DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-20, is/are filed on 4/14/2026 are currently pending. Claim(s) 16-20 is/are withdrawn without traverse, 1-15 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The term ‘substantially spherical fiber’ in claim(s) 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term ‘substantially’ is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear from the specification what geometric boundary is covered by ‘substantially spherical.’ For the purposes of examination, the relevant claim limitations are interpreted as simply ‘spherical fiber.’ Applicant may overcome this rejection by deleting the word ‘substantially’ from the claim(s).
Dependent claim 3 is also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN (CN 209575955 U).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN discloses a filter (Figs. 1–2; [0023]) comprising: a filter cartridge (cylinder 7) comprising a side wall and an upper end ([0007], [0023]); a cartridge cover (top cover 3) disposed on the upper end of the filter cartridge, the cartridge cover and the filter cartridge together defining a first chamber, the top cover being fitted to and closing the cylinder by way of a top cover buckle (1) and cover seal ([0013], [0023]); a filter chamber disposed in the first chamber, CHEN stating that "the filter chamber in the cylinder includes a water distributor 4 and a filter screen 6" ([0023]); a fiber filter material (fiber balls 501) disposed in the filter chamber, the reference stating that the "filter medium fiber balls are placed in the filter chamber" ([0023]); a water intake channel (water inlet 11) disposed on the cartridge cover and in fluid communication with the filter chamber, "the top of the top cover is provided with a water inlet 11" ([0023]); and a water discharge channel (water outlet 10) in fluid communication with the filter chamber, the water pump (8) drawing filtered water from the bottom of the cylinder and discharging it through the outlet on one side ([0007], [0020], [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN discloses that the filter chamber comprises a first filter chamber and a second filter chamber located below the first filter chamber in a vertical direction, spaced from and in fluid communication with the first filter chamber, with the fiber filter material (501) disposed in the second filter chamber; the filter further comprising a water distribution sheet (water distributor 4) disposed in the first chamber, the water distribution sheet and the cartridge cover (3) together defining the first filter chamber; and a supporting component (filter screen 6) disposed in the first chamber and spaced below the water distribution sheet, the supporting component and the water distribution sheet together defining the second filter chamber. CHEN discloses this arrangement expressly, stating that "a water distributor and a filter screen are installed in the cylinder, and the filter media is located between the water distributor and the filter screen" ([0007]; see also [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, CHEN discloses a step disposed at an upper end of the side wall of the filter cartridge (cylinder 7), the water distribution sheet (water distributor 4) being seated on and supported at the upper end of the cylinder ([0007], [0023]); under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the internal support surface on which the water distributor is seated at the upper end of the cylinder constitutes the claimed step, and the water distribution sheet is disposed thereon.
Regarding claim 11, CHEN discloses that the filter cartridge further comprises a partition plate spaced below the supporting component (filter screen 6) in the vertical direction and integrally formed with the side wall of the cylinder, the supporting component, the partition plate, and the side wall together defining a transition chamber that converges the water flowing through the second filter chamber toward the pump; a second flange on which the supporting component is supported; a filter pump (water pump 8) disposed below the partition plate and comprising a filter pump water intake channel (the pump inlet at the bottom of the cylinder) and the water discharge channel (outlet 10); and a downwardly recessed portion of the partition plate forming a filter pump water inlet in communication with the filter pump water intake channel, CHEN stating that "the water pump is installed at the lower part of the cylinder" and "the bottom of the filter cylinder is connected to the water pump inlet" ([0007]; see also [0023]).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN discloses a filter (Figs. 1–2; [0023]) comprising: a filter cartridge (cylinder 7) comprising a side wall and an upper end; a cartridge cover (top cover 3) disposed on the upper end of the filter cartridge; a first water distribution sheet (water distributor 4) disposed inside the filter cartridge, the first water distribution sheet and the cartridge cover together defining a first filter chamber (the upper region between the top cover and the water distributor); a second water distribution sheet (filter screen 6) disposed inside the filter cartridge, the second water distribution sheet and the first water distribution sheet together defining a second filter chamber (the region between the water distributor and the filter screen); a fiber filter material (fiber balls 501) disposed in the second filter chamber; a water intake channel (water inlet 11) in fluid communication with the first filter chamber; and a water discharge channel (water outlet 10) in fluid communication with the second filter chamber ([0007], [0023]). Each limitation being disclosed, claim 12 is anticipated.
Regarding claim 13, CHEN discloses a partition plate disposed in the filter cartridge, the partition plate and the second water distribution sheet (filter screen 6) together defining a transition chamber (the region between the filter screen and the pump), and a filter pump (water pump 8) disposed below the partition plate and in fluid communication with the transition chamber ([0007], [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (CN 209575955 U) in view of KANG (CN 219023567 U).
Regarding claim 2, CHEN discloses the filter of claim 1 and further discloses that the fiber filter material comprises substantially spherical fiber balls (501) formed by processing fiber filaments through steps including "crimping, filament separation, knotting" ([0012]), i.e., a plurality of fiber filaments knotted together. CHEN does not state that the filaments are knotted together by a fixing member disposed at a center of the fiber ball. KANG, in the same field of fiber-ball water filters, teaches a polyester fiber ball (6) that is a porous structure formed by multiple polyester fiber filaments "tied together at their middle portions" ([0005], [0024]) — i.e., a plurality of fiber filaments knotted together by a fixing member (the central tie) located at the center of the ball. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the knotted fiber balls of CHEN with the central-tie structure taught by KANG, in order to obtain a stable, substantially spherical porous body whose filaments radiate uniformly from the center for effective and regenerable filtration. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references are directed to knotted polyester/vinylon fiber-ball media for water filtration, and tying the filaments at their midpoint is a recognized technique for producing such spherical media; this is no more than the combination of known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of CHEN and KANG discloses the filter of claim 2. KANG teaches that the density of the polyester fiber balls is 1.28–1.48 g/cm³ ([0013], [0025]), a range that encompasses the claimed density of 1.38 g/cm³; where a claimed value lies within a range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). The references do not expressly recite that the volume of the fiber balls is 40%–60% of the volume of the filter cartridge or that the specific surface area of each ball is 3000 m²/m³. However, the volumetric fill ratio of media within a cartridge and the specific surface area of that media are result-effective variables that govern the trade-off between filtration efficiency and head loss; CHEN itself recognizes this relationship, teaching that the media is arranged such that "the pores in the filter layer gradually decrease along the direction of water flow" for improved filtration ([0011], [0024]). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to optimize the fill volume and to select media having a given specific surface area through routine experimentation to achieve the desired filtration performance, absent any showing that the recited values are critical or produce unexpected results (MPEP 2144.05 II).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN discloses the filter of claim 4 and discloses a detachable connection within the same device, namely the top cover (3) connected to the cylinder by a top cover buckle (1) ([0013]); KANG likewise teaches detachably connecting the housing parts by a fastening clamp (3) engaging connecting rings (16, 21) with a limiting groove and a mating waterproof platform ([0031]–[0032]). Neither reference expressly recites first grooves and first bumps on the water distribution sheet cooperating with downwardly-extending first hooks bearing second bumps on the cartridge cover. The provision of a snap-fit connection formed by cooperating grooves, bumps, and hooks is, however, a conventional and well-known means of detachably joining two molded components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the connection between the water distribution sheet and the cartridge cover of CHEN as such a groove-bump-hook snap-fit, in order to permit tool-free removal of the water distribution sheet for cleaning and replacement of the media — the cleanability and regeneration benefit expressly emphasized by CHEN ([0014]) and KANG ([0017]). Substituting one known detachable-fastening structure for another to obtain this predictable benefit requires only ordinary mechanical skill (KSR).
Regarding claim 6, neither CHEN nor KANG expressly recites the upstanding side wall of the supporting component terminating in an outward first flange seated on a step at the upper end of the cartridge side wall. KANG, however, teaches an analogous flange-on-ledge seating, providing a connecting ring (16) with a limiting groove that receives a mating waterproof platform ([n0031]–[n0032]). Configuring the supporting component as a tray having an upstanding wall and an outwardly-extending flange that rests on an internal step of the cartridge is a conventional way to locate and support a removable filter-support member while sealing the flow path against bypass. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to so configure the supporting component of CHEN, in order to support the component within the cartridge and prevent unfiltered water from bypassing the media, with a reasonable expectation of success, as this involves only routine mechanical design choices yielding predictable results (KSR; MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 7, for the same reasons given for claim 5, it would have been obvious to detachably connect the supporting component to the water distribution sheet of CHEN by cooperating grooves, bumps, and hooks (the water distribution sheet bearing first grooves and first bumps, and the upstanding side wall of the supporting component bearing corresponding second grooves and hooks with second bumps). The additional recitation of a handle extending vertically from the water distribution sheet toward the cartridge cover is a conventional expedient that facilitates manual lifting and removal of the component; providing a pull-handle on a removable filter part is old and well known. It would have been obvious to provide the snap-fit connection together with such a handle in order to enable convenient, tool-free removal of the media stack for the cleaning and regeneration taught by CHEN ([0014]) and KANG ([0017]), producing predictable results (KSR).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CHEN (CN 209575955 U).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN discloses the filter of claim 4 including the water distribution sheet (water distributor 4) that distributes incoming water across the media ([0007], [0023]), but does not teach the recited central first boss with first through holes, the radial first ribs of increasing height toward the edge, the circumferential second ribs, the interposed second through holes, or the taller central reinforcing rib. However, forming a water-distribution/diffuser plate as a perforated plate reinforced by radial and circumferential ribs, having a central boss and an array of flow apertures, is a conventional structural design for a molded plate that must pass water flow while resisting the pressure of the overlying water column. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide such bosses, ribs, and apertures on the water distributor of CHEN in order to distribute the incoming water uniformly across the media while stiffening the plate against deflection under flow pressure, this being an ordinary optimization of the shape and configuration of a known component that produces predictable results (KSR; MPEP 2144.04, changes in shape/configuration).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (CN 209575955 U) in view of KANG (CN 219023567 U) and KUEPPER (US 11583788 B1).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN discloses the filter of claim 1 further comprising a supporting component (filter screen 6) that, with the cartridge cover, bounds the filter chamber in which the fiber filter material (501) is disposed, but does not expressly recite third through holes extending vertically therethrough, each elongated in a radial direction. KANG teaches a supporting/retaining member (filter cartridge 4) provided with "multiple through holes" arranged in rows for flow between chambers, the hole size being smaller than the media so as to retain it ([0028]); KUEPPER likewise teaches a perforated support (open-mesh cartridge 26 / inner basket 32) having perforations (40) and apertures (24) that pass flow while retaining the media (C6/60-65). Selecting an elongated, radially-extending (slotted) configuration for such through holes is a conventional perforation geometry. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the supporting component of CHEN with radially-elongated through holes, as suggested by the perforated supports of KANG and KUEPPER, in order to maximize the open flow area through the support while still retaining the fiber balls — a routine change in the shape of a known perforated support that yields predictable results (KSR; MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAZQUEZ (ES 1221455 U) in view of LI (CN 110575699 A), and further in view of PALMER (WO 2012159158 A1).
Regarding claim 14, VAZQUEZ discloses a water filter ([0067]) comprising: a water filter cartridge (hermetic housing 1) comprising an upper end (an upper mouth closed by a watertight lid 2); a multi-position valve (multi-phase valve system 3) disposed at the upper end of the water filter cartridge, through which two conduits access the housing and by which the water filter cartridge is placed in fluid communication with a pumping system, the valve system selectively directing flow for filtration or for washing ([0010], [0067], [0071]–[0076]); a fiber filter material (filter elements 9, bodies of polyester/polyethylene fibers of high filtering capacity) disposed in the water filter cartridge ([0028], [0068]); a water pump (the pumping system associated with the valve assembly, having a water inlet and a water outlet) ([0010], [0025]); and a water discharge channel disposed on the multi-position valve, the valve system directing filtered water out via the lower pipe (6) in filtration mode and directing dirt-laden water to a drain in washing mode ([0072], [0076]).
VAZQUEZ does not expressly disclose a coarse filter cartridge in fluid communication with the water inlet of the water pump, with a water intake channel disposed on the coarse filter cartridge.
LI teaches, in the same field of swimming-pool water filtration, a system in which a hair filter (13) — a coarse filter cartridge comprising a cylindrical body and an internal filter screen (133) for filtering hair and/or fibers — is connected upstream of and in fluid communication with the inlet of a water pump (14), which in turn feeds a downstream re-filter (15) that removes finer impurities ([0009]–[0011], [0050]–[0051]); the hair filter carries a water intake channel (inlets 11/131) ([0051]). LI teaches that placing the coarse hair filter ahead of the pump and main filter filters the water twice, making it "more thoroughly and cleaner" and reducing clogging of the downstream filter element ([0010], [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pool water filter of VAZQUEZ with a coarse filter cartridge in fluid communication with the water inlet of its pump, as taught by LI, in order to remove hair, fibers, and larger debris upstream of the main fiber-media filter. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination because LI expressly teaches that such a coarse-then-fine, two-stage arrangement provides more thorough filtration and reduces clogging of the main filter ([0010], [0030]), so that positioning a coarse pre-filter ahead of the main filter predictably extends the main filter's service life and delays its plugging. This is further consistent with the well-established practice, in filtering appliances such as swimming pools that must separate particles of differing size and character, of installing a coarse pre-filter ahead of the main filter to prolong the main filter's lifetime. The modification combines prior-art elements according to their established functions to achieve a predictable result and thus would have been obvious (KSR).
Additionally, PALMER teaches a swimming-pool filtration and backwash system employing valves (309, 310) that are selectively operated to place the filter in a forward-flow filtration mode or a reverse-flow backwash mode, and to direct water to the body of water or to a debris/drain path ([0029], [0039]–[0043]) — i.e., a multi-position valve controlling filter, backwash, and return flow paths. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to dispose such a multi-position valve at the upper end of the water filter cartridge in order to select among the filtration, backwash, and waste flow paths from a single, conveniently located top-mounted control, a conventional configuration for pool media filters that yields predictable flow-control results (KSR).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAZQUEZ (ES 1221455 U) in view of LI (CN 110575699 A), in view of PALMER (WO 2012159158 A1) and further in view of KUEPPER (US 11583788 B1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of VAZQUEZ and LI discloses the water filter of claim 14, wherein the fiber filter material comprises a plurality of fiber balls, VAZQUEZ disclosing the filter elements as sphere-like bodies of polyethylene fibers ([0028], [0068]). VAZQUEZ further teaches employing a fiber charge of approximately 750 grams of fibers as the filter medium ([0028]), which falls squarely within the claimed total mass of 240 g to 1000 g. VAZQUEZ does not expressly recite that the mass of each fiber ball is 3 g to 5 g. KUEPPER teaches a fiber-ball filter in which approximately 40 lightweight fibrous media balls form a filter set weighing about 5 ounces (~142 g) ([0050], [0067]) — i.e., approximately 3.5 g per ball, which falls within the claimed 3 g–5 g range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select individual fiber balls having a mass of 3–5 g and a total charge of 240–1000 g (C6/55-65), as taught or suggested by KUEPPER and VAZQUEZ, in order to provide a fiber-ball charge sized appropriately to the filtration area, flow rate, and housing volume of the pool filter. Such selection of media size and quantity is a routine, result-effective optimization producing predictable filtration performance, and the claimed ranges are met by, or overlap, the prior-art values (MPEP 2144.05; KSR).
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777