DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Remarks
No claim is amended.
Claims 10-12 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if amended and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PECK (US 20170145892 A1) in view of MILLER (US 20190017438 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PECK teaches an energy generation device (see the gas turbine engine assembly 100 in Figs. 1, 3, 6, which has a capability of energy generation) comprising:
a housing (see the nacelle part 114 in the hot section 104) (see Fig. 1);
the housing comprising a front end, a rear end, and an outer surface (see the front end, the rear end, and the outer surface of the nacelle part 114 in the hot section 104) (see Fig. 1);
a plurality of thermopiles (see the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) (see Fig. 1);
an electrical connector (see the electrical wiring 602 & power bus 604) (see Fig. 6);
a power management circuit (see the power management system 608) (see Fig. 6);
the plurality of thermopiles being positioned within the housing (see Fig. 1);
the plurality of thermopiles comprising a plurality of thermocouples (Regarding the claimed “a plurality of thermocouples”, MILLER discloses the thermoelectric generators for a gas turbine engine, wherein each thermoelectric generator is formed of a plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material in Fig. 3 of MILLER. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the thermoelectric generator assemblies formed of a plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material as shown in Fig. 3 as taught by MILLER in the device of PECK, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified PECK discloses the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprise the plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material);
the plurality of thermopiles comprising a leading end (see the left end part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) and a trailing end (see the right end part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150);
each thermopile of the plurality of thermopiles comprising a set of N and P nodes (see the sets of the n-type semiconductor nodes and the p-type semiconductor nodes) (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER);
the electrical connector being electrically connected to the power management circuit (see Fig. 6);
the leading end being positioned at a frontward end of the housing (see Fig. 1); and
the trailing end being positioned at a rearward end of the housing (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
PECK teaches the plurality of thermopiles (see the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) (see Fig. 1) comprising a first thermopile (see the upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) and a second thermopile (see the lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150); the first thermopile comprising a first leading end (see the first left end part of the upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) and a first trailing end (see the first right end part of the upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150); the second thermopile comprising a second leading end (see the second left end part of the lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) and a second trailing end (see the second left end part of the lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150); the first leading end and the second leading end being positioned at the front end of the housing (see Fig. 1); and the first trailing end and the second trailing end being positioned at the rear end of the housing (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified PECK teaches the first thermopile comprising a first plurality of thermocouples (The upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the first plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material); the second thermopile comprising a second plurality of thermocouples (The lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the second plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material); the first plurality of thermocouples comprising a first set of N and P nodes (The upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the first sets of the n-type semiconductor nodes and the p-type semiconductor nodes); the second plurality of thermocouples comprising a second set of N and P nodes (The lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the second sets of the n-type semiconductor nodes and the p-type semiconductor nodes); the first set of N and P nodes being placed opposite to each other in series, such that each N node is connected to a P node (see Fig. 3 of MILLER); the second set of N and P nodes being placed opposite to each other in series, such that each N node is connected to a P node (see Fig. 3 of MILLER).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified PECK teaches the first set of N and P nodes and the second set of N and P nodes being equally below the outer surface, such that half the N nodes and half the P nodes are below the outer surface (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 4.
PECK teaches the first thermopile being electrically connected to the electrical connector in an in-series distribution; and the second thermopile being electrically connected to the electrical connector in an in-series distribution (see Figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Modified PECK teaches the plurality of thermopiles is arranged linearly along the axis of heat of the housing (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
PECK teaches the housing being a cone (The nacelle part 114 in the hot section 104 is a cone) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, PECK teaches an energy generation device (see the gas turbine engine assembly 100 in Figs. 1, 3, 6, which has a capability of energy generation) comprising:
a housing (see the nacelle part 114 in the hot section 104) (see Fig. 1);
the housing comprising a front end, a rear end, and an outer surface (see the front end, the rear end, and the outer surface of the nacelle part 114 in the hot section 104) (see Fig. 1);
a plurality of thermopiles (see the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) (see Fig. 1);
the plurality of thermopiles being positioned within the housing (see Fig. 1);
the plurality of thermopiles (see the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) (see Fig. 1) comprising a first thermopile (see the upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) and a second thermopile (see the lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150);
the first thermopile comprising a first leading end (see the first left end part of the upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) and a first trailing end (see the first right end part of the upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150);
the second thermopile comprising a second leading end (see the second left end part of the lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150) and a second trailing end (see the second left end part of the lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150):
the first thermopile comprising a first plurality of thermocouples; the second thermopile comprising a second plurality of thermocouples (Regarding the claimed “a first plurality of thermocouples” and “a second plurality of thermocouples”, MILLER discloses the thermoelectric generators for a gas turbine engine, wherein each thermoelectric generator is formed of a plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material in Fig. 3 of MILLER. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the thermoelectric generator assemblies formed of a plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material as shown in Fig. 3 as taught by MILLER in the device of PECK, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144); Therefore, the upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the first plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material and the lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the second plurality of thermocouples of n-type 106 & p-type 108 semiconductor material) (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER);
the first plurality of thermocouples comprising a first set of N and P nodes (The upper half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the first sets of the n-type semiconductor nodes and the p-type semiconductor nodes) (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER);
the second plurality of thermocouples comprising a second set of N and P nodes (The lower half part of the thermoelectric generator assemblies 150 comprises the second sets of the n-type semiconductor nodes and the p-type semiconductor nodes) (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER);
the first set of N and P nodes being placed opposite to each other in series, such that each N node is connected to a P node (see Fig. 3 of MILLER);
the second set of N and P nodes being placed opposite to each other in series, such that each N node is connected to a P node (see Fig. 3 of MILLER);
the first set of N and P nodes and the second set of N and P nodes being equally below the outer surface, such that half the N nodes and half the P nodes are below the outer surface (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER);
an electrical connector (see the electrical wiring 602 & power bus 604) (see Fig. 6);
a power management circuit (see the power management system 608) (see Fig. 6);
the first thermopile being electrically connected to the electrical connector in an in-series distribution (see Figs. 1, 6);
the second thermopile being electrically connected to the electrical connector in an in-series distribution (see Figs. 1, 6);
the electrical connector being electrically connected to the power management circuit (see Fig. 6);
the first leading end and the second leading end being positioned at the front end of the housing (see Fig. 1); and
the first trailing end and the second trailing end being positioned at the rear end of the housing (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 13.
Modified PECK teaches the plurality of thermopiles is arranged linearly along the axis of heat of the housing (see Fig. 1 of PECK and Fig. 3 of MILLER).
Regarding claim 17, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 13.
PECK teaches the housing being a cone (The nacelle part 114 in the hot section 104 is a cone) (see Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/12/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-5, 8-9, 13, and 16-17, Applicant’s argument regarding that “Prior art (See PECK and MILLER) focus is capturing heat generated from a gas turbine engine, where applicant invention is focused on naturally occurring external high temperature gradients and the thermoelectric generators are embedded in the body of the invention” and “all configurations identified from the applicant are unique based on the prior art of PECK and MILLER” in P7-P9, is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument explains the general difference between the instant invention and the prior art, but does not explicitly point out any error on the rejections of claims over the prior art. Since PECK in view of MILLER teaches all limitations required by claims 1-5, 8-9, 13, and 16-17, the rejections in the previous office action are still deemed proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728