DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Amendment filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 3-4 and 8 remain cancelled.
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are pending and being examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This instant application 18402309, filed on 01/02/2024, claims foreign priority of Taiwan 112146525, filed on 11/30/2023, no English copy of priority document is in record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mansour et al. J Biomed Mater Res. 2021; 109:666-681, PTO-892).
Mansour throughout the reference teaches calcium phosphate bioceramics with biomimetic trace elements to develop biomimetic CaPs (e.g., Abstract).
For Claim 1, Mansour indicates that elemental incorporation, especially in the case of multiple doping, requires a series of complex chemical reactions; and therefore, finding a much practical way to carry out the process is of great interest in the field of bone bioceramics (Pg. 667, right Col., 2nd paragraph). Mansour teaches using natural hydroxyapartite (same as natural HAp, Pg. 667, right Col., 2nd paragraph) obtained through the calcination of bovine bone is fabricated to make bone bioceramic scaffolds (e.g., Abstract) containing multiple inorganic trace metals or inorganic dopants (e.g., Pg. 667, right Col., 3rd paragraphs; Pg. 668, right Col., 2.2 paragraphs 1-3 ). Mansour presents the natural-HAp comprising various trace elements including Mg at about 6,801 mg/Kg (equal to 6,801 ppm), Sr at about 238 mg/Kg (equal to 238 ppm), both amounts falling within the claimed ranges, Mg 1000-10000 ppm and Sr 100-1000 ppm, respectively, in instant claim 1. MPEP 2131.03.I states that "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
For Claim 7, Mansour teaches that the natural HAp generated CaP cements containing multiple trace metals present significantly superior in vivo bone regenerative performance compared with cements prepared using synthetic apatite (e.g., Abstract), and the natural bioceramic materials are believed to result in significant advancements in bone tissue engineering, as well as revolutionize the biomaterial industry with the novel bone replacement material; Mansour anticipates that the material would accelerate healing outcomes to be achieved in patients suffering from bone loss problems, and would show an effective application as a coating for dental implants to improve their osseointegration success rate (Pg. 678, 7. Clinical implications).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al. J Biomed Mater Res. 2021; 109:666-681, PTO-892) in view of Cazalbou (US20170165398, 06/15/2017).
Mansour teaches bone regeneration and repair material as a natural hydroxyapatite calcium phosphate ceramic with trace elements, generated from natural bovine bones, comprising various trace elements including Mg at about 6801 ppm and Sr at about 238 ppm, as discussed and applied to claims 1 and 7 in detail above and incorporated herein.
Mansour does not teach the main component of the calcium phosphate ceramic is biphasic calcium phosphate composed of hydroxyapatite and b-tricalcium phosphate as recited in instant claim 2, or porosity ranging from 50-90% as recited in instant claim 5, or pore sizes as defined in instant claim 6.
Cazalbou throughout the reference teaches modified calcium phosphate ceramics for orthopedics, dentistry or reconstructive surgery, in particular use for bone repair including bone filling or bone substitute (e.g., Abstract; [0024]) (corresponding to instant claim 7).
Cazalbou indicates that the calcium phosphate in the calcium phosphate ceramic can be in anyone of the forms: α-tricalcium phosphate ( α-TCP), β-tricalcium phosphate (β-TCP), hydroxyapatite (HA), tetracalcium phosphate (TTCP), monocalcium phosphate monohydrate, monocalcium phosphate anhydrous, dicalcium phosphate anhydrous, dicalcium phosphate dihydrate, octa calcium phosphate, amorphous calcium phosphate, as well as the deficient or ion-substituted calcium orthophosphates (e.g., [0028]) (corresponding to main component species in instant claim 1). Cazalbou exemplifies that the main component of the calcium phosphate ceramic is the mixture of biphasic calcium phosphate BCP containing 65% hydroxyapatite and 35% tricalcium phosphate with Mg and Sr [0134] (corresponding to instant claim 2).
Cazalbou teaches the calcium phosphate ceramic has total porosity between 60 and 85% (overlapping with the range of 50% to 90% in instant claim 5), and the pore size is between 150 and 400 um (e.g., Example 10, [0134-0136]) (falling within the pore size ranging from 0 to 1000 um, and matching at least 70% pores having pore size greater than 100 um as instant claim 6).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching of Cazalbou’s calcium phosphate ceramic features into the bioceramic taught by Mansour to arrive at current invention. Because Mansour investigates the natural HAp bioceramic features compared with those of the synthetic ceramic, and mentions that the combined addition of magnesium and strontium to tricalcium phosphate promotes bone defect healing and remodeling (Pg. 667, right col. 2nd paragraph), while pointing out the missing assessment of the porosity (Pg. 678, left Col. 1st paragraph end), it would have motivated artisans in the field to take advantage and incorporate the features disclosed in Cazalbou of the synthetic ceramic to finalize Mansour’s novel bone repair material for reasonable expectation of success. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07). See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP §2144.05(I) states that “A prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the ranges of a claimed composition overlap the ranges disclosed in the prior art.” See In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2003). For this instance, the porosity, pore size, overlap with prior art. Furthermore, “[i]t would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize additive amount through nothing more than “routine experimentation,” because of a reasonable expectation of success resulting from the optimization for desirable features of intended use of the composition (MPEP §2144.05 (II)). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on 06/01/2026 have been fully considered.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Applicant asserts that Melek is directed to regenerating cement material, not ceramic material; Mg and Sr percentage in eggshell does not establish anticipation of the presently claimed ceramic composition; instantly claimed ceramic material is prepared through high-temperature sintering above 1000 C, while Melek merely mixes eggshell powder under low-temperature conditions to form a gel or cement like material.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Melek applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., prepared through high-temperature, sintering above 1000 C) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
35 USC 103 Rejections
Applicant traverses the obvious rejection over Cazalbou in view of Melek and Mora because Cazalbou relies on artificial incorporation of Mg and Sr ions while instant claim does not require artificial incorporation of element ions, Melek directs to cement material rather than a sintered calcium phosphate ceramic, while Mora demonstrates Sr concentrations in eggshells being highly variable rather discourages artisans seeking precise control of trace element concentrations in a medical-grade bone repair material.
The new ground of rejections use prior art Mansour to teach the trace element, e.g., Mg and Sr, concentrations in combination with Cazalbou which is used to teach the general features of calcium phosphate ceramics (not for trace element teaching); Melek and Mora are not being applied in the new ground of rejection as presented in this office action above. Therefore, the assertions regarding prior art teaching of Mg and Sr are moot.
Please refer to the entire office action as presented above as a complete response to the remarks/arguments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DX.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/MONICA A SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616