Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on July 23, 2026.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended.
Claims 3-4, 6-7, 11-12, 14-15 and 19-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13, 16-18 and 21-22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement received on May 19, 2026, has been considered.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claim 17 and cancellation of claim 20 have overcome the Claim Interpretation for claim 18 and 20 in accordance with MPEP §2111.04(II), conditional limitations (see remarks Pg. 6-7).
Applicant’s arguments (see remarks Pg. 6-7) with respect to the rejection(s) of
claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered, however, upon further consideration the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rahman et al., US 20240214851 A1, (hereinafter Rahman).
Regarding claim 1, Rahman teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive information about (i) L events and (ii) K event types, where L≥1andK≥1 (see ¶ [0148], e.g., the UE 116 transmits the report for n event-types(s), where 1≤n≤N and N=number of configured event-types. The n selected event-types can be fixed (e.g., based on a priority order), or reported by the UE 116 (e.g., via the trigger/message), or based on a signaling (DCI or MAC CE) from the NW 130. When the UE 116 reports the selection via a UCI, the UCI can be a two-part UCI, where UCI part 1 can include the information about the selected event-types (e.g., a N-bit bitmap) and UCI part 2 include the report of the selected event-types),
wherein at least one of the L events is associated with at least one of the K event types (see ¶ [0126], e.g., such reporting can be event-based, i.e., the UE 116 can initiate/trigger the report only when it detects an event associated with the report, where the event can be of a (event-)type: type 0, type 1, and so on. In one example, type 0 corresponds to a beam-related event, type 1 corresponds to a CSI-related event, type 2 corresponds to a time-domain channel property (TDCP)-related event, and type 3 can be a non-CSI-related event (examples provided later). In one example, if a metric (depending on the event-type) is less than or equal to a threshold (or greater than or equal to a threshold), the event is detected or declared positive.); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine whether to transmit a report based on at least one of L' events from the L events;
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, based on the determination, the report that includes an indicator indicating the L' events (see ¶ [0005], e.g., The UE includes a processor and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor. The transceiver is configured to transmit information including at least one of (i) a trigger indicating a need for transmitting a report and (ii) content associated with the report; see ¶ [0145], e.g., In one example, the information includes an event-type and content (each or a subset) or report quantity/quantities and the corresponding event.) :
wherein the indicator corresponds to one of:
a L-bit bitmap indicator (see ¶ [0152] - ¶ [0155], Analogously, one or more
examples described herein, in which the information includes a report-type, can be extended to the case when the information includes multiple report-types. The event-types of these report-types can be restricted to be the same (e.g., each are type0=beam) … When the UE 116 reports the selection via a UCI, the UCI can be a two-part UCI, where UCI part 1 can include the information about the selected report-types (e.g., a M-bit bitmap) and UCI part 2 include the report of the selected report-types. In one example, the UE 116 transmits the report for each configured report-types),
a log2 L-bit indicator, and
a log2 L-bit indicator and a [log2 (L/L')] bit indicator, and
wherein, when the indicator corresponds to (iii), the [log2 Li-bit indicator is in an uplink control information (UCI) part 1 of the report and the [log2 (L/L')]-bit indicator is in an UCI part 2 of the report (Note that, these are additional alternate limitation and these elements are necessarily not required within BRI of the claim limitation to transmit the report).
Regarding claim 2, Rahman teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Rahman further teaches, wherein, when K=L, each of the L events is associated with a corresponding event type (see ¶ [0141], e.g., In one example, the information includes an event-type (e.g., type0=beam) and the corresponding event; see ¶ [0148] - ¶ [0151], e.g., In one example, the UE 116 transmits the report for each configured event-types.).
Regarding claim 5, Rahman teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Rahman further teaches, wherein Lk events are associated with a corresponding event type, where L=∑k=1KLk (see ¶ [0138], e.g., In one example, the information includes an event-type and content (each or a subset) or report quantity/quantities.).
Regarding claim 8, Rahman teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Rahman further teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the L' events, a report quantity, where the report quantity is associated with the L' events, and include the report quantity in the report (see ¶ [0105] - ¶ [0109], e.g., The report is to facilitate/enable efficient/timely/fast/reliable communication over the link/channel between a target entity (e.g., NW/gNB or another device) and the UE 116, and the content (if reported) can include a quantity or quantities … In one example, the content includes CSI-related quantity/quantities. For example, at least one of (RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, LI).).
Regarding claim 9, Rahman teaches a base station (BS), comprising:
a processor; and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to: transmit information about (i) L events and (ii) K event types, where L≥1andK≥1 (see ¶ [0148], e.g., the UE 116 transmits the report for n event-types(s), where 1≤n≤N and N=number of configured event-types. The n selected event-types can be fixed (e.g., based on a priority order), or reported by the UE 116 (e.g., via the trigger/message), or based on a signaling (DCI or MAC CE) from the NW 130. When the UE 116 reports the selection via a UCI, the UCI can be a two-part UCI, where UCI part 1 can include the information about the selected event-types (e.g., a N-bit bitmap) and UCI part 2 include the report of the selected event-types),
wherein at least one of the L events is associated with at least one of the K event types (see ¶ [0126], e.g., such reporting can be event-based, i.e., the UE 116 can initiate/trigger the report only when it detects an event associated with the report, where the event can be of a (event-)type: type 0, type 1, and so on. In one example, type 0 corresponds to a beam-related event, type 1 corresponds to a CSI-related event, type 2 corresponds to a time-domain channel property (TDCP)-related event, and type 3 can be a non-CSI-related event (examples provided later). In one example, if a metric (depending on the event-type) is less than or equal to a threshold (or greater than or equal to a threshold), the event is detected or declared positive.); and
receive a report that includes an indicator indicating the L' events (see ¶ [0005], e.g., The UE includes a processor and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor. The transceiver is configured to transmit information including at least one of (i) a trigger indicating a need for transmitting a report and (ii) content associated with the report; see ¶ [0145], e.g., In one example, the information includes an event-type and content (each or a subset) or report quantity/quantities and the corresponding event.),
wherein the indicator corresponds to one of:
a L-bit bitmap indicator (see ¶ [0152] - ¶ [0155], Analogously, one or more
examples described herein, in which the information includes a report-type, can be extended to the case when the information includes multiple report-types. The event-types of these report-types can be restricted to be the same (e.g., each are type0=beam) … When the UE 116 reports the selection via a UCI, the UCI can be a two-part UCI, where UCI part 1 can include the information about the selected report-types (e.g., a M-bit bitmap) and UCI part 2 include the report of the selected report-types. In one example, the UE 116 transmits the report for each configured report-types),
a log2 L-bit indicator, and
a log2 L-bit indicator and a log2 LL'-bit indicator, and
wherein, when the indicator corresponds to (iii), the [log2 Li-bit indicator is in an uplink control information (UCI) part 1 of the report and the [log2 (L/L')]-bit indicator is in an UCI part 2 of the report (Note that, these are additional alternate limitation and these elements are necessarily not required within BRI of the claim limitation to transmit the report).
Regarding claim 10, Rahman teaches the limitations of Claim 9.
Rahman further teaches, wherein, when K=L, each of the L events is associated with a corresponding event type (see ¶ [0141], e.g., In one example, the information includes an event-type (e.g., type0=beam) and the corresponding event; see ¶ [0148] - ¶ [0151], e.g., In one example, the UE 116 transmits the report for each configured event-types.).
Regarding claim 13, Rahman teaches the limitations of Claim 9.
Rahman further teaches, wherein Lk events are associated with a corresponding event type, where L=∑k=1KLk (see ¶ [0138], e.g., In one example, the information includes an event-type and content (each or a subset) or report quantity/quantities.).
Regarding claim 16, Rahman teaches the limitations of Claim 9.
Rahman further teaches, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the L' events, a report quantity, where the report quantity is associated with the L' events, and include the report quantity in the report (see ¶ [0105] - ¶ [0109], e.g., The report is to facilitate/enable efficient/timely/fast/reliable communication over the link/channel between a target entity (e.g., NW/gNB or another device) and the UE 116, and the content (if reported) can include a quantity or quantities … In one example, the content includes CSI-related quantity/quantities. For example, at least one of (RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, LI).).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 and 21-22 are in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11677451 B2 issued to Rahman et al.
US 20180124625 A1 issued to Luo et al.
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472