Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims are 1, 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 1: “a processing” is unclear.
Claim 1 line 5: “the user equipment” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6 line 4: “the determined zone” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13 line 3: “the determined zone” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 20 line 4: “the determined zone” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20220279437 to Wigard et al.
Referring to claim 1, Wigard et al disclose in Figures 1-7 an apparatus (UE) comprising a processing (Figure 7, processor 20) coupled a memory (Figure 7, memory 40/42) which storing instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform a method (Sections 0050-0062: memory 40/42 stores instructions that are executed by processor 20 to perform UE functions) for the apparatus to join into a communication system (NTN), the method comprising:
Selecting (step 230) one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment. Step 210: UE determines the country where it is located (claimed “position of the user equipment”). Step 220: UE receives, from NTN, a SIB including mapping information, wherein the mapping information includes different RA-RNTI’s that are assigned to different countries, respectively. The RA-RNTI is used by UE during the initial access with NTN in a RACH procedure. For example, country A has a first RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country A, and country B has a second RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country B. Step 230: since UE knows the country where it is positioned and knows the mapping information for the country from the SIB, UE can use the RA-RNTI corresponding to the country during the initial access with NTN. For example: UE estimates its position as in country A and then maps country A into the RA-RNTI for country A. UE then forwards the RA-RNTI for country A during the RACH procedure, so that NTN can detect the country where the UE is located and find the proper policy corresponding to the country. The RACH procedure is: UE sends a RACH preamble, which includes the RA-RNTI, to gNB of NTN (message 1); gNB then responds with a RAR message (message 2); UE then sends, to gNB, a RRC connection request message (message 3); gNB then responds with an RRC connection setup message (message 4). Step 240: UE performs a random access procedure with NTN using the RA-RNTI; for example, UE sends, to NTN, the RA-RNTI in message 1, wherein the RA-RNTI identifies the country the UE is located. So: based on the country where UE is located, UE selects to perform the NTN initial access procedure in steps 210-240 to access NTN, since NTN provides the RA-RNTI for the country where UE is located via the SIB (claimed “selecting … a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment”).
Executing (steps 240-250) the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. Step 240: UE performs the RACH procedure with NTN using the RA-RNTI; for example, UE sends, to NTN, the RA-RNTI in message 1, wherein the RA-RNTI identifies the country the UE is located. Step 250: UE receives a response, such as a connection setup message, including a network grant based on the country where UE is located. Refer to Sections 0017-0063.
Referring to claim 2, Wigard et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein said selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on the position of the apparatus comprises:
Obtaining coverage information (coverage area 177) of a service area (service area of a gNB of NTN). Sections 0002, 0017-0020, 0027, 0036, 0042, and 0045: NTN includes a gNB that provides a coverage area 177 that covers country A and country B.
Selecting the one of the terrestrial initial-access procedure (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on the coverage information and the position of the apparatus. Step 210: UE determines the country where it is located (claimed “position of the user equipment”), wherein the country is located within a coverage area, such as coverage area 177. Step 220: UE receives, from NTN, a SIB including mapping information, wherein the mapping information includes different RA-RNTI’s that are assigned to different countries, respectively. The RA-RNTI is used by UE during the initial access with NTN in a RACH procedure. For example, country A has a first RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country A, and country B has a second RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country B, wherein country A and country B are located in the coverage area 177 of NTN. Step 230: since UE knows the country where it is positioned and knows the mapping information for the country from the SIB, UE can use the RA-RNTI corresponding to the country during the initial access with NTN. For example: UE estimates its position as in country A and then maps country A into the RA-RNTI for country A. UE then forwards the RA-RNTI for country A during the RACH procedure, so that NTN can detect the country where the UE is located and find the proper policy corresponding to the country. Step 240: UE performs a random access procedure with NTN using the RA-RNTI; for example, UE sends, to NTN, the RA-RNTI in message 1, wherein the RA-RNTI identifies the country the UE is located. So: based on the country where UE is located, wherein the country is located in the coverage area 177 of NTN, UE selects to perform the NTN initial access procedure in steps 210-240 to access NTN, since NTN provides the RA-RNTI for the country where UE is located via the SIB (claimed “selecting … the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on the coverage information and the position of the apparatus”). Refer to Sections 0017-0063.
Referring to claim 8, Wigard et al disclose in Figures 1-7 a method for a user equipment (UE) to join into a communication system, the method comprising:
Selecting (step 230) one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment. Step 210: UE determines the country where it is located (claimed “position of the user equipment”). Step 220: UE receives, from NTN, a SIB including mapping information, wherein the mapping information includes different RA-RNTI’s that are assigned to different countries, respectively. The RA-RNTI is used by UE during the initial access with NTN in a RACH procedure. For example, country A has a first RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country A, and country B has a second RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country B. Step 230: since UE knows the country where it is positioned and knows the mapping information for the country from the SIB, UE can use the RA-RNTI corresponding to the country during the initial access with NTN. For example: UE estimates its position as in country A and then maps country A into the RA-RNTI for country A. UE then forwards the RA-RNTI for country A during the RACH procedure, so that NTN can detect the country where the UE is located and find the proper policy corresponding to the country. The RACH procedure is: UE sends a RACH preamble, which includes the RA-RNTI, to gNB of NTN (message 1); gNB then responds with a RAR message (message 2); UE then sends, to gNB, a RRC connection request message (message 3); gNB then responds with an RRC connection setup message (message 4). Step 240: UE performs a random access procedure with NTN using the RA-RNTI; for example, UE sends, to NTN, the RA-RNTI in message 1, wherein the RA-RNTI identifies the country the UE is located. So: based on the country where UE is located, UE selects to perform the NTN initial access procedure in steps 210-240 to access NTN, since NTN provides the RA-RNTI for the country where UE is located via the SIB (claimed “selecting … a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment”).
Executing (steps 240-250) the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. Step 240: UE performs the RACH procedure with NTN using the RA-RNTI; for example, UE sends, to NTN, the RA-RNTI in message 1, wherein the RA-RNTI identifies the country the UE is located. Step 250: UE receives a response, such as a connection setup message, including a network grant based on the country where UE is located. Refer to Sections 0017-0063.
Referring to claim 9, refer to the rejection of claim 2.
Referring to claim 15, Wigard et al disclose in Figures 1-7 one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices (Figure 7, memory 40/42) storing computer-executable instructions for joining a user equipment (UE) into a communication system, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause a processing unit (Figure 7, processor 20) of the user equipment to perform actions comprising (Sections 0050-0062: memory 40/42 stores instructions that are executed by processor 20 to perform UE functions):
Selecting (step 230) one of a terrestrial initial-access procedure (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment. Step 210: UE determines the country where it is located (claimed “position of the user equipment”). Step 220: UE receives, from NTN, a SIB including mapping information, wherein the mapping information includes different RA-RNTI’s that are assigned to different countries, respectively. The RA-RNTI is used by UE during the initial access with NTN in a RACH procedure. For example, country A has a first RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country A, and country B has a second RA-RNTI that NTN recognizes as country B. Step 230: since UE knows the country where it is positioned and knows the mapping information for the country from the SIB, UE can use the RA-RNTI corresponding to the country during the initial access with NTN. For example: UE estimates its position as in country A and then maps country A into the RA-RNTI for country A. UE then forwards the RA-RNTI for country A during the RACH procedure, so that NTN can detect the country where the UE is located and find the proper policy corresponding to the country. The RACH procedure is: UE sends a RACH preamble, which includes the RA-RNTI, to gNB of NTN (message 1); gNB then responds with a RAR message (message 2); UE then sends, to gNB, a RRC connection request message (message 3); gNB then responds with an RRC connection setup message (message 4). Step 240: UE performs a random access procedure with NTN using the RA-RNTI; for example, UE sends, to NTN, the RA-RNTI in message 1, wherein the RA-RNTI identifies the country the UE is located. So: based on the country where UE is located, UE selects to perform the NTN initial access procedure in steps 210-240 to access NTN, since NTN provides the RA-RNTI for the country where UE is located via the SIB (claimed “selecting … a non-terrestrial initial-access procedure based on a position of the user equipment”).
Executing (steps 240-250) the selected initial access procedure for joining the apparatus into the communication system. Step 240: UE performs the RACH procedure with NTN using the RA-RNTI; for example, UE sends, to NTN, the RA-RNTI in message 1, wherein the RA-RNTI identifies the country the UE is located. Step 250: UE receives a response, such as a connection setup message, including a network grant based on the country where UE is located. Refer to Sections 0017-0063.
Referring to claim 16, refer to the rejection of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20220279437 to Wigard et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240063894 to Vogedes et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63185777).
Wigard et al disclose in Figures 1-7 wherein the non-terrestrial initial-access procedure comprises: … a communication node (gNB of NTN) from one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes (one or more gNBs of NTN) associated with the determined zone (coverage area 177 of NTN); and establishing communication between the apparatus and the … communication node for joining the apparatus into the communication system (UE performs the RACH procedure for initial access with a gNB of the one or more gNBs to establish communication). Sections 0002, 0017, 0019, 0020, 0027, and 0048: NTN includes one or more gNBs within its coverage area 177 (claimed “one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes associated with the determined zone”). The RACH procedure is: UE sends a RACH preamble, which includes the RA-RNTI, to gNB of NTN (message 1); gNB then responds with a RAR message (message 2); UE then sends, to gNB, a RRC connection request message (message 3); gNB then responds with an RRC connection setup message (message 4). So, UE performs the RACH procedure for initial access with a gNB of the one or more gNBs to establish communication (claimed “establishing communication between the apparatus and the … communication node for joining the apparatus into the communication system”). Refer to Sections 0017-0063.
Wigard et al do not disclose … selecting a communication node from one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes associated with the determined zone; and establishing communication between the apparatus and the selected communication node for joining the apparatus into the communication system.
Vogedes et al disclose in Figures 1-18G and Sections 0040-0045, 0088, 0107, 0119, 0133, 0154, 0235, 0264-0269, and 0273-0275 a system with NTN cells and TN cells, wherein each NTN cell is associated with a gNB. Sections 0046, 0086, 0115, 0147, 0236, 0266, and 0274: UE scans all RF channels of all NTN cells and respective gNBs to find a strongest, suitable cell. Once a suitable cell is found, UE selects the cell; so, UE selects a NTN cell and corresponding gNB (claimed “selecting a communication node from one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes associated with the determined zone; and establishing communication between the apparatus and the selected communication node for joining the apparatus into the communication system”). Section 0088: UE performs cell selection and as part of the initial access procedure, UE selects a gNB which is served via an NTN cell and then UE must maintain network synchronization with the gNB of the NTN. Refer to Sections 0031-0357. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … selecting a communication node from one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes associated with the determined zone; and establishing communication between the apparatus and the selected communication node for joining the apparatus into the communication system. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can select a gNB to perform initial access with NTN, thereby facilitating initial access to the NTN.
Referring to claim 13, refer to the rejection of claim 6.
Referring to claim 20, refer to the rejection of claim 6.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20220279437 to Wigard et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240063894 to Vogedes (support found in Provisional Application No. 63185777), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240163815 to McGiffen et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63165716)
Wigard et al do not disclose wherein said selecting the communication node from the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes associated with the determined zone comprises:
scanning RF channels associated with the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes for identifying the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes; selecting the communication node from the identified one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes; and performing … synchronization between the apparatus and the selected communication node.
Vogedes et al disclose in Figures 1-18G and Sections 0040-0045, 0088, 0107, 0119, 0133, 0154, 0235, 0264-0269, and 0273-0275 a system with NTN cells and TN cells, wherein each NTN cell is associated with a gNB. Sections 0046, 0086, 0115, 0147, 0236, 0266, and 0274: UE scans all RF channels of all NTN cells and respective gNBs to find a strongest, suitable cell (claimed “scanning RF channels associated with the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes for identifying the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes”). Once a suitable cell is found, UE selects the cell; so, UE selects a NTN cell and corresponding gNB (claimed “selecting the communication node from the identified one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes”). Section 0088: UE performs cell selection and as part of the initial access procedure, UE selects a gNB which is served via an NTN cell and then UE must maintain network synchronization with the gNB of the NTN (claimed “performing … synchronization between the apparatus and the selected communication node”). Refer to Sections 0031-0357. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said selecting the communication node from the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes associated with the determined zone comprises: scanning RF channels associated with the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes for identifying the one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes; selecting the communication node from the identified one or more identified non-terrestrial communication nodes; and performing … synchronization between the apparatus and the selected communication node. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can select a gNB by performing RF channel scanning in order to perform initial access with NTN and to maintain synchronization with the selected gNB, thereby facilitating initial access and synchronization with the NTN.
Wigard et al and Vogedes et al do not disclose … performing time and frequency synchronization between the apparatus and the selected communication node.
McGiffen et al et al disclose in Figure 1-6B and Sections 0115-0122, 0133-0140, 0213, 0232, 0235, 0237, and 0238 wherein UE performs time and frequency synchronization between UE and NTN node. UE adjusts the time and frequency synchronization to compensate for propagation delay changes caused by a change in distance between UE and NTN node and to compensate for Doppler shift changes in signal transmission caused by velocity differences and corresponding geometry between UE and NTN node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … performing time and frequency synchronization between the apparatus and the selected communication node. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can be synchronized in time and frequency with NTN node, thereby compensating for propagation delay and velocity differences between UE and NTN node.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10-12, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 6522864 to Febvre et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Column 8 lines 53-65 a system with a combined satellite and terrestrial communications systems in which either a satellite link or a terrestrial cellular link is selected for communication according to the position of UE; the spot beam identification protocol exchange is carried out through a satellite to locate UE, and subsequent communication takes place either in a terrestrial cellular communications channel or a satellite communications channel, depending on the determined location of UE. Refer to Column 3 line 30 to Column 9 line 64.
U.S. Publication No. 20190075468 to Fujii et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0006, 0028-0082 wherein a UE selects one of a terrestrial cellular mobile communication method and a satellite mobile communication method according to an area in which UE is located; UE uses all of time slots allocated to the terrestrial cellular mobile communication system and at least a part of time slots allocated to the satellite mobile communication system in a downlink to UE, and uses all of time slots allocated to the terrestrial cellular mobile communication system and none of time slots allocated to the satellite mobile communication system in an uplink from UE, when UE is located in an area of the terrestrial cellular mobile communication system.
U.S. Publication No. 20190150080 to Davies et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Section 0061 wherein UE selects a terrestrial mobile network and/or a satellite network based on a determined location UE; for example: if UE is approaching a particular area where a terrestrial mobile network has little to zero coverage, UE selects a satellite network for traffic communication to ensure continuous traffic communication. Refer to Sections 0014-0088.
U.S. Publication No. 20100124934 to Mach et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0044-0049 wherein UE uses the location position information it obtains for itself in its initial access of the terrestrial network; UE obtains the position information from a non-terrestrial network. Refer to Sections 0041-0084.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
February 23, 2026