Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections on page 11 lines 1-9, filed 6/4/26, with respect to claims 1, 6, 13, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 6, 13, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 11 line 10 to page 13 line 11, filed 6/4/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210058149 to Nuttall et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164711 to Ma et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210058149 to Nuttall et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164711 to Ma et al.
Referring to claim 1, Nuttall et al disclose in Figures 1-16 an apparatus (hub) comprising a processing unit (controller 568) coupled a memory (memory 530) which storing instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform a method (memory 530 stores instructions that are executed by controller 568to perform hub functions) for the apparatus to join into a communication system, the method comprising:
Selecting (step 430) one of a terrestrial connection procedure (connect to terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116) and a non-terrestrial connection procedure (connect to BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115) based on a position of user equipment (Sections 0027-0028, 0031, 0035, 0090, 0138-0139, 0141, and 0149: hub is used to connect devices 111-113 to the network, wherein the device can be one UE). Figure 1 and Sections 0027-0028: hub can connect to network using a terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116 or using a BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115. Figure 4 discloses a method of a hub selecting to connect to a satellite network or to a terrestrial network. Step 410: hub detects the presence of a satellite network. Step 420: hub detects the presence of a terrestrial network. Step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub (Sections 0034, 0038, 0057, 0066, and 0093).
Executing (steps 440-460) the selected connection procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. Step 440: hub estimates a propagation delay between the hub and a base station of the satellite network when the satellite network is selected. Step 450: hub adjusts a timing offset between transmit and receive radio frames at the hub based on whether the satellite network or the terrestrial network is selected, and based at least on the propagation delay and a fixed frame offset between uplink and downlink frames at base station. Step 460: hub communicates with the base station of the satellite network when the satellite network is selected, and with a base station of the terrestrial network when the terrestrial network is selected. Refer to Sections 0026-0168.
Nuttall et al do not disclose … selecting one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure and a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment; and executing the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system.
However, Nuttall et al disclose in Figure 1 and Sections 0027-0028, 0034, 0035, 0038, 0049, 0057, and 0060 wherein the hub can connect to network using a terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116 or using a BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115. Figure 4 step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub. Before the hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub is not yet connected to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. After selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub then connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network in steps 440-460. The connection procedure in steps 440-460 is similar to the claimed “initial-access procedure” since after selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network in step 430, the hub connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network to join the network using the connection procedure in steps 440-460. Sections 0128 and 0136 also disclose the use of a PRACH with random access slots that can be used by the hub to connect to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. Refer to Sections 0026-0168. Also, Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0063, 0048-0049, and 0096-0114 wherein a UE can perform an initial access procedure with a terrestrial network or an initial access procedure with a satellite network. The initial access procedure allows a UE to connect to the terrestrial network or satellite network using a random access procedure on a PRACH. Specifically in Section 0004: “In any event, both terrestrial NR and satellite NR may use initial access techniques to assign portions of the spectrum to user equipment.”. Refer to Sections 0035-0132. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … selecting one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure and a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment; and executing the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. One would have been motivated to do since an initial access procedure is used by UE to connect to a network, thereby allowing UE to access the network.
Referring to claim 8, Nuttall et al disclose in Figures 1-16 a method for a user equipment (Sections 0027-0028, 0031, 0035, 0090, 0138-0139, 0141, and 0149: hub is used to connect devices 111-113 to the network, wherein the device can be one UE) to join into a communication system, the method comprising:
Selecting (step 430) one of a terrestrial connection procedure (connect to terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116) and a non-terrestrial connection procedure (connect to BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115) based on a position of user equipment. Figure 1 and Sections 0027-0028: hub can connect to network using a terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116 or using a BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115. Figure 4 discloses a method of a hub selecting to connect to a satellite network or to a terrestrial network. Step 410: hub detects the presence of a satellite network. Step 420: hub detects the presence of a terrestrial network. Step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub (Sections 0034, 0038, 0057, 0066, and 0093).
Executing (steps 440-460) the selected connection procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. Step 440: hub estimates a propagation delay between the hub and a base station of the satellite network when the satellite network is selected. Step 450: hub adjusts a timing offset between transmit and receive radio frames at the hub based on whether the satellite network or the terrestrial network is selected, and based at least on the propagation delay and a fixed frame offset between uplink and downlink frames at base station. Step 460: hub communicates with the base station of the satellite network when the satellite network is selected, and with a base station of the terrestrial network when the terrestrial network is selected. Refer to Sections 0026-0168.
Nuttall et al do not disclose … selecting one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure and a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment; and executing the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system.
However, Nuttall et al disclose in Figure 1 and Sections 0027-0028, 0034, 0035, 0038, 0049, 0057, and 0060 wherein the hub can connect to network using a terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116 or using a BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115. Figure 4 step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub. Before the hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub is not yet connected to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. After selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub then connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network in steps 440-460. The connection procedure in steps 440-460 is similar to the claimed “initial-access procedure” since after selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network in step 430, the hub connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network to join the network using the connection procedure in steps 440-460. Sections 0128 and 0136 also disclose the use of a PRACH with random access slots that can be used by the hub to connect to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. Refer to Sections 0026-0168. Also, Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0063, 0048-0049, and 0096-0114 wherein a UE can perform an initial access procedure with a terrestrial network or an initial access procedure with a satellite network. The initial access procedure allows a UE to connect to the terrestrial network or satellite network using a random access procedure on a PRACH. Specifically in Section 0004: “In any event, both terrestrial NR and satellite NR may use initial access techniques to assign portions of the spectrum to user equipment.”. Refer to Sections 0035-0132. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … selecting one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure and a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment; and executing the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. One would have been motivated to do since an initial access procedure is used by UE to connect to a network, thereby allowing UE to access the network.
Referring to claim 15, Nuttall et al disclose in Figures 1-16 one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices (memory 530) storing computer-executable instructions (memory 530 stores instructions) for joining a user equipment (Sections 0027-0028, 0031, 0035, 0090, 0138-0139, 0141, and 0149: hub is used to connect devices 111-113 to the network, wherein the device can be one UE) into a communication system, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a processing unit (controller 568) of the user equipment to perform actions comprising (memory 530 stores instructions that are executed by controller 568to perform hub functions):
Selecting (step 430) one of a terrestrial connection procedure (connect to terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116) and a non-terrestrial connection procedure (connect to BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115) based on a position of the user equipment. Figure 1 and Sections 0027-0028: hub can connect to network using a terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116 or using a BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115. Figure 4 discloses a method of a hub selecting to connect to a satellite network or to a terrestrial network. Step 410: hub detects the presence of a satellite network. Step 420: hub detects the presence of a terrestrial network. Step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub (Sections 0034, 0038, 0057, 0066, and 0093).
Executing (steps 440-460) the selected connection procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. Step 440: hub estimates a propagation delay between the hub and a base station of the satellite network when the satellite network is selected. Step 450: hub adjusts a timing offset between transmit and receive radio frames at the hub based on whether the satellite network or the terrestrial network is selected, and based at least on the propagation delay and a fixed frame offset between uplink and downlink frames at base station. Step 460: hub communicates with the base station of the satellite network when the satellite network is selected, and with a base station of the terrestrial network when the terrestrial network is selected. Refer to Sections 0026-0168.
Nuttall et al do not disclose … selecting one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure and a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment; and executing the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system.
However, Nuttall et al disclose in Figure 1 and Sections 0027-0028, 0034, 0035, 0038, 0049, 0057, and 0060 wherein the hub can connect to network using a terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116 or using a BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115. Figure 4 step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub. Before the hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub is not yet connected to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. After selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub then connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network in steps 440-460. The connection procedure in steps 440-460 is similar to the claimed “initial-access procedure” since after selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network in step 430, the hub connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network to join the network using the connection procedure in steps 440-460. Sections 0128 and 0136 also disclose the use of a PRACH with random access slots that can be used by the hub to connect to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. Refer to Sections 0026-0168. Also, Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0063, 0048-0049, and 0096-0114 wherein a UE can perform an initial access procedure with a terrestrial network or an initial access procedure with a satellite network. The initial access procedure allows a UE to connect to the terrestrial network or satellite network using a random access procedure on a PRACH. Specifically in Section 0004: “In any event, both terrestrial NR and satellite NR may use initial access techniques to assign portions of the spectrum to user equipment.”. Refer to Sections 0035-0132. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … selecting one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure and a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment; and executing the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. One would have been motivated to do since an initial access procedure is used by UE to connect to a network, thereby allowing UE to access the network.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210058149 to Nuttall et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230164711 to Ma et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190150080 to Davies et al.
Nuttall et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein said selecting the one of the terrestrial connection procedure or the non-terrestrial connection procedure based on the position of the apparatus comprises:
…
Selecting (step 430) the one of the terrestrial connection procedure or the non-terrestrial connection procedure based on … the position of the apparatus. Figure 4 discloses a method of a hub selecting to connect to a satellite network or to a terrestrial network. Step 410: hub detects the presence of a satellite network. Step 420: hub detects the presence of a terrestrial network. Step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub (Sections 0034, 0038, 0057, 0066, and 0093). Refer to Sections 0026-0168.
Nuttall et al do not disclose wherein said selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on the position of the apparatus comprises: …; selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on … the position of the apparatus.
However, Nuttall et al disclose in Figure 1 and Sections 0027-0028, 0034, 0035, 0038, 0049, 0057, and 0060 wherein the hub can connect to network using a terrestrial BS 190 via terrestrial link 116 or using a BS 140 of satellite 195 using satellite link 115. Figure 4 step 430: hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network based on the location of hub. Before the hub selects to connect to one of the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub is not yet connected to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. After selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network, the hub then connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network in steps 440-460. The connection procedure in steps 440-460 is similar to the claimed “initial-access procedure” since after selecting the satellite network or the terrestrial network in step 430, the hub connects to the satellite network or the terrestrial network to join the network using the connection procedure in steps 440-460. Sections 0128 and 0136 also disclose the use of a PRACH with random access slots that can be used by the hub to connect to the satellite network or the terrestrial network. Refer to Sections 0026-0168. Also, Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0063, 0048-0049, and 0096-0114 wherein a UE can perform an initial access procedure with a terrestrial network or an initial access procedure with a satellite network. The initial access procedure allows a UE to connect to the terrestrial network or satellite network using a random access procedure on a PRACH. Specifically in Section 0004: “In any event, both terrestrial NR and satellite NR may use initial access techniques to assign portions of the spectrum to user equipment.”. Refer to Sections 0035-0132. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on the position of the apparatus comprises: …; selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on … the position of the apparatus. One would have been motivated to do since an initial access procedure is used by UE to connect to a network, thereby allowing UE to access the network.
Nuttall et al and Ma et al do not disclose … obtaining coverage information of a service area;
and selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on the coverage information and the position of the apparatus.
Davies et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0012-0017, 0024, 0036-0038, 0044, 0047, 0059, 0061, 0068, 0069, and 0083 wherein UE obtains the coverage area of a terrestrial mobile network and obtains the coverage area of a satellite network. Based on the location of UE, UE selects the terrestrial mobile network if UE is located in the coverage area of the terrestrial mobile network and selects the satellite network if UE is located in the coverage area of the satellite network. For example in Figure 1:
UE is no longer within coverage of the terrestrial mobile network but is in the coverage of the satellite network, so UE switches to the satellite network; if UE reenters the coverage of the terrestrial network, UE switches to the terrestrial network. Refer to Sections 0011-0088. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … obtaining coverage information of a service area; and selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on the coverage information and the position of the apparatus. One would have been motivated to do so that UE can select the terrestrial network if UE is located in the coverage area of the terrestrial network or select the satellite network if UE is located in the coverage area of the satellite network, thereby allowing UE communication with a network as UE changes locations among different coverage areas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10-14, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 6522864 to Febvre et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Column 8 lines 53-65 a system with a combined satellite and terrestrial communications systems in which either a satellite link or a terrestrial cellular link is selected for communication according to the position of UE; the spot beam identification protocol exchange is carried out through a satellite to locate UE, and subsequent communication takes place either in a terrestrial cellular communications channel or a satellite communications channel, depending on the determined location of UE. Refer to Column 3 line 30 to Column 9 line 64.
U.S. Publication No. 20190075468 to Fujii et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0006, 0028-0082 wherein a UE selects one of a terrestrial cellular mobile communication method and a satellite mobile communication method according to an area in which UE is located; UE uses all of time slots allocated to the terrestrial cellular mobile communication system and at least a part of time slots allocated to the satellite mobile communication system in a downlink to UE, and uses all of time slots allocated to the terrestrial cellular mobile communication system and none of time slots allocated to the satellite mobile communication system in an uplink from UE, when UE is located in an area of the terrestrial cellular mobile communication system.
U.S. Publication No. 20190150080 to Davies et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Section 0061 wherein UE selects a terrestrial mobile network and/or a satellite network based on a determined location UE; for example: if UE is approaching a particular area where a terrestrial mobile network has little to zero coverage, UE selects a satellite network for traffic communication to ensure continuous traffic communication. Refer to Sections 0014-0088.
U.S. Publication No. 20100124934 to Mach et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0044-0049 wherein UE uses the location position information it obtains for itself in its initial access of the terrestrial network; UE obtains the position information from a non-terrestrial network. Refer to Sections 0041-0084.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
June 20, 2026