Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Cao (US 2022/0266953). With respect to claim 1, Cao discloses a retractable boat cover assembly 200 with a flexible boat cover 210, a retracting mechanism having a spring loaded roller 208, the retracting mechanism being disposed within a housing assembly 202, with one edge of the flexible boat cover being attached to the spring loaded roller so that the flexible boat cover may be rolled onto the spring loaded roller and disposed within the housing assembly (paragraph 0086; Figures 42, 43) and attachment means (Figures 1, 35) for attaching the flexible boat cover to a periphery of a boat (via port and starboard poles). With respect to claim 2, note Cao, arms 204, 206 to provide a stop assembly to temporarily prevent the spring loaded roller from retracting. Further, it is noted that cam locks for spring loaded roller assemblies, for example with window shades are extremely well known in the art of spring loaded rollers.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (US 2022/0266953) in view of Harken (US 4679520). With respect to claim 3, Cao does not disclose a series of parallel slats. Harken teaches a series of parallel slats (battens; 24 Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Cao with parallel slats as taught by Harken with a high likelihood of success for improved strength and rigidity especially during high winds. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the marine arts and would have known about strengthening battens in boat sails and would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (US 2022/0266953) in view of Stier (US 2017/0152006). With respect to claims 4-5, Cao does not disclose removable attachment straps. Stier teaches attachment straps 52, 54 (inherently removable with a scissors; note also MPEP 2144.04 V C) and supporting poles 19 (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Cao with attachment straps and support poles as taught by Stier with a high likelihood of success for reduced flapping especially during high winds. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the marine arts and would have known about attaching straps and supporting poles and would have found the combinations to have been obvious. With respect to claims 6-7, note Figure 1 of Stier.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the series of parallel slats (claim 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brandjord (US 3806185) shows a boat cover with straps. Jesewitz (US 2019/0127026) shows ribs. Barwick (US 2019/0054981) shows a roller.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615