Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being by Yasui (US 20220055261) listed in IDS.
Regarding Claim 1 Yasui discloses semiconductor molding apparatus, comprising: an upper mold capable of supporting a substrate (Figure 6, [0042], substrate-10); a lower mold that provides a first cavity (Figure 6, cavity-110c, lower mold-110d);; a guide member that provides a second cavity and that vertically penetrates the lower mold (Figure 2, 6, guide member enclosing the sides of -pot-131 with cavity 131a vertically entering the lower mold); and a guide lift configured to vertically drive the guide member (Figure 6, guide lift for the guide member to raise or lower the support member ([0046]) [0048]), wherein the lower mold comprises: a base plate that extends in a horizontal direction (Figure 6, [0046], base plate-121); and a sidewall member that upwardly extends from the base plate (side member-112), wherein the guide lift is configured to vertically drive the guide member such that a top surface of the guide member moves between a top surface of the base plate and a top surface of the sidewall member ([0046], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 2 Yasui discloses further comprising a heater configured to apply heat to the second cavity and positioned within the lower mold ([0074]).
Regarding Claim 4 Yasui discloses , wherein the guide lift comprises at least one of a resilient member and a motor ( Figure 6, toggle mechanism, toggle mechanism with resilient elements (like springs or flexible materials) is a linkage system that uses elastic components to store and suddenly release energy.).
Regarding Claim 5 Yasui discloses, further comprising a first lower mold lift configured to vertically drive the lower mold ([0046]).
Regarding Claim 6 Yasui discloses, wherein the first lower mold lift comprises at least one of a resilient member and a motor (Figure 6, toggle mechanism).
Regarding Claim 7 Yasui discloses, wherein the lower mold further comprises a base pusher in the second cavity when viewed in plan view (Figure 6, plunger/base pusher-132), and the apparatus further comprises a second lower mold lift configured to vertically drive the base pusher, wherein motion of the base pusher is independent of motion of the sidewall member and motion of the base plate (Figure 6, second lower mold lift -130configured to vertically drive the base pusher-132).
Regarding Claim 8 Yasui discloses , further comprising a film coating the top surface of the sidewall member, an inner lateral surface of the sidewall member, and the top surface of the base plate (Figure 2, film-20 on the sucking portions, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 10 Yasui discloses semiconductor molding apparatus, comprising: an upper mold supporting a substrate (Figure 6, [0042], substrate-10); a lower mold providing a first cavity (Figure 6, cavity-110c, lower mold-110d)); a guide member providing a second cavity and configured to interlock with the lower mold (Figure 2, 6, guide member with the-pot-131 with cavity 131a vertically entering the lower mold); and a guide lift configured to vertically drive the guide member (Figure 6, guide lift for the guide member to raise or lower the support member ([0046]) [0048]), wherein the lower mold comprises: a base plate having a top surface defining the first cavity (Figure 6, [0046], base plate-121); and a sidewall member upwardly extending from the base plate and having an inner lateral surface defining the first cavity ( ([0046]) [0048]), wherein the lower mold comprises: a base plate that extends in a horizontal direction (Figure 6, [0046], base plate-121), wherein the guide lift is configured to allow motion of a top surface of the guide member between the top surface of the base plate and a top surface of the sidewall member ([0046], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11 Yasui discloses , wherein the guide lift comprises at least one of a resilient member and a motor (Figure 6, toggle mechanism, toggle mechanism with resilient elements (like springs or flexible materials) is a linkage system that uses elastic components to store and suddenly release energy.).
Regarding Claim 12 Yasui discloses, wherein the lower mold further comprises a base pusher configured to vertically move independently of the base plate and the sidewall member (Figure 6, second lower mold lift-130 configured to vertically drive the base pusher-132).
Regarding Claim 13 Yasui discloses, further comprising: a first lower mold lift configured to vertically drive the base plate ([0046], [0048], guide members-22 vertically drive the base plate-121 ) and the sidewall member; and a second lower mold lift configured to vertically drive the base pusher, wherein motion of the base pusher is independent of motion of the sidewall member and motion of the base plate (Figure 6, second lower mold lift -130configured to vertically drive the base pusher-132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20220055261) listed in IDS.in view of KR 20120028686, hereinafter KR’686, translation attached.
Regarding Claim 3,14 , Yasui discloses support portion 122 arranged in a way that it can be raised and lowered vertically along a plurality of guide members but did not disclose that when viewed in plan view, the guide member is shaped as a pair of parallel lines, an ellipse, or a rectangle. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art , KR’686 discloses, the guide member is shaped as a pair of rectangle,(Figure 2, guide member-35, [0018]-[0019]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled to combine Yasui with that of KR’696 guide members defined structure for the purpose of to ensure smooth, controlled movement while meeting specific release and ejection requirements
Regarding Claim 9 , Yasui discloses support portion 122 arranged in a way that it can be raised and lowered vertically along a plurality of guide members but did not disclose that the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art , KR’686 discloses wherein an upper portion of the guide member has a curved surface (Figure 2, guide member-35 has a curved/bent rectangular surface).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled to combine Yasui with that of KR’696 guide members defined structure for the purpose of to ensure smooth, controlled movement while meeting specific release and ejection requirements
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741