Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 29, 2025 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Response and Amendment Filed
Applicant’s response and amendment, filed February 5, 2026, has been entered and made of record. Accordingly, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1 and 4-13 are amended; claims 2 and 3 are canceled; claim 14 is newly added.
Previously Set Forth Objections and Rejections
The following is the status of the objections and rejections set forth in the previous non-final Office action ailed October 8, 2025:
The objection to the specification has been overcome by the filing of a new specification.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 5 has been overcome by amendments to claim 5.
The 35 USC 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12 and 13 as being anticipated by Ward (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0021786) is hereby withdrawn.
The 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 7, 8 and 11 as being unpatentable over Ward (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0021786) is hereby withdrawn.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-13 as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending application No. 18/233,987 in view of Ward (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0021786) is hereby withdrawn.
The following new grounds of rejection are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hahnen (U.S. Patent N. 5,569,244).
In regard to claim 14, Hahnen teaches a cautery probe 112 having a distal electrode 122 mounted between a pair of arms 123, 125 (first and second proximal ends) that are joined at their proximal ends to an electrode lead 127 (see Figs. 3 and 4). Figures 3 and 4 show that the arms 123, 125 have a first proximal portion adjacent to the arm 123 and a second proximal portion adjacent to the arm 125 where the first proximal portion is parallel and rectilinear to the second proximal portion. Figures 3 and 4 also show that electrode 122 has a first distal portion adjacent to the first proximal portion and a second distal portion adjacent to the second proximal portion and the first and second distal portions are connected by a central portion. The central portion has a triangular cross section with three surfaces where the central portion is thus both flattened and non-circular in cross section (see Figs. 3 and 4 and col. 3, lines 11-29).
Double Patenting
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/233,987 in view of Hahnen (U.S. Patent N. 5,569,244).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/233,987 teach all of the features of claim 14 with the exception of a flattened portion. However, as is set forth above, Hahnen teaches a flattened portion. Hahnen thus demonstrates that a flattened portion on a cutting electrode was well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cutting electrode of copending Application No. 18/233,987 with a flattened portion, in the manner disclosed by Hahnen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 4-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the invention as recited in amended claims 1 and 4-13. Specifically, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest an electrode wire with a flattened portion at the central portion that has an oval, elliptical or rectangular shaped cross section or a height-to-width ratio from 1:1.5 to 1:4 and smooth transitions between the cross section of the flattened portion and the rounded corners of the other parts of the wire so that smaller radii of curvature are not formed at these transition points (amended independent claim 1). As noted by applicant in the response filed 2/5/2026 and as discussed at the interview on 12/17/2025, Ward does not teach such a flattened portion as there is no indication in Ward that the section 402b is anything other than circular in cross section (albeit thinner in diameter) (see Fig. 5 and para. 0048 of Ward). Similarly, Hahnen (applied to claim 14 above) does not teach a flattened portion with the specific height-to-width ratio recited in amended independent claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed with the response of February 5, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 4-13 over Ward have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hahnen, as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794