DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers (JAPAN 2021-160264 09/30/2021) required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements dated 1/2/2024; 4/10/2024; and 1/14/2026 have been considered and made of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a waste liquid accommodation unit” in claims 1 and 15 (corresponding structures ¶[0034] of the instant specification);
“a sampling unit” in claims 1 and 15 (corresponding structures ¶[0053] of the instant specification); and
“a cleaning solution accommodation unit” in claim 5 (corresponding structures ¶[0061] of the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, at line 2, “the sensor unit” lacks proper antecedent basis. Note: Claim 9 depends from claims 8 and 1 rather than claim 6. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
In claim 13, bridging lines 2 and 3, “the third waste liquid flow path” lacks proper antecedent basis. Note: Claim 13 depends from claim 6 rather than claim 12. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antwiler (US 2010/0042260) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Cannon et al. (US 2008/0032398) (Attached PTO-892).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Antwiler discloses:
A cell culturing device (See annotated Fig. 2 below) comprising:
a circulation flow path ((first circulation path)(202) and (second fluid circulation path (206)) in fluid communication with a bioreactor (cell growth chamber)(100) and configured for flow of a liquid therein (¶[0017]);
a waste liquid flow path (waste line)(288) in fluid communication with the circulation flow path ((first circulation path)(202) and (second fluid circulation path (206)) and configured to receive a discard portion of the liquid from the circulation flow path (¶[0026]); and
a waste liquid accommodation unit (waste bag) (286) (Note: As discussed in the claim interpretation section above, the claim element “a waste liquid accommodation unit” is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f). The instant specification at ¶[0034] discloses that the corresponding structure may include, for example, a medical bag, which is considered to be a corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function. As result, the waste bag of the reference of Antwiler is considered to meet this claim element.) in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path and configured to receive and hold at least a portion of the discard portion of the liquid from the waste liquid flow path (¶[0026]).
Claim 1 differs by reciting that the culturing device includes a sampling unit in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the waste liquid accommodation unit.
The reference of Antwiler discloses a sample port (216) in first circulation path (202) and a sample port (230) in second fluid circulation path (206). The reference also discloses that glucose and/or lactate measurements can be taken by any means on either the IC (202), EC (206) or in the waste line (288) (¶[0033]).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a sample port in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the waste accommodation unit for the known and expected result of providing a sampling port for detection of glucose and/or lactate in the waste stream as suggested by the disclosure of Antwiler.
As discussed above, while the reference of Antwiler suggests providing a sample port in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the waste accommodation unit, the reference does not specifically disclose that the sample port includes a sampling unit (Note: As discussed in the claim interpretation section above, the claim element “a sampling unit” is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f). The instant specification at ¶[0053] identifies the corresponding structure could or may be any of a measurement circuit 88, a biosensor 90, a cleaning solution accommodation unit 92, a first standard solution accommodation unit 94, and a second standard solution accommodation unit 96).
The reference of Cannon et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide a cell culture device with a sampling apparatus (¶[0052], [0053], [0072] and [0073]) that can include a measurement circuit (¶[0052]), an analyzer (¶[0053]) and a flushing system (¶[0052]) which is considered to be a structural and functional equivalent to the claimed sampling unit.
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to communicate a sampling apparatus as suggested by the reference of Cannon et al. with the sampling port suggested by the reference of Antwiler for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for sampling and analyzing the sample in a sterile and automated manner.
With respect to claim 8, the structure resulting from the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claim 1 would encompass a culturing device that includes a check valve configured to allow the liquid to move in a first direction toward the waste liquid accommodation unit and prevents movement of the liquid in a second direction toward the circulation flow path (see check valve (37) of Cannon et al.).
With respect to claim 10, the bioreactor (cell growth chamber) (100) of the reference of Antwiler includes: a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (hollow fibers) (116); and a housing (cell growth chamber housing) (104) configured to receive the plurality of hollow fiber membranes; and the circulation flow path includes: a first circulation flow path (first circulation path)(202) in communication with a first region of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes; and a second circulation flow path (second fluid circulation path (206)) in communication with a second region of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes, the plurality of hollow fiber membranes being configured to allow the liquid to travel between the first region and the second region (Fig. 1 and ¶[0014]-[0016] of Antwiler).
With respect to claim 11, the reference of Antwiler discloses the first region is defined by interior surfaces of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes (intracapillary space), and the second region (extracapillary space) is defined by a space between the plurality of hollow fiber membranes and an interior-surface of the housing (Fig. 1 and ¶[0014]-[0016] of Antwiler).
With respect to claim 12, the reference of Antwiler discloses the waste liquid flow path includes: a first waste liquid flow path in fluid communication with the first circulation flow path; a second waste liquid flow path in fluid communication with the second circulation flow path; and a third waste liquid flow path in fluid communication with the first and second waste liquid flow paths and also the waste liquid accommodation unit (See annotated Fig. 2 above).
With respect to claim 14, the structure resulting from the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claim 1 would encompass a culturing device wherein the sampling unit and the waste liquid flow path are aseptically joined (See the abstract of Cannon et al. which discusses “The integral flowpath cartridge aseptic sampling system”).
Claims 2, 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antwiler (US 2010/0042260) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Cannon et al. (US 2008/0032398) (Attached PTO-892) taken further in view of Antwiler (US 2008/0220523) (Attached PTO-892).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, the combination of the references of Antwiler (’260) and Cannon et al. has been discussed above with respect to claim 1.
While the structure resulting from the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claim 1 would encompass a sampling flow path in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path communication with an analyzer, claims 2 and 3 differ by reciting that the sampling flow path includes a biosensor which can be a glucose sensor or a lactic acid sensor.
The reference of Antwiler (‘260) discloses that glucose and/or lactate measurements can be taken by any means on either the IC (202), EC (206) or in the waste line (288) (¶[0033]).
The reference of Antwiler (‘523) discloses that the use of commercially available glucose and lactate sensors (¶[0079]) can be used in a culture device as disclosed in the reference of Antwiler (‘260).
In view of these disclosures and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a commercially available glucose and/or lactate sensor within the sampling flow path for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for measuring glucose and/or lactate as suggested by the reference of Antwiler (‘260).
With respect to claim 15, the reference of Antwiler (‘260) discloses:
A cell culturing system comprising:
a cell culturing device (See annotated Fig. 2 above) comprising:
a circulation flow path ((first circulation path)(202) and (second fluid circulation path (206)) in fluid communication with a bioreactor (cell growth chamber)(100) and configured for flow of a liquid therein (¶[0017]);
a waste liquid flow path (waste line)(288) in fluid communication with the circulation flow path ((first circulation path)(202) and (second fluid circulation path (206)) and configured to receive a discard portion of the liquid from the circulation flow path (¶[0026]); and
a waste liquid accommodation unit (waste bag) (286) (Note: As discussed in the claim interpretation section above, the claim element “a waste liquid accommodation unit” is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f). The instant specification at ¶[0034] discloses that the corresponding structure may include, for example, a medical bag, which is considered to be a corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function. As result, the waste bag of the reference of Antwiler (‘260) is considered to meet this claim element.) in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path and configured to receive and hold at least a portion of the discard portion of the liquid from the waste liquid flow path (¶[0026]).
Claim 15 first differs by reciting that the culturing device includes a sampling unit in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the waste liquid accommodation unit.
The reference of Antwiler (‘260) discloses a sample port (216) in first circulation path (202) and a sample port (230) in second fluid circulation path (206). The reference also discloses that glucose and/or lactate measurements can be taken by any means on either the IC (202), EC (206) or in the waste line (288) (¶[0033]).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a sample port in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the waste accommodation unit for the known and expected result of providing a sampling port for detection of glucose and/or lactate as suggested by the disclosure of Antwiler (‘260).
As discussed above, while the reference of Antwiler (‘260) suggests providing a sample port in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the waste accommodation unit, the reference does not specifically disclose that the sample port includes a sampling unit (Note: As discussed in the claim interpretation section above, the claim element “a sampling unit” is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f). The instant specification at ¶[0053] identifies the corresponding structure could or may be any of a measurement circuit 88, a biosensor 90, a cleaning solution accommodation unit 92, a first standard solution accommodation unit 94, and a second standard solution accommodation unit 96).
The reference of Cannon et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide a cell culture device with a sampling apparatus (¶[0052], [0053], [0072] and [0073]) that can include a measurement circuit (¶[0052]), an analyzer (¶[0053]) and a flushing system (¶[0052]) which is considered to be a structural and functional equivalent to the claimed sampling unit.
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to communicate a sampling apparatus as suggested by the reference of Cannon et al. with the sampling port suggested by the reference of Antwiler (‘260) for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for sampling and analyzing the sample in a sterile and automated manner.
Claim 15 further differs by reciting that the culture system includes:
a support device configured to receive the cell culturing device, the support device including a plurality of clamps configured to apply a pressure to one or more portions of the circulation flow path or the waste liquid flow path.
The reference of Antwiler (‘523) discloses that it is known in the art to provide the device components as disclosed in the reference of Antwiler (‘260) as a detachable flow circuit which can be configured to attach to fixed portions of a fluid flow controller (a support device) of the cell expansion system which can include pumps, valves and clamps (¶[0100]-[0106]).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount the modified culture device of the combination of the references of Antwiler (‘260) and Cannon et al. on a fluid flow controller as suggested by the reference of Antwiler (‘523) for the known and expected result of allowing the fluid flow control components of the cell expansion system to be reused between different culture methods.
Claims 4, 5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antwiler (US 2010/0042260) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Cannon et al. (US 2008/0032398) (Attached PTO-892) and Antwiler (US 2008/0220523) (Attached PTO-892) taken further in view of Smith et al. (US 8,026,096) (Attached PTO-892).
The combination of the references of Antwiler (’260), Cannon et al. and Antwiler (‘523) has been discussed above with respect to claims 2 and 15.
Claim 4 differs by reciting that the sampling flow path includes : a first end in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path; and a second end in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the first end and the waste liquid accommodation unit, wherein the biosensor is disposed between the first end and the second end of the sampling flow path.
The reference of Smith et al. discloses that it is known in the art, when sampling media from a stream of fluid in a culture system, to provide an extraction loop (230) (Fig. 3) for diverting flow for analysis of metabolites within the culture media (Col. 23, line 65, to col. 24, line 59).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the sampling flow path as an extraction loop as suggested by the reference of Smith et al. for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized sampling structure for analysis of the culture medium while allowing the detected stream to be returned to the waste stream so as to avoid the need for the use of two separate waste containers in the system.
With respect to claim 5, the reference of Cannon et at. discloses that the use of a cleaning or flushing fluid is known in the art for cleaning the sample flow path between samples (¶[0052]). As a result, it would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a cleaning solution accommodating unit (a container, such as a bag or a tank)(Note: As discussed in the claim interpretation section above, the claim element “a waste liquid accommodation unit” is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f). The instant specification at ¶[0061] discloses that the corresponding structure may include, for example, a medical bag or a tank, which is considered to be a corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function.) to flush the biosensor within the sample stream to prevent contamination and/or reliable test results between samples.
Claim 16 first differs by reciting that the sampling flow path includes a biosensor.
The reference of Antwiler (‘260) discloses that glucose and/or lactate measurements can be taken by any means on either the IC (202), EC (206) or in the waste line (288) (¶[0033]).
The reference of Antwiler (‘523) discloses that the use of commercially available glucose and lactate sensors (¶[0079]) can be used in a culture device as disclosed in the reference of Antwiler (‘260).
In view of these disclosures and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a commercially available glucose and/or lactate sensor within the sampling flow path for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for measuring glucose and/or lactate as suggested by the reference of Antwiler (‘260).
Claim 16 further differs by reciting that the sampling flow path includes : a first end in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path; and a second end in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the first end and the waste liquid accommodation unit, wherein the biosensor is disposed between the first end and the second end of the sampling flow path.
The reference of Smith et al. discloses that it is known in the art, when sampling media from a stream of fluid in a culture system, to provide an extraction loop (230) (Fig. 3) for diverting flow for analysis of metabolites within the culture media (Col. 23, line 65, to col. 24, line 59).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the sampling flow path as an extraction loop as suggested by the reference of Smith et al. for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized sampling structure for analysis of the culture medium while allowing the detected stream to be returned to the waste stream so as to avoid the need for the use of two separate waste containers in the system.
With respect to the clamps required of claims 17 and 18, the reference of Antwiler (‘523) discloses that it is known in the art to provide the device components as disclosed in the reference of Antwiler (‘260) as a detachable flow circuit which can be configured to attach to fixed portions of a fluid flow controller (a support device) of the cell expansion system which can include pumps, valves and clamps (¶[0100]-[0106]). As a result, the use of clamps to control the flow of the fluid within the waste liquid flow path and sampling fluid flow path would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art since the clamping of tubes within the disposable fluid circuit would simplify the structure of the system by avoiding the use of more complex valves.
Claims 6, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antwiler (US 2010/0042260) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Cannon et al. (US 2008/0032398) (Attached PTO-892) taken further in view of Marx et al. (US 2013/2095598) (Attached PTO-892).
The combination of the references of Antwiler (’260) and Cannon et al. has been discussed above with respect to claim 1.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, the structure resulting from the combination of the references of Antwiler (‘260) and Cannon et al. fails to disclose a sensor unit for measuring pH in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the sampling unit.
The reference of Marx et al. discloses that it is known in the art to monitor the status of the conditions within a culture system using sensors, including pH sensors, wherein the sensors are positioned in the intracapillary fluid, the extracapillary fluid and/or waste collector (¶[0055]).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pH sensor in the waste liquid flow path for the known and expected result of providing a means recognized in the art to monitor the pH within the culture device. Placement of the sensor in the flow path prior to the sampling unit would ensure that the detected pH is not influenced by the analyzers or biosensors of the sampling unit.
With respect to claim 13, the reference of Antwiler discloses the waste liquid flow path includes: a first waste liquid flow path in fluid communication with the first circulation flow path; a second waste liquid flow path in fluid communication with the second circulation flow path; and a third waste liquid flow path in fluid communication with the first and second waste liquid flow paths and also the waste liquid accommodation unit (See annotated Fig. 2 above). Positioning of the sampling unit in communication with the third waste liquid flow path would have been obvious such that a single sampling unit can be used to sample from with the first or second flow path.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antwiler (US 2010/0042260) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Cannon et al. (US 2008/0032398) (Attached PTO-892) and Antwiler (US 2008/0220523) (Attached PTO-892) taken further in view of Marx et al. (US 2013/2095598) (Attached PTO-892).
The combination of the references of Antwiler (’260), Cannon et al. and Antwiler (‘523) has been discussed above with respect to claim 15.
With respect to claim 19, the structure resulting from the combination of the references of Antwiler (‘260), Cannon et al. and Antwiler (‘523) fails to disclose a sensor unit for measuring pH in fluid communication with the waste liquid flow path between the circulation flow path and the sampling unit.
The reference of Marx et al. discloses that it is known in the art to monitor the status of the conditions within a culture system using sensors, including pH sensors, wherein the sensors are positioned in the intracapillary fluid, the extracapillary fluid and/or waste collector (¶[0055]).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pH sensor in the waste liquid flow path for the known and expected result of providing a means recognized in the art to monitor the pH within the culture device. Placement of the sensor in the flow path prior to the sampling unit would ensure that the detected pH is not influenced by the biosensors of the sampling unit.
With respect to claim 20, the structure resulting from the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claims 15 and 19 would encompass a culturing device that includes a check valve configured to allow the liquid to move in a first direction toward the waste liquid accommodation unit and prevents movement of the liquid in a second direction toward the circulation flow path (see check valve (37) of Cannon et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference of Wolfe et al. (US 4,999,298) (Attached PTO-892) is cited as prior art which pertains to a culture system that includes circulation flow path with a bioreactor, a waste line in communication with the flow path and a pH probe in communication with the flow path.
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB