DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,953,667 to Bigo.
Re-claim 1, Bigo discloses a wheeled cart comprising: a basket assembly (such as a shopping trolley, the phrase “trolley” is a British term for basket) for transporting items; a plurality of wheel assemblies 3a/3b rotatably coupled to the assembly; a brake lever arm is pivotably attached to the assembly and pivotable about a brake lever arm axis 2, the brake lever arm includes a brake lever arm distal end 9a extending perpendicularly in relation to the brake lever arm axis, wherein the brake lever arm pivots by engaging the brake lever arm distal end between a released position and a braked position, the brake lever arm includes a brake assembly; wherein at least one of the plurality of wheel assemblies includes a plurality of stops 16a radially disposed about a common radial axis; wherein, in the braked position, the brake assembly is positioned between at least two of the plurality of stops preventing rotation of the at least one of the plurality of wheel assemblies (figure 2); wherein, in the released position, the brake assembly is positioned outside the plurality of stops allowing rotation of the at least one of the plurality of wheel assemblies (figure 3); and wherein the brake assembly includes a raised bump 19a and a flexure (i.e. bend) formed by a slot 20a, the flexure is not engaged by the raised bump when the brake lever arm is in either the released position or the braked position and the flexure is engaged by the raised bump when moving between the released position and the braked position. The phrase “flexure” can define a bend or turn, see Merriam-Webster Dictionary definition:
flexure
noun
1 : the quality or state of being flexed : flexion
2 : turn, bend, fold
Re-claim 3, axle 2 couples two of the plurality of wheels.
Re-claim 9, Bigo discloses a wheeled cart comprising: a wheel 3a with a plurality of stops 16a radially disposed about a common radial axis; a brake assembly is coupled between at least two of the plurality of stops, the brake assembly comprising a raised bump 19a and a flexure (bend formed by a slot, see figure 2) formed by a slot 20a; a brake lever arm 14 is coupled to the brake assembly and pivots about a brake lever arm axis 2, the brake lever arm comprises a brake lever arm distal end 9a extending perpendicularly in relation to the brake lever arm axis, the brake lever arm pivots the brake lever arm distal end 9a between a released position (figure 3) and a braked position (figure 2); wherein, in the braked position, the brake assembly is positioned between at least two of the plurality of stops 16a preventing rotation of the wheel (figure 2); in the released position, the brake assembly is positioned outside the plurality of stops allowing rotation of the wheel (figure 3); the flexure (i.e. bend) is not engaged by the raised bump 19a when the brake lever arm is in either the released position or the braked position and the flexure is engaged by the raised bump when moving between the released position and the braked position.
Re-claims 5, 13 and 17, the brake assembly comprises a brake extension extending outwardly from the brake lever arm towards the wheel in a direction parallel to the brake lever arm axis.
Re-claim 14, the wheel is selected from a group consisting of a front right wheel, a left front wheel, a back right wheel and a back left wheel.
Re-claim 16, Bigo discloses a wheeled assembly comprising: a first wheel 3a and a second wheel 3b each rotatably coupled to a frame, the first wheel and the second wheel are aligned along a central axis 2, the first wheel comprises a plurality of stops 16a radially disposed about the central axis; a brake assembly is removably coupled with at least one the plurality of stops, the brake assembly comprising a raised bump 19a and a flexure (bend in slot 20a) formed by a slot 20a; a brake lever arm is coupled to the brake assembly and pivotable about a brake lever arm axis 2, the brake lever arm comprises a brake lever arm distal end 9a extending perpendicularly in relation to the brake lever arm axis, the brake lever arm pivots by engaging the brake lever arm distal end between a released position and a braked position; in the braked position, the brake assembly is positioned between at least two of the plurality of stops preventing rotation of the first wheel (figure 2); in the released position, the brake assembly is configured to be positioned outside the plurality of stops allowing rotation of the first wheel (figure 3); the flexure engages the raised bump 19a when switching between the released position and the braked position and disengages the raised bump in either the released position or the braked position.
Re-claim 19, the brake lever arm is configured to remain in the braked position or released position until moved to the other position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, 10, 11, 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bigo in view 2012//0274052 A1 to Zhu.
Re-claims 2, 10 and 18, Bigo fails to provide specifics of the basket, such as configured to collapse to a stored position and expand to an opened position.
Zhu teaches a basket assembly that collapses when in a stored position and expands to an opened position. This allows for easy storage of the basket when not in use, and minimizes the necessary storage space for the basket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the basket assembly of Bigo with a collapsing basket structure of the type taught by Zhu, thus minimizing the storage space necessary for the basket when not in use.
Re-claim 6, Bigo fails to teach the plurality of wheel assemblies comprise a left front swivel wheel assembly and a right front swivel wheel assembly.
Zhu teaches a basket assembly with a left front swivel wheel 41 and a right front swivel wheel 41. The swivel wheels allow for directional control of the basket, see paragraph 45. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the basket assembly of Bigo with left and right front swivel wheels as taught by Zhu, thus allowing for easy directional control of the basket when being pushed by a user.
Re-claims 7, 8, 15 and 20, Bigo fails to show the basket assembly comprising a rectangular floor defining a front edge, a rear edge, a left edge and a right edge, wherein a front wall is pivotably connected to the front edge of the rectangular floor, and wherein a back wall is pivotably connected to the rear edge of the rectangular floor, or when in the opened position the front wall and rear wall are perpendicular in relation to the rectangular floor, and wherein in the stored position the front wall is aligned with the rectangular floor and the back wall is adjacent to the rectangular floor.
Zhu teaches a folding basket assembly comprising a rectangular floor 24 defining a front edge, a rear edge, a left edge and a right edge, a front wall 21 is pivotably connected to the front edge of the rectangular floor (see figure 5), a back wall 23 is pivotably connected to the rear edge of the rectangular floor (figure 5), and when in the opened position the front wall and rear wall are perpendicular in relation to the rectangular floor (figure 3), and when in the stored position the front wall is aligned with the rectangular floor and the back wall is adjacent to the rectangular floor (see figure 6). This provides a basket having a compact storage condition, thus minimizing the necessary storage area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the basket assembly of Bigo with a collapsing basket structure having a floor, front wall, and rear wall of the type taught by Zhu, thus minimizing the storage space necessary for the basket when not in use.
Re-claim 11, an axle 12 rotatably couples the wheel to the basket assembly.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all that is recited in claims 1-20 is found in patented claims 1-6 and 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,326.
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-6 and 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,326. As such claims 1-6 and 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,326 fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 1-20 and therefore anticipates claims 1-20. Thus the invention of claims 1-6 and 9-13 of the patent is in effect a "species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1-20. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-20 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1-6 and 9-13 of the patent, claims 1-20 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-6 and 9-13, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1-6 and 9-13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Haus, Troendle, Shamie and Zhu each teach a groove receiving a bump displaced between two positions indicative of a brake on condition and an brake off condition.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
December 18, 2025
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616