DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe et al. (US 2003/0125498).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8: McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses contact lens compositions [abstract; 0007-0013], wherein Example 84 [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84] contains 28 wt% [0144] mPDMS (800-1000 Mn monomethacryloxypropyl terminated mono-n-butyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane [0142] {corresponding to n ~ 7-9 instant formula (1)), 3 wt% AcPDMS (bis-3-methacryloxy-2-hydroxypropyloxypropyl polydimethylsiloxane [0142]; n = 10 or 20; (~ 1080 or 1820 Mn [0031-0039; 0048; 0152]), 15 wt% TRIS (3-methacryloxypropyltris(trimethylsiloxy)silane [0142]), 29 wt% DMA (N,N-dimethylacrylamide [0142]), 2 wt% HEMA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate [0142]), 2 wt% Norbloc (2-(2’-hydroxy-5-methacrylyloxyethylphenyl)-2H-benzotriazole [0142]), 0.02 wt% Blue HEMA, and 1 wt% CGI 1850 {corresponding to a weight ratio of 2.1:1 of (mPDMS+AcPDMS):TRIS} [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84]. The resulting lens has a Dk of 100 barrers and an elongation of 300% [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe et al. (US 2003/0125498).
Regarding claim 10: McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses contact lens compositions [abstract; 0007-0013], wherein the lens of Example 84 [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84] a Dk [0138] of 100 barrers and an elongation of 300% [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84].
Claim(s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCabe et al. (US 2003/0125498).
Regarding claim 11: McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses contact lens compositions [abstract; 0007-0013], wherein Example 84 [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84] contains 28 wt% [0144] mPDMS (800-1000 Mn monomethacryloxypropyl terminated mono-n-butyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane [0142] {corresponding to n ~ 7-9 instant formula (1)), 3 wt% AcPDMS (bis-3-methacryloxy-2-hydroxypropyloxypropyl polydimethylsiloxane [0142]; n = 10 or 20; (~ 1080 or 1820 Mn [0031-0039; 0048; 0152]), 15 wt% TRIS (3-methacryloxypropyltris(trimethylsiloxy)silane [0142]), 29 wt% DMA (N,N-dimethylacrylamide [0142]), 2 wt% HEMA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate [0142]), 2 wt% Norbloc (2-(2’-hydroxy-5-methacrylyloxyethylphenyl)-2H-benzotriazole [0142]), 0.02 wt% Blue HEMA, and 1 wt% CGI 1850 {corresponding to a weight ratio of 2.1:1 of (mPDMS+AcPDMS):TRIS} [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84]. The resulting lens has a Dk [0138] of 100 barrers and an elongation of 300% [Ex. 84; 0183; Table 13, Ex. 84].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCabe et al. (US 2003/0125498) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3: McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses formula II can have R2 and/or R4 as C1-6carbonyl.
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979) [see MPEP 2144.09].
Regarding claim 7: McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses the composition can contain azobisisobutyronitrile as a polymerization initiator [0097].
McCabe et al. (US ‘498) does not specifically disclose Ex. 84 containing azobisisobutyronitrile. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included azobisisobutyronitrile based on the invention of McCabe et al. (US ‘498), and would have been motivated to do so since McCabe et al. (US ‘498) suggests that the composition can contain azobisisobutyronitrile as a polymerization initiator [0097]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCabe et al. (US 2003/0125498) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2017/0227790).
Regarding claim 9: McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 8]; wherein McCabe et al. (US ‘498) discloses UV absorbing compounds [0114].
McCabe et al. (US ‘498) does not disclose a piperidine ring. However, Lin et al. (US ‘790) discloses compositions for contact lenses [abstract], wherein the composition can contain Reactive Yellow 15 [0038]. McCabe et al. (US ‘498) and Lin et al. (US ‘790) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of compositions for contact lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Reactive Yellow 15, as taught by Lin et al. (US ‘790) in the invention of McCabe et al. (US ‘498), and would have been motivated to do so since Lin et al. (US ‘790) suggests the composition can contain Reactive Yellow 15 as a short wavelength (280-495 nm) absorbing agent [0038].
Double Patenting
Claim 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/717809 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed contact lens and contact lens compositions substantially overlap in scope. While Application No. 19/717809 does not specifically claim a weight ratio of a siloxane having a single acryloyl group and a siloxane having two acryloyl groups to a tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylpropyl methacrylate of ~ 27.5:1 and ~ 0.29:1, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
While Application No. 19/717809 does not specifically claim a contact lens having an oxygen permeability of greater than 80 barrer and an elongation of greater than 270%, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767