockchain 270 includes a complete list of authorized platform identifiers in encrypted form. In this example, each platform identifier in the list of authorized access platforms is encrypted using one key of an asymmetric key pair, e.g. the platforms identified in genesis block 280A are: encryptA(platform1); encryptA(platform2); and encryptA(platform3). The owner could provide each platform authorized to access the personal information data the other key of the asymmetric key pair, which the platform would use to encrypt its platform identifier, e.g. encryptB(platform1), and include its encrypted platform identifier in its request for access. This example demonstrates an approach with an additional layer of security for the authorized access list. Other variations can be utilized that are and paragraph 0105); and
at least one of the one or more selected machines accesses at least one portion of the user's personal information through the distributed ledger (see Gonzales paragraph 0079 i.e. As noted above, some examples may implement permissions that give access only to selected portions of the personal information data as determined by the permissions defined by the owner for a given platform. FIG. 4B is a control flow diagram showing one illustrative example of operation 420 of FIG. 4A where permissions are utilized. At 422, the permissions corresponding to a platformID are obtained from the authorized access data blockchain. At 424, the personal information data for the platform is determined based on the permissions for the platformID. At 425, only the authorized personal information data is returned to the requesting platform corresponding to the platformID).
Gonzales does not disclose at least one portion of the personal information comprises identifier information further comprising at least one copy of a document issued by a government, and at least one copy of a document issued by an educational institution.
Crego teaches at least one portion of the personal information comprises identifier information further comprising at least one copy of a document issued by a government, and at least one copy of a document issued by an educational institution (see Crego paragraph 0024 i.e. Turning now to exemplary FIG. 2A, an exemplary schematic diagram of the system of storing personal information 203 from identification documents 205 may be shown and described. The identification documents may optionally include, for example, a birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, 1-766 Employment Authorization Document, and other identification documents as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzales in view of Crego to have the personal information included identification documents such as a birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, 1-766 Employment Authorization Document, and other identification documents as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Therefore one would have been motivated to have the personal information include birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, or 1-766 Employment Authorization Document.
With respect to claim 12 Gonzales in view of Crego teach the method of claim 10, Gonzales further teaches wherein: the repository is a cloud service (see Gonzales paragraph 0110 i.e. other processes and operations pertaining to personal information data blockchain and authorized access data blockchain ledgers described herein may be implemented in one or more servers, such as computer environment 800 in FIG. 8, or the cloud);
the distributed ledger is a blockchain (see Gonzales paragraph 0058 i.e. The personal information data blockchain ledger 200 example of FIG. 2A is simplified to show block headers, metadata and signatures of blocks 210A-E in order to demonstrate secure, shareable and traceable storage of personal information data using a blockchain. In outline, a blockchain ledger may be a globally shared transactional database and paragraphs 0089-0093); and
a visual code identifies the portions of personal information entered into the blockchain (See Gonzales paragraph 0074 i.e. In this example, the STORE.PERSONAL.INFORMATION script is called by the owner device 110 for the owner of the personal information to store personal information data, personal.infoDATA, on the personal information data blockchain, e.g. by creating a genesis block or a change data block containing the personal information data. The SHARE script is called by the owner to share the personal information data on the personal information data blockchain with a platform. The SHARE script, in one example, creates a genesis block or a change data block containing the authorized access data on the authorized access data blockchain. The platformID is identified as a recipient for the data and person.infoID.data is set to “share” to permit the personal information data to be shared with the platform. The ACCESS script, in this example, is called by a platform seeking to access the personal information data and providing a platform identifier platformID. The ACCESS method searches the authorized access data blockchain for an entry corresponding to the platformID and, if found and personal.infoID.data is set to “share”, the personal.infoDATA is returned to the requesting platform).
With respect to claim 16 Gonzales in view of Crego teaches the system of claim 1. Crego further teaches the identifier information comprises at least one copy of a document issued by a government, or by an educational institution; and the identity information comprises at least one image, audio recording, video recording, portion of text, or portion of data connected to a personal experience (see Crego paragraph 0024 i.e. Turning now to exemplary FIG. 2A, an exemplary schematic diagram of the system of storing personal information 203 from identification documents 205 may be shown and described. The identification documents may optionally include, for example, a birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, 1-766 Employment Authorization Document, and other identification documents as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzales in view of Crego to have the personal information included identification documents such as a birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, 1-766 Employment Authorization Document, and other identification documents as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Therefore one would have been motivated to have the personal information include birth certificate, Social Security card, state-issued driver's license, US passport, foreign passport with 1-551 stamp, passport card, green card, visa, student ID, LPR card, military card, or 1-766 Employment Authorization Document.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 11 the prior art does not teach the method of claim 10, wherein: one or more potential employers control the one or more selected machines.
With respect to claim 18 the prior art does not teach the system of claim 17, wherein: a potential employer controls the first and second selected machine.
Conclusion
/DEVIN E ALMEIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2492