DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cumings et al. (US 9,926,512 B2, hereinafter “Cumings”).
In regard to claims 1 and 2, Cumings discloses a method/an apparatus for extracting desired components from plant material including cannabis (Abstract), wherein the method comprises (Fig. 1 and Fig. 9; Note: Fig. 9 shows apparatus matched in the process diagram shown in Fig. 1; col. 6, line 60 thru col. 7, line 50):
(i) adding an inert gas of nitrogen (claim 2) (165, Fig. 1) to a cannabis extraction system (the entire system shown in Fig. 1 or Fig. 9), wherein the cannabis extraction system taught by Cumings meets the recited “a cannabinoid extraction system”;
(ii) mixing a solvent (a solvent from a solvent vessel 110, Fig. 1) with plant matter having one or more desired compounds (source material in an extraction vessel 120, Fig. 1) to form a mixture (a mixture of the solvent and the plant source material in the extraction vessel 120, Fig. 1);
(iii) recovering the solvent from the mixture through a solvent transfer line (135, Fig. 1) to the solvent vessel (110, Fig. 1), leaving a residual liquid in a collection vessel (130, Fig. 1); and
(iv) the inert gas input (110n, Fig. 9) enters the top space of the solvent vessel (110, Fig. 9) above the solvent contained in the vessel, thus adding pressure to the headspace above the liquid solvent (col. 9, lines 1-10), which meets the recitation “pumping the inert gas to change pressures within the system to aid in the movement of the solvent” recited in claim 1.
But Cumings does not explicitly disclose the feature of “without removing the inert gas from the system” while pumping the inert gas to the system.
However, Cumings discloses a gaseous solvent recirculation path: (1) a conduit 135, Fig.1 from the collection vessel 130, Fig. 1 to the solvent vessel (110, Fig. 1); (2) a conduit 150, Fig. 1 from the dewaxed extract collection vessel 150, Fig. 1 to the solvent vessel (110, Fig. 1); and (3) a conduit 150, 155 and 160, Fig. 1 from the dewaxed extract collection vessel 150, Fig. 1 to solvent vessel (110, Fig. 1) (col. 7, lines 1-50). In addition, there is no outlet for removing inert gas from the system in Fig. 1 or Fig. 9.
In light of teachings from Cumings, since one skilled in the art would have reasonably expected that the inert gas nitrogen is mixed with gaseous solvent and recirculated through the gaseous solvent recirculation path (1), and/or (2), and/or (3), set forth above. As a result, the recitation “without removing the inert gas from the system” while pumping the inert gas to the system is considered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Cumings.
In regard to claim 3, Cumings discloses mixing the solvent with plant extracts in an extraction vessel (120, Fig. 1; col. 6, line 60 thru col. 7, line 50).
In regard to claim 4, Cumings discloses the solvent comprises moving the mixture to a solvent separator comprising filter (125, Fig. 1; col. 6, line 60 thru col. 7, line 50).
In regard to claims 5, 6 and 7, Cumings discloses the inert gas input (110n, Fig. 9) enters the top space of the solvent vessel (110, Fig. 9) above the solvent contained in the vessel, thus adding pressure to the headspace above the liquid solvent (col. 9, lines 1-10). In addition, Cumings discloses a transport of solvent from the solvent vessel 110, Fig. 1 to the extraction vessel 120, Fig. 1 through the collection vessel 130, Fig. 1, or a transport of solvent from the extraction vessel 120, Fig. 1 through the collection vessel 130, Fig. 1 to the solvent vessel 110, Fig. 1 (Fig. 8; col. 8, lines 52-64). This renders the recitations recited in claims 5-7 prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 8, Cumings discloses adding the inert gas comprises adding the inert gas (165, Fig. 1) to the system from an inert gas supply (820, Fig. 9). Cumings discloses there is a nitrogen intake quick release coupling 110n (Fig. 5; col. 8, lines 14-26). Since the nitrogen intake quick release coupling 110n is configured to open/close valve as needed, one skilled in the art would have reasonably expected that the inert gas supply (820, Fig. 9) has no interaction with the system after adding the inert gas when the nitrogen intake quick release coupling 110n is closed, as a result, the recitation of claim 8 is considered prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 9, Cumings discloses adding the inert gas comprises using a separate gas vessel (820, Fig. 9) to allow the gas to be pulled from the separate gas vessel. Since there is a nitrogen intake quick release coupling 110n (Fig. 5; col. 8, lines 14-26), one skilled in the art would have reasonably expected that the separate gas vessel (820, Fig. 9) is also capable of nitrogen gas being pumped into.
In regard to claim 10, Cumings discloses removing the solvent from the mixture comprises heating the mixture to cause the solvent to evaporate (col. 3, lines 45-49).
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772