DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a system and methods for measuring punch or push parameters, including claims 1-24 and 29, in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 25-28 and 30 have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2024 5. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 4, “zones” should be corrected to ---punch zones---
On line 4, “each punch or push measurement device” should be corrected to ---each of the one or more punch or push measuring devices---
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1, “each punch” should be corrected to ---each of the one or more punch---
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “(LED)” should be deleted
On line 3, “placed over” should be corrected to ---configured to be placed over---
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On lines 2-3, “each punch or push measurement device” should be corrected to ---each of the one or more punch or push measuring devices---
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1, “each punch” should be corrected to ---each of the one or more punch---
On line 4, “(radar)” and “(distributed capacitance)” should be deleted
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On lines 1 and 2, “LED(s)” should be corrected to ---light emitting diodes---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12, 13-24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “where an LED variant includes….” On line 2 lacks clarity as it is unclear if the variant is being claimed or merely being discussed.
Regarding claim 11, the claim lacks clarity as it is unclear if the change related to the light emitting diode of claim 10 or a different component, as the claim does not have proper antecedent basis to the preceding claim as currently written.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation of “the wearable device” on line 10 lacks antecedent basis and clarity, as it is unclear if the “wearable devices” is the same as the previously claimed “one or more separate wearable devices” or in addition to. All subsequent instances of “the wearable device” in claim 13 and its dependents are similarly unclear. See at least claims 15, 16, 19, 22, 23…
Regarding claim 14 and 21, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 21, the entirely of the claim lacks clarity. It is unclear what is required by the claim and what is merely being discussed. For instance, the inclusion of “can be” does not positively recite the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Navas (PG Patent Publication No. US20140248594A1).
Regarding claim 1, Navas shows a system comprising: an object (target 260) having a plurality of punch zones (Navas, “The system may further comprise a target (260). The target may comprise any suitable striking surface and may take the form of a punching bag, a heavy bag, a muay Thai bag, a grappling dummy, focus mitts, wall mounted targets, or the like”, paragraph 0019; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the surface area of the target of Navas, such as the punching bag, shows the plurality of punch zones of the claimed invention); one or more punch or push measurement devices configured to be provided in the plurality of zones of the object, each punch or push measurement device hosting a plurality of sensors therein (Navas, “The force sensor will be operatively coupled to the processor (20). The coupling may be accomplished wirelessly. The system may further comprise a transmitter (265) capable of transmitting data from the at least one accelerometer and/or the force sensor… The target may further comprise a force sensor (266) capable of measuring the force of strikes”, paragraphs 0018-0019; The force sensor of Navas shows the one or more punch or push measurement devices. The force sensors and the accelerometer of Navas shows, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, each of the punch or push measurements device of the claimed invention hosting a plurality of sensors therein); one or more force sensors configured to generate output signals conveying information related to forces applied to the one or more punch or push measurement devices (Navas, “The target may further comprise a force sensor (266) capable of measuring the force of strikes”, paragraph 0019), said one or more force sensors being provided in a wearable device configured to be worn by a user (Navas, “The glove may further comprise at least one force sensor (50) operatively coupled to the processor (20)”, paragraph 0009); at least one hardware control unit associated with the object and/or the wearable device, the at least one hardware control unit comprising software for data collection and configured for data transfer (Navas, “The device further comprises at least one accelerometer (30) coupled with the glove (10) and a processor (20) operatively coupled to the accelerometer (30). The output data from the accelerometers (30) can be fed into the processor (20) in order to determine the position of the user's hands… Each glove may further comprise a wireless transmitter (35) capable of transmitting (40) data from the accelerometers and/or the force sensor(s)”, paragraph 0009, see FIG. 4 below; The processor of Navas shows the at least one hardware control unit of the claimed invention. The wireless transmitter of Navas shows that the processor has software for data collection and is configured for data transfer); a main control unit connected to the at least one hardware control unit, the main control unit configured to receive data from one or more of the at least one hardware control unit, each of the one or more punch or push measurement devices, and/or the one or more force sensors, said main control unit configured to utilize the received data to determine measurements and calculations associated with the forces applied to the one or more punch or push measurement devices (Navas, “There are two accelerometers (80) placed on the fighter's hands, one on the left hand and one on the right hand. The accelerometers are connected to an Xbee shield (90) which is connected to an Arduino Lilypad (100). The analog data read from the accelerometer is input to the Arduino Lilypad. The Arduino Lilypad then sends the data to the Arduino Uno via the Xbee radio (70)… The Arduino Uno board (120) may be connected to a computer via USB and may also have a force sensor (110) connected to it via an analog pin of the board. The force sensor may act as a target for the user to strike. Alternatively force sensor may be attached to each hand. All the information delivered by the transmitters is processed in the Arduino Uno (120) and displayed on a computer screen. The computer (160) other appropriate data processing means is needed to write the sketch or program that is going to run on the Arduino board (120) and to monitor the sensor data”, paragraphs 0011-0012; The computer of Navas shows the main control unit of the claimed invention); and an interface configured to output and display information, measurements, and calculations determined by said main control unit to the user (Navas, “A control interface such as a keypad or touch screen may be included on the glove to allow a user to control the gloves, view data and or enter information. A display such as an LCD screen may be used to display data to a user”, paragraph 0009; The control interface of Navas shows the interface of the claimed invention).
Navas
Regarding claim 2, Navas shows that the object is selected from the group consisting of: a boxing bag, a boxing surface, and a flat or oval/bent display screen (Navas, “The system may further comprise a target (260). The target may comprise any suitable striking surface and may take the form of a punching bag, a heavy bag, a muay Thai bag, a grappling dummy, focus mitts, wall mounted targets, or the like”; the targets disclosed by Navas are all included within the embodiments disclosed by Applicant).
Regarding claim 3, Navas shows that the object is a wearable item, said wearable item being one of the following: a vest, a shirt, boxing mitts or pads (Navas, glove (10)), and pants.
Regarding claim 4, Navas shows that the one or more punch or push measurement devices are attached to or inserted into the object (Navas, “The system may further comprise a target (260). The target may comprise any suitable striking surface and may take the form of a punching bag, a heavy bag, a muay Thai bag, a grappling dummy, focus mitts, wall mounted targets, or the like. The target may further comprise a force sensor (266) capable of measuring the force of strikes”, see FIG. 4 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Navas shows that the one or more punch or push measurement devices are embedded within the object (Navas, “The system may further comprise a target (260). The target may comprise any suitable striking surface and may take the form of a punching bag, a heavy bag, a muay Thai bag, a grappling dummy, focus mitts, wall mounted targets, or the like. The target may further comprise a force sensor (266) capable of measuring the force of strikes”, see FIG. 4 above in claim 1; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the force sensor 266 shown in FIG. 4 above shows the one or more punch or push measurement devices embedded within the object of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 6, Navas shows that the plurality of sensors of each punch or push measurement device includes force sensors, linear acceleration sensors, angular velocity sensors, magnetometer, and timing sensors, and/or a combination thereof (Navas, “The force sensor will be operatively coupled to the processor (20). The coupling may be accomplished wirelessly. The system may further comprise a transmitter (265) capable of transmitting data from the at least one accelerometer and/or the force sensor… The target may further comprise a force sensor (266) capable of measuring the force of strikes”; The force sensor and the accelerometer of Navas shows the force sensors and the linear acceleration sensors of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 7, Navas shows a separate wearable device further comprises one or more force and/or motion sensors embedded therein (Navas, “In one embodiment the device comprises a martial arts glove (10) such as a boxing or MMA glove further comprising a glove portion. The device further comprises at least one accelerometer (30) coupled with the glove (10) and a processor (20) operatively coupled to the accelerometer (30)… The glove may further comprise at least one force sensor (50) operatively coupled to the processor (20). Each glove may further comprise a wireless transmitter (35) capable of transmitting (40) data from the accelerometers and/or the force sensor(s)”, paragraph 0009, see FIG. 1 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Navas shows that the wearable device comprises training gloves (Navas, glove (10)), half gloves, or boxing gloves (Navas, glove (10)).
Claims 13-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (PG Patent Publication No US20190388759A1).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao shows a method for measuring punch or push parameters, the method comprising: providing one or more punch or push measurement devices in an object, each punch or push measurement device hosting a plurality of sensors therein (Zhao, “FIG. 1 illustrates an on-site kickboxing training system for use with a sensing module 100 cooperatively in accordance with a first embodiment of the present disclosure. The sensing module 100 is configured to measure the performance of a user's on-site kickboxing sports”, paragraph 0047, and “According to different functions of the sensing module 100, the “performance metric” corresponding to one sensor module 100 may also be the “performance data” directly obtained by another sensor module 100”, paragraph 0055; The sensing module of Zhao shows the one or more punch or push measurement devices of the claimed invention. The one sensor module and the other sensor module of Zhao show, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, each punch or push measurement device of the claimed invention hosting a plurality of sensors); sensing, via one or more force sensors, information related to forces applied thereto, said one or more force sensors being provided in the object and/or also included in one or more separate wearable devices (Zhao, “The sensing module 100 can take various forms, for example, a set of sensing modules 100 mounted on a dummy, or a sensing module 100 worn on a user, for example, it can be installed in the user's kickboxing protective gears (including kickboxing gloves), it can also be worn on the user's body (such as smart bracelet) and so on”, paragraph 0047,; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the hit strength of Zhao detected from the sensing module of Zhao shows the sensing of information related to forces applied thereto of the claimed invention. Zhao also shows one or more force sensors of the claimed invention being provided in one or more separate wearable devices with sensing modules also being installed in the kickboxing gloves of Zhao); generating output signals conveying the information related to forces applied to the one or more force sensors; collecting and transferring data via at least one hardware control unit associated with the object and/or the wearable device to a main control unit (Zhao, “As shown in FIG. 1, the on-site kickboxing training system can cooperate with various forms of sensing modules 100, and may include: a user terminal 106 communicably connected to the sensing module 100 via the communication port 110 to receive the measured performance data therefrom and transmitting display information to the display 108 via the communication port 110 on the basis of the received performance data”, paragraph 0048; The communication port of Zhao receiving measured performance data from the sensing module of Zhao shows the generation of output signals of the claimed invention. The user terminal of Zhao shows the at least one hardware control unit of the claimed invention. The transmission of display information of Zhao shows the collection and transferring data of the claimed invention); determining measurements and calculations associated with: punch speed, punch accuracy (correct target devices punched or pushed), acceleration applied to the wearable devices, and the forces applied to the one or more force sensors, by using the main control unit (Zhao, “The user terminal 106 may, for example, include… and a memory 107 in which an assessment module 109 and class module 113 (113a-113n) are stored, when the class modules 113 are performed by the processor 105”, paragraph 0050, and “The user's hit action may be assessed based on the performance data of the hit made by the user that is measured by sensing module 100 to display the assessment result to the user. For example, the accuracy of the user's hit location may be assessed based on the stress bearing area and the hit location of the user's hit; the user's hit intensity may be assessed based on the user's real-time hit speed and hit strength; or whether the user's hit posture is correct and whether the hit action is in place may be assessed based on the user's hit direction, and so on. Optionally, the assessment module 109 may further include a scoring system to score the hit action according to at least one of the user's hit position, hit direction, hit intensity, hit posture and hit track”, paragraph 0054; The user’s hit action of Zhao is assessed by the assessment module of the user terminal. The user’s real-time hit speed of Zhao shows the punch speed of the claimed invention, the accuracy of the user’s hit location of Zhao shows the punch accuracy of the claimed invention, the hit direction and intensity of Zhao shows the measurements and calculations of the claimed invention associated with acceleration applied to the wearable devices of the claimed invention, and the hit strength of Zhao shows the forces applied to the one or more force sensors of the claimed invention); and outputting and displaying information, measurements, and calculations determined by said main control unit to a user (Zhao, “the display 108 performing display based on the display information received from the user terminal 106”, paragraph 0048).
Zhao
Regarding claim 14, Zhao shows each punch or push measurement device includes one or more force sensors (Zhao, “The user's hit action may be assessed based on the performance data of the hit made by the user that is measured by sensing module 100 to display the assessment result to the user. For example, the accuracy of the user's hit location may be assessed based on the stress bearing area and the hit location of the user's hit; the user's hit intensity may be assessed based on the user's real-time hit speed and hit strength”, paragraph 0054; The sensing module of Zhao shows, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, one or more force sensors of the claimed invention given that the sensing module is able to detect the accuracy of a hit based on the stress bearing area and the location, thereby identifying where the force was applied, and is able to measure the speed and strength of the hit, which is the rate of change in applied force and the magnitude in force), linear acceleration sensors, angular velocity sensors, magnetometer, timing sensors, optical (such as structured light) sensors, lidar, electro-magnetic (radar) sensors, and/or electro-static (distributed capacitance) based motion sensors, and/or a combination thereof, and wherein the method further comprises sensing and forwarding data from said one or more punch measurement devices to the main control unit (Zhao, “a user terminal 106 communicably connected to the sensing module 100 via the communication port 110 to receive the measured performance data therefrom”, paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao shows the method according to claim 14, wherein the wearable device further comprises one or more force sensors, one or more motion sensors embedded therein - comprising an accelerometer, gyroscope and/or a magnetometer, and wherein the method further comprises sensing and forwarding force and motion data, including acceleration, to the main control unit (Zhao, “While the user kickboxing the dummy, the performance data collected by the sensing module 100 is transmitted to the user terminal 106 approximately in real time. The processor 105 is configured to process the received performance data, for example, to process the performance data as an easy-to-understand performance metric, e.g., to convert the collected hit acceleration to hit speed, or to assess the performance data to get an assessment result, then transmit the corresponding display information to the display 108 for corresponding display”, paragraph 0055; The collected hit acceleration from the sensing module of Zhao shows the accelerometer of the claimed invention. The accelerometer shows one or more force sensors and one or more motion sensors of the claimed invention as accelerometers measure physical forces of acceleration and gravity by monitoring the exertion of pression. The performance data of Zhao being transmitted from the sensing module to the user terminal shows the sensing and forwarding of force and motion data, including acceleration to the main control unit of the claimed invention), and determining punch type or geometry, including punching angles, relating to punch forces, using motion sensors, control units, and the main control unit (Zhao, “the performance data may include the movement track and the hit area detected by the sensor. The corresponding performance metric may include the types, numbers, and combinations (formats) of the various hit actions derived from the two. The various hit actions include but are not limited to jabs, crosses, hooks, uppercuts, front kicks, sidekicks, roundhouse kicks and so on”; The performance metric of Zhao including the type of hit actions shows the determination of punch type or geometry of the claimed invention. The hit acceleration of Zhao shows the punching angles, and the sensing module and the user terminal with the processor shows the use of motion sensors, control units, and the main control unit of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao shows comparing data in a leader board and determining a winner in a contest between two or more competitors (Zhao, “the user's position on the leaderboard (top 20%) and this round's score may be displayed on the display 108 as well as the calories burnt by the user for this round, and so forth”, paragraph 0057, see FIG. 6 below; The FIG. 4 below shows the comparison of data, two or more competitors, and a winner) who apply punches or pushes in parallel in real-time, or in a sequence (Zhao, “the system may allow multiple users to participate in the scheduled class simultaneously, which are synchronized by the system, and allow access to all the same communication and data sharing features available for the live broadcast class. With this feature, users (kick boxers) participating in the same class can compete with each other and with past performance of themself or “ghost” users in the same class”, paragraph 0065; The same class of Zhao shows the competitors in real-time of the claimed invention), to one or more dedicated punch or push measurement devices (Zhao, FIGS. 2 of Zhao shows one or more dedicated punch or push measurement devices with multiple user terminals which allows each of the multiple users to participate simultaneously), each competitor using wearable devices equipped with sensors (Zhao, “The sensing module 100 can take various forms, for example, a set of sensing modules 100 mounted on a dummy, or a sensing module 100 worn on a user, for example, it can be installed in the user's kickboxing protective gears (including kickboxing gloves), it can also be worn on the user's body (such as smart bracelet) and so on”), such that parameters related to applied force, reaction time, accuracy, acceleration, and speed, are tracked and compared to determine a better performer or a winner (Zhao, “The leaderboard 234 may also display other performance metrics and/or assessment results at different times of the same user, for example, hit beat matching, so as to enable the user to perform a horizontal comparison of various performance metrics and/or assessment results of the user to perform more targeted training”, paragraph 0082), without physical contact between performers or contenders in the contest (Zhao, “the system may allow multiple users to participate in the scheduled class simultaneously, which are synchronized by the system, and allow access to all the same communication and data sharing features available for the live broadcast class. With this feature, users (kick boxers) participating in the same class can compete with each other and with past performance of themself or “ghost” users in the same class”; No contact with other users of Zhao is required for participation in the class).
Zhao
Regarding claim 17, Zhao shows the punches or pushes: are contactless (Zhao; As noted above in claim 16, no contact with other users of Zhao is required for participation in the class, thereby showing, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the punches or pushes are contactless); comprise methods to measure acceleration reaction time and protection reaction time included in the contest; comprise a boxing and/or martial arts contest based fully on measurements, without any physical contact (Zhao, “The leaderboard 234 may also display other performance metrics and/or assessment results at different times of the same user, for example, hit beat matching, so as to enable the user to perform a horizontal comparison of various performance metrics and/or assessment results of the user to perform more targeted training”); and/or provide information for an assessment stats panel such that a trainer can track and check all trainee results in a single place comprising a computer monitor or a computer file (Zhao, “the instructor-end display interface 200 may display a list of trainees who follow the instructor in the live class and enable the instructor to select each trainee via the display interface 200 to look over the performance and assessment of the corresponding trainee, thereby providing targeted guidance. The instructor-end display interface 200 may display the main performance data and assessment result of all the trainees in the form of thumbnails 254”, paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao shows that the contest can be held at a same physical location, or at two or more remote locations, where punch or push data is transferred over the internet, then collected and processed including comparisons, by a central computer server (Zhao, “In various exemplary embodiments, a networked kickboxing training system may be configured with: a plurality of user terminals 300 in communication with the video/voice chat platform 302; and a video content distribution network 304 that receives audio video content from one or more content sources 306. The user terminal 300 may also communicate with various other networks and servers. For example, user terminal 300 may exchange sensors and render data and/or signaling with various databases 308, including historical or “ghost” data”; Zhao shows two or more remote locations, see FIG. 2 above in claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao shows that the wearable device comprises training gloves, half gloves, or boxing gloves (Zhao, “The sensing module 100 can take various forms, for example, a set of sensing modules 100 mounted on a dummy, or a sensing module 100 worn on a user, for example, it can be installed in the user's kickboxing protective gears (including kickboxing gloves), it can also be worn on the user's body (such as smart bracelet) and so on”, paragraph 0047; The kickboxing gloves of Zhao shows the training gloves and the boxing gloves of the claimed invention), each providing punch or push measurements individually (Zhao, “While the user kickboxing the dummy, the performance data collected by the sensing module 100 is transmitted to the user terminal 106 approximately in real time. The processor 105 is configured to process the received performance data, for example, to process the performance data as an easy-to-understand performance metric, e.g., to convert the collected hit acceleration to hit speed, or to assess the performance data to get an assessment result, then transmit the corresponding display information to the display 108 for corresponding display”; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention, each kickboxing glove of Zhao includes a sensing module, thereby showing each punch or push measurements individually of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao shows that the one or more punch measurement devices each comprise an audio sound device and/or visual indicator or are complemented by additional such indicators, and wherein the method further comprises issuing an audible sound and/or indicator via said one or more punch measurement devices, or the method comprises providing the audible sound and/or indicator via a separate voice control system (Zhao, “the processor 105 is configured to send a control instruction for audio playing to the audio/video module 112 to make it play music according to the timing of the class g, and send a control instruction for illuminating the light source to the light source on the dummy to provide a prompt, in accordance with the setting of class g, to users on the hit locations at specific times. While the user kickboxing the dummy, the performance data collected by the sensing module 100 is transmitted to the user terminal 106 approximately in real time”, paragraph 0055; The illumination of the light source of Zhao shows the visual indicator and the indicator of the claimed invention. The playing of an audio of Zhao shows the audio sound device and the audible sound of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 24, Zhao shows visual indicators are used to indicate a specific target zone (Zhao, “The processor 105 is configured to send a control instruction for audio playing to the audio/video module 112 to make it play music according to the timing of the class g, and send a control instruction for illuminating the light source to the light source on the dummy to provide a prompt, in accordance with the setting of class g, to users on the hit locations at specific times”, paragraph 0055)and/or specific required punch type comprising a straight punch, left hook punch, right hook punch, and/or uppercut punch; wherein an actual punched or pushed zone and/or punch type are detected using sensors and are compared to an indicated target zone (Zhao, “The processor 105 is configured to process the received performance data, for example, to process the performance data as an easy-to-understand performance metric, e.g., to convert the collected hit acceleration to hit speed, or to assess the performance data to get an assessment result, then transmit the corresponding display information to the display 108 for corresponding display, for example, the first round: the hit strength is 50 kg, the hit count is 15, the hit speed is 50 m/s, the hit accuracy is 8/10, hit beat matching degree is 7/10, and so on”, paragraph 0055; The hit accuracy shows the comparison between the actual punched or pushed zone being compared to the indicated target zone of the claimed invention) and/or expected punch type, and a statistical report is produced to track punch accuracy related to a target zone and/or expected punch type; and wherein target zones and/or punch types are indicated in a sequence combination in time, by a main control unit, where the sequence has different zones to punch, random or predefined periods between indicated targets (Zhao, “send a control instruction for illuminating the light source to the light source on the dummy to provide a prompt, in accordance with the setting of class g, to users on the hit locations at specific times”; The hit locations and specific times of Zhao shows the sequence of the claimed invention), and the sequence is programmable and adjustable (Zhao, “in accordance with the setting of class g”, paragraph 0055, and “a memory 107 in which an assessment module 109 and class module 113 (113a-113n) are stored, when the class modules 113 are performed by the processor 105, the controlling instruction may be sent to the corresponding device so that it can be operated according to the class settings”, paragraph 0050; The class g of Zhao shows the programmable and adjustable sequence of the claimed invention as the class modules are selectable and programs already stored in the memory for selection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navas (PG Patent Publication No. US20140248594A1), in view of Baer (International Patent Publication No. WO2022015984A1). Navas discloses the device as substantially claimed above.
Regarding claim 9, Although Navas discloses in paragraph 0009, “A display such as an LCD screen may be used to display data to a user. A notifying element may be present on the glove to communicate information to a user. For example, a light or sound may be triggered when the user's hands move outside a predefined threshold. The force sensor(s) (50) and accelerometer(s) (30) may be positioned in any appropriate location in or on the device. The force sensor (50) may be coupled to the front face of the glove (10) and the accelerometer (30) may be located on the side to protect it once the user begins throwing strikes”, Navas fails to explicitly show the one or more punch or push measurement devices each comprise an audio sound device and/or visual indicator.
However, Baer, from the same field of endeavor, discloses in paragraph 0058, “System 100 could include a force-sensing punching bag attachment or cover. For example, the system 100 could include a cover 110 that is configured to be removably coupled to a punching bag 10. The cover 110 includes a plurality of force sensors 112 configured to detect physical impacts 12”.Baer teaches an audio sound device and/or visual indicator (Baer, “Systems and devices described herein could include a light-emitting diode (LED)-based targeting system that is overlaid on the same circuit board as each of the force sensors used to indicate specific targets on the punching bag. This system helps give accurate force sensor readings by grading the striker to hit the force sensor cleanly, as opposed to partial/incomplete strikes that may give inaccurate or incomplete force readings. This LED system can be utilized for a variety of workout programs, interactive striking games, and to increase the accuracy, power, reaction time, and speed of strikes”, paragraph 0050; The LED-based targeting system of Baer teaches the visual indicator of the claimed invention).
Baer
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the light-emitting diode (LED)-based targeting system of Baer with the target/punching bag of Navas in order to help give accurate force sensor readings/real-time feedback for the user while exercising. This modification is obvious as Navas already discloses a light that may be triggered via the display device. Baer provides more functional feedback as the LED-based targeting system is on the punching bag itself.
Regarding claim 10, Navas as modified teaches wherein the visual indicator comprises a light emitting diode (LED) or a screen, where an LED variant includes a plurality of LEDs (Baer, “the plurality of light-emitting devices 114 is configured to indicate strike targets on the punching bag 10”, paragraph 0076), connected separately (Baer, see FIG. 2A above; The plurality of light-emitting devices 114 is shown to be dispersed across the punching bag) or embedded in stripes, borders, arrays or planes, placed over and/or into a punching bag or a humanoid mannequin, a torso or a part of a torso, to indicate target areas to be punched (Baer, “the cover 110 additionally includes a plurality of light- emitting devices 114. In such scenarios, the plurality of light-emitting devices 114 is configured to indicate strike targets on the punching bag 10”, paragraph 0076, and “As a non-limiting example, an example system could include a punching bag (e.g., punching bag 10) and a plurality of force sensors (e.g., force sensors 112) incorporated into or coupled to the punching bag”, paragraph 0088; Baer shows the plurality of light-emitting devices both covering the punching bag and being integrated into the punching bag).
Regarding claim 11, Navas as modified teaches an indication of punching or pushing a correct or incorrect target by the user, is made by the system using one or more of: - a change of an LED color (Baer, “In such scenarios, the light-emitting diodes could provide immediate color-based feedback on a strike force level or range (e.g., green for low force range, yellow for medium force range, red for high force range)”, paragraph 0090), - a change of a current blinking or flashing LED pattern, - a change of LED light intensity level (Baer, “an intensity- level of the plurality of LEDs could vary based on the force of a strike”, paragraph 0090), - turning off an LED, and/or - a separate type of audio signal, voice, or melody).
Regarding claim 12, Navas as modified teaches the main control unit is a local or remote computer (The computer of Navas shows the main control unit of the claimed invention, and therefore the main control unit as a local or remote computer of the claimed invention), or a mobile device.
Claims 21, 23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (PG Patent Publication No US20190388759A1), in view of Baer (International Patent Publication No. WO2022015984A1). Zhao discloses the device as substantially claimed above.
Regarding claim 21, Zhao fails to explicitly show wherein the visual indicator comprises an LED(s), and wherein the method further comprises lighting the LED(s) that can be a stimulus for another punch, kick, push, or protection action done by the user; and/or a variant of this method, in which a stimulated requested punch or push is applied onto an object such as one or more display screen(s), wherein a flat, bent, or other types of display screen can be used as a punching or pushing area and show an opponent as a target, and the force of a delivered punch, kick, or push to this screen can be measured by force sensors in/on the screen, and wherein the accuracy of the punch can also be measured by using a set of position sensors in/on the screen.
However, Baer, from the same field of endeavor, discloses in paragraph 0058, “System 100 could include a force-sensing punching bag attachment or cover. For example, the system 100 could include a cover 110 that is configured to be removably coupled to a punching bag 10. The cover 110 includes a plurality of force sensors 112 configured to detect physical impacts 12”.Baer teaches the visual indicator comprises an LED(s), and wherein the method further comprises lighting the LED(s) that can be a stimulus for another punch, kick, push, or protection action done by the user (Baer, “Systems and devices described herein could include a light-emitting diode (LED)-based targeting system that is overlaid on the same circuit board as each of the force sensors used to indicate specific targets on the punching bag. This system helps give accurate force sensor readings by grading the striker to hit the force sensor cleanly, as opposed to partial/incomplete strikes that may give inaccurate or incomplete force readings. This LED system can be utilized for a variety of workout programs, interactive striking games, and to increase the accuracy, power, reaction time, and speed of strikes”, paragraph 0050; The LED-based targeting system of Baer teaches the visual indicator of the claimed invention comprising LED(s) that serves as a stimulus for an action to be done by the user).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the light-emitting diode (LED)-based targeting system of Baer with the target/punching bag of Navas in order to help give accurate force sensor readings/real-time feedback for the user while exercising. This modification is obvious as Navas already discloses a light that may be triggered via the display device. Baer provides more functional feedback as the LED-based targeting system is on the punching bag itself.
Regarding claim 23, Zhao as modified shows two wearable devices designated “left” and “right”, known to a main control unit (Zhao, “The sensing module 100 is configured to measure the performance of a user's on-site kickboxing sports. The sensing module 100 can take various forms, for example, a set of sensing modules 100 mounted on a dummy, or a sensing module 100 worn on a user, for example, it can be installed in the user's kickboxing protective gears (including kickboxing gloves)”, paragraph 0047; In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the kickboxing gloves shows the two wearable devices of the claimed invention being designated “left” and “right” as those are the only options for the kickboxing gloves of Zhao. Moreover, the kickboxing gloves of Zhao have a set of sensing modules, thereby showing, in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, they are known to the main control unit of the claimed invention as Zhao discloses in paragraph 0048, “a user terminal 106 communicably connected to the sensing module 100 via the communication port 110 to receive the measured performance data therefrom”), wherein the two wearable devices have embedded sensors configured to generate information used to calculate or provide periodic sensor data to the main control unit to calculate current and/or maximum force, total summed up force, motion-related parameters comprising speed and/or acceleration in a free mode without indicated target places/points to the user, wherein the user decides when and how to punch or push a physical object, or the user punches in air (Zhao, “The user's hit action may be assessed based on the performance data of the hit made by the user that is measured by sensing module 100 to display the assessment result to the user. For example, the accuracy of the user's hit location may be assessed based on the stress bearing area and the hit location of the user's hit; the user's hit intensity may be assessed based on the user's real-time hit speed and hit strength; or whether the user's hit posture is correct and whether the hit action is in place may be assessed based on the user's hit direction, and so on”, paragraph 0054; The assessment of Zhao is for the purpose of assessing the user’s decision of when and how to punch or push, thereby showing the user of the claimed invention deciding when and how to punch or push a physical object, or the user punches in air).
Zhao fails to explicitly show two wearable devices designated “left” and “right” are used such that individual device punch forces and sensor data are tracked in time and reports are produced to compare left and right forces, punch speeds, punch target accuracy, and/or punch type accuracy.
However, Baer, discloses in paragraph 0095, “Example embodiments described herein may provide a way to determine specifically how many punches of a given punch type (e.g., left hooks) an athlete threw during a prior workout round, during the entire workout, or lifetime. Additionally or alternatively, embodiments described herein may provide a way to aggregate punch types (e.g., lump outputs together) by potential punch combinations. For example, system 100 may be configured to determine that a given punch combination (e.g., a jab-cross-hook “1-2-3” combination) produced an average of X force, average of Y jerk, etc. it will be understood that other ways to sense, record, and provide information about individual or aggregated punches, punch types, and/or punch combinations are possible and contemplated within the scope of the present disclosure.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user terminal of Zhao to also process the types of punches like that of Baer as both Zhao and Baer disclose systems that detect, analyze, and assess the punches of a user. Zhao already discloses the ability to detect the type of hit actions. Baer simply takes this a step further by detecting which hand is performing the type of hit action, making this modification obvious.
Regarding claim 29, Zhao fails to explicitly show wherein an Efficiency E of a straight punch comprising a jab or cross delivered by a boxer, and a separate compound estimate comprising an index for Strength, Precision, and Reaction time (SPR), is defined as an SPR index.
However, Baer, discloses in paragraph 0058, “System 100 could include a force-sensing punching bag attachment or cover. For example, the system 100 could include a cover 110 that is configured to be removably coupled to a punching bag 10. The cover 110 includes a plurality of force sensors 112 configured to detect physical impacts 12”.Baer teaches an Efficiency E of a straight punch comprising a jab or cross delivered by a boxer, and a separate compound estimate comprising an index for Strength, Precision, and Reaction time (SPR), is defined as an SPR index (Baer, “For example, m various embodiments, an athlete/user could stand on a lateral force transducer system while striking system 100. In such scenarios, the combination of lateral force information and strike force information may provide a more complete analysis of an athlete’s form, athleticism, strike power, etc. Furthermore, since strike force is generated, at least in part, from the user’s stance, leg extension, and by utilizing a lateral push from the ground surface, lateral force information could be useful in suggesting areas of improvement to deliver a more powerful or efficient strike”, paragraph 00166; The combination of lateral force information and strike force information teaches determination of efficiency, and the suggestions for areas of improvement for a more powerful or efficient strike requires a standard for comparison for strength, precision, and reaction)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensing module of Zhao to process hit actions like that disclosed by Baer in order to provide more accurate feedback to the user. This modification is obvious as both Zhao and Baer disclose systems for detecting, analyzing, and assessing hit actions.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (PG Patent Publication No US20190388759A1), in view of Chen (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN106512374A). Zhao discloses the device as substantially claimed above.
Regarding claim 22, Zhao shows punch type recognition is done for a wearable device that sends sensor data, to a main control unit (MCU), wherein the punch type recognition is based on machine learning or on an algorithm using data from motion sensors comprising an accelerometer, gyroscope, and/or a magnetometer, and wherein a recognized punch type can be taken into account in an exercise (Zhao, “the performance data may include the movement track and the hit area detected by the sensor. The corresponding performance metric may include the types, numbers, and combinations (formats) of the various hit actions derived from the two. The various hit actions include but are not limited to jabs, crosses, hooks, uppercuts, front kicks, sidekicks, roundhouse kicks and so on”, paragraph 0056; As noted above, in claim 13, the kickboxing gloves of Zhao may have a set of sensing modules. As noted above in claim 15, the collected hit acceleration from the sensing module of Zhao shows the accelerometer of the claimed invention. Therefore, Zhao shows the punch type recognition of the claimed invention for the wearable device with an accelerometer. Moreover, in order for the processor to process the performance data and to assess the performance data to get an assessment result, cited above also in claim 15, the processor has at least a program or algorithm to do so. Zhao discloses this in paragraph 0089, “The system may be constructed specifically for the intended purpose, or the system may include a general-purpose computer that is selectively activated or reconfigured by a computer program stored in the computer”), pass/fail test or challenge assessment when specific punch types including but not limited to jab, American hook, European hook, and uppercut, are required to be applied to multiple target zones or objects (Zhao, “the assessment module 109 may further include a scoring system to score the hit action according to at least one of the user's hit position, hit direction, hit intensity, hit posture and hit track”, paragraph 0054, and “The assessment rule may strictly follow the rules of the kickboxing match, or it may be customized specific for the needs of users. For example, for the classes respectively aimed at improving the hit strength and correcting the kickboxing posture, the weights of hit strength and the accuracy of the kickboxing posture are increased respectively when calculating the scores. The assessment rules can be set independently by the instructor or pre-set by the system”, paragraph 0079; In light of the performance data of Zhao also being able to include the movement track and the hit area, the performance metric including the types, numbers, and combinations (formats) of the various hit actions, the assessment module and rule of Zhao based on the performance data and performance metric shows the challenge assessment of the claimed invention).
Zhao fails to explicitly shows the wearable device sending sensor data at a minimum 100 Hz rate.
However, Chen, from the same field of endeavor, teaches sending sensor data at a minimum 100 Hz rate (Chen, “the beating speed and measuring device of striking force, the strain sensor is connected to a processing device by using a sensor interface, a strain sensor provided on training appliance for sensing the distortion signal, processing device collects the deformation signal. The deformation signal collecting and obtaining impact speed and impact and generates a result signal result signal is sent to an external device through the communication module, external device so as to obtain the impact speed and impact analysis result signal and displays it… processing device 130 collects the deformation signal of sampling frequency is 1000 Hz. collecting the deformation signal using the sampling frequency of 1000 Hz, which can ensure the integrity of the collected data, but also avoids too frequent acquisition and good data acquisition effect. can be understood, in other embodiments, the processing device 130 can also use other sampling frequency”, pages 2-3).
Chen
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified the rate of sending data from sensing module in each of the kickboxing gloves to be that of at least 100 Hz as Chen disclose a processing device receiving sensor data at a rate of 1000Hz. It would be obvious to specify a range to ‘ensure the integrity of the collected data and to avoid too frequent acquisition and good data acquisition,’ as disclosed by Chen.
Conclusion
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784