DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2021/0284023).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses, a display and window assembly (Figs. 1-6) comprising:
a bezel (4) defining a first window aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10A), a second window aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10C), and a display aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10B) located between the first and second window apertures (see Fig. 2);
a display unit (10B) aligned with the display aperture;
a first window (10A) aligned with the first window aperture; and
a second window (10C) aligned with the second window aperture, wherein the first window and second window each include:
a front substrate (200) having a first surface (see surface adjacent to 510) and a second surface (see surface adjacent to 310) opposite the first surface;
a second substrate (100) having a third surface (see surface adjacent to 310) and a fourth surface (see surface opposite of surface adjacent to 310) opposite the third surface, the second and third surfaces facing each other to define a gap (see area where 310 is disposed);
a first electrode (Para. 0043; note, discloses a “first electrode”; note, the electrode is a part of the light control layer 310 which includes a first electrode, a second electrode and an emission layer) coupled to the second surface;
a second electrode (Para. 0043; note, discloses a “second electrode”; note, the electrode is a part of the light control layer 312 which includes a first electrode, a second electrode and an emission layer) coupled to the third surface; and
an electro-optic medium (310) located between the first electrode and the second electrode (Para. 0043 and 0046; note, the electrode is a part of the light control layer 312 which includes a first electrode, a second electrode and an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses, the bezel includes a front surface (Para. 0054-0055 and see 4 of Fig. 2) and a transparent dust cover (510) is located on the front surface over the first window, the second window, and the display unit (Para. 0054-0055).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses, a frame (see portion of 4 around 10A-C) connected to the bezel, the frame including a first window pocket, a second window pocket, and a display pocket located between the first and second window pockets (see portion of 4 where 10A-C disposed).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses, the display unit is aligned with the display pocket, the first window is aligned with the first window pocket, and the second window is aligned with the second window pocket (Para. 0035-0036 and see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses, the display unit, the first window, and the second window are sandwiched between the bezel and the frame (Para. 0035-0036 and see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses, the frame includes a pair of longitudinal members spaced vertically by a pair of lateral members (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 19, Cho discloses, a display and window assembly (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a bezel (4) defining a first window aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10A), a second window aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10C), and a display aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10B) located between the first and second window apertures (see Fig. 2);
a frame (see portion of 4 around 10A-C that holds/retains 10A-C) connected to the bezel, the frame including a first window pocket, a second window pocket, and a display pocket located between the first and second window pockets (see portion of 4 where 10A-C disposed)a display unit aligned with the display aperture and at least partially located in the display pocket;
a first window (10A) aligned with the first window aperture and at least partially located in the first window pocket; and
a second window (10C) aligned with the second window aperture and at least partially located in the second window pocket, wherein the first window and second window each include:
a front substrate (200) having a first surface (see surface adjacent to 510) and a second surface (see surface adjacent to 310) opposite the first surface;
a second substrate (100) having a third surface (see surface adjacent to 310) and a fourth surface (see surface opposite of surface adjacent to 310) opposite the third surface, the second and third surfaces facing each other to define a gap (see area where 310 is disposed);
a first electrode (Para. 0043; note, discloses a “first electrode” note, the electrode is a part of the light control layer 312 which includes a first electrode, a second electrode and an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode) coupled to the second surface;
a second electrode (Para. 0043; note, discloses a “second electrode”; note, the electrode is a part of the light control layer 312 which includes a first electrode, a second electrode and an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode) coupled to the third surface; and
an electro-optic medium (310) located between the first electrode and the second electrode (Para. 0043 and 0046; note, the electrode is a part of the light control layer 312 which includes a first electrode, a second electrode and an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2021/0284023) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Dierenbach (US 2020/0332591).
Cho remains as applied to claim 1 above.
Cho does not explicitly disclose the display unit is an LCD display.
Dierenbach teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a display and window assembly that it would have been desirable to make the display unit is an LCD display (Para. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been desirable to make the display unit is an LCD display as taught by the display and window assembly of Dierenbach in the display and window assembly of Cho since Dierenbach teaches it is known to include this feature in a display and window assembly for the purpose of providing a high resolution display with enhanced image quality.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2021/0284023) as applied to claim 7 above, in view of Grigsby (US 2021/0123296).
Cho remains as applied to claim 7 above.
Cho does not disclose each of the longitudinal members define fastener apertures for connecting to a structure.
Grigsby teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a display and window assembly that it would have been desirable to make each of the longitudinal members define fastener apertures (see 130, 133, 137 of Fig. 4) for connecting to a structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make each of the longitudinal members define fastener apertures for connecting to a structure as taught by the display and window assembly of Grigsby in the display and window assembly of Cho since Grigsby teaches it is known to include this feature in a display and window assembly for the purpose of effectively and securely attaching a display and window assembly to a structure.
Regarding claim 9, Cho in view of Grigsby discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, the structure is an aircraft (Para. 0090).
Regarding claim 10, Cho in view of Grigsby discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, the structure is a water vessel (Para. 0090).
Regarding claim 11, Cho in view of Grigsby discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, the structure is a rail vehicle (Para. 0090).
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2021/0284023) in view of Soto et al. (US 2016/0070132).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses, a display and window assembly comprising:
a bezel (4) defining a first window aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10A), a second window aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10C), and a display aperture (see portion of 4 associated with 10B) located between the first and second window apertures;
a display unit (10B) aligned with the display aperture;
a first window (10A) switchable between a substantially transmissive state and a substantially darkened state that is aligned with the first window aperture (Para. 0047-0048; note, discloses a material that may change between a transparent state or an opaque state (e.g., a state that allows less light through the material compared to the transparent state));
a second window (10C) switchable between a substantially transmissive state and a substantially darkened state that is aligned with the second window aperture (Para. 0047-0048; note, discloses a material that may change between a transparent state or an opaque state (e.g., a state that allows less light through the material compared to the transparent state)); and
a control system configured to:
switch at least one of the first and second windows from the substantially transmissive state towards the substantially darkened state (Para. 0047-0048; note, discloses a material that may change between a transparent state or an opaque state (e.g., a state that allows less light through the material compared to the transparent state)).
Cho does not explicitly disclose a light sensor that detects a level of ambient lighting, and the control system is configured to: receive the detected level of ambient lighting; compare the detected level of ambient lighting with a threshold value; and switch at least one of the first and second windows from the substantially transmissive state towards the substantially darkened state if the detected level of ambient lighting is above the threshold value.
Soto teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a display and window assembly that it would have been desirable to include a light sensor that detects a level of ambient lighting (Para. 0076), and the control system is configured to: receive the detected level of ambient lighting (Para. 0076 and 0118-0119); compare the detected level of ambient lighting with a threshold value (Para. 0076 and 0118-0119); and switch at least one of the first and second windows from the substantially transmissive state towards the substantially darkened state if the detected level of ambient lighting is above the threshold value (Para. 0076 and 0118-0119).
Therefore, it would have been desirable to include a light sensor that detects a level of ambient lighting, and the control system is configured to: receive the detected level of ambient lighting; compare the detected level of ambient lighting with a threshold value; and switch at least one of the first and second windows from the substantially transmissive state towards the substantially darkened state if the detected level of ambient lighting is above the threshold value as taught by the display and window assembly of Soto in the display and window assembly of Cho since Soto teaches it is known to include these features in a display and window assembly for the purpose of providing a display and window assembly with reduced visual distortions.
Regarding claim 13, Cho in view of Soto discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, the first window and second window each include:
a front substrate (200) having a first surface (see surface adjacent to 500) and a second surface (see surface adjacent to 312) opposite the first surface;
a second substrate (100) having a third surface (see surface adjacent to 310) and a fourth surface (see surface opposite of surface adjacent to 310) opposite the third surface, the second and third surfaces facing each other to define a gap (see area where 310 is disposed);
a first electrode (Para. 0043; note, discloses a “first electrode) coupled to the second surface;
a second electrode (Para. 0043; note, discloses a “second electrode”) coupled to the third surface; and
an electro-optic medium (310) located between the first electrode and the second electrode (Para. 0043 and 0046).
Regarding claim 14, Cho in view of Soto discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Soto further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a display and window assembly that it would have been desirable to make the control system is further configured to: receive instructions to generate a sequence of images on the display (Para. 0076 and 0118-0119); and switch at least one of the first and second windows from the substantially transmissive state towards the substantially darkened state (Para. 0076 and 0118-0119).
Therefore, it would have been desirable to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the display and window assembly of Soto in the display and window assembly of Cho since Soto teaches it is known to include these features in a display and window assembly for the purpose of providing a display and window assembly with reduced visual distortions.
Regarding claim 15, Cho in view of Soto discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, the bezel includes a front surface (Para. 0054-0055 and see 4 of Fig. 2) and a transparent dust cover (510) is located on the front surface over the first window, the second window, and the display unit (Para. 0054-0055).
Regarding claim 16, Cho in view of Soto discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, a frame (see portion of 4 around 10A-C) connected to the bezel, the frame including a first window pocket, a second window pocket, and a display pocket located between the first and second window pockets (see portion of 4 where 10A-C disposed).
Regarding claim 17, Cho in view of Soto discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, the display unit is aligned with the display pocket, the first window is aligned with the first window pocket, and the second window is aligned with the second window pocket (Para. 0035-0036 and see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Cho in view of Soto discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Cho further discloses, the control system is further configured to be in communication with a service unit that includes passenger information (Para. 0036; note, discloses displaying control information or the like to the passenger), and the display unit is configured to generate a personalized message to a passenger assigned to an associated location (Para. 0036; note, discloses displaying control information or the like to the passenger).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2021/0284023) in view of Soto et al. (US 2016/0070132) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Grigsby (US 2021/0123296).
Cho in view of Soto remains as applied to claim 19 above.
Cho further discloses, the frame includes a pair of longitudinal members spaced vertically by a pair of lateral members (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Cho in view of Soto does not disclose each of the longitudinal members define fastener apertures for connecting to a structure.
Grigsby teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a display and window assembly that it would have been desirable to make each of the longitudinal members define fastener apertures (see 130, 133, 137 of Fig. 4) for connecting to a structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make each of the longitudinal members define fastener apertures for connecting to a structure as taught by the display and window assembly of Grigsby in the combination of Cho in view of Soto since Grigsby teaches it is known to include this feature in a display and window assembly for the purpose of effectively and securely attaching a display and window assembly to a structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ramirez (WO 2020/043791) discloses a display and window assembly that includes a bezel, a first window aperture, a second window aperture, and a display aperture located between the first and second window apertures; a display unit aligned with the display aperture; a first window aligned with the first window aperture; and a second window aligned with the second window aperture.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 12/16/2025