DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 2 January 2024.
Specification
The specification is objected to for the following informalities:
The title is not descriptive. Examiner suggests: Flyback Converter with Low Power Consumption in Stand-by Mode
Though not technically required since the filing date is already included, it is ordinary and customary to include the publication date of the foreign application in the first paragraph.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Taiwan on 11 October 2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to for the following informalities: Applicant persistently uses the term “voltage mapping”. Though the detail specified means that it does not rise to the level of a 112(b) rejection since it is clear applicant means to claim items, 590, 580, and the VCC terminal. The reason for this is mapping has connotations that one of ordinary skill would not expect to be present on a control power terminal or an auxiliary winding terminal. It is politely requested that applicant use a more art-consistent term, such as auxiliary winding terminal or something similar.
Claims 3 has a similar issue to claim 1 above.
Claim 9 also has issues similar to claim 1 above. In this particular case, makes it even more confusing because while the zero-voltage detection value may change quickly, VCC should not.
Claim 10 has a similar issue as described above.
Claims 2-9, 11-15 are dependent upon objected claims and therefore inherit the objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1-2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 20140321167) in view of Kuan (US 20170141686).
As to claim 1, Klein discloses (see annotated figure below) A transformer device, comprising: an AC input terminal, providing an AC voltage; a bridge rectifier circuit, converting the AC voltage into a first voltage; a high-frequency voltage conversion circuit, comprising a primary winding, a secondary winding, and an auxiliary winding; a power switch circuit, coupled to the primary winding, wherein the power switch circuit is controlled by a driving signal, the high-frequency voltage conversion circuit converts the first voltage into a DC voltage according to the primary winding, the secondary winding, and the power switch circuit; an optical coupling circuit, generating a load detection signal according to the DC voltage; a zero voltage and operation voltage dividing circuit, mapping an operating voltage proportional to an output voltage according to the auxiliary winding to provide a zero voltage detection signal; and a primary-side controller, coupled to the optical coupling circuit and the power switch circuit, the primary-side controller operating according to the operating voltage, and the primary-side controller setting the primary-side controller to one of a plurality of operating modes according to the load detection signal the frequency and/or pulse width through Q1 to achieve the voltages desired for, e.g., Standby and Full Power conditions.”), wherein the operating mode at least comprises a first load mode,
Though he teaches much of the claimed invention he does not explicitly teach one of a plurality of operating modes according to the load detection signal and the zero voltage detection signal, or wherein the operating mode at least comprises a first load mode, a second load mode, and a standby mode.
Kuan teaches A transformer device, comprising: an AC input terminal, providing an AC voltage; a bridge rectifier circuit, converting the AC voltage into a first voltage (Kuan, item 21 teaches the rectifier AC input and converts into a DC voltage); a high-frequency voltage conversion circuit, comprising a primary winding, a secondary winding, and an auxiliary winding (22 shows three windings); a power switch circuit (23), coupled to the primary winding, wherein the power switch circuit is controlled by a driving signal (output 14), the high-frequency voltage conversion circuit converts the first voltage into a DC voltage according to the primary winding, the secondary winding, and the power switch circuit; an optical coupling circuit (unlabeled photodiode/transistor pair), generating a load detection signal according to the DC voltage; a zero voltage circuit (12), mapping an operating voltage proportional to an output voltage according to the auxiliary winding to provide a zero voltage detection signal (12); and a primary-side controller (1), coupled to the optical coupling circuit and the power switch circuit, the primary-side controller operating according to the operating voltage, and the primary-side controller setting the primary-side controller to one of a plurality of operating modes (CCM, BCM, DCM, Fixed Frequency Light Duty see Figs. 4-7) according to the load detection signal and the zero voltage detection signal, and adjusting an amplitude and a frequency of a pulse width modulation signal in the driving signal according to a set operating mode, wherein the operating mode at least comprises a first load mode (Fig. 7, Continuous conduction mode), a second load mode (Fig. 5, non-continuous conduction), and a standby mode (Fig. 6, light duty fixed freq).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use multiple conduction modes as disclosed in Klein to improve light load efficiency.
As to claim 2, Klein in view of Kuan teaches wherein when the set operating mode is the standby mode, the frequency and the amplitude of the pulse width modulation signal generated by the primary-side controller are lower than the first load mode and the second load mode, an amplitude of an adjusted pulse width modulation signal corresponding to the first load mode is greater than an amplitude of an adjusted pulse width modulation signal corresponding to the second load mode, a frequency of the adjusted pulse width modulation signal corresponding to the first load mode is higher than or equal to a frequency of the adjusted pulse width modulation signal corresponding to the second load mode (this is taught by the combination. The standby mode taught by Klein and the three conduction modes of Kuan read on the claim language).
As to claim 9, Klein in view of Kuan teaches wherein an output terminal of the auxiliary winding is coupled to the operating voltage mapping terminal of the primary-side controller, the auxiliary winding provides the operating voltage to the operating voltage mapping terminal of the primary-side controller through the high-frequency voltage conversion circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 would be allowable if rewritten to comply with all formal requirements and include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-15 would be allowable if rewritten to comply with formal requirements.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose: “wherein the primary-side controller comprises: a load detection terminal, receiving the load detection signal; a zero voltage detection terminal, receiving the zero voltage detection signal; an operating voltage mapping terminal, obtaining an operating voltage, wherein the drive circuit operates according to the operating voltage; a mode selection circuit, comparing the load detection signal and a load threshold to generate a first detection signal, comparing the zero voltage detection signal and a system power supply threshold to generate a second detection signal, and generating a mode selection signal according to the first detection signal and the second detection signal; a mode type undervoltage lockout circuit, coupled to the mode selection circuit, selecting one of a plurality of first candidate reference voltages as a first reference voltage according to the mode selection signal, and comparing the first reference voltage with a divided voltage signal corresponding to the operating voltage to generate an undervoltage lockout signal; a drive amplitude adjustment circuit, coupled to the mode selection circuit, selecting one of a plurality of second candidate reference voltages as a second reference voltage according to the mode selection signal, and determining the amplitude of the pulse width modulation signal in the driving signal according to the second reference voltage and the operating voltage; a drive frequency adjustment circuit, coupled to the mode type undervoltage lockout circuit, determining a frequency of the pulse width modulation signal in the driving signal according to the load detection signal, the zero voltage detection signal, and the undervoltage lockout signal; and a buffer, wherein a power supply terminal of the buffer is coupled to an output terminal of the drive amplitude adjustment circuit, an input terminal of the buffer is coupled to an output terminal of the drive frequency adjustment circuit, and the buffer is configured to generate the pulse width modulation signal.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose: “selecting one of a plurality of second candidate reference voltages as a second reference voltage according to the mode selection signal, and determining an amplitude of a pulse width modulation signal in a driving signal according to the second reference voltage and the operating voltage, wherein the driving signal is configured to drive a power switch in the transformer device; a drive frequency adjustment circuit, coupled to the mode type undervoltage lockout circuit, determining a frequency of the pulse width modulation signal in the driving signal according to the load detection signal, the zero voltage detection signal, and the undervoltage lockout signal; and a buffer, wherein a power supply terminal of the buffer is coupled to an output terminal of the drive amplitude adjustment circuit, an input terminal of the buffer is coupled to an output terminal of the drive frequency adjustment circuit, and the buffer is configured to generate the pulse width modulation signal in the driving signal” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Please note: while objected or allowed claims have been indicated, only the presented claims have been examined for compliance with form and 35 USC 112 consideration. As a reminder, claims that are dependent upon objected claims still require examination for form and 35 USC 112 issues even if they overcome 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections. Similarly, amendments incorporating allowable subject matter into independent claims requires reconsideration for dependent claim form and any possible 35 USC 112 issues that arise through amendments even if the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are overcome. As such, applicant is advised that while examiner can enter previously allowed claims or previously objected claims rewritten into independent form after final rejection, any other claims may not be entered.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839