DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, figure 1 items 1028 not 102B; and 1038 not 103B as described by the specification. Must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-5 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dotson (US-2745057), in view of, Kanj (US-20180335374).
Dotson teaches:
In regards to claim 1, Dotson teaches a method comprising:
measuring a first electrical resistance of a core sample placed in a core sample holder, wherein the core sample is obtained from a subterranean formation containing hydrocarbons, (15-31 col. 1, 10, 11-12, 91 fig. 1, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5)
wherein the core sample is in a dry state, (33-36 col. col. 1; 28-36 col. 4, ‘the core sample is treated to remove oil or other liquid material’) wherein a pore volume of the core sample is at least partially filled with gas; (24-31 col. 5, ‘Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be employed.’; 28-68 col. 4)
flushing the core sample with oil to displace gas from the core sample and saturate the core sample with the oil; (24-31 col. 5, ‘For imposing the pressure on the core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, a second phase, immiscible with the phase employed for saturating the core sample and semi-permeable membrane, is employed. Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be employed.’)
after saturating the core sample with the oil, measuring a second electrical resistance of the core sample saturated with the oil; (62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water content and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’)
after pressurizing the oil, measuring a third electrical resistance of the core sample; (62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water content and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’)
flushing the core sample with an aqueous fluid to displace at least a portion of the oil from the core sample; and (24-31 col. 5, ‘For imposing the pressure on the core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, a second phase, immiscible with the phase employed for saturating the core sample and semi-permeable membrane, is employed. Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be employed.’)
while flushing the core sample with the aqueous fluid, measuring a fourth electrical resistance of the core sample and measuring an amount of the oil displaced from the core sample. (62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water content and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’)
Dotson teaches the displacement pressure of a semi-permeable membrane 61, a reduced pressure by an evacuator 44-45 col. 4, fluid pressure in the chamber, imposing pressure on a core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, and heating a core sample for purposes of drying it 35-37 col. 4. However, doesn’t specifically discuss pressurizing the oil in the core sample to a downhole reservoir pressure, or heating the core sample to a downhole reservoir temperature.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Dotson to provide to provide an apparatus for measuring interstitial water content and electrical resistivity of unmounted core samples.
Dotson does not teach:
heating the core sample to a downhole reservoir temperature;
pressurizing the oil in the core sample to a downhole reservoir pressure;
Kanj teaches:
heating the core sample to a downhole reservoir temperature; (abstract, ‘radial core flooding discloses experiments using reservoir core sample(s) at conditions of temperature up to 150° C. and pressure up to 6000 psi,; para(s) [0013, 0040, 0068])
pressurizing the oil in the core sample to a downhole reservoir pressure; ; (abstract, ‘radial core flooding discloses experiments using reservoir core sample(s) at conditions of temperature up to 150° C. and pressure up to 6000 psi,; para(s) [0013, 0040, 0068])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Kanj to have the ability to heat or pressurize the apparatus using experimental or simulated results of an apparatus for measuring interstitial water content and electrical resistivity of unmounted core samples.
In regards to claim 2, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) further comprising determining a change in pore throat of the core sample, permeability of the core sample, . (Dotson: 38-39 col 4, ‘The pore volume of the core sample is also measured employing any suitable method and apparatus.’) or both based on the measured first, second, third, and fourth electrical resistances of the core sample. (Dotson: 62-72 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water content and simultaneously therewith.’)
In regards to claim 3, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 2, (see claim rejection 2) further comprising, prior to measuring the first electrical resistance of the core sample: (Dotson: 150 fig. 3, ‘voltage measuring device’; 62-72 col. 5 to 1-5 col. 6)
wrapping the core sample in an insulating blanket; surrounding the wrapped core sample with a polymer sleeve; and (Kanj: para [0056], ‘subterranean core sample is covered with the porous jacket ‘)
placing the wrapped core sample surrounded by the polymer sleeve in the core sample holder. (Kanj: para [0056])
In regards to claim 4, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 3, (see claim rejection 3) further comprising, prior to measuring the first electrical resistance of the core sample, filling an annulus between the core sample and the core sample holder with the oil and maintaining a confining pressure on the core sample in a range of from about 50 pounds per square inch (psi) to about 11,500 psi. (Dotson: 42-49 col. 5)
In regards to claim 5, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 4, (see claim rejection 4) further comprising preparing the core sample prior to measuring the first electrical resistance of the core sample, (Dotson: 15-31 col. 1, 10, 11-12, 91 fig. 1, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5)
wherein preparing the core sample comprises:
measuring a dry weight of the core sample; (Dotson: 33-36 col. col. 1; 28-36 col. 4, ‘the core sample is treated to remove oil or other liquid material’; 40-66 col. 4)
saturating the core sample with connate water; after saturating the core sample with connate water, measuring a wet weight of the core sample; and (Dotson: 40-68 col. 4)
determining a pore volume of the core sample at least based on a density of the connate water and a difference between the wet weight and the dry weight of the core sample. (Dotson: 38-39 col 4, ‘The pore volume of the core sample is also measured employing any suitable method and apparatus.’)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 11-17 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dotson (US-2745057), in view of, Kanj (US-20180335374).
Dotson teaches:
In regards to claim 11, Dotson teaches a method comprising:
determining a pore volume of a core sample saturated with an aqueous fluid at least based on a density of the aqueous fluid, (and (24-31 col. 5, ‘For imposing the pressure on the core sample for measurement of interstitial water content) a wet weight of the core sample, (62-69 col. 4) and a dry weight of the core sample, (33-36 col. col. 1; 28-36 col. 4, ‘the core sample is treated to remove oil or other liquid material’) wherein the core sample is obtained from a subterranean formation containing hydrocarbons; (15-31 col. 1, 10, 11-12, 91 fig. 1, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5)
draining at least a portion of the aqueous fluid from the core sample; (24-31 col. 5, ‘For imposing the pressure on the core sample for measurement of interstitial water content,)
determining an initial water saturation of the core sample at least based on the density of the aqueous fluid, (24-31 col. 5, ‘For imposing the pressure on the core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, a second phase, immiscible with the phase employed for saturating the core sample and semi-permeable membrane, is employed. Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be em-ployed.’)
the wet weight of the core sample, and (62-69 col. 4) a drained weight of the core sample; (62-69 col. 4)
placing the core sample in a core sample holder; (15-31 col. 1, 10, 11-12, 91 fig. 1, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5)
measuring a first electrical resistance of the core sample; (15-31 col. 1, 10, 11-12, 91 fig. 1, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5)
flushing the core sample with oil to saturate the core sample with the oil; (24-31 col. 5, ‘For imposing the pressure on the core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, a second phase, immiscible with the phase employed for saturating the core sample and semi-permeable membrane, is employed. Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be em-ployed.’)
measuring a second electrical resistance of the core sample saturated with the oil; . (62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water con-tent and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’)
measuring a third electrical resistance of the core sample; flushing the core sample with a second aqueous fluid to displace at least a portion of the oil from the core sample; and . (62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water con-tent and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’)
while flushing the core sample with the second aqueous fluid, measuring a fourth electrical resistance of the core sample and measuring an amount of the oil displaced from the core sample by the second aqueous fluid. . (62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water con-tent and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’; 45-52 col. 4, the steps are repeatable)
Dotson teaches the displacement pressure of a semi-permeable membrane 61, a reduced pressure by an evacuator 44-45 col. 4, fluid pressure in the chamber, imposing pressure on a core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, and heating a core sample for purposes of drying it 35-37 col. 4. However, doesn’t specifically discuss pressurizing the oil in the core sample to a downhole reservoir pressure, or heating the core sample to a downhole reservoir temperature.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Dotson to provide to provide an apparatus for measuring interstitial water content and electrical resistivity of unmounted core samples.
Dotson does not teach:
heating the core sample to a downhole reservoir temperature;
pressurizing the oil in the core sample to a downhole reservoir pressure;
Kanj teaches:
heating the core sample to a downhole reservoir temperature; (abstract, ‘radial core flooding discloses experiments using reservoir core sample(s) at conditions of temperature up to 150° C. and pressure up to 6000 psi,; para(s) [0013, 0040, 0068])
pressurizing the oil in the core sample to a downhole reservoir pressure; ; (abstract, ‘radial core flooding discloses experiments using reservoir core sample(s) at conditions of temperature up to 150° C. and pressure up to 6000 psi,; para(s) [0013, 0040, 0068])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Kanj to have the ability to heat or pressurize the apparatus using experimental or simulated results of an apparatus for measuring interstitial water content and electrical resistivity of unmounted core samples.
In regards to claim 12, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 11, (see claim rejection 11) further comprising determining a change in pore throat of the core sample, permeability of the core sample, . (Dotson: 38-39 col 4, ‘The pore volume of the core sample is also measured employing any suitable method and apparatus.’) or both based on the measured first, second, third, and fourth electrical resistances of the core sample. (Dotson: 62-72 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water con-tent and simultaneously therewith.’)
In regards to claim 13, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 12, (see claim rejection 12) further comprising, after placing the core sample in the core sample holder and prior to measuring the first electrical resistance of the core sample, (Dotson: 15-31 col. 1, 10, 11-12, 91 fig. 1, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5) filling an annulus between the core sample and the core sample with the oil and maintaining a confining pressure on the core sample in a range of from about 50 pounds per square inch (psi) to about 11,500 psi. (Dotson: 42-49 col. 5)
In regards to claim 14, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 13, (see claim rejection 13) wherein measuring the first, second, third, and fourth electrical resistances of the core sample comprises: (Dotson: 62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water content and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’)
applying an electric current across the core sample; and (Dotson: 50-71 col. 1; 62-72 col. 5 to 1-5 col. 6; 150 fig. 3, 16-75 col. 7 to 1-6 col. 8)
measuring an electrical response of the core sample in response to application of the electric current. (Dotson: 150 fig. 3, ‘150-voltage measuring device’)
In regards to claim 15, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 14, (see claim rejection 14) wherein the electric current has a current in a range of from about -1 ampere to about 1 ampere. (Dotson: 60-71 col. 7, ‘Current from source 130 is then passed through 60 the circuit thus formed, the circuit consisting of trans
former 131, conductor 132, resistor 134; fitting 81, wire 85', electrode 84, core sample 91, pad 92, cellophane sheet 93, the· ring 65 around semi-permeable membrane 61, either wire 70, screw 71, and conductor 141 or the brine 65 in. tube 94, wire 95, and conductor 142, switch 140, resistor 135, and conductor 133. The value of resistor 134 • being known, transformer 131 and variable resistor 135· are adjusted to obtain a desired current through the circuit as measured by voltage measuring device 150 connected across known resistor 134.’)
In regards to claim 16, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 15, (see claim rejection 15) wherein the downhole reservoir temperature is in a range of from about 50 degrees Fahrenheit (°F) to about 300 °F, (Kanj: abstract, ‘radial core flooding discloses experiments using reservoir core sample(s) at conditions of temperature up to 150° C.) and the core sample is flushed with the oil while the core sample is heated to the downhole reservoir temperature until the pressure drop of the oil across the core sample has reached steady state. (Dotson: 24-31 col. 5, ‘For imposing the pressure on the core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, a second phase, immiscible with the phase employed for saturating the core sample and semi-permeable membrane, is employed. Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be em-ployed.’)
In regards to claim 17, Dotson & Kanj teach a method of claim 16, (see claim rejection 16) further comprising, while flushing the core sample with the second aqueous fluid, recording the amount of the oil displaced from the core sample, a pressure drop of the aqueous fluid across the core sample, and a flow rate of the aqueous fluid flushing the core sample as a function of time. (Dotson: 122-123 fig.3, ‘-pressure regulating valve’, ‘pressure gauge’; ‘Dotson teaches the displacement pressure of a semi-permeable membrane 61, a reduced pressure by an evacuator 44-45 col. 4, fluid pressure in the chamber, imposing pressure on a core sample for measurement of interstitial water content, and heating a core sample for purposes of drying it 35-37 col. 4. However, doesn’t specifically discuss pressurizing the oil in the core sample to a downhole reservoir pressure, or heating the core sample to a downhole reservoir temperature.’; Dotson: 24-31 col. 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dotson (US-2745057).
In regards to claim 18, Dotson teaches a system comprising: (10-12, 91 fig(s) 1, 3, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5)
an injection pump; (122, 123 fig. 3, ‘pressure regulating valve’, ‘pressure gauge’)
an oil reservoir connected to the injection pump, the oil reservoir housing oil; (121 fig. 3, ‘reservoir’; 39-63 col. 1; 24-31 col. 5, ‘Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be em-ployed.’; 28-68 col. 4)
a brine reservoir connected to the injection pump, the brine reservoir housing brine; (121 fig. 3, ‘reservoir’; 39-63 col. 1)
a core sample holder connected to the oil reservoir and the brine reservoir, the core sample holder configured to hold a core sample, the injection pump is configured to flow at least one of the oil from the oil reservoir or the brine from the brine reservoir through the core sample held by the core sample holder; (121 fig. 3, ‘reservoir’; 39-63 col. 1; 24-31 col. 5, ‘Gases such as air, nitrogen, oxygen, light hydrocarbons, etc., and liquids such as crude petroleum oil, gas oil, mineral seal oil, kerosene, isooctane, etc., may be em-ployed.’; 28-68 col. 4; 10-12, 91 fig(s) 1, 3, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5)
a current-voltage analyzer connected to the core sample holder, the current-voltage analyzer configured to apply an electric current across the core sample held by the core sample holder, the current-voltage analyzer configured to measure an electrical response of the core sample held by the core sample holder in response to the current-voltage analyzer applying the electric current across the core sample held by the core sample holder; (15-31 col. 1, 10, 11-12, 91 fig. 1, ‘body member’, ‘chamber’, ‘gasket recess’, ‘core sample’; 62-65 col. 5; 62-67 col. 5, ‘Measurement of the electrical resistivity of the core sample may be made with the apparatus of the invention at any time during measurement of interstitial water con-tent and simultaneously therewith. The measurement 65 involves passing a known electrical current through the core sample and determining the resulting potential drop.’150 fig. 3, ‘voltage measuring device’)
a confining pressure pump connected to the core sample holder, the confining pressure pump configured to maintain a specified backpressure downstream of the core sample holder; and (122, 123 fig. 3, ‘pressure regulating valve’, ‘pressure gauge’)
a discharge container downstream of the core sample holder, the discharge container positioned to receive at least a portion of fluid comprising the at least one of the oil or the brine that has flowed through the core sample held by the core sample. (101 fig. 3, ‘pipette’)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dotson (US-2745057), in view of, Kanj (US-20180335374).
In regards to claim 19, Dotson teache’s a system of claim 18, (see claim rejection 18) further comprising:
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Dotson to provide to provide an apparatus for measuring interstitial water content and electrical resistivity of unmounted core samples.
Dotson does not teach:
a computer;
a pressure controller communicatively coupled to the computer and connected to the core sample holder, wherein the computer and the pressure controller are cooperatively configured to adjust a desired operating pressure in the core sample holder; and
a temperature controller communicatively coupled to the computer and connected to the core sample holder, wherein the computer and the temperature controller are cooperatively configured to adjust a desired operating temperature in the core sample holder.
Kanj teaches:
a computer; (para [0079], ‘Various data acquisition and/or processing systems may be used to collect data…….computers’)
a pressure controller communicatively coupled to the computer and connected to the core sample holder, wherein the computer and the pressure controller are cooperatively configured to adjust a desired operating pressure in the core sample holder; and (26, 33-35 fig(s) 4-6, ‘pressure transducer’, ‘back pressure regulator’, ‘valves’; para [0084])
a temperature controller communicatively coupled to the computer and connected to the core sample holder, wherein the computer and the temperature controller are cooperatively configured to adjust a desired operating temperature in the core sample holder. (abstract; para [0008], ‘employment of a temperature sensor can be used.’; para [0079], ‘Various data acquisition and/or processing systems may be used to collect data…….computers’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Kanj to provide a system for an apparatus for measuring interstitial water content and electrical resistivity of unmounted core samples.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-10, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The Examiner did not find the method where after determining a pore volume centrifuging the core sample to drain at least a portion of the connate water from the core sample then after centrifuging the core sample, measuring a centrifuged weight of the core sample; and determining an initial water saturation of the core sample at least based on the density of the connate water and a difference between the wet weight and the centrifuged weight of the core sample of claim 6.
Also, the recitation of claim 20 of the system comprising was not found. Although the technology of Dotson (US 2745057 B.J. Dotson 1959) discloses a voltage measuring device for determining resistivity of the core sample it does not utilize a computer wherein the computer is communicatively coupled to the current- voltage analyzer, wherein the current-voltage analyzer is configured to transmit a current signal to the computer that represents a current level of the electric current applied across the core sample, wherein the current-voltage analyzer is configured to transmit a response signal to the computer that represents the measured electrical response of the core sample as recited by the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Al-Omair (US 2023/0415160), Valori (US 2019/0101665), Martin (WO 2018/149866), Klemin (WO 2015/084447), Andersen (US 2016/0306074) and Dang (CA 3000261) references further describe a core sample holder as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852