DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4, 7-8, 10, and 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3-4 begin the claim with “the door knob grip”. The claims should recite “the door stopping device of claim 1/2 further comprising a door knob grip, wherein the grip comprises”. All claims must begin reciting the door stopping device. Claims 7-8, 10, and 12-13 also do not begin with reciting the door stopping device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “all necessary components”. It is unclear what these components are, or what is deemed necessary.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the device’s own handle" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “similar flexible material” rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the limitations of the claim are.
Claim 3 recites “preferably” rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the limitations of the claim are.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the raised position" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 4-5, and 8-13 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200040624 to Workman.
Regarding claim 1, Workman discloses:
A door mounted door stopping device (fig 1) for halting motion of a swinging or sliding door (12), comprising a door knob grip (25); an extending and retractable appendage (18); a position maintaining mechanism (50/52) for position regulation of the extending appendage; a flexible and durable means of connection (30) between the door knob grip and extending appendage or position maintaining mechanism; a hollow or semi hollow body (14) possessing brackets (top and bottom bracket seen in fig 3) and walls for housing of all necessary components (fig 1); a high friction non-marking tip (46) at the bottom most extremity of the extending appendage, being actuated via the knob (46 is configured to move when 30 is lifted) or via the device’s own handle.
Regarding claim 2, Workman discloses:
The door stopping device of claim 1 further comprising a flexible door knob grip (25, fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, Workman discloses:
The door stopping device of claim 1 further comprising an extending appendage being rod like and cylindrical or squared (fig 1) and in one iteration possessing a handle for activation and deactivation.
Regarding claim 6, Workman discloses:
The door stopping device of claim 5 possessing a means of connection between the door knob grip and the extending appendage (30) such as a chord or wire or such like tether.
Regarding claim 7, Workman discloses:
The extending appendage of claim 5 further comprising a position maintaining mechanism (50/52) similar to such like mechanism found in a mechanical retractable click pen or being of a groove type guide allowing for the extending appendage to move in a series of sequential steps along a predetermined path (openings 52 provide steps that are predetermined) and being in communication with the extending appendage for lifting and holding the raised position or lowering and maintaining lowered position of the extending appendage (figs 2 and 2A).
Regarding claim 8, Workman discloses:
The extending appendage of claim 7 wherein the bottom most extremity possesses a length adjustable high friction tip (the length of 46 is adjustable in any direction needed for positioning) .
Regarding claim 9, Workman discloses:
The door stopping device of claim 1 further comprising a semi circular body with one flat rearward wall and a curved or arched forward wall, or two flat forward angled walls comprising a triangular composition, or one forward wall and two side walls compromising a square like composition (16), with all iterations possessing a singular flat rearward wall (fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, Workman discloses:
The semi circular or triangular or square body of claim 9 being hollow (16 is hollow to accommodate 18), possessing a semicircular half of the retaining brackets on each wall (fig 2) and wherein the rearward wall of the body possesses an adhesive or hook and loop type strip (54, via 18) on its exterior for attachment to a door surface (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200040624 to Workman.
Regarding claim 3, Workman does not explicitly disclose:
The door knob grip of claim 2 being composed of rubber or similar flexible material preferably possessing antimicrobial properties and high friction gripping qualities.
However, Workman discloses the use of rubber (46) to prevent sliding and provide better gripping qualities (paragraph 0017) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the rubber into the door knob grip of Workman at least because doing so would enhance frictional engagement (paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 4, Workman discloses:
The door knob grip of claim 3 being specifically shaped in construction to accommodate a door knob or door handle tightly within its inner walls while facilitating grasping by hands along its outer wall(s) or surface(s) (fig 1).
Regarding claim 11, Workman does not specifically teach The door stopping device of claim 9 being no more than thirty eight(38) inches in length and no less than seven(7) inches in length. However, Workman does teach an adjustable length of the door stopping device. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to alter the length of the door stopping device so that it could have many values usable in a variety of applications, including no more than thirty eight(38) inches in length and no less than seven(7) inches since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200040624 to Workman and in further view of US 4607253 to Wooten et al.
Regarding claim 12, Workman does not explicitly disclose:
The extending appendage of claim 8 possessing a spring for compression.
However, Wooten teaches that it is well known in the art for an extending appendage (3) to posses a spring (15) for compression. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wooten into Workman at least because doing so would provide additional support for positioning of the device via biasing it in the desired position.
Regarding claim 13, Workman (in view of Wooten) discloses:
The extending appendage of claim 12 possessing a ring-like bracket attachment (19, Wooten) for compression of the spring between said bracket attachment and the bracket formed within the hollow body (fig 3).
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675