The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant’s election of Species VII (figure 9) in the reply filed on December 15, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The applicant submitted “that all claims 1-23 read on the elected species”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 13 and 14 read on non-elected Species V (figure 7) and does not read on the elected Species VII (figure 9). Accordingly, claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 4,329,544).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Yamada discloses a method and an apparatus for supplying sound in a space with a first loudspeaker 6 and a second loudspeaker 7 (see figure 4, for example), comprising: a control signal generator for generating a first control signal (via adder 15) for the first loudspeaker 6 and a second control signal (via adder 14) for the second loudspeaker 7, wherein the control signal generator comprises: a mix signal generator stage for generating a first mix signal (input to adder 15 via phase shifter 20) for the first control signal and a second mix signal (input to adder 14 via phase shifter 20) for the second control signal from a first channel signal (L signal) or a second channel signal (R signal) such that the first mix signal and the second mix signal comprise a phase difference (the first mix signal input to adder 15 and the second mix signal input to adder 14 have a phase difference of 180 degrees); a mixer stage for mixing the first channel signal (L signal) with the first mix signal (via adder 15) to acquire the first control signal, and for mixing the second channel signal (R signal) with the second mix signal (via adder 14) to acquire the second control signal; and an interface (e.g., wired interface) for transmitting the first control signal to the first loudspeaker 6 and for transmitting the second control signal to the second loudspeaker 7.
Regarding claim 2, the space is an interior space of a vehicle or a stationary space (see “Summary of the Invention”, regarding “the present invention relates to a sound reproduction system for a motor vehicle which is used in the passenger compartment”), wherein the apparatus comprises the first loudspeaker 6 and the second loudspeaker 7, wherein the first loudspeaker 6 and the second loudspeaker 7 are arranged in the vehicle or in the stationary space.
Regarding claim 4, the control signal generator is configured to control the first loudspeaker 6 and the second loudspeaker 7 such that a difference wave field is generated by controlling the first loudspeaker 6 with the first control signal and by controlling the second loudspeaker 7 with the second control signal. See col. 3, line 67, through col. 4, line 4, regarding “when the reverberation signals of opposite phases are applied to the respective channels, the sound produced provides a feeling of distance, so that the driver feels as if the speakers are disposed at a greater distance from him than they actually are.”
Regarding claim 5, the mix signal generator stage is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal so that the phase difference is between 160º and 200º. Specifically, the first mix signal input to adder 15 and the second mix signal input to adder 14 have a phase difference of 180 degrees.
Regarding claim 7, the mix signal generator is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal from a sum of the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via adder 18), or from a combination of the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via adder 18), as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, the mix signal generator stage comprises: an input stage to generate a common signal (via adder 18); and a branching stage (via phase shifter 20) to generate the first mix signal (input to adder 15) and the second mix signal (input to adder 14) from the common signal.
Regarding claim 10, the branching stage comprises a first phase shifter for the first mix signal and a second phase shifter for the second mix signal, wherein the first phase shifter and the second phase shifter are configured such that the first mix signal and the second mix signal comprise the phase difference. See figure 9, and col. 4, line 67, through col. 5, line 1, regarding “through the collector resistors and emitter resistors R1, R3, R2 and R4 of the transistors Tr1 and Tr2, opposite-phase signals are obtained; one is delivered to an output terminal O1 through the resistors R5 and R6, the other is delivered to the other output terminal Ox through resistors R7 and R8”.
Regarding claim 12, the input stage is configured to determine a sum signal from the first channel signal and the second channel signal, wherein the sum signal represents the common signal (via adder 18).
Regarding claim 15, the interface or the mixer stage is configured to amplify the first control signal and to apply the amplified first control signal to the first loudspeaker 6, and wherein the interface is configured to amplify the second control signal and to apply the amplified second control signal to the second loudspeaker 7, as claimed.
Regarding claim 22, Yamada discloses a space, comprising: a first loudspeaker 6 and a second loudspeaker 7; and an apparatus for supplying sound in the space according to claim 1. See figure 4, for example.
Regarding clam 23, the space is configured to be an interior space of a vehicle as claimed.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 12, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Petroff (US 5,970,153).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Petroff discloses a method and an apparatus (see fig. 1, for example) for supplying sound in a space with a first loudspeaker and a second loudspeaker (see col. 2, line 66, through col. 3, line 6, regarding “it is a primary object of the present invention to disclose a stereophonic signal processing system, to be interposed in a dual channel stereo signal path, that derives a pair of oppositely polarized modified difference signals and combines them with stereo signals in a manner to provide spatial enhancement in a small stereo sound system having limited physical separation between two small stereo loudspeakers”), comprising: a control signal generator for generating a first control signal (via top adder 14) for the first (L’) loudspeaker and a second control signal (via bottom adder 14) for the second (R’) loudspeaker, wherein the control signal generator comprises: a mix signal generator stage for generating a first mix signal (signal 2 input to top adder 14) for the first control signal and a second mix signal (signal 2 input to bottom adder 14) for the second control signal from a first channel signal (L signal) or a second channel signal (R signal) such that the first mix signal and the second mix signal comprise a phase difference (the first mix signal input to top adder 14 and the second mix signal input to bottom adder 14 have a phase difference of 180 degrees; see col. 5, lines 2-3, regarding “the inverted difference signal from inverter 16”); a mixer stage for mixing the first channel signal (L signal) with the first mix signal (via top adder 14) to acquire the first control signal, and for mixing the second channel signal (R signal) with the second mix signal (via bottom adder 14) to acquire the second control signal; and an interface (e.g., wired interface) for transmitting the first control signal to the first loudspeaker and for transmitting the second control signal to the second loudspeaker.
Regarding claim 2, the space is a stationary space (e.g., space where the loudspeakers are set up), wherein the apparatus comprises the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker, wherein the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker are arranged in the stationary space.
Regarding claim 4, the control signal generator is configured to control the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker such that a difference wave field is generated by controlling the first loudspeaker with the first control signal and by controlling the second loudspeaker with the second control signal. See col. 2, line 66, through col. 3, line 6, regarding “it is a primary object of the present invention to disclose a stereophonic signal processing system, to be interposed in a dual channel stereo signal path, that derives a pair of oppositely polarized modified difference signals and combines them with stereo signals in a manner to provide spatial enhancement in a small stereo sound system having limited physical separation between two small stereo loudspeakers”.
Regarding claim 5, the mix signal generator stage is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal so that the phase difference is between 160º and 200º. Specifically, the first mix signal input to the top adder 14 and the second mix signal input to the bottom adder 14 have a phase difference of 180 degrees.
Regarding claim 7, the mix signal generator stage is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal from a difference between the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via differential stage 10), or from a combination of the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via differential stage 10), as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, the mix signal generator stage comprises a phase transducer (phase inverter 16 and differential stage 10) to generate a difference signal from the first channel signal and the second channel signal and to process in a first manner the difference signal or a signal derived from the difference signal so as to generate the first mix signal (input to top adder 14) and to process in a second manner the difference signal or a signal derived from the difference signal so as to generate the second mix signal (input to bottom adder 14), wherein the second manner differs from the first manner as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, the mix signal generator stage comprises: an input stage to generate a common signal (via DE circuit); and a branching stage to generate the first mix signal (input to top adder 14) and the second mix signal (input to bottom adder 40) from the common signal (output from DE circuit), as claimed.
Regarding clam 12, the input stage is configured to determine a difference signal (via differential stage 10) from the first channel signal and the second channel signal, wherein the difference signal represents the common signal, as claimed.
Regarding claim 22, Petroff discloses a space, comprising: a first loudspeaker and a second loudspeaker; and an apparatus for supplying sound in the space according to claim 1. See figure 5, for example.
Regarding claim 23, the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker are arranged spaced apart between 10 cm and 1 m, as claimed. See col. 1, lines 12-15, regarding “compact integrated sound systems, such as those incorporated in personal computers, portable televisions and portable stereos, generally provide limited physical separation between the stereo speakers…”
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 12, 15, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsuhashi et al. (US 4,812,921).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Mitsuhashi discloses a method and an apparatus for supplying sound in a space with a first loudspeaker 100 and a second loudspeaker 120 (see figure 5, for example), comprising: a control signal generator for generating a first control signal (via adder 30) for the first loudspeaker 100 and a second control signal (via adder 40) for the second loudspeaker 120, wherein the control signal generator comprises: a mix signal generator stage for generating a first mix signal (input to adder 30 via phase shift circuit 80) for the first control signal and a second mix signal (input to adder 40 via adder 170) for the second control signal from a first channel signal (L signal) or a second channel signal (R signal) such that the first mix signal and the second mix signal comprise a phase difference (the first mix signal input to adder 30 and the second mix signal input to adder 40 have a phase difference of 180 degrees); a mixer stage for mixing the first channel signal (L signal) with the first mix signal (via adder 30) to acquire the first control signal, and for mixing the second channel signal (R signal) with the second mix signal (via adder 40) to acquire the second control signal; and an interface (e.g., wired interface) for transmitting the first control signal to the first loudspeaker 100 and for transmitting the second control signal to the second loudspeaker 120.
Regarding claim 2, the space is a stationary space (e.g., space where the loudspeakers are set up), wherein the apparatus comprises the first loudspeaker 100 and the second loudspeaker 120, wherein the first loudspeaker 100 and the second loudspeaker 120 are arranged in the stationary space.
Regarding claim 4, the control signal generator is configured to control the first loudspeaker 100 and the second loudspeaker 120 such that a difference wave field is generated by controlling the first loudspeaker 100 with the first control signal and by controlling the second loudspeaker 120 with the second control signal. See col. 5, lines 23, regarding “an effect is achieved that frequency components of the signal provided according to the level difference between the R and L signals are more remarkably emphasized. This effect further emphasization of the orientation of the acoustic image such that the acoustic images are oriented more leftward when they are moved to the left position and, in turn, oriented more rightward when they are moved to the right position.”
Regarding claim 5, the mix signal generator stage is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal so that the phase difference is between 160º and 200º. Specifically, the first mix signal input to adder 30 and the second mix signal input to adder 40 have a phase difference of 180 degrees.
Regarding claim 6, the mix signal generator stage is configured to adjust levels of the first mix signal and the second mix signal, via attenuator 150, as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, the mix signal generator stage is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal from a sum of the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via adder 140), or from a combination of the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via adder 140), as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, the mix signal generator stage comprises a phase transducer (phase inverter 130 and adder 140) to generate a difference signal from the first channel signal and the second channel signal and to process in a first manner the difference signal or a signal derived from the difference signal so as to generate the first mix signal (input to adder 30 via phase shift circuit 80) and to process in a second manner the difference signal or a signal derived from the difference signal so as to generate the second mix signal (input to adder 40 via adder 170), wherein the second manner differs from the first manner as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, the mix signal generator stage comprises: an input stage to generate a common signal (via adder 140); and a branching stage to generate the first mix signal (input to adder 30 via phase shift circuit 80) and the second mix signal (input to adder 40 via adder 170) from the common signal as claimed.
Regarding clam 12, the input stage is configured to determine a difference signal (via adder 140) from the first channel signal and the second channel signal, wherein the difference signal represents the common signal, or wherein the input stage is configured to determine a sum signal (via adder 140) from the first channel signal and the second channel signal, wherein the sum signal represents the common signal, as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, the interface or the mixer stage is configured to amplify the first control signal and to apply the amplified first control signal to the first loudspeaker 100, and wherein the interface is configured to amplify the second control signal and to apply the amplified second control signal to the second loudspeaker 120, as claimed.
Regarding claim 22, Mitsuhashi discloses a space, comprising: a first loudspeaker 100 and a second loudspeaker 120; and an apparatus for supplying sound in the space according to claim 1. See figure 5, for example.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwamatsu (US 5,524,053).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Iwamatsu discloses a method and an apparatus for supplying sound in a space with a first loudspeaker 86 and a second loudspeaker 84 (see figure 1, for example), comprising: a control signal generator for generating a first control signal (via adder 104) for the first loudspeaker 86 and a second control signal (via adder 106) for the second loudspeaker 84, wherein the control signal generator comprises: a mix signal generator stage for generating a first mix signal (input to adder 104 via phase shift circuit 100) for the first control signal and a second mix signal (input to adder 106 via phase shift circuit 100) for the second control signal from a first channel signal (L signal) or a second channel signal (R signal) such that the first mix signal and the second mix signal comprise a phase difference (the first mix signal input to adder 104 and the second mix signal input to adder 106 have a phase difference of 180 degrees); a mixer stage for mixing the first channel signal (L signal) with the first mix signal (via adder 104) to acquire the first control signal, and for mixing the second channel signal (R signal) with the second mix signal (via adder 106) to acquire the second control signal; and an interface (e.g., wired interface) for transmitting the first control signal to the first loudspeaker 86 and for transmitting the second control signal to the second loudspeaker 84.
Regarding claim 2, the space is a stationary space (e.g., space where the loudspeakers are set up), wherein the apparatus comprises the first loudspeaker 86 and the second loudspeaker 84, wherein the first loudspeaker 86 and the second loudspeaker 84 are arranged in the stationary space.
Regarding claim 4, the control signal generator is configured to control the first loudspeaker 84 and the second loudspeaker 86 such that a difference wave field is generated by controlling the first loudspeaker 84 with the first control signal and by controlling the second loudspeaker 86 with the second control signal. See col. 5, lines 19-24, regarding “since generation of the reflected sounds is made by the convolution operation using the impulse response characteristics based on the hypothetical sound source distribution, … arrival of the front reflected sounds precedes arrival of the rear reflected sounds.”
Regarding claim 5, the mix signal generator stage is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal so that the phase difference is between 160º and 200º. Specifically, the first mix signal input to adder 104 and the second mix signal input to adder 106 have a phase difference of 180 degrees.
Regarding claim 7, the mix signal generator stage is configured to generate the first mix signal and the second mix signal from a sum of the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via adder 30), or from a combination of the first channel signal and the second channel signal (via adder 30), as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, the mix signal generator stage comprises: an input stage to generate a common signal (via adder 30); and a branching stage to generate the first mix signal (input to adder 104 via phase shift circuit 100) and the second mix signal (input to adder 106 via phase shift circuit 100) from the common signal as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, the branching stage comprises a first phase shifter (R + 90) for the first mix signal (input to adder 104) and a second phase shifter (R – 90) for the second mix signal (input to adder 106), wherein the first phase shifter and the second phase shifter are configured such that the first mix signal and the second mix signal comprises the phase difference.
Regarding clam 12, the input stage is configured to determine a sum signal (via adder 30) from the first channel signal and the second channel signal, wherein the sum signal represents the common signal, as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, the interface or the mixer stage is configured to amplify the first control signal and to apply the amplified first control signal to the first loudspeaker 86, and wherein the interface is configured to amplify the second control signal and to apply the amplified second control signal to the second loudspeaker 84, as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, a sound system with a multitude of further loudspeakers (via terminals 24 and 26) arranged in the stationary space, and a sound processor configured to process a multichannel audio signal such that a localization of sound sources in the stationary space is achievable (see col. 3, lines 2-8, regarding “reflected sounds to be sounded at rear positions are sounded at the front left and front right positions in the form of reflected sounds which are opposite in phase to each other and, in this case, there occurs a localization in the head which is a phenomenon according to which a listener feels a sound image existing about his head”.
Regarding claim 22, Iwamatsu discloses a space, comprising: a first loudspeaker 86 and a second loudspeaker 84; and an apparatus for supplying sound in the space according to claim 1. See figure 1, for example.
Claims 3 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 4,329,544), as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Kim (US 2021/0306788).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada discloses the invention as claimed, including that the first loudspeaker 6 and the second loudspeaker 7 are arranged in an interior space of a vehicle, but fails to specifically teach that the first loudspeaker 6 and the second loudspeaker 7 are arranged in a headrest of the vehicle. Kim discloses a vehicle headrest with a first loudspeaker 600L and a second loudspeaker 600R (see fig. 2, for example), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of controlling a radiation pattern of acoustic energy radiated from the speakers such that the radiation pattern of acoustic energy is limited to an area near the vehicle headrest so as to not disturb adjacent passengers (see Description of Related Art). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamada, in view of Kim, such that the first loudspeaker 6 and the second loudspeaker 7 are arranged in a headrest of the vehicle. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of controlling a radiation pattern of acoustic energy radiated from the speakers such that the radiation pattern of acoustic energy is limited to an area near the vehicle headrest so as to not disturb adjacent passengers.
Regarding claims 18-20, Yamada, as modified by Kim as explained above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the vehicle headrest includes a common distance sensor for measuring a distance between a head and a respective loudspeaker, wherein the control signal generator is configured to, as a response to a sensor signal from the sensor, change the level of the control signal for the first and second loudspeaker 6, 7. Kim discloses a vehicle headrest with a first loudspeaker 600L and a second loudspeaker 600R (see fig. 2, for example), wherein the vehicle headrest includes a sensor for measuring a distance between a head and a respective loudspeaker, and changing the level for the first and second loudspeaker 600L, 600R in response to a sensor signal from the sensor (see figures 3-5, and para. 0058, regarding “the output strength of the speaker where the passenger’s ear is located close may be decreased, and the output strength of the speaker where the passenger’s ear is located far may be increased, and thus, the passenger may listen to the sound more smoothly and naturally”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Yamada, in further view of Kim, such that the vehicle headrest includes a common distance sensor for measuring a distance between a head and a respective loudspeaker, wherein the control signal generator is configured to, as a response to a sensor signal from the sensor, change the level of the control signal for the first and second loudspeaker 6, 7. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this so that the passenger may listen to the sound more smoothly and naturally.
Claims 3 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petroff (US 5,970,153), as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Kim (US 2021/0306788).
Regarding claim 3, Petroff discloses the invention as claimed, including that the loudspeakers are located relatively close together (see “Background of the Invention”), but fails to specifically teach that the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker are arranged in a headrest of a vehicle. Kim discloses a vehicle headrest with a first loudspeaker 600L and a second loudspeaker 600R (see fig. 2, for example), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of controlling a radiation pattern of acoustic energy radiated from the speakers such that the radiation pattern of acoustic energy is limited to an area near the vehicle headrest so as to not disturb adjacent passengers (see Description of Related Art). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Petroff, in view of Kim, such that the first loudspeaker and the second loudspeaker are arranged in a headrest of the vehicle. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of controlling a radiation pattern of acoustic energy radiated from the speakers such that the radiation pattern of acoustic energy is limited to an area near the vehicle headrest so as to not disturb adjacent passengers.
Regarding claims 18-20, Petroff, as modified by Kim as explained above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the vehicle headrest includes a common distance sensor for measuring a distance between a head and a respective loudspeaker, wherein the control signal generator is configured to, as a response to a sensor signal from the sensor, change the level of the control signal for the first and second loudspeaker. Kim discloses a vehicle headrest with a first loudspeaker 600L and a second loudspeaker 600R (see fig. 2, for example), wherein the vehicle headrest includes a sensor for measuring a distance between a head and a respective loudspeaker, and changing the level for the first and second loudspeaker 600L, 600R in response to a sensor signal from the sensor (see figures 3-5, and para. 0058, regarding “the output strength of the speaker where the passenger’s ear is located close may be decreased, and the output strength of the speaker where the passenger’s ear is located far may be increased, and thus, the passenger may listen to the sound more smoothly and naturally”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Petroff, in further view of Kim, such that the vehicle headrest includes a common distance sensor for measuring a distance between a head and a respective loudspeaker, wherein the control signal generator is configured to, as a response to a sensor signal from the sensor, change the level of the control signal for the first and second loudspeaker. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this so that the passenger may listen to the sound more smoothly and naturally.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 4,329,544), as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Chia et al. (WO 2012/172394 A1).
Yamada discloses the invention as claimed, including that the first loudspeaker 6 is arranged on the left with respect to a driver position and the second loudspeaker 7 is arranged on the right with respect to a driver position, but fails to specifically teach that a pair of loudspeakers is arranged at several positions in the vehicle, wherein a detector is configured to detect whether a position of the several positions is occupied, and wherein the apparatus is configured to deactivate for an unoccupied position the pair of loudspeakers associated to the unoccupied position. Yamada does, however, teach that the invention “is designed so as to provide a feeling of a sound region extention at the driver’s seat, but may of course be designed to give the same effect at the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat or seats [and that] the present invention is similarly applicable to a case where the speakers are disposed at the front right and left sides or the rear right and left sides in the car” (col. 5, lines 9-15). Chia discloses an automatic sound adaption apparatus for a vehicle including a detector configured to detect whether seats within the vehicle are occupied or not, and wherein the apparatus is configured to deactivate loudspeakers for an unoccupied seat, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of automatically adapting the sound within the vehicle to account for whether or not seats are occupied within the vehicle (see page 7, lines 9-21, for example).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamada, in view of Chia, such that a pair of loudspeakers is arranged at several positions in the vehicle, to provide a feeling of sound region extention at the several positions (e.g., at the driver’s seat and at the assistant driver’s seat), wherein a detector is configured to detect whether a position of the several positions is occupied, and wherein the apparatus is configured to deactivate for an unoccupied position the pair of loudspeakers associated to the unoccupied position. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of automatically adapting the sound within the vehicle to account for whether or not seats are occupied within the vehicle.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/PAUL W HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
pwh
March 7, 2026