Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a
printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention.
1. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
unpatentable over Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker.
2. Regarding Claim 1:
Becker Teaches sending, from a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system coupled to a calibration assembly, a light signal to a fiber optic cable coupled to the calibration assembly, ([Abstract]: The invention relates to a calibration device for calibrating a lighting time camera system (1) each having a lighting (12) and a light runtime camera (20). It is contemplated that the calibration device comprises the following components: a light guide system (52) having a plurality of optical fibers (58) of different lengths or adapted to selectively integrate an optical fiber (58) from a set of optical fibers (58) of different lengths - a coupling device (54) for detecting a light emitted by the illumination (10) of the light transit time camera system (1) and for coupling this light into the optical waveguide (58) or the optical waveguide (58) and - an illumination device (56) for illuminating a Light transit time sensor (22) of the light transit time camera (20) via the camera optics (25) with the light of the optical waveguide (58) or the optical waveguide (58), wherein the illumination device (56) positioning means (60) for positioning the decoupling regions (62) of the optical waveguides (58) or the decoupling region (62) of the optical waveguide (5 8). The invention further relates to the use of such a calibration device for calibrating corresponding time-of-flight camera systems (1)). Becker further teaches, ([0017]: In the inventive use of a calibration device for calibrating each of a lighting and a light cycle camera having light time camera systems is provided that the above-mentioned calibration device is selected for use. In other words, the invention relates to a method for calibrating, in each case, an illumination and a time of flight camera having a time of flight camera system by means of a calibration device mentioned above). Becker continues to teach, ([Figs. 3-7]: Show the TOF system coupled to a calibration system with an optical fiber). Becker teaches receiving, by the calibration assembly, the light signal from the fiber optic cable; diffusing the light signal via one or more diffusers on the calibration assembly, ([0042]: The individual fibers / optical fibers 58 project the light onto an imaging screen 66 or alternatively to a diffusely scattering optical element 68 the illumination device 56 that of the light transit time sensor 22 (the light runtime camera 20 ) is displayed). Becker teaches generating, by the TOF sensor system,
one or more measurements based on the diffused light signal, ([0042]: For such a calibration of light transit time camera systems, it is necessary to measure known light transit times. The different light transit times are generated in this calibration device by a set of optical fibers with multiple optical fibers (fibers) of different lengths. By cleverly arranging the optical waveguides / fibers, all the required measurements can be carried out in a single, static setting in this way). Becker teaches based on the one or more measurements, determining one or more calibration values configured to compensate for one or more errors in the one or more measurements, ([0041]: Offset values must be determined for all pixels of a matrix (FPPN). This is done either via large, precisely aligned reference surfaces, or by direct, diffuse illumination of the entire pixel matrix with a known phase angle of the optical signal). Becker further teaches, ([0040]: For a more accurate determination of the phase position, it is therefore necessary to either directly measure the signals actually generated or to determine the deviations of the phase angles from the approximate calculation. To determine the deviations, it is customary to measure the time-of-flight camera in several, precisely adjustable distances to a reference object. From this, a correction function and / or a look-up table can be generated).
3. Regarding Claim 3:
Becker teaches coupling the calibration assembly to the TOF sensor system, wherein the coupling is configured to create a seal between the calibration assembly and the TOF sensor system, wherein the seal contains the light signal within at least one of an optical path from the TOF sensor system to the calibration assembly and an enclosed space between the TOF sensor system and the calibration assembly, and wherein the seal prevents light from an external environment outside of the optical path or the enclosed space from entering the optical path or the enclosed space, ([0041]: Advantageously, the calibration device further comprises a device for isolating the light from the illumination via the coupling device, the light guide system and the illumination device to the light transit time sensor light path of extraneous light from the outside. In this way, disturbing light input from the outside is prevented. Said device is usually formed by components of the coupling device, the light guide system and the illumination device).
4. Regarding Claim 5:
Becker teaches a first end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a first portion of the calibration assembly and a second end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a second portion of the calibration assembly, wherein the first portion of the calibration assembly is coupled to a portion of the TOF sensor system that includes a first optical path from a light source of the TOF sensor system to the first portion of the calibration assembly, and wherein the second portion of the calibration assembly is coupled to a different portion of the TOF sensor system that includes a second optical path from the second portion of the calibration assembly to a TOF sensor chip of the TOF sensor system, ([Figs. 4-7]: Show the first end of the fiber connected to the input of the calibration assembly, corresponding to a first optical path from a light source, and the second end of the fiber is connected to the output of the calibration assembly, corresponding to a second optical path from the calibration assembly to the TOF sensor chip).
5. Regarding Claim 6:
Becker teaches the first portion of the calibration assembly comprises at least one of an aperture limiter, a diffuser, a lens, and the first end of the fiber optic cable, wherein the second portion of the calibration assembly comprises at least one of the second end of the fiber optic cable and the one or more diffusers, ([0033]: The light transit time sensor 22 has at least one time-of-flight pixel, preferably also a pixel array, and is designed in particular as a PMD sensor. The camera optics 25 typically consists of improving the imaging characteristics of multiple optical elements. The beam shaping optics 15 the transmitting unit 10 may be formed for example as a reflector or lens optics. In a very simple embodiment, if necessary, optical elements can also be dispensed with both on the receiving side and on the transmitting side). Becker further teaches, ([Fig. 1]: Shows shaping optics 15 on the first portion). Becker goes on to teach, ([Figs. 4-7]: Shows an aperture limiter and the first end of the fiber optic coupled to the TOF system output. In addition, the second portion comprises the second end of the fiber optic and a diffuser).
6. Regarding Claim 8:
Becker teaches a first end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a first portion of the calibration assembly and a second end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a second portion of the calibration assembly, wherein a length of the fiber optic cable is above a threshold length, and wherein at least a portion of the fiber optic cable is at least partially curved, at least partially looped, at least partially bent, or at least partially coiled, ([0033]: Alternative to a single optical fiber (single fiber or fiber bundle) 58 with a defined length, you can use a fiber bundle with optical fibers / single fibers 58 use different lengths). Becker further teaches, ([Figs. 4-7]: Shows at different positions the fiber optic is partially curved, partially bent, and partially coiled).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
7. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Daami et al (CN 114690200 A), hereinafter Daami.
8. Regarding Claim 2:
Becker does not teach scattering the light signal to generate homogenized light with a homogeneous phase front, wherein the diffused light signal comprises the homogenized light with the homogeneous phase front.
However, Daami teaches a Lidar system and method of use, ([Abstract]: The invention relates to a LIDAR imaging system of FMCW type). Daami further teaches, ([0156]: “During step 220, the spatial phase modulator 61 distributes the corrected spatial phase applying the reference signal”, “correcting the spatial phase distribution may be uniform”). Daami goes on to teach, ([0091]: In this example, the optical transmission device 30 is adapted to make the reference signal uniform illumination matrix detector 50. In order to this purpose, in the example of FIG. 1 A, in the case, it comprises a light splitting cubic 31 downstream of the suitable for the intensity of the angle distribution of the diffuser 32, so obtain to thereby the flat distribution of the intensity of the reference signal).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker with Daami to include scattering the light signal to generate homogenized light with a homogeneous phase front, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker with Daami, since such a configuration can achieve repeatable targets: A flat-top, homogeneous profile ensures every pixel on the sensor array receives identical photon flux, isolating the sensor's response from localized beam defects. In addition, such configurations can remove phase distortions: Maintaining a homogeneous phase front creates a predictable, planar wave across the entire field of view, yielding precise, unbiased measurements for time-of-flight (ToF) and phase-shift calculations.
9. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker, as applied to Claims 1 & 3, in view of Haggerty et al (CN 108135447 A), hereinafter Haggerty.
10. Regarding Claim 4:
Becker does not teach applying one or more sealants at one or more interfacing locations between the TOF sensor system and the calibration assembly, wherein a first side of each sealant of the one or more sealants is placed in contact with a surface of the TOF sensor system and a second side of the sealant is placed in contact with a surface of the calibration assembly, wherein each of the one or more sealants comprises a light isolation material, and wherein the one or more sealants at the one or more interfacing locations between the TOF sensor system and the calibration assembly create at least part of the seal between the calibration assembly and the TOF sensor system.
However, Haggerty teaches a calibration system for an endoscope including a laser range finder, ([0140]: range finder can be any type of finder (e.g., a mechanical position sensor, ultrasonic range finder, laser or other optical range finder, etc)). Hagerty further teaches, ([0318]: calibration device 780 may be light-tight box or other volume, comprising an opening 782, an opening 782 sized to fit the endoscope 10 of the inserting part 14. The opening 782 can add the gasket, so that the endoscope 10 is installed in the calibration device 780, against the endoscope 10 of the inserting part 14 forms a light-tight seal). See figure 73.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker with Haggerty to include one or more sealants at one or more interfacing locations wherein each of the one or more sealants comprises a light isolation material, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker with Haggerty, since such a configuration can improve environmental protection, ensuring that dust and moisture do not enter the calibration and Lidar systems. In addition, such light-tight sealants can improve eye safety and eliminate the need for specialty protective eyewear when working in close proximity to the system.
11. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Mehnert et al (US 10703508 B1), hereinafter Mehnert.
12. Regarding Claim 7:
Becker does not teach one or more interior surfaces of the calibration assembly are coated with a light absorbing material.
However, Mehnert teaches a calibration system and method for equipment mounted on UAVs, including laser range finders, ([Col. 5, Lines 59-61]: the object detection module 118 can receive inputs from ultrasonic or laser range finders). Mehnert further teaches, ([Col. 9, Lines 39-51]: As shown in FIG. 3A, to prevent the influence of external light sources on the cameras 106, in some examples, the system 300 can also include an enclosure 308. The enclosure 308 can comprise a simple box or drape to prevent external lights sources from reaching the cameras 106. The enclosure 308 can enclose at least the cameras 106 and screens 102, but may also include other system 300 components (e.g. the test computer 108 or cabling). In some examples, the interior of the enclosure 308 can also include a light absorbing coating to reduce the amount of light reflecting off the inside of the enclosure 308 walls from the cameras 106. To this end, in some examples, the frames of the screens 102 can also include a light absorbing coating).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker with Mehnert to include one or more interior surfaces of the calibration assembly are coated with a light absorbing material, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker with Mehnert, since, (Mehnert: [Col. 9, Lines 39-51]: By substantially limiting the light reflected by the screens 102 and the light provided by external sources, the cameras 106 can more readily focus on the images on the screens 102, rather than the screens 102 themselves). In addition, such coatings can eliminate ghosting and multipath interference, improve SNR, and yield highly accurate geometric and radiometric calibrations.
13. Claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Schwarz et al (US 20170307738 A1), hereinafter Schwarz.
14. Regarding Claim 9:
Becker teaches one or more calibration values are configured to compensate for at least one of a phase delay associated with the one or more measurements, a time delay associated with the one or more measurements, ([0040]: For a more accurate determination of the phase position, it is therefore necessary to either directly measure the signals actually generated or to determine the deviations of the phase angles from the approximate calculation. To determine the deviations, it is customary to measure the time-of-flight camera in several, precisely adjustable distances to a reference object. From this, a correction function and / or a look-up table can be generated).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would understand that measurement of the phase angle deviation with a known pathlength or target distance will result in both the phase delay and time delay being known.
Becker teaches pixel-to-pixel variations, ([0033]: Similarly, offset values must be determined for all pixels of a matrix (FPPN)).
Becker does not teach a temperature effect on the one or more measurements.
However, Schwarz teaches, ([0023]: The processor can be configured to receive response signals from the photodiode. Further, the processor can be configured to adjust the bias voltage according to a response signal caused by the calibration pulse to compensate for temperature changes of the photodiode).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker with Schwarz to include compensation for a temperature effect on the one or more measurements, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker with Schwarz, since, (Schwarz: [0014]: It can be advantageous for LiDAR sensors to keep their avalanche photodiode(s) operating with a constant gain. For example, LiDAR sensors can use the amplitude of the electric pulse provided by the avalanche photodiode to infer information about a target surface of an object, primarily related to the surface's reflectance. After processing, this amplitude can be used to help distinguish target objects with different reflectances. For example, lane markings and traffic signs can be distinguished from other objects based on their reflectance. Changes in gain can make it difficult to determine a true reflectance of an object because the resulting signal amplitude would be inconsistent. Furthermore, objects at a long range or with a minimum reflectance might not be detected at all if the gain drops too far due to increased temperature. Finally, if the gain increases significantly, even near to or beyond that of the breakdown voltage, spurious noise current from the avalanche photodiode can cause false detection events).
15. Regarding Claim 10:
Becker teaches a calibration assembly coupled to a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system and further coupled to a fiber optic cable, wherein the TOF sensor system is configured to transmit a light signal through the calibration assembly and the fiber optic cable coupled to the calibration assembly; one or more diffusers on the calibration system, the one or more diffusers configured to receive the light signal from the fiber optic cable and diffuse the light signal as the light signal passes through the one or more diffusers; one or more measurements generated by the TOF sensor system based on the diffused light signal; and based on the one or more measurements, determine one or more calibration values configured to compensate for one or more errors in the one or more measurements.
See Claim 1.
Becker teaches signal processing, ([0042]: Time-of-flight cameras designed according to the PMD principle 1 do not measure the light transit time directly but via the determination of the phase position of a modulated light signal. The determination of the phase position from the actual measurement data of the camera happens approximately via known formulas of signal processing. These theoretical formulas are based on ideal signal forms (optical and electrical), which are not always realized, especially at modulation frequencies of several megahertz. For a more accurate determination of the phase position, it is therefore necessary to either directly measure the signals actually generated or to determine the deviations of the phase angles from the approximate calculation. To determine the deviations, it is customary to measure the time-of-flight camera in several, precisely adjustable distances to a reference object. From this, a correction function and / or a look-up table can be generated). While it can be assumed that a processor is required to perform the signal processing disclosed by Becker, this is not expressly taught.
However, Schwarz teaches a calibration system for Lidar, including fiber optic coupling, ([0045]: As shown in FIG. 2, the laser 30 outputs the emitted pulse to the fiber optic cable 34, which redirects the emitted pulse. The emitted pulse can then enter a fiber optic splitter 36. The fiber optic splitter 36 can separate the emitted pulse into a plurality of separate pulses each having a controllable portion of the intensity of the emitted pulse. In the present embodiment, the pulse can be split into two separate pulses and a delay path 38, such as a fiber cable delay loop, can be introduced to ensure the external pulse does not leave the sensor 2 until the calibration pulse can be received by a pulse receiving sensor 60). Schwarz further teaches, ([0023]: The processor can be configured to receive response signals from the photodiode. Further, the processor can be configured to adjust the bias voltage according to a response signal caused by the calibration pulse to compensate for temperature changes of the photodiode).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker with Schwarz to include one or more processors, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker with Schwarz, since, (Schwarz: [0014]: It can be advantageous for LiDAR sensors to keep their avalanche photodiode(s) operating with a constant gain. For example, LiDAR sensors can use the amplitude of the electric pulse provided by the avalanche photodiode to infer information about a target surface of an object, primarily related to the surface's reflectance. After processing, this amplitude can be used to help distinguish target objects with different reflectances. For example, lane markings and traffic signs can be distinguished from other objects based on their reflectance. Changes in gain can make it difficult to determine a true reflectance of an object because the resulting signal amplitude would be inconsistent. Furthermore, objects at a long range or with a minimum reflectance might not be detected at all if the gain drops too far due to increased temperature. Finally, if the gain increases significantly, even near to or beyond that of the breakdown voltage, spurious noise current from the avalanche photodiode can cause false detection events). Indeed, due to the nature and volume of the data collected for current 3D point clouds, typically comprising hundreds of thousands or millions of data points per point cloud, Lidar systems use digital signal processing which requires both processors and instructions stored in memory for those processors to operate. Without such automated processing the measurements and calculations would be practically impossible to achieve within a reasonable timeframe.
16. Regarding Claim 12:
Becker teaches a coupling between the calibration assembly and the TOF sensor system creates a seal between the calibration assembly and the TOF sensor system, wherein the seal contains the light signal within at least one of an optical path from the TOF sensor system to the calibration assembly and an enclosed space between the TOF sensor system and the calibration assembly, and wherein the seal prevents light from an external environment outside of the optical path or the enclosed space from entering the optical path or the enclosed space. See Claim 3.
17. Regarding Claim 14:
Becker teaches a first end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a first portion of the calibration assembly and a second end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a second portion of the calibration assembly, wherein the first portion of the calibration assembly is coupled to a portion of the TOF sensor system that includes a first optical path from a light source of the TOF sensor system to the first portion of the calibration assembly, and wherein the second portion of the calibration assembly is coupled to a different portion of the TOF sensor system that includes a second optical path from the second portion of the calibration assembly to a TOF sensor chip of the TOF sensor system. See Claim 5.
18. Regarding Claim 15:
Becker teaches the first portion of the calibration assembly comprises at least one of an aperture limiter, a diffuser, a lens, and the first end of the fiber optic cable, and wherein the second portion of the calibration assembly comprises at least one of the second end of the fiber optic cable and the one or more diffusers. See Claim 6.
19. Regarding Claim 17:
Becker teaches a first end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a first portion of the calibration assembly and a second end of the fiber optic cable is coupled to a second portion of the calibration assembly, wherein a length of the fiber optic cable is above a threshold length, and wherein at least a portion of the fiber optic cable is at least partially curved, at least partially looped, at least partially bent, or at least partially coiled. See Claim 8.
20. Regarding Claim 18:
Becker as modified by Schwarz teaches one or more calibration values are configured to compensate for at least one of a phase delay associated with the one or more measurements, a time delay associated with the one or more measurements, pixel-to-pixel variations, and a temperature effect on the one or more measurements.
See Claim 9.
21. Regarding Claim 19:
Becker teaches the calibration system further comprising the TOF sensor system, ([Figs. 3-7]: Show the TOF system coupled to a calibration system with an optical fiber).
22. Regarding Claim 20:
Becker teaches send, from a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system coupled to a calibration assembly, a light signal to a fiber optic cable coupled to the calibration assembly; receive, by the calibration assembly, the light signal from the fiber optic cable;
diffuse the light signal via one or more diffusers on the calibration assembly;
generate, by the TOF sensor system, one or more measurements based on the diffused light signal; and based on the one or more measurements, determine one or more calibration values configured to compensate for one or more errors in the one or more measurements. See Claim 1. See Claim 10 for examiners analysis of signal processing disclosed by Becker which is incorporated herein regarding a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions.
Becker does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions.
However, Schwarz teaches, ([Claim 20]: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: output a laser pulse using a laser of a LiDAR sensor, the laser pulse being split by an optical splitter into (i) at least one calibration pulse, and (ii) at least one external pulse directed toward an object external from the LiDAR sensor; detect the at least one calibration pulse from a photodetector of the LiDAR sensor; based on the at least one calibration pulse, adjust a bias voltage of the photodetector of the LiDAR sensor).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker with Schwarz to include A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker with Schwarz, since, (Schwarz: [0014]: It can be advantageous for LiDAR sensors to keep their avalanche photodiode(s) operating with a constant gain. For example, LiDAR sensors can use the amplitude of the electric pulse provided by the avalanche photodiode to infer information about a target surface of an object, primarily related to the surface's reflectance. After processing, this amplitude can be used to help distinguish target objects with different reflectances. For example, lane markings and traffic signs can be distinguished from other objects based on their reflectance. Changes in gain can make it difficult to determine a true reflectance of an object because the resulting signal amplitude would be inconsistent. Furthermore, objects at a long range or with a minimum reflectance might not be detected at all if the gain drops too far due to increased temperature. Finally, if the gain increases significantly, even near to or beyond that of the breakdown voltage, spurious noise current from the avalanche photodiode can cause false detection events). Indeed, due to the nature and volume of the data collected for current 3D point clouds, Lidar systems use digital signal processing which requires both processors and instructions stored in memory for those processors to operate. Without such automated processing the measurements and calculations would be practically impossible to achieve.
23. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker, in view of Schwarz et al (US 20170307738 A1), hereinafter Schwarz, as applied to Claim 10, and further in view of Daami et at (CN 114690200 A), hereinafter Daami.
24. Regarding Claim 11:
Becker as modified by Schwarz does not teach diffusing the light signal comprises scattering the light signal to generate homogenized light with a homogeneous phase front, wherein the diffused light signal comprises the homogenized light with the homogeneous phase front.
However, Daami teaches this: See Claim 2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker and Schwarz with Daami to include scattering the light signal to generate homogenized light with a homogeneous phase front, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker and Schwarz with Daami, since such a configuration can achieve repeatable targets: A flat-top, homogeneous profile ensures every pixel on the sensor array receives identical photon flux, isolating the sensor's response from localized beam defects. In addition, such configurations can remove phase distortions: Maintaining a homogeneous phase front creates a predictable, planar wave across the entire field of view, yielding precise, unbiased measurements for time-of-flight (ToF) and phase-shift calculations.
25. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker, in view of Schwarz et al (US 20170307738 A1), hereinafter Schwarz, as applied to Claims 10 & 12, and further in view of Haggerty et at (CN 108135447 A), hereinafter Haggerty.
26. Regarding Claim 13:
Becker as modified by Schwarz does not teach the calibration assembly is coupled to the TOF sensor system using one or more sealants applied at one or more interfacing locations between the TOF sensor system and the calibration assembly, wherein a first side of each sealant of the one or more sealants is placed in contact with a surface of the TOF sensor system and a second side of the sealant is placed in contact with a surface of the calibration assembly, wherein each of the one or more sealants comprises a light isolation material, and wherein the one or more sealants at the one or more interfacing locations between the TOF sensor system and the calibration assembly create at least part of the seal between the calibration assembly and the TOF sensor system.
However, Haggerty teaches this: See Claim 4.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker and Schwarz with Haggerty to include one or more sealants at one or more interfacing locations wherein each of the one or more sealants comprises a light isolation material, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker and Schwarz with Haggerty, since such a configuration can improve environmental protection, ensuring that dust and moisture do not enter the calibration and Lidar systems. In addition, such light-tight sealants can improve eye safety and eliminate the need for specialty protective eyewear when working in close proximity to the system.
27. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al (DE 102016221183 A1), hereinafter Becker, in view of Schwarz et al (US 20170307738 A1), hereinafter Schwarz, as applied to Claim 10, and further in view of Mehnert et at (US 10703508 B1), hereinafter Mehnert.
28. Regarding Claim 16:
Becker as modified by Schwarz does not teach one or more interior surfaces of the calibration assembly are coated with a light absorbing material.
However, Mehnert teaches this: See Claim 7.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Becker and Schwarz with Mehnert to include one or more interior surfaces of the calibration assembly are coated with a light absorbing material, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Becker and Schwarz with Mehnert, since, (Mehnert: [Col. 9, Lines 39-51]: By substantially limiting the light reflected by the screens 102 and the light provided by external sources, the cameras 106 can more readily focus on the images on the screens 102, rather than the screens 102 themselves). In addition, such coatings can eliminate ghosting and multipath interference, improve SNR, and yield highly accurate geometric and radiometric calibrations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
US 10939089 B1: Discloses a calibration apparatus for a TOF sensor.
/J.W.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645