Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain pending the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or are moot.
Applicant argues on pages 4-5 that it is clear from the description what the claims are requiring. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” See MPEP 2111.II. Here, claim 1 is still unclear. For example, the switches used to bypass the pre-amplifier could be considered switches used to bypass components. Would a subset of the plurality of electronic switches used to bypass the thermoacoustic preamplifier count as this plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection or component bypass switches? Clarification is required. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that the cited art does not disclose a thermoacoustic-only preamplifier. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,TA-only preamplifier 104) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7 that Kanayama, DaCosta, and Solek do not disclose the limitations related to bypassing the preamplifier. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Here the Examiner relies on Hashimoto modifying Kanayama to disclose these limitations in the claim. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 that the bypass method of Hashimoto would render Kanayama inoperable. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Here, the exact structure used by Hashimoto does not have be used, merely a structure that results in bypassing the thermoacoustic preamplifier in ultrasound mode and enable the thermoacoustic preamplifier in thermoacoustic mode of Kanayama. Additionally, the Applicant is reminded that arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record, which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration. See MPEP 2145. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 that there is no motivation to combine the recited references. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Motivation statements have been provided and no specific fault regarding these motivations has been provided. These arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the references could not be combined. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant repeats their arguments on pages 10-11, the Examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons outlined above. Accordingly, these arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “a plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection or component bypass switches” and “a plurality of electronic switches used to bypass the thermoacoustic preamplifier”. It is unclear how these switches related to each other. For example, the switches used to bypass the pre-amplifier could be considered switches used to bypass components. Would a subset of the plurality of electronic switches used to bypass the thermoacoustic preamplifier count as this plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection or component bypass switches? For examination purposes, a reference disclosing a plurality of switches to bypass components based on voltage will be interpreted as meeting these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanayama et al. (US20110066023, hereafter Kanayama), Hashimoto et al. (US20180199821, hereafter Hashimoto), DaCosta (US20160287211, hereafter DaCosta), and Solek (US20140031694)
Regarding claim 1, Kanayama discloses in Figure 2 an instrument for dual-modality ultrasound and thermoacoustic data acquisition and/or imaging (Kanayama, Para 3; “a method and apparatus which acquire and superimpose two acoustic images, one generated from the energy of light radiated into a subject to be examined and the other is an ultrasound echo image generated from ultrasonic waves directed into the subject”) (Kanayama, Para 50-51; “By using this arrangement, volume data corresponding to a three-dimensional region representing a living body function is acquired by two-dimensional electroacoustic scanning based on light irradiation from the irradiation unit and detection of the resultant acoustic waves generated by the electroacoustic conversion unit […] Hereinafter, the sound waves generated by the photoacoustic scanning method will be referred to as “acoustic waves” and the sound waves transmitted/received in normal ultrasonic scanning will be referred to as “ultrasonic waves”, thus discriminating them from each other”), comprising:
a transducer or a transducer array for applying mechanical energy to an interrogated object and receiving signals from the interrogated object (Kanayama, Para 50; “a plurality of electroacoustic transducer elements are two-dimensionally arranged at predetermined intervals in the vertical and horizontal directions, and the output ends of a plurality of optical fibers for light irradiation are arranged in the gaps between the electroacoustic transducer elements, thereby forming an applicator in which an irradiation unit is integrated with an electroacoustic conversion unit. By using this arrangement, volume data corresponding to a three-dimensional region representing a living body function is acquired by two-dimensional electroacoustic scanning based on light irradiation from the irradiation unit and detection of the resultant acoustic waves generated by the electroacoustic conversion unit”);
a pulser for applying non-stationary electromagnetic energy to said transducer or said transducer array enabling the instrument's operation in ultrasound emit mode (Kanayama, Para 63; “As FIG. 2 shows, the transmission/reception unit 22 includes […] pulsers 52 […] The circuits 51 impart corresponding timings to the rate pulse output from the rate signal generating unit 21, and supplies the resultant pulses to the pulsers 52. The pulsers 52 are driving circuits which generate high-voltage pulses for driving the conversion elements 54. The pulsers 52 generate impulses having peak values of several hundred volts by using output signals from the transmission delay circuits 51 as trigger signals”) (Kanayama, Para 61; “The rate signal generating unit 21 outputs a rate pulse for setting the repeating period of transmission ultrasonic waves to be radiated into the subject 7. The signal processing unit 25 performs various processes on the signals received from the transmission/reception unit 22”);
a thermoacoustic preamplifier (preamplifier 55) (Kanayama, Para 84; “These signals are supplied to the preamplifier 55 via the electronic switch 53. The preamplifier 55 amplifies the signals to a predetermined amplitude”);
an analog-to-digital converter (A/D converter 60) for providing analog to digital conversion of signals received by said transducer or said transducer array; (Kanayama, Para 88; “The A/D convertor 60 converts the signal into a digital signal.”) (Kanayama, Para 69; “The A/D convertor 60 A/D converts the output signal from the envelope detector 59 into volume data”) (Kanayama, Para 109; “The conversion element 54 converts a reception ultrasonic wave from the subject 7 from an ultrasonic wave to an electrical signal (ultrasonic reception signal). The ultrasonic reception signal is sent to the filter 66 of the signal processing unit 25 through the transmission/reception unit 22. The filter 66 has a bandpass characteristic centered on 2fo and a bandpass characteristic (not shown) centered on fo. In the harmonic imaging method, the filter 66 extracts a second harmonic component. The output of the filter 66 is stored in the image data memory B 62 via the logarithmic transformation unit 58, envelope detector 59, and A/D convertor 60. In the photoacoustic scanning method, the filter 66 extracts a fundamental wave component, and the output of the filter 66 is stored in the image data memory B 62 via the logarithmic transformation unit 58, envelope detector 59, and A/D convertor 60, as in the first embodiment”) (Kanayama, Para 98);
a circuit (system control unit 4) providing digital processing and/or digital control in the instrument (Kanayama, Para 53; “The non-invasive subject-information imaging apparatus of this embodiment is comprised of an optical transmission unit 1, image data generating unit 2, display unit 6, operation unit 5, and system control unit 4 […] The system control unit 4 systematically controls the respective units”);
wherein the instrument is configured such that a plurality of transducer elements and a plurality of channels are used in both ultrasound and thermoacoustic modalities (Kanayama, Figure 2 showing this) (Kanayama, Para 62; “The electroacoustic conversion unit 23 receives both the acoustic waves generated in the subject upon irradiation with light from the irradiation unit 15 and the echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted from the electroacoustic conversion unit 23”).
Kanayama does not clearly and explicitly disclose an analog front end for providing analog to digital conversion of signals received by said transducer or said transducer array; wherein the instrument is configured with a plurality of electronic switches used to bypass the thermoacoustic preamplifier in ultrasound mode and enable the thermoacoustic preamplifier in thermoacoustic mode; and wherein the instrument is configured to use a plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection or component bypass switches.
In an analogous photoacoustic and ultrasonic imaging device field of endeavor Hashimoto discloses an instrument configured with a plurality of electronic switches (Hashimoto, selection switch 105 and the transmission and reception changeover switch 106 ) used to bypass a thermoacoustic preamplifier (Hashimoto, Para 38; “The bypass unit 104 includes a selection switch 105 for selecting whether or not an input node of the preamplifier 103 and an output node of the preamplifier 103 are to be short-circuited”) (Hashimoto, Para 36; “The transmission and reception changeover switch 106 switches a connection destination of the acoustic wave detector 101 between the preamplifier 103 (an input node thereof) and the transmission circuit 29 (an output node thereof) arranged in the ultrasonic unit 12 (see FIG. 1)”) in ultrasound mode (Hashimoto, Para 42; “In a case where the reflected ultrasonic waves are detected, the controller 28 stops the amplification operation of the preamplifier 103, and selects a path (a second path) in which the detection signal is input to the reception circuit via the bypass unit 104 (the selection switch 105) without passing through the preamplifier 103, as the signal path between the acoustic wave detector 101 and the reception circuit 21. Specifically, the controller 28 selects the second path by closing the selection switch 105 and short-circuiting the input node and the output node of the preamplifier 103. Generally, the reflected ultrasonic waves are stronger than photoacoustic waves, and even in a case where the reflected ultrasonic waves are amplified by the preamplifier 103, a merit of improving an SN ratio is often small. In the case where reflected ultrasonic waves are detected, heat generation is suppressed by selecting the second path which does not pass through the preamplifier 103 and stopping the amplification in the preamplifier 103”) and enable the thermoacoustic preamplifier in thermoacoustic mode (Hashimoto, Para 41; “In a case where the photoacoustic waves are detected, the controller 28 causes the preamplifier 103 to enter the operating state. Further, the controller 28 selects a path (a first path) in which the detection signal is amplified by the preamplifier 103 and then is input to the reception circuit 21, as a signal path between the acoustic wave detector 101 and the reception circuit 21. Specifically, the controller 28 selects the first path by opening the selection switch 105 so that the input node and the output node of the preamplifier 103 are not short-circuited. In a case where the photoacoustic waves are detected, it is possible to improve a signal to noise ratio (an SN ratio) of the detection signal of the photoacoustic wave that is sampled in the reception circuit 21 and used in subsequent signal processing by amplifying the detection signal of a weak photoacoustic wave using the preamplifier 103”) (Hashimoto, Para 36; “The transmission and reception changeover switch 106 switches a connection destination of the acoustic wave detector 101 between the preamplifier 103 (an input node thereof) and the transmission circuit 29 (an output node thereof) arranged in the ultrasonic unit 12 (see FIG. 1)”);.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama wherein the instrument is configured with a plurality of electronic switches used to bypass the thermoacoustic preamplifier in ultrasound mode and enable the thermoacoustic preamplifier in thermoacoustic mode; in order to amplify the weaker photoacoustic signal and reduce heat generation in the ultrasound signal where improvements by the pre-amplifier are generally small as taught by Hashimoto (Hashimoto, Para 80).
The prior art is interpreted as disclosing this limitation in the claims because as discussed previously Kanayama discloses a thermoacoustic preamplifier in an analog signal chain (Figure 2) and Hashimoto modifies Kanayama wherein the instrument is configured with a plurality of electronic switches used to bypass the thermoacoustic preamplifier in ultrasound mode and enable the thermoacoustic preamplifier in thermoacoustic mode.
In an analogous photoacoustic and ultrasound imaging device field of endeavor DaCosta discloses an analog front end for providing analog to digital conversion of input signals (DaCosta, Para 106; “The raw radio-frequency (RF) US and PA data may be digitized in the analog front-end”).
The use of the techniques of an analog front end taught by DaCosta in the invention of a photoacoustic imaging device would have comprised only application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of performing analog to digital conversion with an analog front end; and similar modifications have previously been held to involve only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto above to use an analog front end for providing analog to digital conversion of input signals as taught by DaCosta in order to improve the quality of measured information.
The prior art is interpreted as disclosing analog front-end channels used in both ultrasound and thermoacoustic modalities because Kanayama is modified by DaCosta to use analog front-end channels above for both PA and US signals (DaCosta, Para 106; “The raw radio-frequency (RF) US and PA data may be digitized in the analog front-end”).
In analogous ultrasound imaging field of endeavor Solek discloses wherein an instrument is configured to use a plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection switches or component bypass switches (Solek, Para 57; “the Tx/Rx switches can be used to connect a selected set of the MUTs to either the pulser 224 or the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215. When a high voltage pulse is produced by the pulser 224, the Tx/Rx switches would automatically block the high voltage from damaging the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215. When the HV pulser 224 is not producing a pulse, the Tx/Rx switches would disconnect the selected set of MUTs from the pulser 224, and to connect the selected set of MUTs to the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto and DaCosta above wherein the instrument is configured to use a plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection switches or component bypass switches in order to prevent damage to the circuitry as taught by Solek (Solek, Para 57).
Solek is interpreted as disclosing these limitations in the claim as best understood by the Examiner in view of the 112b rejections outlined above.
Regarding claim 3, Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kanayama does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the instrument's components are integrated into a portable and/or battery-operated device.
However, DaCosta further discloses wherein one or more of an instrument's components are integrated into a portable (DaCosta, Para 16; “In at least one embodiment, the probe is portable and handheld”) (DaCosta, Para 134; “The multi-modal imaging system described herein that integrates US, PA and FL imaging into a single device has been shown to be suitable for in vivo imaging in animal models and is compact and lightweight enough for handheld use”) and/or battery-operated device (DaCosta, Para 83; “The power unit 26 can be any suitable power source that provides power to the operator unit 12 such as a power adaptor or a rechargeable battery pack depending on the implementation of the operator unit 12 as is known by those skilled in the art”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above wherein one or more of the instrument's components are integrated into a portable and/or battery-operated device in order to allow for clinical use as taught by DaCosta (DaCosta, Para 72) and to allow for easier maneuvering of the device by the user.
Regarding claim 4, Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kanayama does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the instrument's components are integrated into a handheld device.
However, DaCosta further discloses wherein one or more of the instrument's components are integrated into a handheld device (DaCosta, Para 16; “In at least one embodiment, the probe is portable and handheld”) (DaCosta, Para 134; “The multi-modal imaging system described herein that integrates US, PA and FL imaging into a single device has been shown to be suitable for in vivo imaging in animal models and is compact and lightweight enough for handheld use”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above wherein one or more of the instrument's components are integrated into a handheld device in order to allow for clinical use as taught by DaCosta (DaCosta, Para 72) and to allow for easier maneuvering of the device by the user.
Regarding claim 5, Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kanayama does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection or component bypass switches are integrated inside a pulser circuit.
In analogous ultrasound imaging field of endeavor Solek discloses wherein a plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection or component bypass switches are integrated inside a pulser circuit (Solek, Para 57; “the Tx/Rx switches can be used to connect a selected set of the MUTs to either the pulser 224 or the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215. When a high voltage pulse is produced by the pulser 224, the Tx/Rx switches would automatically block the high voltage from damaging the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215. When the HV pulser 224 is not producing a pulse, the Tx/Rx switches would disconnect the selected set of MUTs from the pulser 224, and to connect the selected set of MUTs to the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek wherein the plurality of ultrasound transmit-voltage protection or component bypass switches are integrated inside a pulser circuit in order to prevent damage to the circuitry as taught by Solek (Solek, Para 57).
Regarding claim 6, Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kanayama does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the instrument is configured such that when the instrument operates in ultrasound receive mode or thermoacoustic mode, the pulser is idle allowing received signals through while having said ultrasound transmit-voltage circuitry of the pulser disconnected; and when the instrument operates in ultrasound transmit mode, the pulser is connected to said portion of circuitry, is actively applying electromagnetic energy to said transducer or said transducer array, and is disconnected from the thermoacoustic preamplifier and the analog front end.
However, Solek further discloses wherein an instrument is configured such that when the instrument operates in ultrasound receive mode, the pulser is idle allowing received signals through while having ultrasound transmit-voltage circuitry of the pulser disconnected; and when the instrument operates in ultrasound transmit mode, the pulser is connected to said portion of circuity, is actively applying electromagnetic energy to said transducer or said transducer array, and is disconnected from receive circuitry including an amplifier (Solek, Para 57; “the Tx/Rx switches can be used to connect a selected set of the MUTs to either the pulser 224 or the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215. When a high voltage pulse is produced by the pulser 224, the Tx/Rx switches would automatically block the high voltage from damaging the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215. When the HV pulser 224 is not producing a pulse, the Tx/Rx switches would disconnect the selected set of MUTs from the pulser 224, and to connect the selected set of MUTs to the analog summing, amplification and processing circuitry 215.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above wherein the instrument is configured such that when the instrument operates in ultrasound receive mode or thermoacoustic mode, the pulser is idle allowing received signals through while having said ultrasound transmit-voltage circuitry of the pulser disconnected; and when the instrument operates in ultrasound transmit mode, the pulser is connected to said portion of circuitry, is actively applying electromagnetic energy to said transducer or said transducer array, and is disconnected from the thermoacoustic preamplifier and the analog front end in order to prevent damage to the circuitry as taught by Solek (Solek, Para 57).
The prior art is interpreted as disclosing disconnected from the analog front end because Kanayama is modified by DaCosta to use an analog front end as part of its receive circuitry and Solek modifies Kanayama to disconnect receive circuitry during HV transmission to prevent damage.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanayama, Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hashimoto et al. (US20180199820, hereafter Hashimoto ‘820).
Regarding claim 2, Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kanayama does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the thermoacoustic preamplifier of said thermoacoustic data acquisition unit is placed within a housing incorporating said transducer or said transducer array.
In an analogous photoacoustic imaging device field of endeavor Hashimoto ‘820 discloses in Figure 2 wherein a thermoacoustic preamplifier (preamplifier 44) of a thermoacoustic data acquisition unit is placed within a housing incorporating a transducer or transducer array (transducer array 20) (Hashimoto ‘820, Figure 2; showing this) (Hashimoto ‘820, Para 49; “In the present embodiment, the transducer array 20 also functions as an ultrasound wave transmission element. The transducer array 20 is connected to a preamplifier 44 to be described later, a circuit for ultrasound wave transmission, a circuit for acoustic wave reception, and the like through a terminal 41 and a wiring 42”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanayama as modified by Hashimoto, DaCosta, and Solek above wherein said pulser and/or thermoacoustic preamplifier are placed within a housing incorporating said transducer or said transducer array wherein the thermoacoustic preamplifier of said thermoacoustic data acquisition unit is placed within a housing incorporating said transducer or said transducer array in order to allow efficient use of one heat management system to be used for both the transducers and the circuitry as taught by Hashimoto ‘820 (Hashimoto ‘820, Para 10-13).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798