DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. [US 2019/0333676 A1] or Salomaki [US 2012/0139683 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Shin et al. discloses a component [figures 1A and 2B] comprising:
- a magnetic core [110] including: a body formed of a first material, defining a first opening [132] and a second opening [133] thereon, wherein the first material is a ferritic material [para 0031]; and
- a duct [130] formed of a second material [131], extending at least partially through the body between the first opening and the second opening, the first opening and the second opening being in fluid communication by way of the duct [figure 2A].
Regarding claims 2-3, Shin et al. discloses the duct defines a flow path for a fluid coolant [figures 2A-2B, para 0026, 0027, 0031]], wherein the first opening is an inlet for the fluid coolant, and second opening is an outlet for the fluid coolant with the fluid coolant disposed in the duct.
Regarding claims 7-8, Shin et al. further discloses a set of windings [120] arranged around a portion of the magnetic core, wherein conductive windings are formed from an electrically conductive third material [para 0027].
Regarding claims 9-10, Shin et al. further discloses a sump portion [part of cooling circuit 240 outside the core] wherein the sump portion is in fluid communication with the duct.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 6, Salomaki discloses a component [figure 1] comprising:
- a magnetic core [1] including: a body formed of a first material, defining a first opening and a second opening thereon [figure 1]; and
- a duct [2, 8, 9] formed of a second material, extending at least partially through the body between the first opening and the second opening, the first opening and the second opening being in fluid communication by way of the duct [figure 1], wherein the second material is thermally conductive and electrically insulative [thermal paste].
Salomaki further discloses the duct defines a flow path for a fluid coolant [figures 1, 4-9]
Regarding claims 7-8, Salomaki further discloses a set of windings [23] arranged around a portion of the magnetic core, wherein conductive windings are formed from an electrically conductive third material.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837