Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, how the conductors are secured to the power cords must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA (admitted prior art – instant Background) in view of Blickle 7338316.
Regarding claim 1, APA (paragraph 0003) substantially discloses the claimed invention, including an electrical connector, comprising: a male annular socket and a female annular socket. Blickle (front page) discloses a plug 6 with a first conductor is mountably and dismountably inserted in an inserting slot 11 with a second conductor, and when the plug is inserted in the inserting slot, the first conductor is electrically connected to the second conductor, and to modify APA in this way thus would have been obvious, for a secure electrical connection.
Regarding claim 2, APA discloses the male annular socket comprises a first power cord, and the female annular socket comprises a second power cord.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, APA (as modified by Blickle) would result in the claimed structure.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the limitations thereof have been addressed above.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 3, 4 and 7-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the first conductor is located on an outer surface of the plug, the outer surface of the plug is parallel to the direction of insertion of the plug, and the second conductor is located on an inner surface of the inserting slot, the inner surface of the inserting slot is parallel to the direction of insertion of the plug; nor the bottom of the male annular socket has a positioning column, and the top of the female annular socket has a positioning hole corresponding to the positioning column which allows the positioning column to be inserted therein, the positioning column is inserted in the positioning hole for guiding the insertion of the plug into the inserting slot; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834