DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200066543 A1 (Jain)
US 20130105885 A1 (Flachowsky)
US 20220415815 A1 (Waidhas)
US 20230187386 A1 (Pietambaram)
US 20220301975 A1 (HAM)
JP2017126668A (JP68)
US 20210305227 A1 (Chen227)
US 20170170155 A1 (Fig.4 para 73 teaches a device of claim 1)
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim prior art rejection have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Flachowsky.
Regarding Claim 20. Jain teaches A method for fabricating a chip package, comprising: securing a chaplet and an inductor in a cavity formed in a substrate with a dielectric filler [(Fig.1 shows the IC package support 150, which is package substrate 151 of Fig.2 (see para 17) . Figs 1-2 cavity 100 in substrate 151/150 formed with dielectric material {para 26}. The cavity houses 110 including inductor {para 20, 27}, dielectric material fills the cavity {para 51}. A single cavity may have multiple IC components {para 50} )], the substrate having plurality of signal transmission, routing and power routing vias formed therethrough outside of the cavity [(conductive structures vias and or lines 112 forms outside of the cavity { Fig.1}, the vias are described with relation to fig.5 {para 18} including signals and power vias {para 62}, in Fig.5 the vias are connecting MOSFET circuits, ground is understood )]: forming build-up layers on the substrate over the chiplet and the inductor, the build-up layers including routing electrically coupled to the chiplet and the inductor: [(Fig.3P and 3Q, para 52 )] and mounting an integrated circuit (IC) die on the build-up layers, the IC die including functional circuitry coupled by the routing of the build-up layers to the chiplet and the inductor. [(Fig.2, on top of the substrate 151 further ICs are hold {para 31})]
Jain does not explicitly show the vias/interconnects are also used for ground
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Flachowsky teaches interconnects includes ground for a MOSFET circuits [(para 18, 43 )]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because to complete the MOSFET circuits of Jain, incorporating grounds of Flachowsky into the interconnect would have been predictable and would simply produce a stable operational circuit.
Claims 1-6, 14-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waidhas in view of Jain.
Regarding Claim 1. Waidhas teaches a chip package [(para 1, Fig.1)] comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) die having functional circuitry [(Fig.1, 101)] : a substrate having the IC die mounted thereon, the substrate comprising: a core having at least a first cavity:[(#133, Fig.1)] , inductor routing vias, a plurality of signal transmission vias, a plurality of ground routing vias, and a plurality of power routing vias:[(power and signal in para 28-30; inductor routing in para 33, ground in para 36, 38, 41)] an upper build-up layer disposed on the core between the core and IC die :[(#148)] , the upper build-up layer including routing coupling the inductor routing vias, the signal transmission vias, and the ground and power routing vias to the functional circuitry of the IC die:[(para 36; 101 be a inductor {para 32} which is connected through via’s and routings located in #148 {see Fig.1}; also see para 33-34)] and a lower build-up layer disposed a side of the core opposite the upper build-up layer, the lower build-up layer including routing coupled to the functional circuitry of the IC die through the vias of the core and the routing of upper build-up layer: [(#150; see the coupling connections in Fig.1 and descriptions in para 28-31 & 34)] and a chiplet disposed in a first cavity formed the core, the chiplet coupled to the functional circuitry of the IC die through upper build-up layer. [(#102, #103, #105)]
Waidhas does not explicitly show the plurality of signal transmission, ground routing and power routing vias disposed through the core outside of the first cavity and dielectric filler filling the first cavity and holding the chaplet within the first cavity
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Jain teaches plurality of signal transmission, ground routing and power routing vias disposed through the core outside of the first cavity [(Fig.1 shows the IC package support 150, which is package substrate 151 of Fig.2 (see para 17) . Figs 1-2 cavity 100 in substrate 151/150 formed with dielectric material {para 26}. The cavity houses 110 including inductor {para 20, 27}, dielectric material fills the cavity {para 51}. conductive structures vias and or lines 112 forms outside of the cavity { Fig.1}, the vias are described with relation to fig.5 {para 18} including signals and power vias {para 62}, in Fig.5 the vias are connecting MOSFET circuits, ground is understood)],
and dielectric filler filling the first cavity and holding the chaplet within the first cavity [(Fig.3P and 3Q, para 52 )]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts to improve the design options for IC packaging [(Jain para 12 )]
Claim 2. The chip package of claim 1, wherein the chiplet includes voltage regulator circuitry.[[(Waidhas VR in para 32)]
Claim 3. The chip package of claim 2 further comprising: an inductor having an input and an output, the input coupled to an outlet of the voltage regulator circuitry and the output coupled to the functional circuitry of the IC die.[[(Waidhas Fig.1)]
Claim 4. The chip package of claim 3, wherein the inductor is coupled to the voltage regulator circuitry through the routing of the lower build-up layer [(Waidhas VR circuits in para 32, VR includes inductor {para 22}, 102 includes inductors {para 33}; “102, 103, 105 may be a single-sided or a double-sided component …… that has connections on both surfaces (e.g., a first surface 170-1 and a second surface 170-2). …. ”; “inductors, may be disposed on the top surface or the bottom surface of the package substrate 150, or may be embedded in the package substrate 150.”; para 34; also see para )]
Claim 5. The chip package of claim 4, wherein the inductor is disposed in the first cavity. [(Waidhas para 253, 267, 131 and earlier discussion, 103 or 102 which is inside the cavity can be an inductor Jain para 20, 27 )]
Claim 6. The chip package of claim 4, wherein the inductor is disposed in a second cavity formed in the core. [(Jain, Fig.2 shows multiple cavity )]
Claim 14. The chip package of claim 5, wherein the inductor is a pre-fabricated component and secured in the substrate by a dielectric filler. [(Jain IC component is placed in the cavity {para 11}, FIg.1 shows 110 is not integrated therefore it is pre-fabricated, fig.3P. )]
Claim 15. The chip package of claim 3 further comprising: a capacitor having one terminal coupled to the both the functional circuitry of the IC die and the output of the inductor [(Jain para 74 and Waidhas para 22 teaches circuitry that are expected have such interconnects of capacitor , inductor and functional circuitry. Besides no argument was presented with regards to examiner official notice in the previous office action )]
Claim 16. see analysis of claims 1-3 & 5
Claim 17. The chip package of claim 16, wherein the inductor and the chiplet are disposed in a common cavity of the one or more cavities formed the core. [(Waidhas #102-105 can be chip or inductor; Jain }. A single cavity may have multiple IC components {para 50})]
Claim 18. The chip package of claim 17, wherein the common cavity is disposed directly below the IC die.[[(see Waidhas Fig.1; Jain Fig.2)]
Claim 20. see analysis of claim 1 and para 40 and 109 of Waidhas
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waidhas in view of Jain in view of Pietambaram.
Regarding Claims 12. Waidhas in view of Jain does not explicitly the chip package of claim 3, wherein the inductor is an air core inductor formed in the substrate
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Pietambaram teaches the chip package of claim 3, wherein the inductor is an air core inductor formed in the substrate [(Pietambaram para 16 )]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior because air core inductor is a conventional solution for IC packaging [(Pietambaram para 16 )].
Claim 13. The chip package of claim 5, wherein the inductor is formed from a magnetic material. [(Pietambaram para 15-16 )].
Claims 7-8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waidhas in view of Jain in view of HAM in view of JP68.
Regarding Claim 7. Waidhas in view of Jain does not tech the chiplet further comprises:a backside metal layer
HAM, in the field of endeavor, teaches, backside thermal layer 200 and thermal vias 400 while also describing the thermal via as metal and 200 having high thermal conductivity [(para 98, Fig.22-23)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities [(HAM teaches the same {Fig. 19-21}components can be placed in same or separate cavities {Fig. 2, 23})] .
Waidhas in view of Jain in view of Ham does not explicitly show that the layer 200 is metal.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, JP68 teaches that a metal layer is used for such case [(para 21)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because based on HAM metal is an obvious choice.
Waidhas in view of HAM in view of JP68 teaches w.r.t. claim 8. The chip package of claim 7, wherein the upper build-up layer further comprises: thermal vias formed on the backside metal layer. [(HAM #400 and JP68 #31 & 5, Fig.1)]
Claim 10. The chip package of claim 5, wherein the chiplet further comprises: a backside metal layer. [(see analysis of claim 7)]
Claim 11. The chip package of claim 10, wherein the upper build-up layer further comprises: thermal vias formed on the backside metal layer and extending to a top surface of the substrate. [(see JP68, Fig.1)]
Claims 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waidhas in view of Jain in view of HAM in view of JP68 in view Chen227.
Regarding Claim 9. Waidhas in view of HAM in view of JP68 teaches the chip package of claim 8 further comprising: a stiffener disposed on the substrate directly above the thermal vias:[(JP68 #5)] the stiffener and the thermal vias provide a conductive path operable to conduct heat from the backside metal layer [(see discussion of HAM para 98 and JP68 para 21)]
Waidhas in view of HAM in view of JP68 does not explicitly show and a lid disposed over the IC die and stiffener, for conducting heat
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Chen227 teaches a lid disposed over the IC die and stiffener, for conducting heat [(para 4, Fig.1)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would improve thermal benefit and mechanical integrity [(Chen227 para 4, Fig.1)]
Claim 19. The chip package of claim 16 further comprising: (see clm 7-9) a stiffener disposed on the substrate directly above a cavity of the one or more cavities in which the chiplet resides: a backside metal layer formed on the chiplet: thermal vias formed on the backside metal layer, the thermal via disposed directly below the stiffener: and a lid disposed over the IC die and stiffener, wherein the stiffener and the thermal vias provide a conductive path operable to conduct heat from the backside metal layer to the lid. [(see analysis of claims 1-9)]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426