DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 05/21/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 11-15 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I: Claims 1-10 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 20 objected to because of the following informalities: claims 4 and 20 refer to a “duel fuel” when it should be “dual fuel”.
Claim 8 states “positon”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 states that the controller actuates the water flow switch between the on and off position. However, this is contradictory to Applicant’s disclosure which indicates that the switch is operated by flow and does not say that the water flow switch is actuated by a controller (paragraph [0049]). For the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that the flow switch is actuated by the flow and not a controller.
Claims 9-10 rejected under 112(b) due to dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann) in view of Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner).
As to claim 1, (Original) Hammelmann teaches a pressure washer for delivering a high pressure stream of heated water comprising:
a gas source, wherein the gas source includes an outlet to deliver a gas (FIG. 1 paragraph [0023] gas storage tank 5 delivers gas via gas line 13);
an engine adapted to be connected to the outlet of the gas source (paragraph [0023] gas engine 4 receives gas via gas line 13);
a water source connection adapted to be operatively connected to a source of water (paragraph [0024] water is supplied from a tank 1 connected to an external source via an inlet 2);
a water heater including a gas input adapted to be coupled to the outlet of the gas source (paragraph [0023] gas burner 3 is connected to gas storage tank 5 via gas line 13) and a water input adapted to be coupled to the water source connection (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] water is supplied to the gas burner 3 via suction line 12), the water heater including a water heater outlet adapted to provide a heated water (paragraph [0022] gas burner 3 generates hot water); and
a high pressure water pump including a water pump inlet adapted to be coupled to the water heater outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] water is supplied to the high-pressure pump 6 and heated by the gas burner 3, which is located on the suction side of the high-pressure pump 6), and a water pump outlet adapted to provide pressurized heated water (paragraph [0022] a high-pressure cleaner installed in a mobile housing, with a high-pressure pump 6 driven by a gas engine 4 and a gas burner 3 for generating hot water, which is fed under pressure into a cleaning lance 7).
Hammelmann differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the engine includes an output shaft, a pump actuator operatively connected to the output shaft of the engine.
Gardner teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0014] pressure washer system 10). Gardner teaches the engine includes an output shaft, a pump actuator operatively connected to the output shaft of the engine (paragraph [0018] engine output shaft 44 is selectively coupled to a pump input shaft 46 of pump 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann with an output shaft as taught by Gardner. It is known in the art to connect the pump and the engine via a shaft so that the torque generated by the engine can be transferred to the pump (paragraph [0018]) in order to operate the pump.
As to claim 2, (Original) The combination of Hammelmann and Gardner further teaches the engine is one of a liquefied natural gas engine or a gasoline engine (Hammelmann paragraph [0018] natural gas such as LNG (liquified natural gas) can be used as the operating gas), wherein the output shaft of the engine is driven by one of the liquefied natural gas or the gasoline (Gardner paragraph [0018] the amount of fuel that enters the engine 18 can change the operational characteristics of the engine 18, which include the engine output shaft 44).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann) and Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Sanger et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0160497 (henceforth referred to as Sanger).
As to claim 3, (Original) Hammelmann further teaches a spray wand operatively connected to the water pump outlet (paragraph [0022] cleaning lance 7 reads on the claimed spray wand).
Hammelmann and Gardner differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the spray wand including a hand operated valve having an on and off position, wherein the on position delivers a heated high pressure stream of water from the spay wand.
Sanger teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0023] pressure washer 20). Sanger teaches the spray wand including a hand operated valve having an on and off position (FIG. 2 paragraph [0023] trigger-activated hand valve 84 (on/off flow control of wand)), wherein the on position delivers a heated high pressure stream of water from the spay wand (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] the hand valve 84 permits the user to control the flow of heated water discharged from the handheld wand 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann and Gardner with a hand operated valve as taught by Sanger. It is known in the art for spray wands to have hand operated valves in order to control the flow of the pressurized liquid.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann) and Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Breedlove et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0231644 (henceforth referred to as Breedlove).
As to claim 4, (Original) Hammelmann and Gardner differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the engine is a duel fuel engine coupled to the outlet of the gas source.
Breedlove teaches a pressure washer (FIG. 4 paragraph [0023] high pressure wash sub-system). Breedlove teaches the engine is a duel fuel engine (paragraph [0053] multi-fuel engine 157 is a diesel engine, but may also be fuel injected) coupled to the outlet of the gas source (FIG. 7 paragraph [0052) fuel can 106 is connected to the engine 157 via line 508).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann and Gardner with a duel fuel engine as taught by Breedlove. By having duel fuel engine, the pressure can be powered by two different types of fuel.
As to claim 5, (Original) Hammelmann further teaches the gas source is one of a liquefied natural gas or a gasoline (paragraph [0018] natural gas such as LNG (liquified natural gas) can be used as the operating gas).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann), Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner), and Breedlove et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0231644 (henceforth referred to as Breedlove) as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Lapetina et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0128032 (henceforth referred to as Lapetina) and Morales et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0340710 (henceforth referred to as Morales).
As to claim 6, (Original) Hammelmann, Gardner, and Breedlove differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the water heater is an on-demand water heater and includes a heat exchanger operatively connected to the water source connection, and a gas burner directed toward the heat exchanger to heat water flowing through the heat exchanger.
Lapetina teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0022] a high pressure washer). Lapetina teaches the water heater is an on-demand water heater (paragraph [0022] on-demand fluid heater 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann, Gardner, and Breedlove with an on-demand water heater as taught by Lapetina as an on-demand heater would not subject tubings, fittings, and valves to constant high fluid pressure, thereby avoiding the associated dangers and inefficiencies of a pressurized hot water tank (paragraph [0005]).
Morales teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0043] pressure washing device 2). Morales teaches a heat exchanger operatively connected to the water source connection, and a gas burner directed toward the heat exchanger to heat water flowing through the heat exchanger (paragraph [0043] a gas-fired burner for combusting a fuel and transferring heat to a working fluid that is passed through the coil.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann, Gardner, and Breedlove with a heat exchanger as taught by Morales. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a heat exchanger to heat a fluid as it is one of the many ways to control the temperature of a fluid.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann), Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner), Breedlove et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0231644 (henceforth referred to as Breedlove), Lapetina et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0128032 (henceforth referred to as Lapetina), and Morales et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0340710 (henceforth referred to as Morales) as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of Baer U.S. Patent 5,533,671 (henceforth referred as a Baer).
As to claim 7, (Original) Hammelmann further teaches a gas control valve having an on and off position and operatively connected to the gas source and to the burner (FIG. 1 paragraph [0023] pressure reducer 15 with a connected shut-off valve is on each gas line 13),
Hammelmann, Gardner, Breedlove, Lapetina, and Morales differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a water flow switch having an on and off position and operatively connected to the heat exchanger.
Baer teaches a pressure washer (column 3 line 40 a high pressure hot water acid wash system 1). Baer teaches a water flow switch having an on and off position and operatively connected to the heat exchanger (column 4 lines 13-17 flow switch 53 permits energization of electric motor 57, which drives fuel pump 59, and ignition coil 61, which ignites the fuel. When flow in line 47 stops, flow switch 53 turns off the motor 57 and the ignition coil 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann, Gardner, Breedlove, Lapetina, and Morales with a water flow switch as taught by Baer. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a flow switch to turn off heater components as it would prevent damage to the equipment and to the operator.
As to claim 8, (Original) Hammelmann and Baer further teach a controller operatively connected to the gas control valve and to the water flow switch, wherein the controller actuates the gas control valve between the on and off positon (Hammelmann paragraph [0028] a regulator 18 for the differentiated control of the gas burner 3 is connected to the corresponding valve of the gas line 13) and actuates the water flow switch between the on and off position (column 4 lines 13-17 flow in line 47 actuates the flow switch 53).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann), Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner), Breedlove et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0231644 (henceforth referred to as Breedlove), Lapetina et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0128032 (henceforth referred to as Lapetina), Morales et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0340710 (henceforth referred to as Morales), and Baer U.S. Patent 5,533,671 (henceforth referred as a Baer) as applied to claim 8 above, in further view of Zaotani JP3209485 (henceforth referred to as Zaotani).
As to claim 9, (Original) Hammelmann, Gardner, Breedlove, Lapetina, Morales and Baer differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a pressure regulator operatively connected to the water pump outlet wherein the pressure regulator controls a pressure of the pressurized heated water.
Zaotani teaches a pressure washer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0011] hot water washing machine). Zaotani teaches a pressure regulator operatively connected to the water pump outlet wherein the pressure regulator controls a pressure of the pressurized heated water (paragraph [0015] pressure regulator 6 is downstream of the high-pressure pump 3 in the hot water supply pipe 27. The pressure setting of pressure regulator 6 is adjustable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann, Gardner, Breedlove, Lapetina, Morales, and Baer with a pressure regulator as taught by Zaotani. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a pressure regulator in order to control amount/flowrate of liquid that is discharged.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann), Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner), Breedlove et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0231644 (henceforth referred to as Breedlove), Lapetina et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0128032 (henceforth referred to as Lapetina), Morales et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0340710 (henceforth referred to as Morales), Baer U.S. Patent 5,533,671 (henceforth referred as a Baer), and Zaotani JP3209485 (henceforth referred to as Zaotani) as applied to claim 8 above, in further view of Sanger et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0160497 (henceforth referred to as Sanger).
As to claim 10, (Original) Morales further teaches a frame having wheels (FIG. 1 paragraph [0043] chassis 4 having front wheels 6 and rear wheels 8), wherein the frame supports the engine, the water heater, the high pressure water pump , and the controller (FIG. 1 motor 16, heating element 12, pump 22, and control unit 28 are located on the chassis 4).
It would have been obvious for the pressure washer to have a frame and wheels as taught by Morales in order to easily transport the pressure washer.
Hammelmann, Gardner, Breedlove, Lapetina, Morales, Baer, and Zaotani differ from the instant claim in failing to teach that the frame supports the gas source.
Sanger teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0023] pressure washer 20). Sanger teaches the frame supports the gas source (FIG. 1 fuel tank 28 is located on the mobile cart 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann, Gardner, Breedlove, Lapetina, Morales, Baer, and Zaotani. Since the pressure washer uses gas/fuel, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to have a frame that supports the gas source as it would provide convenience to the operator.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann) in view of Lapetina et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0128032 (henceforth referred to as Lapetina), Gilpatrick et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0003172 (henceforth referred to as Gilpatrick), Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner), and Fan et al. CN115069634 (henceforth referred to as Fan).
As to claim 16, (Original) Hammelmann further teaches a pressure washer for delivering a high pressure stream of water from a spray wand comprising:
a gas source (FIG. 1 paragraph [0023] gas storage tank 5 delivers gas via gas line 13);
a gas engine coupled to the outlet of the gas source;
a water source connection adapted to be operatively connected to a source of water (paragraph [0024] water is supplied from a tank 1 connected to an external source via an inlet 2);
a water heater including a gas input adapted to be coupled to the outlet of the gas source (paragraph [0023] gas burner 3 is connected to gas storage tank 5 via gas line 13) and a water input adapted to be coupled to the water source (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] water is supplied to the gas burner 3 via suction line 12), the water heater including a water heater outlet adapted to provide a heated water (paragraph [0022] gas burner 3 generates hot water);
a high pressure water pump including a water pump inlet adapted to be coupled to the water heater outlet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] water is supplied to the high-pressure pump 6 and heated by the gas burner 3, which is located on the suction side of the high-pressure pump 6), and a water pump outlet adapted to provide pressurized heated water (paragraph [0022] a high-pressure cleaner installed in a mobile housing, with a high-pressure pump 6 driven by a gas engine 4 and a gas burner 3 for generating hot water, which is fed under pressure into a cleaning lance 7).
Hammelmann differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the gas source includes a portable propane tank having an outlet to deliver a propane gas from the propane tank; wherein the gas engine includes an engine actuator driven by combustion of the propane gas; a pump actuator operatively connected to the engine actuator; and a frame including a first shelf and an second shelf, wherein one of the propane tank and the gas engine is located on the first shelf, and the other of the propane tank and the gas engine is located on the second shelf.
Lapetina teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0022] a high pressure washer). Lapetina teaches the gas source includes a portable propane tank having an outlet to deliver a propane gas from the propane tank (paragraph [0025] refillable propane tanks 50 can deliver propane gas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann with a propane tank as taught Lapetina as propane tanks are known in the art and is an easily accessible source of fuel.
Gilpatrick teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0016] pressure washer system 10). Gilpatrick teaches a combustion engine of propane gas (paragraph [0018] engine 14 internal combustion engine such as a propane fired engine).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann with a combustion engine of propane gas as taught by Gilpatrick. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a propane combustion engine as it is one of the many fuels that can be used to power an engine.
Gardner teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [0014] pressure washer system 10). Gardner teaches the engine includes an engine actuator is driven by combustion of gas (paragraph [0018] internal combustion engine 18); a pump actuator operatively connected to the engine actuator (paragraph [0018] engine output shaft 44 is selectively coupled to a pump input shaft 46 of pump 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann with an engine actuator as taught by Gardner. It is known in the art to connect the pump and the engine via a shaft so that the torque generated by the engine 18 can be transferred to the pump 22 (paragraph [0018]) in order to operate the pump.
Fan teaches a similar pressure washer (paragraph [n0005] high-pressure cleaner). Fan teaches a frame including a first shelf and an second shelf, wherein one of the propane tank and the gas engine is located on the first shelf (paragraph [n0055] gas tank base 9 reads on the claimed gas shelf and supports the gas tank 7), and the other of the propane tank and the gas engine is located on the second shelf (see following annotated figure 5).
[AltContent: textbox (Second shelf that accommodates engine 1)][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann with shelves as taught by Fan as having shelves to support the separate components makes easier to access the components for maintenance and replacement reasons.
As to claim 17, (Original) Lapetina further teaches the high pressure water heater is an on-demand water heater (paragraph [0022] on-demand fluid heater 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer with an on-demand water heater as taught by Lapetina as an on-demand heater would not subject tubings, fittings, and valves to constant high fluid pressure, thereby avoiding the associated dangers and inefficiencies of a pressurized hot water tank (paragraph [0005]).
Lapetina does not teach that the heater is located on one of the first shelf, the second shelf, or another shelf.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 18, (Original) Lapetina further teaches a hood, wherein the hood is located on the frame and covers at least a portion of the propane tank and the gas engine (FIGS. 1-6 paragraph [0023] the hood 35 provides a covering for protecting the pump 10, engine 5 and other components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer with a hood as taught by Lapetina in order to protect the pressure washer components from dust, spray from the hose 20 when in operation, and the elements; for dampening engine noise; and for providing an aesthetically pleasing outer appearance (paragraph [0023]).
As to claim 19, (Original) Lapetina and Fan further teach the propane tank includes a hand wheel for releasing the gas from the propane tank (See annotated Figure 4 of Fan. It is known in the art for fuel tanks to have hand wheels), and the hood includes an opening to provide access to the hand wheel (Lapetina FIG. 7 paragraph [0017] the hood may be tilted forward to provide access to the gas fuel tank).
[AltContent: textbox (Fan
Figure 4: hand wheel)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammelmann DE2014100581 (henceforth referred to as Hammelmann), Lapetina et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0128032 (henceforth referred to as Lapetina), Gilpatrick et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0003172 (henceforth referred to as Gilpatrick), Gardner et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0269218 (henceforth referred to as Gardner), and Fan et al. CN115069634 (henceforth referred to as Fan) as applied to claim 18 above, in further view of Breedlove et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0231644 (henceforth referred to as Breedlove).
As to claim 20, (Original) Hammelmann, Lapetina, Gilpatrick, Gardner, and Fan differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the engine is a duel fuel engine.
Breedlove teaches a pressure washer (FIG. 4 paragraph [0023] high pressure wash sub-system). Breedlove teaches the engine is a duel fuel engine (paragraph [0053] multi-fuel engine 157 is a diesel engine, but may also be fuel injected) coupled to the outlet of the gas source (FIG. 7 paragraph [0052) fuel can 106 is connected to the engine 157 via line 508).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pressure washer as taught by Hammelmann, Lapetina, Gilpatrick, Gardner, and Fan with a duel fuel engine as taught by Breedlove. By having duel fuel engine, the pressure can be powered by two different types of fuel.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711