DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first Office Action on the merits of Application 18/402,723 filed on 1/2/24. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102012013883 to Kurz et al (see attached translation).
Claim 1
Kurz discloses in Figs 1 & 2,
In the field of intermodal logistics an intermodal chassis and trailer comprising: an intermodal chassis having a floor (e.g. 10); a plurality of side walls (e.g. 12 & 13); a plurality of pivot points (see points represented by 25 & 26) that connect to both said intermodal chassis, and said plurality of side walls; said pivot points enable said plurality of side walls to open (see opened position in Fig. 2), providing space for a machine to both lower a series 1 freight container onto said intermodal chassis (Page 3, paragraph 6, teaches the flatbed being designed as a truck or motor vehicle with a trailer coupling), and lift said series 1 freight container off of said intermodal chassis; in this manner, an intermodal chassis and trailer are formed.
Note: The claimed limitation introduces intended use for a machine lowering a freight container.
Claim 2
In the field of intermodal logistics an intermodal chassis and trailer comprising: an intermodal chassis having a floor (e.g. 10); a plurality of side walls (e.g. 12 & 13); a means for both extending, and retracting (Page 4, paragraph 3, by hand), said plurality of side walls that connect to both said intermodal chassis, and said plurality of side walls; said means for both extending, and retracting enable said plurality of side walls to open (see opened position in Fig. 2), providing space for a machine to both lower a series 1 freight container onto said intermodal chassis, and lift said series 1 freight container off of said intermodal chassis; in this manner, an intermodal chassis and trailer are formed.
Note: The claimed limitation introduces intended use for a machine lowering a freight container.
Claim 3
In the field of intermodal logistics an intermodal chassis and trailer comprising: an intermodal chassis having a floor (e.g. 10); a plurality of side walls (e.g. 12 & 13); said plurality of side walls further each have a plurality of roof panels (e.g. 14 & 15) connected to said plurality of side walls; a plurality of pivot points (see points represented by 25 & 26) that connect to both said intermodal chassis, and said plurality of side walls; said pivot points enable said plurality of sidewalls to open (see opened position in Fig. 2), providing space for a machine to both lower a series 1 freight container onto said intermodal chassis, and lift said series 1 freight container off of said intermodal chassis; in this manner, an intermodal chassis and trailer are formed.
Note: The claimed limitation introduces intended use for a machine lowering a freight container.
Claim 4
The intermodal chassis and trailer of claim 3 further comprising: a means for both retracting (Page 4, paragraph 3, by hand), and extending said plurality of roof panels from said plurality of side panels, in this manner, the intermodal chassis and trailer may open both, and close said plurality of roof panels, and said plurality of side panels to enable a series 1 freight container to be both lowered onto, and lifted out of said intermodal chassis and trailer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102012013883 to Kurz et al (see attached translation) in view of U.S. Patent 6,224,141 to Brodlo.
Claim 5
Kurz discloses in Figs 1 & 2,
In the field of intermodal logistics an intermodal chassis and trailer comprising: an intermodal chassis having a floor (e.g. 10); a plurality of side walls (e.g. 12 & 13); a plurality of pivot points (see points represented by 25 & 26) that connect to both said intermodal chassis, and said plurality of side walls; said pivot points enable said plurality of side walls to open both (see opened position in Fig. 2), and close providing space for a machine to both lower a series 1 freight container onto said intermodal chassis, and lift said series 1 freight container off of said intermodal chassis. Kurz however, does not explicitly disclose that a plurality of aerodynamic panels; the plurality of side walls further having a structural frame with means for connection wherein said aerodynamic panels may be both attached to, and removed enabling the ability to upgrade aerodynamic performance with next generation aerodynamic panels.
Bordlo however teaches a plurality aerodynamic panels (e.g. 20a-c) the plurality of side walls further having a structural frame (e.g. 32, 48) with means for connection wherein said aerodynamic panels may be both attached to (see Figs 1-4), and removed enabling the ability to upgrade aerodynamic performance with next generation aerodynamic panels. Therefore it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to include a plurality of aerodynamic panels to the side walls of a trailer as taught by Bordlo and include them into the invention of Kurz for the benefit of reducing drag on the vehicle and improving fuel efficiency of transporting goods.
Conclusion
/HUAN LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655