DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 1-11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11857865 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain substantially similar subject matter.
Claim 1 of the ‘865 patent includes limitations directed towards a playing area with panels that have a thickness and slots which are assembled to form a playing enclosure. These limitations are similar to claim 1 of the instant application which are directed towards a playing area enclosed by panels with a thickness and slot, the slots having a respective length and width to form a polygonal playing area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes limitations directed towards "the panels having a height of more than 2 feet, and being sufficiently rigid to bounce back a kicked ball." The examiner cannot ascertain the exact bounds of what sufficiently rigid to bounce back a kick ball encompasses to properly bound the subject matter claimed. Furthermore, a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
The notations noted below apply to all rejections: In as much structure set forth by the applicant in the claims, the device is capable of use in the intended manner if so desired (See MPEP 2112). It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the claim limitations. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The intended use defined in the preamble and body of the claim breathes no life and meaning structurally different than that of the applied reference.
Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliott (9556605 B2) in view of LaDue (US 4792144).
Regarding claim 1, Elliott teaches 1. A method for assembling a fenced-in game playing area large enough for children to play within the game playing area, comprising; providing a plurality of panels, each panel having a thickness and an upward open slot adjacent to one end and a downward open slot adjacent an opposite end; the slots having a length of at least have the height of its respective panel, the slots having a width greater than an adjacent panel thickness, the panels engaged end to end to form a polygon shaped playing area. See Fig. 2, 82, 84 and 86.
LaDue does teach what the primary reference is silent on including the panels having a height of more than 2 feet, and being sufficiently rigid to bounce back a kicked ball. See 3:30+ which speaks of the use of a solid material which the examiner considered to be sufficiently rigid as claimed and also of a heigh of no less than three feet which overlaps with the claimed height.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Elliott with LaDue to provide a "knock-down" wall which can be easily dismantled but used in multiple different playing courts.
Regarding claim 2, Elliott teaches 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the polygon-shaped area comprises an octagon shaped area. See Fig. 82.
Regarding claim 3, Elliott teaches 3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the polygon shaped area comprises a hexagon shaped area. See Fig. 82 Additionally, the court held that “the configuration of a claimed apparatus is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant”. (See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)) As such, utilizing a hexagonal shaped area instead of an octongonal shaped area such as shown in Fig. 83 is a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious at the time of the invention. No persuasive evidence is found on the record to show that the claimed configuration is significant.
Regarding claim 5, Elliott teaches 5. The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the panels includes a recess from one edge of the panel to provide a lowered entry location for a player to enter the playing area. See Fig. 86.
Regarding claim 6, Elliott teaches 6. The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the panels forms a goal opening. See Fig. 85.
Regarding claim 7, Elliott teaches 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the panels includes a recess from one edge of the panel to provide either a lowered entry location for a player to enter the playing area when set in one orientation or a goal opening when set in an alternate orientation. See Fig. 86.
Regarding claim 8, Elliott teaches 8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the polygon shaped area comprises an octagon shaped area, wherein at least one of the panels includes a recess from one edge of the panel to provide a lowered entry location for a player to enter the playing area. See Fig. 82 and 86.
Regarding claim 9, Elliott teaches 9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the polygon shaped area comprises a hexagon shaped area, wherein at least one of the panels includes a recess from one edge of the panel to provide a lowered entry location for a player to enter the playing area. See Fig. 82 and 86.
Regarding claim 10, Elliott teaches 10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the polygon shaped area comprises an hexagon shaped area, and wherein at least one of the panels includes a recess from one edge of the panel to provide either a lowered entry location for a player to enter the playing area when set in one orientation or a goal opening when set in an alternate orientation. See Fig. 82 and 86.
Regarding claim 11, Elliott teaches 11. The method according to claim 1, wherein the polygon shaped area comprises an octagon shaped area, and wherein at least one of the panels includes a recess from one edge of the panel to provide either a lowered entry location for a player to enter the playing area when set in one orientation or a goal opening when set in an alternate orientation. See Fig. 82 and 86.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections that are initiated by applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY S VANDERVEEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3711