DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ‘lower shaft’ in claim 17 and ‘ring’ in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0055683) in view of Xiong et al. (US 2019/0097496), Schneider (US 9,163,700) and Biro et al. (US 2016/0160995).
With respect to claims 1-2 and 7, Chen et al. discloses a steering gearbox (1) for a robot for a robotics corner module (paragraph 3), comprising: a lower housing assembly (3, 31) comprising: a lower housing comprising: a first through bore (31); a second through bore; and a first counterbore; and a shaft portion; a center housing assembly (1) comprising a center housing (1); an electric motor (13), an output shaft assembly (11) and gear train (14, 15, 16, 17, 19). (Figs. 1-3, paragraphs 23-51.) Chen et al. does not specifically show the bore structure associated with the housing assemblies. Xiong et al. teaches of a lower housing assembly (13) comprising: a lower housing (13) comprising: a first through bore (Modified fig. 1, below); a second through bore (Mod. Fig. 1); and a shaft portion (Mod. Fig. 1); a center housing assembly (12) comprising a center housing (12), the center housing comprising: a third through bore (Mod. Fig. 1); a fourth through bore (Mod. Fig. 1); and a fifth through bore (Mod. Fig. 1); an electric motor (2) comprising: a stator assembly fixed in the first through bore (Mod. Fig. 1); and a rotor assembly comprising a rotor shaft (fig. 1, shaft that connects to 6) extending through the third through bore (Mod. Fig. 1); an output shaft assembly (4) extending parallel (fig. 1) to the rotor shaft (fig. 1, shaft that connects to 6), the output shaft assembly comprising an output gear (7); a gear train (54, 55) arranged for driving connection between the rotor shaft (fig. 1, shaft that connects to 6) and the output shaft assembly (7), the gear train comprising: a first shaft assembly comprising: a first shaft (53): extending parallel to the rotor shaft (fig. 1, shaft that connects to 6); and extending through the fourth through bore (Mod. Fig. 1); and a first gear (58); and a compound gear assembly (57) rotatably supported on the shaft portion, the compound gear assembly comprising: a first gear portion (top portion of 57) meshingly engaged with the output gear (7); and a second gear portion (bottom portion of 57) meshingly engaged with the first gear (58); and a first fastener (bottom 8) extending through the fifth through bore (Mod. Fig. 1) and into the shaft portion (Mod. Fig. 1) to secure the center housing (12) to the lower housing (13); wherein the output shaft assembly (4) is rotatably supported in the second through bore by a bushing (10) (claim 2); wherein the output gear (7), the first gear (58), and the compound gear assembly (57) are disposed axially between the lower housing (13) and the center housing (12). (claim 7). (Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 13-23.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Xiong et al. into the invention of Chen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to saves the internal space and improves the transmission ratio of the servo. (Paragraph 23.) Chen et al., as modified, is silent regarding the first shaft at least partially disposed in the first counterbore. Biro et al. teaches of having a shaft (390) at least partially disposed in a counterbore (438, 440). (Figs. 9-10, paragraphs 241-242, 261.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Biro et al. into the invention of Chen et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order support and restricted from axially downward motion of the shaft. (Paragraph 242.) Chen et al., as modified, is silent regarding an output shaft assembly rotatably supported in the second through bore. Schneider teaches of an output shaft assembly (53’’’) extending parallel (fig. 1) to the rotor shaft (5) and rotatably supported in the second through bore (at 62). (Figs. 1-2b, col. 5, lines 43-67, col. 6, lines 1-68.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Schneider into the invention of Chen et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order support the gear wheel. (Col. 6, lines 1-2.)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fifth Through Bore)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fourth Through Bore)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third Through Bore)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Shaft Portion (where fasteners 8 extend through))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Through Bore)][AltContent: textbox (First Through Bore)][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 3 describes the first shaft (150) is: rotatably supported in the first counterbore (124) by a first needle bearing (160); and rotatably supported in the fourth through bore (132) by a first ball bearing (162). Claim 6 describes the center housing comprises a cylindrical protrusion (180) at least partially disposed in the first through bore. Claim 10 describes the first shaft assembly further comprises a second gear (184) secured to the first shaft (150) by a second fastener (186). Claim 14 describes an upper housing assembly (188) secured to the lower housing assembly, the upper housing assembly comprising: an upper housing with a seventh through bore (214); and a ball bearing (216) secured in the seventh through bore (214); and a bearing nut (218) threaded onto the output shaft to secure the ball bearing to the output shaft (150) (fig. 3). Claim 17 describes the output shaft assembly further comprises an internal spline portion (224) arranged for driving engagement with a lower shaft (fig. 3). The closest prior art, Xiong et al. (US 2019/0097496) does not reasonably disclose first shaft is: rotatably supported in the first counterbore by a first needle bearing; and rotatably supported in the fourth through bore by a first ball bearing; a cylindrical protrusion at least partially disposed in the first through bore
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614