DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tominaga and Orihara (JP 2019/155777 A, published 19 Sep. 2019, priority 14 Mar. 2018, hereinafter Tominaga) in view of Kobayashi et al. (JP 2018/016703 A, published 01 Feb. 2018, hereinafter Kobayashi) and further in view of Tsuji et al. (US Patent Application 2019/0055393 A1, published 21 Feb. 2019, priority 15 Feb. 2016, hereinafter Tsuji) and evidence provided by J-Global (“Tinuvin 1600,” access 18 Aug. 2025, hereinafter J-Global).
Regarding claims 1-8, Tominaga teaches a decorative sheet comprising a base material (Item 136), a transparent thermoplastic resin layer (Item 132), and a surface protective layer (Item 131), which contains a triazine-based ultraviolet absorber (Abstract and Figure 1, reproduced below from original Japanese patent document). Tominaga teaches the inclusion of an adhesive layer between the substrate and the decorative sheet (paragraph 0009). Tominaga teaches the surface protective layer is formed from ionizing radiation curable resin (paragraph 0017). Tominaga teaches his adhesive layer (Item 138) is a two-component curing urethane adhesive (paragraph 0037). Tominaga teaches his decorative sheet comprises a pattern layer (decorative layer) (Item 135) (paragraph 0032). Tominaga teaches his substrate layer (Item 11) is a metal-based material (paragraph 0033). Tominaga teaches use of the triazine-based ultraviolet absorber “TINUVIN 1600”, manufactured by BASF, in his transparent thermoplastic layer (Item 132) (paragraphs 0035-0036). Tominaga teaches that both his transparent thermoplastic resin layer (Item 132) and his surface protective layer (Item 131) contain a triazine-based ultraviolet absorber (paragraph 0030).
131 Surface protective layer
132 Transparent thermoplastic resin layer
133 Transparent adhesive layer
134 Primer layer
135 Pattern layer
136 Base material layer
137 Primer layer
138 Adhesive layer
11 Substrate
As evidenced by J-Global, the commercial product TINUVIN 1600 is the chemical compound of general formula (I) of claim 1.
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the same triazine compound in the surface protective layer as Tominaga uses in his transparent thermoplastic resin layer.
Tominaga does not disclose that his adhesive layer (Item 138) is moisture curing nor the moisture permeability of his film.
Kobayashi teaches a moisture-curable hot-melt adhesive (Abstract).
Given that Tominaga and Kobayashi are drawn to laminates with a metal layer adhered with a urethane adhesive, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the moisture-curable hot melt adhesive taught by Kobayashi as the adhesive in the decorative sheet of Tominaga. Since Tominaga and Kobayashi are both drawn to laminates with a metal layer adhered with a urethane adhesive, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the moisture-curable hot melt adhesive taught by Kobayashi as the adhesive in the decorative sheet of Tominaga. Further, Kobayashi teaches that his moisture-curable hot melt adhesive has excellent adhesion to metal adherends (paragraphs 0007 and 0032).
Tominaga in view of Kobayashi does not disclose the moisture permeability of his film.
Tsuji teaches a thermoplastic resin film with a moisture permeability of 80 g/day/m2 or less at a temperature of 40°C and relative humidity of 90% measured in accordance with JIS Z 208.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected moisture permeability rates from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Tsuji because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Given that Tominaga and Tsuji are drawn to polymeric films, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to target the moisture permeability as taught by Tsuji for the decorative film taught by Tominaga in view of Kobayashi. Since Tominaga and Tsuji are both drawn to polymeric films, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in targeting the moisture permeability as taught by Tsuji for the decorative sheet of Tominaga in view of Kobayashi. Further, Tsuji teaches that when the moisture permeability of film satisfies Tsuji’s requirement for moisture permeability, the influence of moisture on the substrate is reduced, which is preferable (paragraph 0153).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-10 of US Patent 11,958,994. The limitations of the two sets of claims are compared side-by-side in the table below.
Application 18/402,805
US Patent 11,958,994
1. A decorative material comprising an adherend and a decorative sheet, wherein further comprising an adhesive layer between the decorative sheet and the adherend, an adhesive to constitute the adhesive layer is a moisture curing adhesive, the decorative sheet having at least a substrate layer and a surface protective layer, and containing a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (I) in at least any layer of the decorative sheet, and a moisture permeability of the decorative sheet, as measured according to a moisture permeability test method (Cup Method) for moisture-resistant wrapping materials prescribed in JIS A0208: 1976, of 0.75 g/m2·24 h or more and 45 g/m2·24 h or less.
The decorative material according to claim 1, wherein the surface protective layer contains a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the general formula (I).
6. The decorative material according to claim 1, wherein the moisture curing
adhesive is a urethane adhesive.
7. The decorative material according to claim 1, wherein the moisture
permeability of the decorative sheet, as measured according to a moisture
permeability test method (Cup Method) for moisture-resistant wrapping materials prescribed in JIS Z0208: 1976, of 10 g/m2·24 h or more and 45 g/m2·24 h or less.
1. A decorative sheet having at least a substrate layer and a surface protective layer, and containing a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (I) in at least any layer of the decorative sheet:wherein the decorative sheet having a moisture permeability, as measured according to a moisture permeability
test method (Cup Method) for moisture-resistant wrapping materials prescribed in JIS Z0208:1976, of7 g/m2 24 h or more and 45 g/m2 24 h or less.
7. A decorative material having an adherend and a decorative
sheet of claim 1.
8. The decorative material according to claim 7, having an adhesive layer composed of a urethane adhesive, between the decorative sheet and the adherend.
9. The decorative material according to claim 8, wherein the urethane adhesive is a moisture-curable adhesive.
8. The decorative sheet according to claim 1, wherein the surface protective layer contains a cured product of a curable resin composition.
10. The decorative material according to claim 7, wherein the adherend is a metal member or a resin member.
In summary, the claims of US Patent 11,958,994 teach all the limitations of the claims of the current invention as listed in the table above. The only difference is that the present claims require moisture permeability of 0.75 g/m2 24 hr or more and 45 g/m2 24 hr or less or 10 g/m2 24 hr or more and 45 g/m2 24 hr or less, while US Patent 11,958,994 discloses moisture permeability of 7 g/m2 24 hr or more and 45 g/m2 24 hr or less. However, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the moisture permeability of US Patent 11,958,994 overlaps that of the presently claimed values.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected moisture permeability values from the overlapping portion of the range of the present claims because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-8 of US Patent 12,187,879. The limitations of the two sets of claims are compared side-by-side in the table below.
Application 18/402,805
US Patent 12,187,879
1. A decorative material comprising an adherend and a decorative sheet, wherein further comprising an adhesive layer between the decorative sheet and the adherend, an adhesive to constitute the adhesive layer is a moisture curing adhesive, the decorative sheet having at least a substrate layer and a surface protective layer, and containing a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (I) in at least any layer of the decorative sheet, and a moisture permeability of the decorative sheet, as measured according to a moisture permeability test method (Cup Method) for moisture-resistant wrapping materials prescribed in JIS A0208: 1976, of 0.75 g/m2·24 h or more and 45 g/m2·24 h or less.
The decorative material according to claim 1, wherein the surface protective layer contains a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the general formula (I).
6. The decorative material according to claim 1, wherein the moisture curing
adhesive is a urethane adhesive.
7. The decorative material according to claim 1, wherein the moisture
permeability of the decorative sheet, as measured according to a moisture
permeability test method (Cup Method) for moisture-resistant wrapping materials prescribed in JIS Z0208: 1976, of 10 g/m2·24 h or more and 45 g/m2·24 h or less.
1. A decorative sheet having at least a substrate layer and a surface protective layer, wherein: in the surface protective layer, the content of all the UV absorbents relative to 100 parts by mass of a resin therein is 10 parts by mass or less, and the surface protective layer satisfies the following [1] or [2]:
[1] the layer contains a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (I) and a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (II) as UV absorbents, and the content of the hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (II) is 50% by mass or less relative to 100% by mass of the total of the content of the hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (I) and the content of the hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (II); [2] the layer contains a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (I) and a hydroxyphenyltriazine compound represented by the following general formula (III) as UV absorbents: and wherein the decorative sheet has a moisture permeability, as measured according to a moisture permeability test method (Cup Method) for moisture-resistant wrapping materials prescribed in JIS Z0208: 1976, of 0.75 g/m2·24 h or more and 45 g/m2 24 h or less.
5. A decorative material having an adherend and a decorative sheet of claim 1.
The decorative material according to claim 5, having an adhesive layer composed of a urethane adhesive, between the decorative sheet and the adherend.
7. The decorative material according to claim 6, wherein the urethane adhesive is a moisture-curable adhesive.
8. The decorative sheet according to claim 1, wherein the surface protective layer contains a cured product of a curable resin composition.
8. The decorative material according to claim 5, wherein the adherend is a metal member or a resin member.
In summary, the claims of US Patent 12,187,879 teach all the limitations of the claims of the current invention as listed in the table above. The only differences being that US Patent 12,187,879 requires additional UV absorber and discloses that the surface protective layer comprises 100 parts by mass of a resin and 10 parts by mass or less of UV absorbent. However, in light of the open language of the present claims “containing”, nothing excludes the presence of the additional UV absorbent or resin disclosed by US Patent 12,187,879. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the specific surface protective layer disclosed by US Patent 12,187,879 would fall within the broad surface protective layer presently claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saitou and Kaneki (US Patent Application 2014/0065384 A1, published 06 Mar. 2014, hereinafter Saitou) teaches a decorative sheet comprising a surface protective layer (Item 14) on a support (Item 11, substrate layer), the surface protective layer is obtained by cross-linking and curing an ionizing radiation curable resin composition, and the decorative sheet includes a picture layer (Item 12, decorative layer). Buckel et al. (US Patent Application 2006/0234061 A1, published 19 Oct. 2006, hereinafter Buckel) teaches a multilayer product having a first layer containing polyalkyl (meth)acrylate and the claimed UV stabilizer and a second layer comprising polycarbonate. Kuhn et al. (US Patent Application 2016/0325531 A1, published 10 Nov. 2016, hereinafter Kuhn) Kuhn teaches that the claimed triazine is a preferred UV absorber in his UV-protective primer layer (paragraph 0044). Braig et al. (US Patent Application 2006/0052491 A1, published 09 Mar. 2006) teaches a mixture of two UV absorber, including the compound of general formula (I). Haraguchi (WO 2018/070438 A1, published 19 Apr. 2018) teaches a hard coat material comprising a triazine UV absorber. Miyazaki (US Patent Application 2014/0349096 A1, published 27 Nov. 2014) teaches a decorative sheet comprising multiple layers including a layer comprising a UV-absorber hydroxyphenyl triazine compound. Sagawa (JP 2011/016277 A, published 27 Jan. 2011 and JP 2011/042041 A, published 03 Mar. 2011) teaches a decorative sheet with a (meth)acrylate protective layer comprising a hydroxyphenyl triazine compound as a UV absorber. Saito and Kaneki (US Patent Application 2011/0143128 A1, published 16 Jun. 2011) teaches a decorative sheet with a curable protective layer comprising a triazine-based UV absorber, ink layer, and primer layer. Takahashi (JP 2008/105372 A, published 08 May 2008; JP 2008/238444 A, published 09 Oct. 2008; and JP 2012/106506 A, published 07 Jun. 2012) teaches a decorative sheet with multiple layers including a protective layer comprising a triazine-based UV-absorbing compound. Endo (JP 2000/103018 A, published 11 Apr. 2000) teaches a decorative sheet with multiple layers and a curable protective layer. Omori (JP 2009/226869 A, published 08 Oct. 2009) teaches a decorative sheet with a moisture permeability of 0.01 to 10 g/m2/day.
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787