DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “an upright support” in lines 1-2. It is not clear whether this limitation refers to the upright support(s) from claim 2 or is in addition to the upright support(s) from claim 2.
Claim 3 recites “each end” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. Furthermore, it is not clear how many upright supports are required because it is not clear how many ends the main platform has.
Claim 4 is dependent on indefinite claim 3.
Claim 8 recites “at least two ramps and at least two main platforms” in lines 3-4. It is not clear whether this limitation refers to the ramps and the main platforms from claim 5 or is in addition to the ramps and the main platforms from claim 5.
Claim 9 is dependent on indefinite claim 8.
Claim 10 recites “at least two portable vehicle lifts” in lines 1-2. It is not clear whether these at least two portable vehicle lifts are in addition to the at least one portable vehicle lift from claim 1 or include the at least one portable vehicle lift from claim 1.
Claim 11 recites “the tires” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim 12 recites “the receiving area” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim 13 recites “each end” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. Furthermore, it is not clear how many upright supports are required because it is not clear how many ends the main platform has.
Claims 14 and 16 are dependent on indefinite claim 15.
Claim 15 recites “at least two ramps and at least two main platforms” in lines 3-4. It is not clear whether this limitation refers to the ramps and the main platforms from claim 14 or is in addition to the ramps and the main platforms from claim 14.
Claim 17 recites “the rear wheels” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim 17 recites “each side” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. Furthermore, it is not clear how many lifts are required because it is not clear how many sides the towed vehicle has.
Claims 18 and 20 are dependent on indefinite claim 16.
Claim 19 recites “the rear wheels” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim 21 recites “each side” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. Furthermore, it is not clear how many lifts are required because it is not clear how many sides the towed vehicle has.
Claim 22 is dependent on indefinite claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (US 2010/0038181 A1).
Consider claim 12. Jones teaches a vehicle undecking system configured to undeck a towed vehicle from a towing vehicle, said system comprising: a support assembly including at least one ramp (8a) and at least one main platform (2, 8), wherein the at least one ramp is configured to be coupled with the at least one main platform, wherein the at least one ramp includes an angled top driving surface, and wherein the at least one main platform includes a generally horizontal top driving surface (see fig. 4), wherein the at least one main platform includes a receiving space located below the top driving surface, wherein the receiving area presents an opening that extends through an entire width of the at least one main platform (see fig. 1).
Consider claim 13. Jones teaches that the main platform includes an upright support (12 or 17/18) at each end of the main platform, and wherein the receiving space is located between the upright supports.
Consider claim 14. Jones teaches that the support assembly includes at least two ramps (8a) and at least two main platforms (2, 8), wherein the main platforms are coupled to each other, and wherein the ramps are coupled to opposite ends of the coupled main platforms.
Consider claim 15. Jones teaches that the at least two ramps and the at least two main platforms comprise a first section of the support assembly (left side in fig. 3), and wherein the support assembly comprises a second section including at least two ramps and at least two main platforms (right side in fig. 3).
Consider claim 16. Jones teaches at least two portable vehicle lifts including a first lift (left 4 in fig. 3) and a second lift (right 4 in fig. 3), wherein the first lift is associated with the first section of the support assembly, and wherein the second lift is associated with the second section of the support assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, and 5-7 are allowable.
Claims 3, 4, 8-11, and 17-22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various vehicle lifts, ramps, and decking arrangements.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652